فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / وُجوه / من شابه “حماه” فما ظلم: الأسرة الحاكمة التركية

من شابه “حماه” فما ظلم: الأسرة الحاكمة التركية

Turkey- Berat Albayrak
Photo AFP

مع دخول تركيا حقبة حُكم الرجل الواحد الجديدة، عيّن الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان صهره، بيرات البيرق، وزيراً للمالية، وهي الخطوة التي أثارت قلق المراقبين الدوليين في الوقت الذي تشهد فيه البلاد دلائل إقتصادية مقلقة. ففي عام 2018 وحده، فقدت الليرة التركية 40% من قيمتها.

يعدّ منصب البيرق الجديد فرصةً حقيقيةً له لتحديد هويته وقيمته السياسية، ومع ذلك، فمن المعروف أن أردوغان يُقدر الولاء اليوم أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى في ظل مناخ الخوف والشك الحالي بعد محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016. فعلى الأرجح أن أردوغان قرر تعزيز صفوف المناصب الأقرب إليه بشخصياتٍ جديرة بالثقة ومؤتمنة أكثر من كونه معجباً بالإمكانيات السياسية لصهره، الذي لا يزال غضّ الغصن نسبياً (1978).

وبعد فترةٍ وجيزة من تعيينه في يوليو، أجرى البيرق مكالمةً جماعية مع مستثمرين أجانب شارك بها 3000 منهم. وهذا العدد الكبير ما هو إلا شهادةٌ على مستوى الاهتمام بمستقبل ما كان حتى وقتٍ قريب أحد أقوى الاقتصادات النامية أداءً، فضلاً عن المخاوف من سياسةٍ اقتصادية لربما تكون استبدادية وغير مدروسة بشكلٍ جيد قد تؤدي إلى ركودٍ اقتصادي.

فقد اشتكى بعض المستثمرين المشاركين بالمكالمة من رفض البيرق مشاركتهم الحديث، ملمحين إلى غطرسة رجل رُقّي إلى الرتب العليا في المجتمع والحكومة التركية بفضل علاقاته العائلية.

ومع ذلك ، أجرى البيرق بعض التحركات الأولية الإيجابية، فقد رفض الرقابة على رؤوس الأموال ووعد بتحسين الانضباط المالي وخفض سقف أهداف النمو التي بدت تزخر بالتفاؤل في الحملة الانتخابية التي شهدت فوز أردوغان بفترةٍ رئاسية ثانية في يونيو الماضي.

في الوقت نفسه، فإن تعليقاته حول كون تركيا تتعرض لهجومٍ اقتصادي من الخارج، فضلاً عن تصريحه السخيف إلى حدٍ ما بأن “الدولار فقد مصداقيته،” أمرٌ، بشكلٍ مفهوم، مثيرٌ للقلق بالنسبة للمستثمرين من الخارج أو للمصالح التجارية. كما تعكس تصريحاته أيضاً الخطاب الذي يستخدمه أردوغان، مما يثير الشكوك بأن البيرق ليس سوى دمية يحركها الرجل أعلى الهرم.

وعلى الرغم من أن التوقيت لربما كان من قبيل الصدفة، إلا أن إعلان الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب عبر تغريدةٍ له على تويتر مضاعفة التعرفة الجمركية على واردات بلاده من الصلب والألومنيوم التركي – وهو ردٌ واضح على استمرار احتجاز المواطن الأمريكي أندرو برونسون في تركيا – تم بينما كان البيرق يدلي بهذه التصريحات.

الصعود إلى السلطة

البيرق، الملقب بدامات (أي الصهر أو العريس باللغة التركية) بعد زواجه من ابنه أردوغان قبل 14 عاماً، كان يمتلك روابط عائلية مكنته من الوصول إلى الدائرة المقربة من أردوغان قبل زمنٍ طويل. فقد كان والده صادق نائباً عن حزب الرفاه الإسلامي، الذي لم يعد له وجود، وهو صديقٌ قديم للرئيس.

فعلى صعيدٍ متصل، عُقدت مقارناتٌ بين حياة وعلاقات البيرق الأسرية مع حياة جاريد كوشنر، صهر الرئيس ترمب وصاحب الولاء الأعمى في البيت الأبيض. فقد حصل البيرق على شهادته الأولى في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة اسطنبول قبل أن يغادر لإكمال دراسته في درجة الماجستير في نفس المجال من جامعة بيس في نيويورك. عاد إلى تركيا لإكمال شهادة الدكتوراه في التمويل من جامعة قادر هاس قبل أن يحاضر لفترةٍ وجيزة في جامعة مرمرة.

ومع ذلك، يبدو أن زواجه عام 2004 من إسراء أردوغان، بدلاً من مؤهلاته الأكاديمية، ما عزز من مستقبله. فقد حضر الحفل العديد من زعماء العالم، بمن فيهم حكام الأردن وباكستان واليونان ورومانيا.

