فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تركيا: استمرار تقويض الديمقراطية بإقالة رؤساء البلديات الأكراد

تركيا: استمرار تقويض الديمقراطية بإقالة رؤساء البلديات الأكراد

Turkey- Kurdish mayors turkey
ضباط شرطة مكافحة الشغب الأتراك يستخدمون دروعهم لتفريق المتظاهرين أثناء احتجاجٍ ضد استبدال رؤساء البلديات الأكراد، في ديار بكر، في 20 أغسطس 2019. Photo: Ilyas AKENGIN / AFP

تم انتخاب رؤساء بلديات ديار بكر ووان وماردين بأكثر من 50% من الأصوات في الانتخابات المحلية التي أجريت في 31 مارس 2019. ومع ذلك، أعلن حزب العدالة والتنمية الحاكم في تركيا في 19 أغسطس أنه قد تم عزلهم من مناصبهم وتعيين محافظين محليين مكانهم.

فقد صرح العديد من المسؤولين الحكوميين، بمن فيهم وزير الداخلية سليمان صويلو، بأنه يجب استبدال رؤساء البلديات لأنهم كانوا يسيئون استخدام مناصبهم لدعم الإرهاب، في إشارةٍ إلى علاقات رؤساء البلديات المزعومة بحزب العمال الكردستاني المسلح.

ووفقاً للمسؤولين، تشمل هذه العلاقات حضور جنازات مقاتلي حزب العمال الكردستاني وتسمية الشوارع بأسماء رجال حرب العصابات الذين فقدوا أرواحهم. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن رؤساء البلديات الأكراد يحضرون علناً مثل هذه الجنازات، حيث يتم دفن المقاتلين غالباً في مسقط رأسهم وتحدّ عليهم المجتمعات التي صوتت لرؤساء البلديات هؤلاء ليتقلدوا مناصبهم.

وعليه، لم يُمنح رؤساء البلديات فرصة الطعن في إقالتهم في المحكمة، الأمر الذي من المحتمل أن يكون بلا فائدة منذ أن فقدت المحاكم استقلالها خلال ما يقرب من عقدين من حكم حزب العدالة والتنمية.

كما أنه قبل الانتخابات، لم يجد المجلس الانتخابي أي اعتراضاتٍ على المرشحين ووافق على ترشحهم.

وعلى الرغم من أن عمليات الإقالة هذه شكلت صدمةً لدى سكان المدن، إلا أن استبدال المسؤولين المنتخبين، وخاصة في الجنوب الشرقي الذي تقطنه أغلبية كردية في تركيا، ليس بالأمر الجديد. فبعد محاولة الانقلاب في يوليو 2016، تمت إقالة المئات من رؤساء البلديات الأكراد وتم اعتقال عددٍ منهم لاحقاً.

كما لا يزال بعض الذين تم اعتقالهم في السجن، مثل غلطان كيساناك، رئيس بلدية ديار بكر الذي تم انتخابه سابقاً والذي تمت إقالته في أكتوبر 2016. فقد خاض خليفته كومالي أتيلا، الانتخابات كمرشحٍ عن حزب العدالة والتنمية في مارس من هذا العام، بيد أنه حصل على 31% فقط من الأصوات، بينما فاز سلجوق مزراقلي، مرشح حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي، الذي حل محله الآن، بنسبة 63%.

كما حصل رؤساء البلدية الآخران المخلوعان، أحمد ترك في ماردين وبديعة أوكوكجه في وان، على 56% و54% من الأصوات على التوالي.

تأتي عمليات الإقالة الأخيرة هذه في أعقاب المحاولات السابقة لحزب العدالة والتنمية دفع مجلس الانتخابات إلى إلغاء نتائج شهر مارس. وفي العديد من الحالات، كانت المحاولات ناجحة، وتم بدلاً من ذلك تعيين أولئك من حلوا في المرتبة الثانية في الإنتخابات – الذين كانوا دوماً من مرشحي حزب العدالة والتنمية في المناطق الكردية لأن الحزب يتمتع بدعمٍ من الأكراد لأكثر تديناً.

وفي بعض الحالات، لم تنجح المحاولات، كما حصل في حالة أحمد ترك، الذي حاول حزب العدالة والتنمية استبعاده بسبب عمره (78 عاماً). فقد تم تنصيب ترك، وهو محاربٌ قديم يحظى بالاحترام في الحركة السياسية الكردية، رئيساً لبلدية ماردين، إلا أنه تمت إقالته اليوم، مما يشير إلى أن الدولة ستستخدم كل ما في وسعها للتخلص من رؤساء البلديات الذين لا توافق عليهم.

