فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / وُجوه / رجب طيب أردوغان: مُخَلِّص تركيا أم سُلطانها؟

رجب طيب أردوغان: مُخَلِّص تركيا أم سُلطانها؟

Turkey- Recep Tayyip Erdogan
الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان (وسط) يزور آنيت كابير؛ ضريح مؤسس لجمهورية التركية مصطفى كمال أتاتورك، في احتفالٍ بمناسبة الذكرى الرابعة والستين لتأسيس الجمهورية التركية في 29 أكتوبر 2017 في أنقرة. Photo AFP ©AFP

كَبُرَرجب طيب أردوغان من بداياتٍ متواضعة إلى عملاقٍ سياسي، ليُعيد تشكيل تركيا متفوقاً على أي قائدٍ تركي آخر منذ أيام مصطفى كمال أتاتورك، الأب المبجل لتركيا الحديثة.

واليوم، أصبح المؤسس الفخور لرئاسةٍ قوية، ممارساً بمهارة سلطة منقطعة النظير ومترئساً نظاماً سياسياً لا يرتكز على حزبٍ أو كتلة، بل على رجلٍ واحد، هو أردوغان نفسه. بالنسبة لأنصاره، جلب أردوغان لتركيا سنواتٍ من النمو الاقتصادي المستدام، كما زاد من نفوذ أنقرة الدولي ودافع عن الإسلام السني، والقومية التي تحنّ إلى العثمانية. أما بالنسبة لمنتقديه، فهو مستبدٌ وغير متسامحٍ مع معارضي رؤيته لمستقبل تركيا وأساليبه لتحقيق ذلك.

وبشراكةٍ مع عبد الله غول، الذي خلفه أردوغان بمنصب الرئيس، أسس حزب العدالة والتنمية عام 2001، وهو حزب اليمين الوسط المحافظ الذي سعى إلى إدخال السياسات الإسلامية إلى التيار التركي. فقد حقق الحزب هذا الهدف بنجاحٍ مذهل، حيث فاز في الإنتخابات العامة في عام 2002، و2007، و2011، ومرتين في عام 2015.

فلم تأتِ شخصيةٌ تُهيمن على السياسة التركية لفترةٍ طويلة منذ أيام أتاتورك، إلا أن صعوده الصاروخي شوّه بسلسلةٍ من الإدعاءات بسوء الإدارة، وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، وقمع حرية التعبير، وحملة التطهير واسعة النطاق في البلاد.

فأردوغان الذي ولد عام 1954 في اسطنبول وترعرع على سواحل البحر الأسود في تركيا لأبٍ يعمل في خفر السواحل، خريج مدرسة ثانوية إسلامية وكلية الإدارة في جامعة مرمرة.

وأثناء وجوده في الجامعة، التقى أردوغان بنجم الدين أربكان، الذي أصبح أول رئيس وزراء إسلامي للبلاد ومرشداً للسياسي الشاب المنتظر. وبعد الانقلاب العسكري عام 1980، انضم اردوغان إلى حزب الرفاه بقيادة أربكان، ليصعد في صفوف الحزب إلى أن تم انتخابه للبرلمان عام 1991 (إلا أن الحظ لم يحالفه بالوصول إلى مقعده في البرلمان). بيد أنه حقق نجاحاً مدوياً عام 1994 بعد انتخابه عمدة اسطنبول، مما أثار المخاوف في صفوف النخبة الحاكمة في المدينة من محاولته فرض قيودٍ على الكحول وأنماط الحياة “غير الإسلامية.” وعلى الرغم من أنه أثبت أنه إداري مؤهل وعملي للمدينة، إلا أنه لم يدم طويلاً في منصبه الرسمي. ففي عام 1997، تم تجريده من منصبه وحكم عليه بالسجن 10 أشهر لاقتباسه أبياتاً شعرية إسلامية في خطابٍ علني.

