فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / المنطقة العازلة على الحدود السورية: ما هو سبب الهوس التركي؟

المنطقة العازلة على الحدود السورية: ما هو سبب الهوس التركي؟

Turkish military syria
قافلة عسكرية أمريكية تشارك في دورية مشتركة مع القوات التركية في قرية الحشيشية السورية على مشارف بلدة تل أبيض على طول الحدود التركية، في 8 سبتمبر 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP

في سبتمبر 2019، بدأت القوات الأمريكية والتركية تسيير دورياتٍ في “المنطقة العازلة” على طول الحدود التركية السورية، تحقيقاً لهدفٍ سياسي طويل الأجل لأنقرة. فقد دعت تركيا إلى إقامة منطقةٍ عازلة على حدودها الجنوبية طوال فترة النزاع في سوريا تقريباً، واستمرت في السعي نحو تحقيق الفكرة لفترةٍ طويلة بعد أن رفضت واشنطن وبعض حلفائها الغربيين فرض منطقة حظر للطيران في سوريا باعتبارها عملية صعبة للغاية. كما تبددت جدوى إنشاء مثل هذه المنطقة بحراسةٍ من الطائرات الغربية بمجرد التزام روسيا بنشر قواتها في سوريا عام 2015. إذاً، ما سبب هذا الهوس التركي؟

لا يكمن الجواب في اللاجئين الذين كان من المفترض أن ينتقلوا إلى المنطقة العازلة، بل بالسكان الأصليين في جزءٍ كبير من المنطقة الحدودية: الأكراد. فمنذ ستينيات القرن الماضي، شنت تركيا حرب عصابات منخفضة الحدة ضد الجماعات الكردية المسلحة، وأهمها حزب العمال الكردستاني. وعلى الرغم من أن الصراع أحادي الجانب إلى حدٍ كبير، بالنظر إلى هيمنة تركيا العسكرية، إلا أن قدرة مقاتلي حزب العمال الكردستاني على التسلل عبر الحدود إلى تركيا والعراق قد أعاقت الجهود التركية لسحق الجماعة. كما أن دعم الدولة السورية لحزب العمال الكردستاني خلال الستينيات والسبعينيات من القرن الماضي سمح للمسلحين بتأسيس وجودٍ دائم في الشمال الكردي في سوريا. وكما هو الحال مع معظم الحدود، لطالما كان يسهل اختراقها، مما يسمح بتهريب سلع السوق السوداء، فضلاً عن الأسلحة. وعلى مدى عقود، انخرطت تركيا في حملاتٍ عسكرية في العراق لضرب مواقع حزب العمال الكردستاني، بل ذهبت إلى أبعد من ذلك في شمال سوريا برعايتها غزو 2018 لمنطقة عفرين، التي كانت تحت سيطرة لأكراد آنذاك، ليصبح للقوات التي تدعمها أنقرة موطىء قدم هناك.

لا توفر المنطقة العازلة على طول الحدود خطاً أحمر فحسب للنشاط العسكري الكردي، فدون أدنى شك سيحرص الأتراك على مراقبتها بمجموعة طائراتهم المتقدمة والمركبات الجوية غير المأهولة المنتجة محلياً. كما ستوفر منطقة عزلٍ محددة بوضوح لعناصر حزب العمال الكردستاني المتمركزة أو العاملة في تركيا. ومن الناحية النظرية، فإن تعيين منطقة حظرٍ عسكرية مثل المنطقة العازلة سيسمح لأنقرة بقطع الإمدادات عن مقاتلي حزب العمال الكردستاني داخل تركيا. في الواقع، لا يحتاجون إلى خطوط إمداد معقدة، إذ يمتلك حزب العمال الكردستاني القدرة على دمج نفسه بين السكان المدنيين، كما أن احتياجاته المادية محدودة خارج نطاق المواد الغذائية والإمدادات اليومية المشتراة محلياً (نادراً ما يقاتل حزب العمال الكردستاني في تركيا بالأسلحة الثقيلة ويُخفي الأسلحة الخفيفة في التلال والبلدات). ومع ذلك، سعت تركيا إلى إنشاء منطقةٍ عازلة، التي يفترض أنها وسيلة لممارسة ضغطٍ إضافي على الجماعات المسلحة الكردية في سوريا ومحاولة منع حركة الأسلحة (الإمدادات الجديدة من القوات الأمريكية) من التسلل إلى تركيا. هناك بالفعل أدلة على أن الصواريخ الأمريكية الصنع التي قدمت للقوات العراقية قد وجدت طريقها إلى المنطقة الحدودية السورية التركية.