وبمجرد الإعلان عن البدلاء، اندلعت الاحتجاجات في المدن الثلاث، حيث حاولت قوات الأمن تفريق الحشود بخراطيم المياه والغاز المسيل للدموع، كما ألقي القُبض على مئات الأشخاص في صباح اليوم الأول للاحتجاجات، الرقم الذي ازداد بشكلٍ ملحوظ في الأيام التي تلت ذلك.

حصل المتظاهرون على الدعم من العديد من الشخصيات المؤثرة في حزب الشعب الجمهوري المعارض، ولا سيما أكرم إمام أوغلو، عمدة اسطنبول الجديد، الذي توجب عليه الفوز بالانتخابات في أكبر مدينة في تركيا مرتين قبل أن يقبل الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان بهزيمة حزب العدالة والتنمية.

فقد غرّد إمام أوغلو عبر تويتر منتقداً استبدال رؤساء البلديات الأكراد: “من المستحيل ربط إقالة رؤساء بلديات ديار بكر ووان وماردين بالممارسات الديمقراطية. فقد تم انتخاب رؤساء البلديات الثلاثة الذين تم استبدالهم بالقائمين بالأعمال الذين تم تعيينهم من قبل الدولة، بالاقتراع الشعبي في الانتخابات المحلية التي أجريت في 31 مارس. تجاهل إرادة الناس أمرٌ غير مقبول.”

وفي حديثٍ لرئيس البلدية مزراقلي مع المنفذ الإخباري المستقل، أوزجوروز، قال: “هذا الصراع سيستمر إلى أن يتم تغيير الآليات التي تولد مثل هذه الاستيلاء على الحقوق بالمجمل.” كما صدر رد فعلٍ عن اتحاد مجتمعات كردستان، وهي منظمة شاملة للجماعات الكردية في العديد من البلدان، الذي دعا إلى “المقاومة الكاملة” من قبل الشعب.

وبالمثل، سرعان ما أدان المجتمع الدولي جهود حزب العدالة والتنمية لتغيير نتائج الانتخابات. فقد كتبت هيومن رايتس ووتش على موقعها الإلكتروني أن إقالة رؤساء البلديات المنتخبين ديمقراطياً “ينتهك بشكلٍ صارخ حقوق الناخبين ويُعطل الديمقراطية المحلية.”

من جهته أصدر أندرس كنيب، رئيس مجلس البلديات والأقاليم الأوروبية، بياناً أعرب فيه عن “قلقه البالغ” بشأن قرار السلطات التركية إيقاف رؤساء البلديات المنتخبين عن العمل. كما لم يطالب السلطات التركية بالتراجع عن الإقالات، بل دعا إلى “استعادة قدرة المجالس البلدية على اختيار رئيس بلدية بديل.”

وأشار بيانه إلى أن البدائل كانت قراراً قانونياً وليس سياسياً. فقد كان وزير الداخلية صويلو حريصاً على التأكيد على هذه النقطة على الرغم من حقيقة أن “القائم بالأعمال” في وان سرعان ما أعاد المجلس الإنتخابي إلى دياره. وحتى وقت كتابة هذا التقرير، لم يحصل هذا الأمر في ماردين وديار بكر.

كما عبر حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي عن قلقه من أن البدلاء سيشجعون الجشع وسوء الإدارة اللذين أظهرهما “القائمون بالأعمال” السابقون. ففي مقابلةٍ صحفية شديدة اللهجة، قالت الرئيسة المشتركة لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي الكردي، بروين بولدان، “إن أولئك الذين ثبت تورطهم في أعمال مضللة مثل السرقة والنهب والفساد وتزوير المناقصات وغيرها من الأعمال المشينة يتم إرسالهم مرة أخرى من قبل حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية ليحلوا محل رؤساء البلديات الذين تم انتخابهم من قبل شعبنا.”

إقرأ المزيد

لعبت تركيا دوراً حيوياً في ربط هاتين القارتين وفصلهما عن بعضهما ا...
هذه الدولة التي يحكمها حالياً رجب طيّب إردوغان لعبت دوراً حاسماً ...
كان السؤال الأهم المطروح في البلديات ذات الغالبية الكردية في جنوب...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ilyas AKENGIN ©AFP | Ilyas AKENGIN ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / In Turkey, Attack on Democracy Continues with Removal of Kurdish Mayors

In Turkey, Attack on Democracy Continues with Removal of Kurdish Mayors

Turkey- Kurdish mayors turkey
Turkish anti-riot police officers use their shields to disperse demonstrators during a protest against the replacement of Kurdish mayors, in Diyarbakir, on August 20, 2019. Photo: Ilyas AKENGIN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Ilyas AKENGIN

The mayors of Diyarbakir, Van and Mardin were elected with more than 50 per cent of the vote in local elections on 31 March 2019. Yet on 19 August, Turkey’s ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) announced it had removed them from office and appointed local governors in their place.

