فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / وُجوه / ميرال أكسينر: هل ستتمكن المرأة الحديدية التركية من الإطاحة بأردوغان؟

ميرال أكسينر: هل ستتمكن المرأة الحديدية التركية من الإطاحة بأردوغان؟

Turkey- Meral Aksener
ميرال أكسينر، القومية اليمينية، تُعبر عن شكرها لمؤيديها بعد إعلانها تأسيس حزبها الجديد، الحزب الصالح، في أنقرة في 25 أكتوبر 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

ميرال أكسينر: إسمٌ جديدٌ بارزٌعلى المسرح السياسي التركي، فعلى الرغم من أنها أمضت عقوداً ما بين المشاركة والإحجام عن السياسة التركية، إلا أنها أصبحت في العام الماضي اسماً مألوفاً، حيث يتساءل الكثيرون عما إذا كان أسلوبها الشجاع والجريء يهدد قبضة الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان على السلطة. ولكن من هي هذه المرأة؟

ولدت أكسينر عام 1956 لأسرةٍ من المهاجرين اليونانيين، حيث توجهت بدايةً للعمل في المسار الأكاديمي، حيث ارتقت إلى أن حازت على منصب رئيسة قسم التاريخ في جامعتها قبل أن تستقيل عام 1994 لدخول المعترك السياسي. وبانتخابها لصالح حزب الصراط المستقيم العلماني المحافظ، رأت بأم أعينها الاضطراب والعنف الذي اتسمت به السياسة التركية في تسعينيات القرن الماضي. وبتقدمها السريع إلى أن وصلت إلى منصب وزير الداخلية في حكومة نجم الدين أربكان اليمينة المعتدلة الإسلامية، انتهى مشوار أكسينر في مجلس الوزراء في أعقاب ما يُسمى “إنقلاب ما بعد الحداثة” عام 1997.

ميّزتها مقاومتها الشرسة للانقلاب العسكري بعدم خوفها من تحدي حتى أقوى القوى في تركيا؛ السمة التي لا تزال تميز موقفها السياسي اليوم. فأكسينر، التي تحمل لقب “أسينا” أو المرأة الذئب في الأساطير التركية، كما يُسميها مؤيدوها في الكتلة القومية التركية، والتي يُشكل الذئب أهمية رمزية خاصة لهم، لا تخشى المواجهة.

فقد مضى أكثر من 80 عاماً على السماح للنساء الأتراك بالدخول إلى البرلمان، إلا أنهن لا يتمعتن بقدرٍ كافٍ من التمثيل لدى المشرعين في البلاد. ففي عام 1993، شغلت تانسو تشيلر منصب رئيسة الوزراء، إلا أنها تعدّ استثناءً إذ لطالما هيمن الذكور على المناصب رفيعة المستوى من السياسة؛ كما تزخر السياسة المحلية أيضاً بالذكور إلا أنه يسهل على النساء اختراقها. فبالنسبة لبلدٍ يمتاز بمثل هذا النفوذ السياسي الذكوري، ومنذ صعود أردوغان والنزعة لسياسة الرجل القوي، يعدّ صعود أكسينر إلى مكانةٍ بارزة، أمرا أكثر من رائع.

وعلى الرغم من الإطاحة بها من مجلس الوزراء، إلا أن أكسينر، المتزوجة وأم لطفل، بقيت في البرلمان، وفي عام 2007، عندما أعيدت تسمية حزب الحركة القومية على يد زعيمه الطاعن في السن دولت بهجلي، عاودت إكسينر الانضمام إلى المعترك السياسي وحولت ولائها البرلماني إلى الحزب. وبعد فوزها في إعادة الإنتخابات في عام 2011 لصالح حزب الحركة القومية، كانت سنواتها في البرلمان خاليةً من الفضائح لتتوسع مكانتها في الحزب ببطء، وبخاصة عندما أصبحت نائبة رئيس البرلمان.

ومنذ عام 2015، بدأت أكسينر تجاهر بمعارضتها لإذعان بهجلي لأردوغان، احتجاجاً على انحراف حزب الحركة القومية عن المبادىء التأسيسية الكمالية الصارمة للحزب. وصلت هذه المشاحنات أوجها في عام 2016 عندما أسفر استجوابها الصريح لقيادة بهجلي عن طردها من حزب الحركة القومية.

