فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / الحكم / الإنقلاب العسكري الفاشل في تركيا وعواقبه

الإنقلاب العسكري الفاشل في تركيا وعواقبه

الانقلاب العسكري الفاشل
الشعب التركي يشارك في مظاهرات داعمة للرئيس التركي رجب طيب اردوغان في مطار أتاتورك في اسطنبول، تركيا، 18 تموز 2016. Photo Xinhua/He Canling. ©Hollandse Hoogte

فشلت محاولة الانقلاب العسكري في تركيا يوم الجمعة الماضي الموافق الخامس عشر من يوليو، إلا أنّ مستقبل الديمقراطية في البلاد، وبقاءها كدولة قومية، لا يزال قاتماً.

غالباً ما تضج ليلة الجمعة في اسطنبول بالحركة، خصوصاً في فصل الصيف، حيث تكتظ الشوراع بحركة المرور وتعج الحانات والأماكن العامة بالناس. يعتبر مشهد المدرعات أمراً طبيعياً على الطرقات التركية، نظراً للمكانة البارزة للجيش في الحياة التركية والوضع الأمني الهش الذي شهدته البلاد منذ العام الماضي.

ولكن عندما أغلق جسر البوفسور الشهير، الذي كان مضاءً بألوان العلم الفرنسي تضامناً مع أحداث نيس، بالدبابات العسكرية الخضراء في الساعة السابعة والنصف مساءً، شعر المارة أن أمراً ما يحصل. كما تم أيضاً، في نفس الوقت، إغلاق جسر السلطان محمد الفاتح، وهو جسرٌ آخر يربط بين القسم الأوروبي والآسيوي في اسطنبول. كما ظهرت طائرات عسكرية تحلق في سماء كلٍ من اسطنبول والعاصمة أنقرة. وبعد نصف ساعة من ذلك، أصدر رئيس الوزراء بن علي يلدرم بياناً صرّح فيه أنّ حكومته تتعرض لإنقلاب.

هاجمت المقاتلات والجنود الإنقلابيون مقر قيادة الجيش في أنقرة، واحتجز رئيس هيئة الأركان، كما أغلقت قواتٌ إنقلابية أخرى مكاتب الحزب الحاكم، حزب العدالة والتنمية. واقتحم جنودٌ مسلحون مؤسسة الإذاعة والتلفزيون التركية، تي آر تي، وأجبرت مذيعة القناة على قراءة البيان العسكري الإنقلابي.

من يقف وراء الانقلاب؟ بقي هذا السؤال بلا إجابة. فقد كان من النادر رؤية إحدى المدنيات تقرأ بياناً إنقلابياً، وبخاصة أنّ المجموعة المتهمة تُطلق على نفسها اسم “مجلس السلام،” الذي يبدو وكأنه محاكاة ساخرة لـ”المجلس العسكري” الذي يُنشأ عادةً بعد الإنقلاب. وقد أشارت التكهنات الأولية من قِبل المحللين إلى الصراع التقليدي بين الجنرالات العلمانيين والإسلاميين.

ومن ثم، وخلال النقل المباشر للأحداث على القناة التركية المعارضة، سي أن أن التركية، وفي حوالي الساعة 9.30 مساءً، رفعت مذيعة الأخبار هاتفها المحمول “آي فون” أمام الكاميرا: كان الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان يتحدث مباشرة عبر تطبيق “فايس تايم” من مكانٍ مجهول. ودعا الشعب، والقلق بادٍ على وجهه، إلى النزول إلى الشوارع والتصدي لسيطرة فصيل المتمردين من الجيش، كما تعهد بالوصول إلى العاصمة بأقرب وقتٍ ممكن. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن تاريخ القوات المسلحة التركية، النسخة المعدلة عن الجيش العثماني، يعود إلى عام 1920. وخلافاً للجيش العثماني، الذي كان يُعرف بجيش محمد، حامي الإمبراطورية والإسلام أينما انتشرا، إلا أنّ الجيش التركي كان قومياً ووسطياً، وقبل كل شيء، علمانياً، فالجيش مكلفٌ بالدفاع عن الجمهورية التركية العلمانية.

وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، فقد كان معظم رؤساء تركيا من الضباط السابقين. وعلى الرغم من إدخال الإنتخابات في مرحلةٍ مبكرة، إلا أن تركيا ظلت ديمقراطية غير مكتملة تديرها النخبة العسكرية من وراء الكواليس. وخلال القرن الماضي، كلما خرجت العملية السياسية عن مسارها، وكلما اختلف الجنرالات على بعض السياسات، نظموا انقلاباً عسكرياً. فقد عرقلت أربعة إنقلابات عسكرية السياسة التركية في ذلك الوقت، إذ كان من المفترض أن تكون محاولة الإنقلاب في الخامس عشر من يوليو، الإنقلاب الخامس في تاريخ البلاد.

هزت الإنفجارات والعيارات النارية كلاً من اسطنبول وأنقرة، وهاجمت طائرات الهليكوبتر مدينة مرمريس الساحلية، التي تبعد 700 كيلومتر جنوب اسطنبول، حيث كان الرئيس أردوغان يقضي إجازته. في حين اقتحمت قوات أخرى مطار اتاتورك باسطنبول، الذي كان لا يزال يتعافى من أسوء هجومٍ إرهابي تعرض له قبل أسبوعين، كما حوصر مبنى البرلمان في أنقرة. توقف بث قناة تي آر تي، وسادت الريبة وخصوصاً بعد انتشار شائعاتٍ حول هروب أردوغان من البلاد.

في خضم هذا كله، أصدر وزير العدل بياناً يتهم فيه “الكيان الموازي” بالوقوف وراء هذه المؤامرة. كان يُشير إلى تنظيم عدو أردوغان اللدود، الزعيم الإسلامي فتح الله غولن، وهو في السبعينات من العمر ويعيش في منفى إختياري في ولاية بنسلفانيا، في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية منذ عام 1999. زعيمٌ روحي له احترامه، دعا إلى إعادة أسلمة تركيا ويمتلك شبكة من الشركات والمدارس التي تنشر تعاليمه. وقد كان قادراً على اختراق المؤسسات المختلفة في تركيا، بما في ذلك الجيش والشرطة، وبالتالي لُقب تنظيمه بالكيان الموازي. ساعد أردوغان بالوصول إلى السلطة، ولكن اختلف الطرفان فيما بعد.

اعتبر خطاب أردوغان عبر تطبيق فايس تايم، من قِبل العديدين، سبب احتفاظه بعرشه. فقد اقتحم الجنود الإنقلابيون قتاة سي إن إن التركية بعد بث الخطاب بوقتٍ قصير وقاموا بإغلاقها، الذي كان على ما يبدو رداً على بث القناة للخطاب.

ولكن، كان الوقت قد فات. فقد وجدت كلمات أردوغان آذاناً صاغية لدى المسؤولين في حكومته وكذلك بين قوات الأمن والجيش: لا يزال داخل البلاد. كما تردد صداها أيضاً بين صفوف مؤيديه. وقف العديد من قادة الجيش السابقين والحاليين مع أردوغان، واشتدت الاشتباكات بين الانقلابيين وأولئك الذين بقوا مخلصين للمؤسسات الديمقراطية: تم الإبلاغ عن اندلاع معارك برية وجوية، وسقوط العديد من الضحايا أيضاً.

وقبل وقتٍ قصيرٍ من منتصف تلك الليلة، ألقى رئيس الوزراء يلدريم خطاباً في البرلمان، متهماً، مرة أخرى، غولن بالوقوف وراء الإنقلاب. وبعد بضع دقائق، أُعلن هبوط طائرة أردوغان في اسطنبول. وبحلول ذلك الوقت، كان مئات الآلاف من الأتراك يجوبون شوارع تركيا، يطوقون الدبابات والمدرعات مما جعل من الصعب على قوات الإنقلابيين المناورة. أجبرت الحشود الهاتفة قوات جيش الإنقلابيين على الإنسحاب من المطار، حيث ظهر أردوغان أمام العامة. أصبح المطار، الذي يحميه عشرات الآلاف من أنصاره، ملاذه طوال تلك الليلة.