جهدٌ شاق

في الأصل، تم طلب إنشاء منطقةٍ عازلة، ظاهرياً، لأسبابٍ إنسانية. فمنذ عام 2011، استقبلت تركيا لاجئين سوريين أكثر من أي بلدٍ آخر، حيث يقدر عددهم بنحو 3,6 مليون نسمة. وعليه، اندلعت التوترات بين الأتراك والسوريين عدة مرات، وما زالت تتصاعد حدتها في بعض المناطق. ومع ذلك، يبدو أن الدعوة إلى إنشاء منطقة عازلة كانت محاولة مُقنعة إلى حدٍ بعيد لتعزيز الأمن الداخلي ولأهداف سياسية من خلال الاستفادة من المخاوف الإنسانية الدولية. وإذا ما تم ترحيل السوريين في تركيا إلى هذه المنطقة العازلة، فهناك مخاوف من تكرار ما يعتبره البعض تغييراتٍ ديموغرافية قسرية في عفرين – حيث تم نقل اللاجئين غير الأكراد إلى منازل الأكراد – في هذه المنطقة العازلة الجديدة.

US military syria
قافلة عسكرية أمريكية تشارك في دورية مشتركة مع القوات التركية في قرية الحشيشية السورية على مشارف بلدة تل أبيض على طول الحدود التركية، في 8 سبتمبر 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP

بيد أنه في أغسطس 2019، اتفقت الولايات المتحدة وتركيا على عناصر مختلفة، بما في ذلك المراقبة الجوية ومقرات المنطقة العازلة على طول الحدود التركية السورية.

بدأت قواتٌ من البلدين بتسيير دورياتٍ في المنطقة في سبتمبر 2019، الذي يعتبر دون أدنى شك إجراءً توفيقياً يهدف إلى تهدئة المخاوف الكردية من منح القوات التركية حرية استخدام القوة العسكرية في المنطقة. كما تلعب دوريات المراقبة هذه دوراً مهماً في العلاقات العامة لتركيا، حيث تهدف الصور ومقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بالقوات الأمريكية والتركية التي تعمل جنباً إلى جنب إلى المساهمة في إصلاح العلاقات بين واشنطن وأنقرة، التي شهدت حدّةً واضحة في السنوات الأخيرة.

ومع ذلك، فقد تم التراجع عن وهم الصفقة المبرمة حتى عندما كان يتم بالفعل تسيير الدوريات بعد أن اتهمت أنقرة واشنطن بالازدواجية. فقد قال وزير الخارجية التركي إن الخطوات الأمريكية لتنفيذ المراقبة المشتركة في المنطقة كانت خطواتٍ “تجميلية” فحسب. وعلى ما يبدو، لم يتم التوصل إلى أي اتفاق حول مدى عمق المنطقة العازلة، حيث طلب الأتراك أن تبلغ 40 كيلومتراً وعرضت الولايات المتحدة 20 كيلومتراً فقط.

وعلى الرغم من عدم وجود اتفاق، حدد الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان مهلة شهر سبتمبر للولايات المتحدة كي تمتثل بالكامل أو تخاطر بتدخل تركي آخر في شمال سوريا.

