فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / وُجوه / عثمان كفالا: المُحسن الصالح خلف القبضان في تركيا

عثمان كفالا: المُحسن الصالح خلف القبضان في تركيا

Turkey- Osman Kavala
المصدر: www.osmankavala.org

في السنوات الأخيرة، واجه سجل تركيا في مجال حقوق الإنسان تدقيقاً متزايداً في ظل حملة التطهير الوطنية من أتباع غولن، الأتباع المزعومين لرجل الدين التركي المُقيم في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية فتح الله غولن، بعد أن أدت محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016 إلى احتجاز مئات الآلاف من الأتراك، والتي وصلت إلى حد عمليات التسليم الاستثنائي لأتباع غولن في الخارج. ولكن وسط هذا الغضب، تصدر احتجاز رجلٍ واحد، هو عثمان كفالا، عناوين الصحف بشكلٍ خاص وحظي باهتمامٍ دولي.

يُعرف كفالا، وهو رجل أعمالٍ ثري، باعتباره محباً للخير وقائداً في المجتمع المدني. وباعتباره رئيس معهد الأناضول الثقافي، كان حلقة وصلٍ رئيسية بين تركيا والمجتمع الدولي، حيث ساهم في تشكيل العلاقات وبناء الروابط الثقافية. ولكن في الوقت الذي تضاعفت به حملة التطهير التي شنها الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان لتتضمن حملةً أوسع نطاقاً على شخصيات المعارضة، فما سبب وقوع كفالا في هذه الشبكة وما هي أهميته؟

تولى كفالا، الذي تلقى تعليمه في كلية روبرت كوليدج، ذات الطراز الأمريكي، في اسطنبول (وهي موطن النخبة الليبرالية في تركيا)، والتحق بعدها بإحدى الجامعات في المملكة المتحدة، إدارة الإعمال التجارية للمجموعة التابعة لعائلته بعد وفاة والده. وفي حين كان الدعم المالي لإمبراطورية أعماله ما عزز كثيراً من أعماله الخيرية، إلا أن مساعيه الخيرة بحد ذاتها ما صنعت اسمه. فمن خلال عددٍ من المنظمات، بما فيها معهد الأناضول الثقافي، اكتسب سمعةً دولية بسبب عمله على محاولة مداواة المشهد المجزأ، بشكلٍ متزايد، للمجتمع التركي.

ألقي القبض عليه بتهمة دعم أربع “جماعاتٍ إرهابية” والسعي إلى الإطاحة بالنظام الدستوري والنظام التركي، رغم أنه في ذلك الوقت ، كان احتجازه سرياً ومحاطاً بالغموض. ومع ذلك، بعد مرور عامٍ على اعتقاله الأولي، لم يتم توجيه اتهامات إليه بشكلٍ رسمي. فقد احتُجز هذا الشخص البالغ من العمر 61 عاماً في الحبس الانفرادي دون أي إشارةٍ إلى لائحة اتهامٍ رسمية أو حتى الإدلاء بإفادته أمام المدعي العام.

إلا أن هذا لم يمنع القيادة التركية من الإفصاح عن وجهات نظرها حول براءته بكل وضوح. فبعد أقل من أسبوعٍ من اعتقاله، وقبل اتهامه رسمياً، اتهم الرئيس أردوغان كفالا علانية بالسلوك الإجرامي، واصفاً إياه بـ “ممثل سوروس في تركيا” وربطه باحتجاجات حديقة جيزي عام 2013.

ولتعزيز هذه المزاعم التي يبدو أن لا أساس لها من الصحة، اتهم الرئيس أردوغان أيضاً الملياردير الهنغاري (والهدف المتكرر لنظريات المؤامرة العالمية المعادية للسامية) جورج سوروس، بالوقوف وراء أنشطة كفالا التي يفترض أنها غير قانونية. ساهمت هجمات كهذه إلى إنهاء سوروس لعمل منظمته في تركيا (يعتبر كفالا أحد أعضاء المجلس الاستشاري للفرع التركي لصندوق المجتمع المفتوح، الذي يملكها سوروس، وهي منظمة تدعم الاضطرابات المدنية غير العنيفة، مثل احتجاجات جيزي).

كما كان ربط كفالا بـ”العقل المدبر” المفترض لمحاولة الانقلاب عام 2016، وهو هنري باركي- أستاذ جامعي أمريكي كان يعقد مؤتمراً في اسطنبول في ليلة محاولة الانقلاب، منعطفاً غريباً لتدويل قضيته. وتتمثل إحدى التهمتين الموجهتين لكفالا بتواصله مع باركي. وفي حين أن كفالا لم يحضر المؤتمر، إلا أن باركي أكدّ أنهما تحدثا بإيجازٍ في أحد مطاعم اسطنبول. وعلى الرغم من أن الأمر يبدو عرضياً، إلا أن هذا كان دليلاً كافياً لأنقرة لاحتجاز كفالا لفترةٍ طويلة مع استمرار التحقيق القضائي.

