فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / وُجوه / صلاح الدين دميرتاش، نجم مُعتم للسياسة التركية

صلاح الدين دميرتاش، نجم مُعتم للسياسة التركية

صلاح الدين دميرتاش
صلاح الدين دميرتاش. Photo Picasa

“لن نسمح لك أبداً بأن تصبح رئيسا تنفيذياً،” هذا ما قاله صلاح الدين دميرتاش في مارس 2015، في الفترة التي تسبق الانتخابات البرلمانية التي جرت في يونيو. كان هذا أقصر خطابٍ للرئيس المشارك لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي (HDP)، الحزب اليساري الذي يملك جذوراً في الحركة السياسية الكردية، والذي سبق وأن أدلى به أمام مجموعته البرلمانية، وحصل على حفاوة بالغة.

يُطلق العديد من محبي صلاح الدين دميرتاش (مواليد عام 1973) عليه لقب سيلوكان، “حبيبي سيلو،” حيث أن سيلو هو اختصارٌ لصلاح الدين. بالنسبة للكثير، يُعتبر معبود الجماهير، بمهاراته الخطابية ومظهره الشبابي الساحر، ودفاعه عن الحداثة والمساواة بين الجنسين، وموقفه الثابت حول العدالة وحقوق الإنسان. وعلى الرغم من الإثارة التي تُحيط بشخصه، وبخاصة قبل انتخابات يونيو، لا يزال دميرتاش مبغضاً للنزعة الشعبوية ويرفض إجراء تغييرات على المُثل العليا للحزب من أجل جذب المزيد من الناخبين.

كان موضوع خطابه القصير الشهير تعهده بألا يصبح رجب طيب أردوغان (الرجل الذي كان يخاطبه) رئيساً بصلاحيات تنفيذية. وقبل شهرين من خطابه، أعلن حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي (HDP) انضمامه للانتخابات البرلمانية كحزب، وليس كما كان عليه الحال في الانتخابات السابقة، حيث تم الاستفادة من المرشحين المستقلين للالتفاف على عتبة العشرة في المائة. كانت هذه مخاطرة، ذلك أنّ أحزاب الحركة الكردية السياسية لطالما حصدوا سابقاً حوالي سبعة بالمائة فقط من الأصوات. ماذا سيحصل في حال لم يحصل حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي على العشرة في المائة ولم يعد الأكراد ممثلين في البرلمان التركي؟

وسرعان ما بدأت الشائعات تنتشر أنّ حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي يرغب في عقد صفقة مع حزب أردوغان- العدالة والتنمية مقابل الحصول على المزيد من الحقوق السياسية والثقافية للأكراد: سيدعم حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي محاولة حزب العدالة والتنمية ما بعد الانتخابات في البرلمان تغيير النظام السياسي التركي من برلماني إلى رئاسي، بوجود أردوغان رئيساً للبلاد. وبالتالي، فإن الناخبين المحتملين لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي، وغالبيتهم من الشباب العلمانيين الذين اعتادوا التصويت لحزب المعارضة الرئيسي، حزب الشعب الجمهوري (CHP)، الذي يمقت أردوغان، لن يصوتوا قط لصالح حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي في حال تأكدوا من عقد مثل هذه الصفقة. لذا توجب على دميرتاش التعبير عن رأيه صراحةً ” لن نسمح لك أبداً بأن تصبح رئيسا تنفيذياً.”

خاطر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي بالمشاركة بالانتخابات كحزب، إلا أنه تلقى الكثير من الثقة من الانتخابات الرئاسية التي جرت في أغسطس 2014. كان صلاح الدين دميرتاش أحد المرشحين الثلاثة؛ أردوغان يمثل حزب العدالة والتنمية وأكمل الدين إحسان أوغلو عن حزب الشعب الجمهوري وحزب الحركة القومية القومي المتطرف. تمكن دميرتاش من الحصول على 9,5% من الأصوات.

كان لشخصية دميرتاش الفضل الكبير في حصد حزبه للنجاح، ولكن لا ينبغي التقليل من شأن فحوى الرسالة. كانت هذه رسالة حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي، الذي تم تأسيسه في عام 2012 خلفاً لحزب السلام والديمقراطية (BDP). لم يتم تأسيس حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي بشكلٍ أساسي كمؤيدٍ لحقوق الأكراد، كما فعل حزب السلام والديمقراطية وسابقاته، بل سعى لتوحيد العديد من الأحزاب اليسارية والمنظمات غير الحكومية. وهكذا، خلق حركة سياسية تنادي بالديمقراطية والحرية للجميع في تركيا، وخاصة الفئات المهمشة مثل الأكراد والعلويين والمثليين، وأنصار البيئة، على أساس المبادئ الديمقراطية الشعبية والنسوية، والمساواة.