إلا أن معارضتها لاستفتاء أردوغان الدستوري عام 2017 ما سلط عليها حقاً أضواء الرأي العام. أيد بهجلي حملة أردوغان بـ”نعم،” بعد صفقةٍ مزعومة بتقلده منصباً رفيعاً في الحكومة في ظل النظام الرئاسي الجديد. فقد حظي جدالها حول عودة سيادة القانون والحكم البرلماني والتمسك بجذور الجمهورية التركية، إلى جانب موقفها الصريح وخطاباتها الجريئة، فضلاً عن حقيقة كونها واحدة من أبرز النساء السياسيات في تركيا، باهتمامٍ واسع من الرأي العام.

ولكونها قومية مُخلصة، فإن سياساتها محافظة بشكلٍ لا يقبل التهاون، فضلاً عن كونها متشددة ضد التمرد الكردي وحذرة حول الموقف الأكثر حزماً لتركيا على المستوى الإقليمي. ومع ذلك، وبالرغم من مقارنتها بزعيمة اليمين المتطرف الفرنسي مارين لوبان، إلا أنها ترفض الاتهامات بالعنصرية أو السياسات العرقية، وتتفاخر بدلاً من ذلك باعتزازها بالقومية المشتركة باعتباره هدفاً حقيقياً.

وبصفتها مسلمة متدنية، كما تقول، ناشدت في خطاباتها الأتراك المتدينين إلى جانب المواطنين الذين يحملون فكراً أكثر علمانية، ودعتهم إلى الوحدة في بلدٍ يبدو أنه يزداد استقطاباً أكثر من أي وقتٍ مضى. فرسالة أردوغان للوحدة مماثلة، وبينما تحاول أكسينر التودد للناخبين المؤيدين لقطاع الأعمال، والقوميين، والمتدينين تماماً كحال حزبه، حزب العدالة والتنمية، تبدو المواجهة مع الرئيس محتملة. وتماماً كحال حزب المعارضة الرئيسي، حزب الشعب الجمهوري، لا يزال خطابها يدعم بحماس شديد سيادة القانون، على عكس حملة أردوغان العاطفية على أي شخصٍ يعتبره تهديداً له. ومع ذلك، وفي حين أن حزب الشعب الجمهوري لم يتمكن من كسب الدعم خارج الطبقة الحضرية العلمانية التي لطالما شكلت قاعدة ناخبيه الرئيسية، إلا أن سياسة أكسينر تشكل تهديداً قابلاً للتطبيق لقاعدة الدعم السياسي لأردوغان.

يمكن أن يُعزى صعودها الحالي إلى الفوضى وخيبة الأمل التي تولدها حملة أردوغان ضد المجتمع التركي في أعقاب محاولة الانقلاب العام الماضي. وبالنظر إلى التهديد السياسي الذي قد تشكله على هيمنة حزب العدالة والتنمية، تمثل أكسينر هدفاً غضّاً للاتجاه الحالي بالاضطهاد السياسي. بيد انها نجت حتى الآن من الادعاءات الرسمية بالتواطؤ مع الحركة المؤيدة لغولن، والتي اتهمت بتدبيرها محاولة الانقلاب.

وخلال حملة التصويت على الاستفتاء، أصبح دعمها الشعبي في الحزب واضحاً، حيث ظهر الجناح الشاب من حزب الحركة القومية، أو كما يُعرفون بالذئاب الرمادية سيئة السمعة، باعتبارهم أحد أشد المؤيدين لها. وعندما استقالت من الحزب عام 2016، حذى حذوها حوالي 210 من أعضاء الحزب رفيعي المستوى، ليضعوا معاً أسس الخطوة التالية في حياتها المهنية.

وفي 25 أكتوبر 2017، وتحت راية الشمس الساطعة وشعار “تركيا ستكون صالحة،” أطلقت أكسينر حزب لي (الحزب الصالح) ووعدت بالتغيير بعد سنواتٍ من الاستبداد المتفشي.