ومع ذلك، يُثير اعتقال كفالا واحتجاز عددٍ من الشخصيات الأخرى التي يفترض تورطهم في تنظيم احتجاجات حديقة جيزي- الذي يعتبر على الأرجح أكبر تحدٍ علني لحكم أردوغان الذي دام قرابة 17 عاماً – أسئلةً مثيرةً للقلق. لماذا قررت الحكومة إعادة إحياء تحقيقٍ مضى عليه خمسة أعوام، وبخاصة حول موضوعٍ يُشعل التوترات؟

لا توجد إجابةٌ واضحة، ولكن مع استمرار التحديات التي تواجه هيمنة حزب أردوغان، حزب العدالة والتنمية، يمكن لأردوغان الإعتماد على أتباعه للدفاع عنه. وعلى الرغم من أنه لا يواجه أي تحدٍ انتخابي في أي وقتٍ قريب، بعد أن فاز للتو بسباق رئاسي منحه تفويضاً ضخماً، إلا أنه لا بد أن هذا الخوف بين أنصار حزب العدالة والتنمية يشجع أردوغان بالتأكيد في حملته المستمرة لاجتثاث المعارضين الأتراك داخل تركيا وخارجها.

ومع ذلك، يمكن لأردوغان من خلال تأجيج التوتر وتغذية نار الشكوك في تركيا، أن يضمن دعماً ثابتاً من قاعدته الإسلامية السُنيّة المحافظة، إذ يعمل التقسيم السياسي في تركيا لصالح الرئيس أردوغان، طالما يستطيع الحفاظ على ولاء أنصاره. وعليه، فإن الخوف من الطابور الخامس في المجتمع التركي هو أداةٌ قوية للقيام بذلك.

تحقيقاً لتلك الغاية، وبما أن معهد الأناضول الثقافي عمل على نطاقٍ واسع نسبياً مع الأرمن والأكراد في تركيا، فإنه يمكن اعتبار احتجاز كفالا شكلاً من أشكال الترهيب ضد الأقليات في البلد. وهذا من شأنه بكل تأكيد أن يجعل المنظمات التركية التي تعمل حول حقوق الأقليات أكثر حرصاً على عملها.

إن المزيج الانتقائي للتهم الموجهة إلى كفالا في الصحافة التركية، من التعاون مع أتباع غولن والتجسس لصالح الغرب، إلى تنظيم احتجاجات جيزي وصلاته بالجريمة المنظمة، تعكس بشكلٍ أكبر جهود وسائل الإعلام (التي أصبحت اليوم موالية للحكومة بشكلٍ كبير تقريباً) لتشويه صورته بما يتجاوز أي دليلٍ كبيرٍ ضده.

لا شك أن مكانة كفالا وصلاته بالمجتمع الدولي ما عزز التغطية الإعلامية لاحتجازه المستمر. إلا أن هذا الإهتمام تُرجم أيضاً إلى عملٍ سياسي: فقد أشار مفوض الأمم المتحدة لشؤون الدول الطامحة بالإنضمام إلى التكتل (تركيا مرشحة للإنضمام إلى عضوية الإتحاد الأوروبي منذ الثمانينيات)، بكل صراحة إلى كفالا بالاسم في شهر نوفمبر من عام 2018 عندما هاجم تركيا لاحتجازها صحفيين وأعضاء في المجتمع المدني.

قد يشير استمرار احتجاز كفالا إلى خوف الرئيس أردوغان من شخصيات المجتمع المدني المترابطة بشكلٍ جيد والتي تملك أموالاً لإنفاقها. ولا تزال تركيا منقسمة إلى حدٍ كبير، حيث أن الانتخابات العامة الأخيرة كانت واضحة للغاية، وخلال فترةٍ يعاني فيها الاقتصاد التركي من صعوباتٍ وعدم القدرة على تحمّل النمو المستمر لحقبة حزب العدالة والتنمية، فإن أي نوعٍ من أنواع المعارضة قد يُشكل خطراً. وعلى الرغم من كون قضية كفالا بمزيدٍ من التسامح العرقي من القضايا المؤثرة غالباً في تركيا، إلا أن التوترات الحالية ليست متجذرةً على وجه الخصوص بمثل هذه القضايا. ومن المؤكد أن تهديد كفالا يأتي من رفضه الإنصياع لأوامر أردوغان، واحتماليه أن تُشعل ثروته شرارة المعارضة في خضم موجة التغيير.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Faces / Osman Kavala: Turkey’s Jailed Good Samaritan

Osman Kavala: Turkey’s Jailed Good Samaritan

Turkey- Osman Kavala
Photo: www.osmankavala.org

In recent years, Turkey’s human rights record has faced growing scrutiny as a national purge of Gulenists, purported followers of US-based religious scholar Fetullah Gülen, following an attempted coup in 2016 has led to the detention of hundreds of thousands of Turks, even extending to the extraordinary rendition of Gulenists abroad.