كما يتماشى اختيار فيغين يوكسيكداغ  كرئيس مشارك مع دميرتاش مع هدف حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي توحيد اليسار التركي والكردي: يوكسيكداغ  التي تنحدر من أسرة سُنية تركية، كانت أحد مؤسسي وقيادي الحزب الاشتراكي للمضطهدين (ESP)، الذي ظهر إلى جانب حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي عام 2014. تم اختيارها كرئيس مشارك لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي بعد الانتخابات المحلية في مارس 2014، وذلك بعد أن تم انتخاب الرئيس المشارك السابق لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي، جولتان كيشاناك، عمدة لمدينة ديار بكر، الجنوبية الشرقية التي تُعتبَر إلى حدّ كبير العاصمة غير الرسميّة لأكراد تركيا.

أصبح دميرتاش تجسيداً لهذا الحزب الجديد النابض بالحياة الذي يتطلع إلى المستقبل، وبالتالي أكبر كوابيس طيب أردوغان. وإذا ما تمكن حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي من تخطي عتبة العشرة بالمائة، سيفقد أردوغان أغلبيته في البرلمان، وستعني الحكومة الائتلافية بكل تأكيد نهاية خطة إقامة نظام رئاسي تنفيذي، لأن جميع أحزاب المعارضة عارضت الفكرة بشدة.

فقد بدى أن الرسالة الشاملة لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي وأسلوب دميرتاش الحيوي بنشرها، ناجحة للغاية: فاز حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي بـ13% من الأصوات في انتخابات 7 يونيو، أي بما يكفي للحصول على 80 مقعداً في البرلمان. وحاز حزب العدالة والتنمية على 258 مقعداً فقط، أي أقل من الـ276 مقعداً اللازمة للتمتع بالأغلبية. وفي مساء 7 يونيو، أعلن دميرتاش، في احتفالاته بالفوز في اسطنبول، “من الآن فصاعداً، حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي حزب تركيا، حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي هو تركيا، وتركيا هي حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي.”

ولكن بحلول نهاية عام 2015، انقلبت الصورة بشكلٍ دراماتيكي. فقد أجريت بعض المحاولات الفاترة لتشكيل حكومة ائتلافية في فصل الصيف، إلا أنه حُكم عليها بالفشل: أدار الرئيس أردوغان الدفة صوب انتخابات جديدة. تم إجراؤها في الأول من نوفمبر، ولكن في ظل ظروفٍ مختلفة تماماً: فسرعان ما انهار وقف إطلاق النار بين الدولة وحزب العمال الكردستاني (PKK)، الذي تم التوصل إليه في أوائل عام 2013، بعد الانتخابات، والذي أحدثه، كما يعتقد الكثيرون، أردوغان من أجل الفوز مجدداً بأصوات الناخبين القوميين الذين تركوا حزب العدالة والتنمية من أجل حزب الحركة القومية (MHP).

ولم يعد بمقدور صلاح الدين دميرتاش، المتزوج وله ابنتان، من أن يلمع نجمه مجدداً. أولاً، زاد العنف الذي رافق نهاية وقف إطلاق النار من صعوبة تنظيم حملة ذات أجندة إيجابية كما في السابق، وبخاصة لأن الحكومة أطرّت حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي كناطق باسم حزب العمالي الكردستاني. وبعد ذلك، في العاشر من أكتوبر، تعرضت مسيرة سلمية للنقابات والأحزاب اليسارية الصغيرة وحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي في أنقرة لهجومٍ من قبل انتحاريين، مما أسفر عن مقتل أكثر من مائة شخص. اضطر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي إلى إلغاء جميع التجمعات الانتخابية بسبب المخاوف الأمنية. وأيضاً، أصبح القيام بالحملات عبر الطرق التقليدية مثل التلفزيون أمراً مستحيلاً بسبب الضغوطات من الحكومة: لم تستطع القنوات التلفزيونية من دعوة دميرتاش إلى برامجها الحوارية، ونادراً ما بثت أي قناة إعلامية لجأ إليها حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي أنشطة حملاته ضيقة النطاق. ونجح دميرتاش ويوكسيكداغ  مرة أخرى بتخطي عتبة الانتخابات، ولكن بشق الأنفس، فقد حصل حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي على 10,7% من الأصوات. وبالتالي، استعاد حزب العدالة والتنمية الأغلبية، وذلك بشكلٍ أساسي على حساب حزب الحركة القومية.