فقد اجتذب حزب اليمين الوسط بالفعل تأييد خمسة نوابٍ تحت قبة البرلمان، حيث يُدرج الحزب التعددية، والديمقراطية، وسيادة القانون، وحرية التعبير، والقومية، باعتبارها قيماً أساسية له، مما يضع الحزب بالتأكيد على مسارٍ تصادمي مع أردوغان، الذي يميل إلى فرض قانون الطوارىء. كما تحدث أوميت أوزداغ، أحد زملاء أكسينر، عن رغبة الحزب بالمحافظة على إخلاصه للعلمانية التركية، إلى جانب توحيد الوطنيين في البلاد من كلا طرفي الطيف السياسي.

إلا أن علاقات أكسينر بالذئاب الرمادية أثار مخاوف من المسار الذي سيسلكه الحزب. فالذئاب الرمادية تمتلك تاريخاً عنيفاً في تركيا، إذ شكلوا في أوقاتٍ ما من سبعينيات وثمانينات القرن الماضي جماعةً شبه عسكرية. وعلى الرغم من أنهم أعادوا صياغة أنفسهم في السنوات الأخيرة، إلا أنه في حفل إطلاق الحزب الصالح رفع العشرات من الحضور بأيديهم رمز الذئاب بفخرٍ بين الحشود. وبالرغم من أن مثل هذه العروض ذات النزعة القومية المتطرفة شائعةٌ في تجمعات أكسينر، إلا أن الوقت وحده كفيلٌ في أن يظهر لنا مدى اضطرارها إلى الخضوع إلى قاعدة مؤيديها الديموغرافية الأكثر تطرفاً.

فقد قالت في اجتماعٍ في سبتمبر “سيولد حزبنا باعتباره حزب تركيا،” إلا أنّ هذا الخطاب شائعٌ بين أكثر من حزبٍ واحد في الطيف السياسي التركي. ومن المؤكد أن شعبية أكسينر الجديدة تشكل تهديداً لقاعدة دعم أردوغان من الطبقة العاملة، كما ألمحت إلى احتمالية ترشحها ضده في الإنتخاب الرئاسية التركية، ولكن ما لم تنجح في تحويل انتباه الرأي العام إلى أصواتٍ في انتخابات عام 2019، فلربما قد ينتهي الأمر بكون حزبها صالحاً، ولكن ليس بما فيه الكفاية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Faces / Meral Aksener: Could Turkey’s Iron Lady Oust Erdogan?

Meral Aksener: Could Turkey’s Iron Lady Oust Erdogan?

Turkey- Meral Aksener
Right-wing nationalist Meral Aksener acknowledges supporters after announcing her new ‘Iyi Parti’ or ‘Good Party’, in Ankara on October 25, 2017. Photo AFP

There’s a new name on Turkey’s political stage: Meral Aksener. Although she has spent decades in and out of Turkish politics, in the past year she has become a household name, with many questioning whether her brash and bold style could threaten President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s hold on power. But who is she?

Born in 1956 to a family descended from Greek immigrants, Aksener initially pursued a career as an academic, rising to the head of her university’s history department before quitting in 1994 to enter politics. Elected into the secular conservative True Path party, she saw firsthand the upheaval and violence that marked Turkish politics in the 1990s. Advancing quickly to the post of interior minister in the centre-right Islamist government of Necmettin Erbakan, Aksener’s time in the cabinet was cut short by the so-called ‘post-modern coup’ in 1997.

Her fierce resistance to the military putsch marked her out as unafraid to challenge even the most powerful forces in Turkey, a trait that still characterizes her political stance today. Nicknamed ‘Asena’ – the she-wolf of Turkish mythology – by her supporters in Turkey’s nationalist bloc, for whom the wolf holds particular symbolic significance, Aksener is not one to shy away from a fight.

It has been more than 80 years since Turkish women have been allowed to enter parliament, but they are vastly underrepresented among the country’s lawmakers. Tansu Ciller was made prime minister in 1993, but she is an exception and the top tier of politics has always been male-dominated; local politics is also male-heavy but easier for women to penetrate. For a country with such a macho political sphere and, since Erdogan’s rise, a penchant for strong-man politics, Aksener’s rise to prominence is all the more remarkable.