تضمنت القصيدة البيت التالي:
“مساجدنا ثكناتنا، قبابنا خوذاتنا، مآذننا حرابنا، والمصلون جنودنا…،” حيث اعتبرتها القضاء العلماني انتهاكاً للمبادىء ذات الفكر الكمالي في البلاد. قضى خلف القضبان أربعة أشهرٍ فحسب، إلا أنها شكلت نقطة تحولٍ في حياة الرئيس المستقبلي، الذي استخدم محاكمته والاهتمام الذي حصل عليه كشعلةٍ للأتراك ذوي التوجهات الإسلامية الغاضبين من العلمانية القمعية لدستور البلاد.

ومع تجريده من منصبه كعمدة اسطنبول، مُنع أيضاً من الترشح للانتخابات البرلمانية لخمس سنوات؛ حظرٌ أبطلته حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية على الفور عام 2003، بعد أن أصبح أكبر حزبٍ في انتخابات تركيا عام 2002، بعد حصوله على أكثر من ثلث أصوات الناخبين. وفي مارس 2003، ترشح أردوغان وفاز في الانتخابات الفرعية في مدينة سرت، مسقط رأس زوجته، مستكملاً تحولاً طال انتظاره في السياسة الإسلامية في تركيا.

وطوال حياته المهنية، حرص أردوغان على الحفاظ على مفاهيم قربه من الشعب، حيث اعتمد إلى حدٍ كبير نمط السياسات الشعبوية في التجمعات والخطب العامة للتواصل مع الناخبين. وعادةً ما تعج خطاباته بالمصطلحات الإسلامية اليومية، والنبرة التحاورية، والإزدراء الإيجابي للسلطة المؤسسية في الداخل والخارج. فقد قربته سياساته الإسلامية البلاغية العثمانية، وحتى مشواره المهني القصير كلاعب كرة قدم محترف، من قاعدة ناخبيه الضخمة من المحافظين من الطبقة العاملة. ومع ذلك، مع ازدهار اقتصاد تركيا، ازدهرت أيضاً ثروات الأتراك. ولكونه يمثل قصة نجاحٍ لمن صنع نفسه بنفسه، أصبح أردوغان رمزاً للحظ الجيد بالنسبة للكثيرين من الطبقة الوسطى المحافظة الآخذة بالنمو في تركيا.

فقد كان جوهر حزب العدالة والتنمية الذي يتبع له أردوغان انشقاقا عن حزب الفضيلة التركي، الذي حظرته المحاكم في عام 2001 لأنشطته “المناهضة للعلمانية.” ومن المفارقات، أن أردوغان صعد بحزب العدالة والتنمية إلى السلطة بالنأي بنفسه بعيداً عن الحركات الإسلامية السابقة في تركيا، وتبني تيارا أكثر وسطية.

ومع ذلك، حمل تظلمه ضد الحرس القديم للفكر الكمالي في تركيا معه. فأردوغان الذي كان لا يزال يشعر بالإذلال من العقوبة التي قضاها في السجن والإدانة السياسية بسبب معتقداته الدينية، وبمجرد وصوله إلى السلطة، جعل من كبح نفوذ الجيش، الذي كان يتمتع بالقوة يوماً ما، ما يشبه الحملة الشخصية. بدءاً من محاكمات منظمة أرغنيكون عام 2003، التي تورط فيها عشرات كبار ضباط الجيش في مؤامرةٍ إنقلابية، وصولاً إلى حملة التطهير التي شهدتها البلاد العام الماضي، أعاد أردوغان تركيز سلطة البلاد، بقوة، بأيدي البرلمان، والتي باتت اليوم بين يديه، من خلال السلطة التنفيذية. فقد أجبر الجيش على الإذعان للحكم البرلماني، حيث بات يرأس المناصب العليا في الجيش شخصيات موالية تمتلك خلفيةً مماثلة لأردوغان. فهم من نوعية الرجال، تماماً كحال الرئيس، ما كانوا سيرتقوا قط في المناصب في ظل النظام القديم.