وبعد عامين، وبعمر 29 عاماً فقط، أصبح البيرق الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة تشاليك القابضة، وهي شركة خاصة معروفة بروابطها الحكومية الوثيقة. ولربما من الطبيعي أن يعزى صعوده السريع إلى حماه، الذي كان آنذاك في السنوات الأولى من حكمه كرئيسٍ للوزراء.

الدوائر الداخلية

بعد أن أصبح نائباً عن حزب أردوغان، حزب العدالة والتنمية، في عام 2015، تم تعيين البيرق وزيراً للطاقة في العام نفسه، وذلك في أعقاب تعديلٍ وزاري كبير شهد إقالة رئيس الوزراء السابق وحليف أردوغان منذ زمن طويل، أحمد داود أوغلو، من السلطة. ومن المرجح أن يكون لمعارضة داود أوغلو انضمام البيرق لمجلس الوزراء دورٌ في الإطاحة به. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، فإن تجربة البيرق في مشاريع الطاقة المستدامة، التي اكتسبها أثناء إكمال دراسته لدرجة الدكتوراة، قد بشرت بمجموعة من مشاريع البنية التحتية الجديدة للطاقة المتجددة. كما قاد تركيا فيما يسمى حمى البحث عن النفط في شرق البحر الأبيض المتوسط، حيث بدأ التنقيب في قاع البحر في منطقةٍ يمكن أن تكون غنية بمنتجات الطاقة.

ومع ذلك، كان نجمه في الأوساط السياسية أقل سطوعاً، إذ اكتسب سمعةً بتعديه على اختصاصات الوزراء الآخرين، مدعوماً لربما بحصانته الأسرية في مجلس الوزراء. ومنذ أيام منصبه الوزاري البسيط، ظهر هذا العداء إلى العلن عندما التقطته العدسات يدفع وزير الداخلية سليمان صويلو بعد احتفالٍ في العاصمة أنقرة. وفي حين يعتبر الرجلين عضوين رئيسيين في دائرة أردوغان الداخلية، إلا أن ترقية البيرق لمنصب وزير المالية يوحي بأن العلاقات الأسرية تفوقت على محاباة أردوغان لصويلو.

بل إن قرب البيرق من أردوغان جعله عرضةً أيضاً ليصبح هدفاً جيوسياسي، ففي نوفمبر 2015، عندما أسقطت تركيا طائرة روسية بالقرب من الحدود السورية، اتهمت موسكو البيرق بالتورط في تهريب النفط غير المشروع من سوريا، مدركةً دون أدنى شك الضغط غير المباشر الذي سيسببه ذلك على الرئيس.

وفي الوقت نفسه، عُهد إليه ببعض مهام الحكومة الأكثر حساسية. ففي عام 2016، التقى بنظيره في وزارة الطاقة الإسرائيلية في أول اجتماعٍ رفيع المستوى بين تركيا وإسرائيل بعد سنوات من العلاقات الدبلوماسية المجمدة.

على صعيدٍ آخر، يُعرف أن أردوغان مترددٌ للغاية فيما يتعلق برفع أسعار الفائدة، التي يراها “مصدر الشرور.” ومع ذلك، يعتبر العديد من الاقتصاديين أن مثل هذه الزيادة ضرورية للسيطرة على التضخم المتفشي. وبالفعل، فإن كراهية الرئيس رفع أسعار الفائدة تتماشى مع الآراء التي تبناها البيرق في السنوات التي سبقت صعوده السياسي عندما كتب أعمدة اقتصادية لصحف مؤيدة لحزب العدالة والتنمية، ومنها صحيفة صباح. فقد استخدم البيرق هذه الأعمدة للدعوة مراراً وتكراراً لتهدئة سعر الفائدة – وهي سابقة سيئة بالنسبة لرجل يأمل الكثيرون أن يسلك مساراً أكثر استقلالاً في السياسة الاقتصادية.

فقد كان ينظر إلى وزراء الاقتصاد السابقين، مثل محمد شمشك وعلي باباجان، إلى حدٍ كبير، على أنهم شخصياتٌ تثق بها الأسواق لتوجيه تركيا نحو خطوطٍ اقتصادية أكثر تقليدية. وفي حال لم يستطع البيرق أن يوحي بالثقة اللازمة في الوقت الذي تعاني فيه تركيا من أزمة العملات وتزايد العقوبات الأمريكية، فبالكاد هناك بارقة أملٍ من قدرته على تحقيق ذلك يوماً ما.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ADEM ALTAN ©AFP | ADEM ALTAN ©AFP

Fanack Home / Turkey / Faces / Like Father, Like Son-in-Law: Meet Turkey’s Ruling Family

Like Father, Like Son-in-Law: Meet Turkey’s Ruling Family

Turkey- Berat Albayrak
Photo AFP

As Turkey enters a new era of one-man rule, President Recep Tayyip Erdogan has named his son-in-law, Berat Albayrak, as finance minister, a move that has worried international observers at a time of troubling economic signs in the country. In 2018 alone, the Turkish lira has lost 40 per cent of its value.