ومنذ البداية، أعلنت أحزاب المعارضة رفضها للإنقلاب، في حين استغرق المجتمع الدولي وقتاً لإدانة الأحداث. بدأ المتمردون بالاستسلام في أعقاب النتائج على الأرض وأفرج عن رئيس هيئة الأركان. كما تعرض مقر المخابرات في أنقرة إلى هجومٍ بائسٍ من إحدى طائرات الهليكوبتر في ساعة مبكرة من صباح يوم السبت، ولكن بحلول ذلك الوقت، كان الإنقلاب قد أوشك على نهايته بالفعل.

واصلت بعض الجيوب مقاومتها يوم السبت، ولكن كان أردوغان قد عاد إلى مساره الصحيح. فقد قام إلى جانب مجموعة من أعضاء حكومته وحزبه بالظهور في الأماكن العامة للتنديد بغولن وشد أزر مؤيديه، بينما جرت عملية تطهير للشخصيات المشتبه بتأييدها للإنقلاب، والتي شملت الآلاف من ضباط الجيش والجنود ورجال الشرطة والقضاة، وما إلى ذلك. واعتقل الفريق أول أكين أوزتورك، قائد سلاح الجو التركي السابق، يوم السبت واتهم بقيادة الإنقلاب. كان أردوغان يُحيّد الجيش، ويعمل على إضاعفه أيضاً.

فعلى ما يبدو أن مدبري الإنقلاب لم يحظوا بالتأييد الكافي داخل الجيش، ومن المؤكد أنهم يفتقرون إلى الدعم السياسي والشعبي. فلم تتضح فوراً دوافعهم لخوض غمار هذه المخاطرة، إلا أنه ما بات جلياً منحهم الرئيس أردوغان تفويضاً مطلقاً لتوسيع صلاحياته. فقبضته السلطوية ستشتد بعد هذه الأحداث، وتدل الأعداد الكبيرة للأشخاص الذين ألقيّ القبض عليهم أنه شرع في تصفية حساباته. بل إن ما سيتمخض عن محاولة الإنقلاب الفاشل تلك، تركيا مقسمة في منطقة مشتعلة وغير متوقعة.

ففي نهاية المطاف، وعلى الرغم من نجاتها من انقلابٍ عسكري، إلا أن الآفاق المستقبلية للجمهورية التركية لا تبدو مشرقة.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ He Canling Xinhua / eyevine | ©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Governance & Politics / The Failed Coup in Turkey and Its Consequences

The Failed Coup in Turkey and Its Consequences

Failed Coup Turkey
People participate in a rally in support of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, at the Ataturk airport in Istanbul, Turkey, July 18, 2016. Photo Xinhua/He Canling. ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ He Canling Xinhua / eyevine

A military coup attempt in Turkey on Friday 15 July failed, but the future of the country’s democracy, and survival as a nation state, is bleak.

Friday night is a busy time in Istanbul, especially in the summer. The streets are choked with traffic and bars and public places are packed with people. The sight of armoured vehicles on Turkish roads is normal, due to the prominent position of the army in Turkish life and the tenuous security situation the country has experienced since last year.

Yet when the iconic Bosphorus Bridge, which was lit in the colours of the French flag in solidarity with Nice, was closed by green military trucks at 7.30pm, passers-by sensed that something was amiss. The Fatih Sultan Mehmet Bridge, the other bridge linking European Istanbul to its Asian side, was blocked at the same time. Military aircraft appeared over Istanbul and the capital, Ankara. Half an hour later, Prime Minister Binali Yildirim made a statement: his government was facing a coup.

Fighter jets and ground soldiers attacked the army’s headquarters in Ankara, capturing the chief of staff. Other troops shut down the offices of the ruling Justice and Development (AK) Party. TRT, the national broadcaster, was stormed by armed soldiers and the anchor was given a manifesto to read.

Who was behind the coup? That question remained unanswered. It was unusual to see a civilian woman reading a putschist manifesto, especially when the group in charge calls itself the ‘Peace Council’, which sounds like a parody of the ‘Military Council’, usually established after a coup. Initial speculation by analysts pointed to the traditional conflict waged between the secular generals and the Islamists.