فقد شكلت رؤية أردوغان لـ”تركيا جديدة” محور سياساته. وبالرغم من كونه مفهوم مُبهم، إلا أن أردوغان إدعى أنه يُشير إلى تركيا ديمقراطية خالية من الإنقلابات العسكرية. وباسترجاع الأحداث السابقة، قد يكون انقلاب مراكز السلطة السابقة في تركيا الوصف الأكثر دقة.

ويرى قليلون أنه عندما اجتاح حزب العدالة والتنمية السلطة، ترأس أردوغان حكومةً نفذت الإصلاحات التحررية التي تشتد الحاجة إليها بسرعةٍ وفعاليةٍ أكبر، تقريباً، من أي من سابقاتها. فقد فتح برلمانه جميع الأبواب، من المدارس إلى الجيش وحتى البرلمان نفسه، أمام النساء المحجبات، مما يُبشر بقبولٍ جديد للدين في الحياة التركية الرسمية.

تم انتقاد أردوغان، الأب لأربعة أبناء- غير المدخن والممتنع عن احتساء الكحول، لفرضه القيم الإسلامية التي يتبعها في حياته على تركيا. كما فرضت حكومته قوانين صارمة على بيع الكحول عام 2013، وبعد ثلاث سنوات ادعى أنه لا ينبغي على الأسرة المسلمة أخذ تحديد النسل بعين الاعتبار. كما اتسمت خطاباته أيضاً بانتقاد المساواة بين الجنسين والنسوية، إذ وصل به الأمر إلى حد القول أن الرجال والنساء لا يمكن أن يعاملوا على قدم المساواة.

ومع ذلك، فقد شجع، منذ الأيام الأولى لدخوله المعترك السياسي، مشاركة النساء في المجال السياسي. ففي ذلك الوقت، كان إدراج النساء المحجبات في الشؤون العامة التركية هدفاً رئيسياً للسياسيين الإسلاميين، ذلك أنهن يمثلن رمزاً قوياً للحياة الإسلامية اليومية لمعظم الأتراك داخل نظام حكمٍ شديد العلمانية.

وفي ظل حكم أردوغان، تطورت تركيا لتصبح مركز قوة للتصنيع والتصدير، مما حدّ من مخاوف الأزمة المالية ولتصبح معدلات التضخم المرتفعة التي عانت منها البلاد في التسعينيات، من الماضي.

بيد أن “تركيا الجديدة” هذه تحمل في طياتها بعض السمات المثيرة للقلق من تركيا القديمة، التي عاود الكثير منها الظهور مع تشديد أرودغان قبضته على السلطة. وعلى ما يُعتقد، فإن صراعه المستمر مع رجل الدين المنفي وحليفه السابق فتح الله غولن، وراء المزاعم التي انتشرت عام 2014 بالفساد المستشري على أعلى مستويات الحكومة، الذي قيل أن أردوغان وابنه تورطا به.

ومع ذلك، كان القمع الذي طال حقوق الإنسان، وحرية الصحافة، وحرية التعبير، وحتى الديمقراطية، أكثر بشاعة. فقد سُجن العشرات من السياسيين المعارضين والصحفيين من مختلف الأطياف الإعلامية وعشرات الآلاف من الموظفين الحكوميين والعسكريين والمواطنين بتهمة المشاركة فى الارهاب. وعليه، يمكن بالتأكيد اعتبار محاولة الإنقلاب في العام الماضي، التي زُعم أن جماعة غولن تقف وراءها، رد فعلٍ على حصر السلطة بين أيدي أردوغان، والتي بلغت ذروتها مع فوزه في الاستفتاء الدستوري في أبريل الماضي.