من قائدٍ مشارك يجسد مستقبلاً تعددياً حراً لتركيا، أصبح صلاح الدين دميرتاش قائداً مشاركاً لحزبٍ أضطر مرة أخرى إلى التركيز بشكلٍ أكبر على القضية الكردية، والدفاع عن حقوق الشعب في جنوب شرق البلاد، الذين يعانون تنامي القمع من قِبل قوات أمن الدولة، مع حظرٍ للتجول واحدٍ تلو الآخر وعمليات مكافحة الإرهاب الواحدة تلو الأخرى، ففي المدن الكردية يتم الاعتداء على الشباب في دفاعهم ضد الدولة.
ولكن أياً كان ما سيحصل، يلتزم دميرتاش برسالته، المتجذرة في حياته ومسيرته قبل أن يصبح زعيم المعارضة الأكثر أهمية في تركيا. دميرتاش الذي ولد في محافظة الازيغ من الزازا الأكراد، كان قد تحدث في إحدى المقابلات له عن نقطة التحول في حياته عندما تعرض للقمع باعتباره كردي أثناء مشاركته في جنازة السياسي الكردي فيدات أيدين، الذي اغتيل في ديار بكر في عام 1990.

قرر دراسة القانون، وعندما افتتح مكتبه الخاص في ديار بكر، ركز بشكلٍ أساسي على ما يُسمى جرائم القتل التي لم تحل منذ التسعينيات، عندما قُتل العديد من النشطاء الأكراد بحصانة من قِبل الدولة. وفي عام 2004، أصبح الرئيس المحلي لجمعية حقوق الإنسان، لينتقل إلى الحياة السياسية عام 2007، عندما انتخب لأول مرة في البرلمان عن حزب المجتمع الديمقراطي (DTP)، سلف حزب السلام والديمقراطية (BDP)، سلف حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي (HDP).

ولا تزال الرسالة هي ذاتها: لا صفقاتٍ مع أيٍ كان للمساومة على ما تحتاج إليه تركيا: الديمقراطية التعددية، والسلام والعدالة للجميع. وفي وقتٍ سابق، عبر عن نفسه موجهاً الحديث إلى أردوغان بأن حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي لن يسمح له أبداً بأن يصبح رئيساً تنفيذياً. والآن، في هذه الأوقات التي تتسم بالعنف، يعتبر السياسي الوحيد الذي يدعو دون هوادة الأحزاب المتحاربة بالعودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Picasa ©Hollandse Hoogte | Picasa ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Turkey / Faces / Selahattin Demirtaş, the Dimming Star of Turkish Politics

Selahattin Demirtaş, the Dimming Star of Turkish Politics

Selahattin Demirtaş
Selahattin Demirtaş. Photo Picasa

“We won’t let you become president,” Selahattin Demirtaş said in March 2015, in the run-up to the parliamentary elections in June. It was the shortest speech the co-leader of the People’s Democratic Party (HDP), the leftist party with roots in the Kurdish political movement, had ever given for his parliamentary group, and he got a standing ovation for it.

Many fans of Selahattin Demirtaş (b. 1973) call him Selocan, “my darling Selo,” Selo being short for Selahattin. To many people, he’s a true idol, with his rhetorical skills, his charming young looks, his modernism and feminism, and his principled stance on justice and human rights. And, despite the excitement about his person, especially before the June elections, Demirtaş remains averse to populism and refuses to make changes to the party’s ideals in order to attract more voters.

The subject of his now famous short speech was his vow not to make Recep Tayyip Erdoğan (the man he was addressing) a president with executive powers. Two months before the speech, the HDP had announced it would join the parliamentary elections as a party, and not, as in previous elections, making use of independent candidates to get around the ten-per-cent election-threshold. This was a risk, because parties of the Kurdish political movement had previously always won only about seven per cent of the vote. What if the HDP didn’t get ten per cent and the Kurds were no longer represented in Turkey’s parliament?

A rumour soon started to spread that the HDP was willing to make a deal with the Erdoğan’s AKP: in exchange for more political and cultural rights for the Kurds, the HDP would support the AKP’s post-election bid in parliament to change Turkey’s political system from a parliamentary one to a presidential one, with Erdoğan as president. The potential HDP voters, mostly young secularists who were used to voting for the main opposition party CHP and who detest Erdoğan, would never vote for the HDP if they believed such a deal was in the air. So Demirtaş had to make it clear, “We will not let you become president.”