Albayrak’s new position is a real opportunity for him to define his political identity and value. However, Erdogan is known to prize loyalty, now more than ever in the current climate of fear and suspicion following 2016’s attempted coup. Rather than being impressed by the political potential of his still-relatively young son-in-law (1978), Erdogan has likely decided to shore up the ranks closest to him with highly trusted and reliable figures.

Shortly after his appointment in July 2018, Albayrak held a call with foreign investors, 3,000 of whom registered for the call. This high number is testament to the level of interest in the future of what until recently was one of the strongest performing developing economies as well as to the fears around a potentially autocratic and poorly thought-out economic policy leading to recession.

Some investors on the call complained that Albayrak refused to engage with them, hinting at the aloofness of a man promoted to the upper echelons of Turkish society and government thanks to his family connections.

Even so, Albayrak has made some positive initial moves. He has said no to capital controls, promised improved fiscal discipline and cut targets for growth, which had seemed far too optimistic in the election campaign that saw Erdogan win a second term in June 2018.

At the same time, his comments about Turkey being under economic attack from abroad, as well as a somewhat ridiculous statement that “the dollar has lost all its credibility”, are understandably worrying for outside investors or business interests. His comments also reflect the rhetoric Erdogan uses, raising suspicions that Albayrak is little more than a puppet of the man at the top.

Although the timing was perhaps coincidental, US President Donald Trump’s tweet announcing a doubling of steel and aluminium tariffs on Turkey – an apparent retaliation for the continued detention of American citizen Andrew Brunson – was posted as Albayrak was making these comments.

Ascent to Power

Nicknamed damat (son-in-law or groom) after he married Erdogan’s daughter 14 years ago, Albayrak has his own family connections that have given him access to Erdogan’s inner circle for much longer. His father Sadik was an MP for the now-defunct Islamist Welfare Party and is an old friend of the president.

Albayrak’s life and family connections have drawn comparisons with Jared Kushner, Trump’s son-in-law and White House apparatchik. Albayrak earned his first degree in business administration from Istanbul University before going on to study for a master’s degree in the same field at New York’s Pace University. He returned to Turkey to complete a PhD in finance at Kadir Has University before a brief stint lecturing at Marmara University.

However, it appears to have been his 2004 marriage to Esra Erdogan, rather than his academic qualifications, that cemented his future. The ceremony was attended by several world leaders, including the rulers of Jordan, Pakistan, Greece and Romania.

Two years later, aged just 29, Albayrak became chief executive of Calik Holding, a private company known for its close government links. His rapid rise can almost certainly be attributed to his father-in-law, who was in the early years of his reign as prime minister at the time.

Inner Circle

After becoming an MP for Erdogan’s Justice and Development Party (AKP) in 2015, Albayrak was appointed as energy minister the same year, in a major reshuffle that saw former prime minister and long-time Erdogan ally Ahmet Davutoglu removed from power. Davutoglu’s opposition to Albayrak joining the cabinet supposedly played a role in his ouster. Nevertheless, Albayrak’s experience with sustainable energy projects, which he had gained while completing his PhD, heralded a raft of new renewable energy infrastructure projects. He also led Turkey in the oil rush in the East Mediterranean, where he initiated prospecting along the sea bed in what could be energy-rich territory.

However, his image in political circles was less stellar. He gained a reputation for encroaching on other ministers’ briefs, perhaps buoyed by his familial protection in the cabinet. The animosity from his days in a junior cabinet post were made very public when he was caught pushing Interior Minister Suleyman Soylu after a ceremony in the capital Ankara. While the two have been key members of Erdogan’s inner circle, Albayrak’s promotion to finance minister suggests that family ties bested Erdogan’s fondness for Soylu.

Such is Albayrak’s proximity to Erdogan that he has become a geopolitical target himself. In November 2015, when Turkey shot down a Russian jet near the Syrian border, Moscow accused Albayrak of involvement in illicit oil smuggling from Syria, no doubt aware of the indirect pressure this would put on the president.

At the same time, he has also been entrusted with some of the more sensitive tasks of government. In 2016, he met with his counterpart at the Israeli Energy Ministry in the first high-level meeting between Turkey and Israel after years of frozen diplomatic relations.

Erdogan is extremely reluctant to increase interest rates, which he sees as the ‘mother of all evil’. However, many economists consider such a raise as essential for bringing rampant inflation under control. Indeed, the president’s hatred of raising interest rates aligns with the views Albayrak espoused in the years prior to his political ascendance when he wrote economic columns for pro-AKP newspapers, namely Sabah. He used these columns to call repeatedly for interest rate calming – a poor precedent for a man who many hope will walk a more independent path on economic policy.

Past economy ministers such as Mehmet Simsek and Ali Babacan were largely seen as figures trusted by the markets to steer Turkey along more orthodox economic lines. If Albayrak cannot inspire confidence at a time when Turkey is staring down the barrel of a currency crisis and increased US sanctions, then there seems little chance that he will ever be able to do so.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.