عزز أردوغان مكانته في كتب التاريخ كثاني أبرز حاكمٍ في تركيا الحديثة، إلا أنه يبدو عازماً على التفوق على ذلك. وحتى بعد استفتاء العام الماضي، قام بتنظيم عملية تطهيرٍ لمسؤولي حزب العدالة والتنمية المنتخبين في المدن التي كانت فيها نتائج التصويت أقل مما هو متوقع. ويبدو أن الموالين لأردوغان هم الوحيدون الذين سينجون في خضم هذا التعديل الأخير على السياسة التركية. وإذا ما بدا مستقبل تركيا غير مضمون، فهناك أمرٌ واحدٌ أكيد: سيكون رجب طيب أردوغان محوره.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP | ©AFP

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Faces / Recep Tayyip Erdogan: Turkey’s Saviour or Sultan?

Recep Tayyip Erdogan: Turkey’s Saviour or Sultan?

Turkey- Recep Tayyip Erdogan
Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan (C) visits the Anitkabir, the mausoleum of the founder of the Turkish Republic Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, during a ceremony marking the 94th anniversary of Republic Day on 29 October 2017, in Ankara. Photo AFP

From humble beginnings, Recep Tayyip Erdogan has grown into a political giant, reshaping Turkey more than any leader since Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, the revered father of the modern republic.

Now he is the proud creator of a muscular presidency, wielding unrivalled power and heading a political system focused not on a party or bloc but on one man, Erdogan himself. To his supporters, Erdogan has brought Turkey years of sustained economic growth, increased Ankara’s international clout and championed a strident Sunni Islam, Ottoman-nostalgic nationalism. To his critics, he is an autocrat, intolerant of dissent from his vision of Turkey’s future and his methods of achieving it.

In partnership with Abdullah Gül who preceded Erdogan as president, he founded the AKP in 2001, a centre-right conservative party that sought to bring Islamist politics into the Turkish mainstream. He has achieved this goal with stunning success, winning general elections in 2002, 2007, 2011 and two in 2015.

Not since Ataturk has a figure dominated Turkish politics for so long. Yet his meteoric rise has been marred by a string of allegations of misconduct, human rights abuses, repression of free speech and nation-wide purges.

Born in 1954 in Istanbul and raised on Turkey’s Black Sea coast, Erdogan, the son of a coastguard, is a graduate of an Islamic high school and the management programme at Marmara University.

While at university, Erdogan met Necebettin Erbakan, who would become the country’s first Islamist prime minister and a mentor to the young would-be politician. Following the military coup of 1980, Erdogan joined Erbakan’s Welfare Party, rising through its ranks until his election to parliament in 1991 (he was prevented from taking his seat on a technicality). A more resounding success came in 1994, when he was elected Istanbul’s mayor, sparking fears among the city’s elites that he would try to impose restrictions on alcohol and ‘non-Islamic’ ways of life. Although he proved to be a capable and pragmatic manager of the city, his time as an elected official was short-lived. In 1997, he was stripped of his position and sentenced to ten months in prison for reading an Islamic poem in a public address.

The poem included the line, ‘The mosques are our barracks, the domes our helmets, the minarets our bayonets and the faithful our soldiers…’ and was considered a violation of the country’s Kemalist principles by the secular judiciary. He served only four months behind bars, but this was to be a seminal moment for the future president, who used his trial and the attention it garnered as a lightning rod for Islamist-minded Turks angered by the oppressive secularism of the country’s constitution.

Forced to give up his position as Istanbul’s mayor, he was also banned from parliamentary elections for five years, a ban that the AKP government promptly overturned in 2003, after it became Turkey’s largest party in the 2002 elections, winning over a third of the votes cast. In March 2003, Erdogan contested, and won, a by-election in Siirt, his wife’s home city, completing a long-awaited turnaround in Islamist politics in Turkey.