Although ousted from the cabinet, married mother-of-one Aksener remained in parliament, and in 2007, when the nationalist Milli Harket Partisi, or MHP, was rebranded by its elderly leader Devlet Bahceli, Aksener rejoined the political fray and transferred her parliamentary allegiance to the party. Winning re-election in 2011 for the MHP, her years in parliament have been free of scandal as her status in the party has slowly grown, especially when she became the parliament’s deputy speaker.

From 2015, Aksener started to make her opposition to Bahceli’s acquiescence to Erdogan known, protesting the MHP’s drift away from the party’s strict Kemalist founding principles. This spat came to a head in 2016 when her vocal questioning of Bahceli’s leadership saw her kicked out of the MHP.

But it was her opposition to Erdogan’s 2017 constitutional referendum that really brought her into the public eye. Bahceli came out in support of Erdogan’s ‘Yes’ campaign, after an alleged deal for a top cabinet position under the new presidential system. Arguing for a return to the rule of law, parliamentary rule and Turkey’s republican roots, Aksener’s forthright position and defiant speeches, as well as the fact that she is one of Turkey’s only prominent female politicians, has won her broad public attention.

A staunch nationalist, her politics are unapologetically conservative, hawkish towards the Kurdish insurgency and wary of Turkey’s more assertive regional position. However, while she has been compared to France’s far-right leader Marine Le Pen, she rejects accusations of racist or ethnic politics, instead trumpeting a shared national pride as her true aim.

As a self-declared pious Muslim, in speeches she has appealed to religiously minded Turks along-side their more secularist compatriots, calling for unity in a country that appears to be growing ever more polarized. Erdogan’s message of unity is similar, and as Aksener attempts to woo the same pro-business, nationalist and religious voters as his AKP party, a showdown with the president seems likely. Like the main opposition party, the CHP, her rhetoric remains ardently supportive of the rule of law, in contrast to Erdogan’s emotive crackdown on anyone he considers a threat. However, while the CHP has been unable to win support outside the urban, secular-minded class that has always been its main voter base, Aksener’s politics offers a viable threat to Erdogan’s cushion of political support.

Her current rise can be put down to the turmoil and disillusionment bred by Erdogan’s crackdown on Turkish society following last year’s coup attempt. Given the political threat she may pose to the AKP’s dominance, Aksener is a juicy target for the current trend of political oppression. However, she has so far escaped official allegations of collusion with the Gülenist movement, which is accused of being behind the coup attempt.

During the referendum campaign, her grassroots support in the party became clear, with the MHP youth wing, the infamous Grey Wolves, emerging as one of her most strident backers. When she quit the party in 2016, some 210 other high-ranking party members followed her, laying the foundations for the next step of her career.

On 25 October 2017, under a banner of a rising sun and the slogan ‘Turkey will be good’, Aksener launched the Iyi (‘good’) Party and promised political change after years of creeping authoritarianism.

The centre-right party has already attracted the backing of five sitting lawmakers and lists pluralism, democracy, the rule of law, freedom of speech and nationalism as its key values, surely setting the party on a collision course with Erdogan, who has a penchant for emergency rule. Ümit Özdağ, one of Aksener’s colleagues, has spoken of the party’s desire to stay loyal to Turkey’s secularism but to unite the country’s patriots on both sides of the political spectrum.

Yet Aksener’s ties to the Grey Wolves have raised fears about the path her party will take. The Grey Wolves has a violent history in Turkey, and at times in the 1970s and ’80s resembled a paramilitary group. Although they have remodelled themselves in recent years, at the Iyi Party’s launch event, dozens of attendees proudly made the Wolves’ hand symbol in the crowd. Such ultranationalist displays have been common at Aksener’s rallies, and only time will tell how far she will have to bow to the more extreme demographic of her support base.

“Our party will be born as the party of Turkey,” she said at a meeting in September 2017, but this is rhetoric common to more than one party in the Turkish political spectrum. Aksener’s new popularity is certainly a threat to Erdogan’s working-class support base, and she has hinted that she may run against him for the Turkish presidency, but unless she can convert public attention into votes in the 2019 elections, her party could end up being good but not good enough.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.