But amidst the furore, the detention of one man, Osman Kavala, has particularly captured headlines and garnered international attention.

A wealthy businessman, Kavala is well-known as a philanthropist and civil society leader. As the head of Anadolu Kultur (Anatolia Culture), he was a key bridge between Turkey and the international community, helping to form relationships and build cultural connections.

But while President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s purge has swelled to constitute a broader crackdown on opposition figures, why has Kavala fallen into this net and why is he so important?

Educated at Istanbul’s American-style Robert College (a stomping ground for many of Turkey’s liberal elite) and having attended university in the United Kingdom (UK), Kavala took over the running of his family’s business group after the death of his father. While it was the financial backing of his business empire that underpinned much of his charitable work, it was his philanthropic endeavours themselves that made his name. Through a number of organisations, including Anadolu Kultur, he garnered an international reputation for his work to try and heal the increasingly fractured landscape of Turkish society.

He was arrested on charges of supporting four “terrorist groups” and for seeking the overthrow of the Turkish constitutional law and order, although at the time, his detention was made confidential and shrouded in uncertainties. However, a year after his initial detention, he still has not been officially charged. The 61-year old has been held in solitary confinement with no sign of a formal indictment or even a prosecutor’s deposition. But that hasn’t stopped Turkey’s leadership from making their view on his innocence very clear.

Less than a week after he was detained, and before being officially charged, President Erdogan publicly accused Kavala of criminal behaviour, labelling him as the “Red Soros of Turkey” and linking him to the 2013 Gezi Park protests.

Furthering these seemingly baseless claims, President Erdogan has also accused Hungarian billionaire (and frequent target for global anti-Semitic conspiracy theories) George Soros of being behind Kavala’s supposedly illegal activities. Attacks like these contributed to Soros ending his organisation’s work in Turkey (Kavala does sit on the advisory board of Soros’ Open Society Foundation, an organisation that supports non-violent civil disturbance, like the Gezi Protest).

A bizarre international twist to Kavala’s detention has been his links to the supposed “mastermind” of the 2016 attempted coup, Henry Barkey, a US university professor who was holding a conference in Istanbul on the night of the attempted putsch. One of the two charges against Kavala is for his contact with Barkey. While Kavala didn’t attend the conference, Barkey has confirmed that the two men did talk briefly at an Istanbul restaurant. Circumstantial though it may seem, this evidence has been sufficient for Ankara to deem Kavala worthy of lengthy detention while the judicial inquiry continues.

However, Kavala’s arrest and the detention of a number of other figures supposedly involved in orchestrating the Gezi Park protests – probably the largest public challenge to Erdogan’s now nearly 17-year rule – does raise alarming questions. Why would the government decide now to revive a five-year-old investigation, especially one around such a tension-inflaming topic?

There is no obvious answer, but while challenges to the dominance of President Erdogan’s AK Party (AKP) persist, he can count on his followers to rally to his defence. Although he faces no electoral challenge anytime soon, having just won a massively empowering presidential race, this fear amongst AKP supporters must surely embolden Erdogan in his continuing campaign to root out Turkish opponents within and outside Turkey.

However, by inflaming tensions and sustaining the flames of suspicion in Turkey, Erdogan can guarantee the steadfast support of his socially conservative, Sunni Muslim base. The political division of Turkey works in President Erdogan’s favour, as long as he can maintain the loyalty of his supporters. Fear of the proverbial fifth-column in Turkish society is a powerful tool to do this.

To that end, since Anadolu Kultur has worked relatively widely with Turkey’s Armenians and Kurds, Kavala’s detention could be read as a form of intimidation against the country’s minorities. It certainly is likely to make Turkic organisations working around minority rights a lot warier about their work.

The eclectic mix of charges that Kavala has been accused of in the Turkish press, from collaboration with Gulenists to spying for the West, to organizing the Gezi protests and links to organized crime, speaks more of the (now almost exclusively state-aligned) media’s efforts to demonize him than of any great body of evidence against him.

Kavala’s status and connection with the international community has no doubt underpinned the press coverage his continued detention is receiving. But this attention has also been translated into political action: the European Union (EU) commissioner for aspirant members’ accession (Turkey has been an official EU candidate since the 1980s) all but referenced Kavala by name in November 2018 as he attacked Turkey’s detention of journalists and civil society members.

Kavala’s continued detention perhaps signals President Erdogan’s fear of well-connected civil society figures with money to spend. Turkey still remains precipitously divided, as the last general election made all too clear and, during a period when Turkey’s economy is struggling and unable to sustain the continued growth of the AKP era, dissent of any kind is potentially dangerous. Although Kavala’s cause of greater ethnic tolerance is often a touchy one in Turkey, today’s tensions aren’t principally rooted in these issues. Kavala’s threat surely comes from his refusal to toe President Erdogan’s line and the potential of his wealth to turn a spark of dissent into a tide of change.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.