Throughout his career, Erdogan has been careful to maintain perceptions of his closeness to the people, relying on a style of populist politics heavy on rallies and public speeches to connect with voters. His speeches are typically laden with daily Islamic terms, a conversational tone and a healthy disrespect for institutional authority at home and abroad. His oratory, Islamic and Ottoman-friendly politics, and even his short career as a professional footballer have all endeared him to his largely working-class, conservative voter base. That said, as Turkey’s economy has blossomed, so have the fortunes of Turks. A self-made success story himself, Erdogan has become a symbol of good fortune for many from Turkey’s growing conservative middle class.

The core of Erdogan’s AKP party was the breakaway Virtue Party, which the courts shuttered in 2001 for its ‘anti-secular’ activities. Ironically, it was by distancing himself from Turkey’s previous Islamist movements and embracing a more centrist line that Erdogan came to the power with the AKP.

Nevertheless, he has carried his grievances against the old-guard of Kemalist Turkey with him. Still smarting from the humiliation of a prison sentence and a political ban for his religious beliefs, on coming to power he made curbing the clout of the once-powerful military something of a personal crusade. Starting with the Ergenekon trials in 2003, which implicated dozens of senior military officers in a coup plot, and continuing through to the purge of the past year, Erdogan has firmly recentred the country’s power in the hands of the parliament, and now in his hands, through the executive branch. The military has been forced to toe the line of parliamentary rule, with their top ranks seeded with loyalist figures who have a similar background to Erdogan. These are the kind of men who, like the president, would never have risen so high under the old system.

The centrepiece of Erdogan’s politics has been his vision for the ‘New Turkey’. Although a vague concept, Erdogan has claimed it refers to a democratic Turkey free from military coups. In hindsight, a more accurate description might be the upturning of the past centres of power in Turkey.

Few could argue that when the AKP swept to power, Erdogan presided over a government that implemented much-needed liberalizing reforms far more quickly and effectively than almost any of its predecessors. His parliament opened up everything from schools, the army and even parliament to women wearing headscarves, heralding a new acceptance of religion in official Turkish life.

A non-smoking, teetotal father of four, Erdogan has been criticized for imposing on Turkey the Islamic values that underpin his own life. His government brought in tough regulations on alcohol sales in 2013, and three years later he claimed that no Muslim family should consider birth control. Critiques of gender equality and feminism have also marked his rhetoric. He went so far as to say that men and women cannot be treated equally.

That said, from his earliest days in politics he encouraged female participation in the political sphere. At that time, the inclusion of veiled women in Turkish public affairs was a key goal of Islamist politicians, as they represented a powerful symbol of the Muslim day-to-day life of most Turks within an ardently secular system of governance.

Under Erdogan’s reign, Turkey has developed into a manufacturing and export powerhouse, allaying fears of financial crisis and putting the country’s soaring inflation rates of the 1990s firmly in the past.

Yet this ‘New Turkey’ holds some disturbing hallmarks of the old, many of which have resurfaced as Erdogan’s hold on power has tightened. His ongoing conflict with exiled cleric and former ally Fethullah Gülen was supposedly behind the 2014 allegations of massive corruption at the highest levels of government, which implicated Erdogan and his sons.

However, far more insidious has been the crackdown on human rights, freedom of the press, freedom of speech and even democracy. Scores of opposition politicians, journalists from across the media spectrum and tens of thousands of public servants, military personnel and citizens have been jailed on charges of involvement in terrorism. Last year’s attempted coup, allegedly by Gülenist groups, can certainly be seen as a response to Erdogan’s concentration of power in his own hands, which reached its zenith with his victory in the constitutional referendum last April 2017.

Erdogan has cemented his place in the history books as modern Turkey’s second-most notable ruler, but he seems determined to better that. Even after last year’s referendum, he has orchestrated a purge of elected AKP officials in cities where results from the vote were lower than expected. Loyalty to Erdogan seems to be the sole determinant of survival in this latest reshuffle of Turkish politics. If Turkey’s future seems unsure, one thing is certain: Recep Tayyip Erdogan will be at its centre.

image_pdfimage_print