Then, during a live show on the opposition TV channel CNN Turk at around 9.30pm, the anchor held her iPhone up to the camera: it was President Recep Tayyip Erdogan talking via FaceTime from an undisclosed location. Clearly worried, he called on the people to take to the streets and stop the rebellious faction of the army from taking over, and vowed to be in the capital soon. The Turkish Armed Forces, a reformed version of the Ottoman Army, dates back to 1920. Unlike the Ottoman Army, which was proclaimed the Army of Muhammad, protector of the Empire and Islam wherever it spread, the Turkish Army was nationalistic, centrist and, above all, secular. The army’s mandate is to defend the Secular Republic of Turkey.

Most of Turkey’s presidents have been former officers. Although elections were introduced at an early stage, Turkey remained an incomplete democracy run by the military elite from behind the scenes. During the last century, whenever the political process derailed, whenever the generals disagreed on certain politics, a coup was staged. Four military putsches have disrupted Turkish politics in that time. The 15 July coup attempt was supposed to be the fifth.

Explosions and gunshots rattled Istanbul and Ankara. Helicopters attacked the coastal city of Marmaris, 700km south of Istanbul, where President Erdogan was spending his holidays. Other troops stormed Istanbul’s Ataturk Airport, which was still recovering from its worst terrorist attack two weeks earlier, and the parliament in Ankara was besieged. TRT stopped broadcasting and uncertainty was rife, especially when rumours about Erdogan’s escape from the country began to circulate.

Amid all this, the minister of justice made a statement, accusing the ‘Parallel State’ of being behind the plot.

He was referring to the organisation of Erdogan’s arch-rival, Islamist leader Fethullah Gülen. The latter is a septuagenarian, who has lived a voluntary exile in Pennsylvania, USA since 1999. A respected spiritual leader, he has called for the re-Islamization of Turkey and has a network of businesses and schools disseminating his teachings. He has been able to infiltrate Turkey’s different institutions, including the army and the police, hence the nickname Parallel State. He helped Erdogan come to power, but then the two fell out.

Erdogan’s FaceTime speech was considered by many as the reason why he kept his throne. Putschist soldiers stormed CNN Turk shortly afterwards and shut it down, apparently in retaliation for the TV’s broadcast of the speech.

It was too late. Erdogan’s words resonated in the ears of officials in his government as well as among the security and military forces: he was still around. It also echoed in the ranks of his supporters. Many current and former army commanders sided with Erdogan, and clashes intensified between the putschists and those who remained faithful to the democratic institutions: ground and air battles were reported, many casualties as well.

Shortly before midnight, Prime Minister Yildirim gave a speech in parliament, again accusing Gülen of being behind the coup. A few minutes later, it was announced that Erdogan had landed in Istanbul. By then, hundreds of thousands of people were marching in Turkey’s streets, surrounding tanks and armoured vehicles and making it difficult for the troops to manoeuver. These chanting crowds forced the army to withdraw from the airport, where Erdogan appeared in public. Protected by tens of thousands of his supporters, the airport became his sanctuary for the rest of the night.

Opposition parties declared from the start that they were opposed to the coup, whereas it took time for the international community to condemn it. The mutineers began surrendering by the score and the kidnapped chief of staff was released. A hopeless helicopter attack targeted the headquarters of the intelligence forces in Ankara in the early hours of Saturday morning, but by then the coup was already largely over.

A few pockets of resistance persisted on Saturday, but Erdogan was back on track. He and several members of his government and party made several public appearances to denounce Gülen and to strengthen his supporters’ morale, while a purge of suspected pro-coup figures was carried out, involving thousands of army officers, soldiers, policemen, judges, etc. General Akin Ozturk, former head of the air force, was arrested on Saturday and accused of executing the coup. Erdogan was neutralizing the army, but weakening it as well.

It appeared that the coup plotters had not secured enough support inside the army, and it is certain that they lacked political and popular backing. What prompted them to play this Russian roulette was not immediately clear; what was clear was that they had given President Erdogan carte blanche to expand his powers. His authoritarian grip will only tighten after this event, and the large number of people arrested indicates that he is settling his scores. It is a divided Turkey in an explosive and unpredictable region that will come out of this failed coup attempt.

The prospect for the Turkish Republic, although it escaped a military takeover, does not look bright.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ He Canling Xinhua / eyevine | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ He Canling Xinhua / eyevine

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.