The HDP took a risk in participating in the elections as a party, but it drew a lot of confidence from the presidential elections held in August 2014. Selahattin Demirtaş was one of the three candidates; Erdoğan represented the AKP and Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu the CHP and the ultra-nationalist MHP. Demirtaş managed to get 9.5 per cent of the vote.

Demirtaş’s personality did much to get his party that far, but the message itself shouldn’t be underestimated. This was the message of the HDP, founded in 2012 as the successor of the Peace and Democracy Party (BDP). The HDP was founded not as a party mainly advocating Kurdish rights, as the BDP and its predecessors did, but uniting several leftist parties and NGOs. It thus created a political movement that advocated democracy and freedom for everyone in Turkey, especially marginalized groups such as Kurds, Alawites, LGBTs, and environmentalists, based on principles of grassroots democracy, feminism, and egalitarianism.

The choice of Figen Yüksekdağ as the co-chair alongside Demirtaş is in line with the HDP’s goal of uniting the Kurdish and Turkish left: Yüksekdağ, coming from a Sunni Turkish family, was one of the founders and the leader of the Socialist Party of the Oppressed (ESP), which emerged with the HDP in 2014. She was chosen as HDP co-chair after the local elections of March 2014, when the former HDP co-chair Gültan Kisanak was elected as co-mayor of Diyarbakır, the largest Kurdish city in southeastern Turkey.

Demirtaş became the personification of this vibrant new future-focused party, and thus Tayyip Erdoğan’s biggest nightmare. If the HDP could manage to pass the ten-per-cent threshold, he would lose his majority in parliament. A coalition government would definitely mean the end of the plan for an executive presidential system, because all opposition parties fiercely resisted the idea.

The inclusive message of the HDP and Demirtaş’ energetic way of spreading it, turned out to be highly successful: the HDP won 13 per cent of the votes in the elections of 7 June, good for 80 seats in parliament. The AKP earned only 258 seats, fewer than the 276 needed for a majority. On the evening of 7 June, Demirtaş, celebrating the victory in Istanbul, declared, “From now on, the HDP is Turkey’s party. HDP is Turkey, Turkey is HDP.”

But, by the end of 2015, the picture had shifted dramatically. Some half-hearted attempts to form a coalition government were undertaken in the summer, but they were doomed to fail: President Erdoğan steered towards new elections. They were held on 1 November, but under completely different circumstances: the ceasefire between the state and the Kurdish armed group PKK, which had held since early 2013, fell apart soon after the elections, provoked, many believe, by Erdoğan in order to win back the nationalist voters who had left the AKP for the MHP.

Selahattin Demirtaş, married with two daughters, couldn’t shine again. First, the violence coming with the end of the ceasefire made it harder to campaign with the same positive agenda as before, especially because the government framed the HDP as a mouthpiece of the PKK. Then, on 10 October, a peace rally of unions, small leftist parties, and the HDP in Ankara was attacked by two suicide bombers, who killed more than one hundred people. The HDP was forced to cancel all its election rallies because of security concerns. Also, campaigning via traditional methods such as TV was made impossible by government pressure: TV channels could not to invite Demirtaş to their talk shows, and hardly any outlet broadcast the small-scale campaign activities the HDP resorted to. Demirtaş and Yüksekdağ managed once again to pass the threshold, but barely: the HDP got 10.7 per cent of the votes. The AKP regained its majority, mainly at the expense of the MHP.

From the co-leader embodying the free, pluralist future of Turkey, Selahattin Demirtaş became the co-leader of a party forced again to focus more on the Kurdish issue, defending the rights of the people in the southeast, who are enduring increasing suppression by the state security forces, with one curfew after another and one anti-terrorism operation after another, in the Kurdish cities where the youth is entrenched in defence against the state.

But whatever happens, Demirtaş sticks to his message, which is rooted in his life and career before he became Turkey’s most important opposition leader. Born in the southeastern province of Elazig as a Zaza Kurd, he once spoke, in an interview, of his own awakening to being a suppressed Kurd when he attended the funeral of Kurdish politician Vedat Aydin, who was murdered in Diyarbakır in 1990.

He decided to study law, and, when he opened his own practice in Diyarbakır, he focused mainly on so-called unsolved murders from the 1990s, when many Kurdish activists were murdered with impunity by the state. In 2004 he became the local chair of the Human Rights Association, moving into politics in 2007, when he was first elected to parliament for the DTP, the predecessor of the BDP, predecessor of the HDP.

The message is still the same: no deals with anyone to compromise on what Turkey needs: a pluralist democracy, with peace and justice for everyone. Earlier, he expressed himself by telling Erdoğan the HDP would never make him an executive president. Now, in violent times, he is the only politician calling relentlessly on the parties at war to return to the negotiating table.