Several government officials, including Interior Minister Suleyman Soylu, stated that the mayors needed to be replaced because they were misusing their positions to support terrorism, referring to the mayors’ alleged ties to the armed Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK).

According to officials, these ties include attending the funerals of PKK fighters and naming streets after guerrillas who lost their lives. Kurdish mayors do openly attend such funerals, as fighters are often buried in their hometowns and are mourned by the communities that voted the mayors into office.

The mayors were not given the opportunity to contest their dismissal in court, which would likely have been fruitless anyway since the courts have lost their independence during almost two decades of AKP rule.

Before the elections, the electoral board found no objections to the candidates and approved their candidacy.

Although the dismissals may have come as a shock to the cities’ residents, replacing elected officials, especially in Turkey’s Kurdish-majority south-east, is not new. After the attempted coup in July 2016, hundreds of Kurdish mayors were removed and several were subsequently arrested.

Some of those arrested are still in jail, like Gultan Kisanak, the previously elected mayor of Diyarbakir who was dismissed in October 2016. Her successor, Cumali Atilla, ran as the AKP candidate in March this year but secured only 31 per cent of the votes, while Selcuk Mizrakli, the now-replaced Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP) candidate, won 63 per cent.

The other two ousted mayors, Ahmet Turk in Mardin and Bedia Ozgokce Ertan in Van, won 56 per cent and 54 per cent of the votes respectively.

These latest dismissals follow the AKP’s earlier attempts to get the election board to overrule the March results. In several cases, the attempts were successful, and the runners-up – always the AKP candidates in the Kurdish regions since the party has support among more religious Kurds – were appointed instead.

In some instances, the attempts were unsuccessful, as in the case of Ahmet Turk, whom the AKP tried to disqualify because of his age (78). Turk, a highly respected veteran of the Kurdish political movement, was installed as Mardin’s mayor but has now been fired, indicating that the state will use whatever means it can to get rid of mayors it does not approve of.

As soon as the replacements were announced, protests broke out in the three cities. The security forces tried to disperse the crowds with water cannons and tear gas. Hundreds of people were arrested on the first morning of the protests, a number that has increased significantly in the days since.

The protesters have received support from several influential figures in the opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP), notably Ekrem Imamoglu, Istanbul’s new mayor. He had to win the elections in Turkey’s biggest city twice before President Recep Tayyip Erdogan accepted the AKP’s defeat.

About the replacement of the Kurdish mayors, Imamoglu tweeted: ‘It is impossible to associate the removal of Diyarbakir, Van and Mardin mayors with democratic practices. The three mayors who are replaced by state-appointed trustees were elected by popular vote in the March 31 local elections. Ignoring the will of the people is unacceptable.’

Dismissed mayor Mizrakli told the independent news outlet Ozguruz, “This struggle will continue until the mechanisms that generate such seizures of rights is changed in its entirety.” The Union of Kurdistan Communities, an umbrella organization of Kurdish groups in several countries, also reacted and called for ‘‘total resistance’’ by the people.

The international community was similarly quick to denounce the AKP’s efforts to change the outcome of the elections. Human Rights Watch wrote on its website that the removal of democratically elected mayors ‘blatantly violates the rights of voters and suspends local democracy’.

Anders Knape, president of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, published a statement in which he expressed his ‘grave concern’ about the decision of the Turkish authorities to suspend the elected mayors. He called on the Turkish authorities not to undo the removals but ‘to restore the capacity of municipal councils to choose a replacement mayor’.

His statement suggested that the replacements were a legal rather than a political decision. Interior Minister Soylu was keen to stress this point despite the fact that the ‘trustee’ of Van was quick to send the municipal council home. At the time of writing, this had not happened in Mardin and Diyarbakir.

The HDP expressed concern that the replacements will encourage the greed and mismanagement displayed by previous ‘trustees’. In a strongly worded press interview, HDP co-chair Pervin Buldan said, “Those who were found to be involved in misleading acts like theft, plunder, corruption, bid rigging and other disgraceful acts are once again being sent by the AKP government to replace the mayors who have been elected by our people.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Ilyas AKENGIN | ©AFP ⁃ Ilyas AKENGIN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.