لماذا هذا الضغط؟

يتعرض أردوغان لضغوطٍ متزايدة في الداخل لإيجاد حل للتوترات، المتصورة والحقيقية، بين اللاجئين السوريين والمجتمعات التركية التي تستضيفهم. فقد أثار تباطؤ الاقتصاد التركي تصاعد المشاعر المعادية للسوريين، على وجه الخصوص، حيث سارع الأتراك المتشددون إلى لوم السوريين على مشاكلهم. ولطالما قدمت المنطقة العازلة طريقةً مستساغة علناً لإعادة السوريين إلى سوريا، بصرف النظر عن ارتباطهم بالمنطقة أو حتى رغبتهم في العودة. وفي الأشهر الأخيرة، قامت تركيا بترحيل السوريين قسراً عبر الحدود، على الرغم من ادعائها عكس ذلك، في خطوةٍ تم اتخاذها بلا شك لتخفيف الانتقادات العلنية لإدارة الحكومة للسكان السوريين في البلاد.

فقد هددت أنقرة بتوغلٍ شرق الفرات في شمال شرق سوريا لسنوات. وعلى عكس حملتها في عفرين، التي تعد منطقةً صغيرة ومعزولة، من المحتمل أن يكون غزو المنطقة التي يسيطر عليها الأكراد السوريون أكبر تكلفةً بكثير من حيث عدد القوات المسلحة واللوازم العسكرية، مع وجود خطر أكبر بكثير يتمثل في توسع المهمة، بالنظر إلى عدم وجود قيودٍ جغرافية. وعلى الرغم من وعيده، من المرجح أن تردع التكاليف المحتملة أردوغان من إرسال قواتٍ للتوغل في المنطقة العازلة، ولكن مع الهجمات التي تُشن على قوات سوريا الديمقراطية المدعومة من الولايات المتحدة (والتي تزعم أنقرة أنها مرتبطة بحزب العمال الكردستاني)، فمن المؤكد أن تركيا قد تثير التوترات في المنطقة.

التكلفة الحقيقية للمنطقة العازلة

إن المفارقة المُحزنة لجهود تركيا في إنشاء منطقةٍ عازلة هي أنه بعد سنوات من طرح الفكرة لأسباب إنسانية، لم تتراجع معاناة المدنيين السوريين وحاجتهم إلى مثل هذه المنطقة لأسباب إنسانية. كما يتضح من الاحتجاجات الغاضبة في محافظة إدلب على الحدود مع تركيا، والتي لن تغطيها المنطقة العازلة، لا يزال ظهور قوات النظام السوري يشكل تهديداً كبيراً للمدنيين. في الواقع، بالكاد تفادت هذه القوات مواقع المراقبة التركية في إدلب والتي كانت تهدف إلى حماية المدنيين من المزيد من الإنتهاكات أو العنف. ويبدو أنه مع اكتساب أو خسارة الكثير من الناحية الجغرافية السياسية في سوريا، فإن سكان البلاد لا يتمتعون سوى بقيمة ضئيلة للقوى الإقليمية. فقد أمضت تركيا الكثير من وقت الحرب في تأمين حدودها الخاصة، ويبدو أن المنطقة العازلة ليست أكثر من كونها دفاعاً حدودي مبالغٌ فيه.

إن المنطقة العازلة في شمال سوريا، والتي تم طرحها منذ سنوات، قد تبلورت أخيراً مع هذا التعاون الأمريكي التركي الأخير. ومع ذلك، فإن أي اتفاقٍ في سوريا يبدو هشاً – كما يتضح من اتفاقيات أستانا – ولا يوجد أي ضماناتٍ باحترامه. وبغض النظر عن احتياجات السوريين لوضع حدٍ للنزاع وإيجاد مساحاتٍ آمنة للعيش، يبدو أن المصالح الجيوسياسية لأقوى أطراف النزاع ستقرر مصير البلاد.


إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن تركيا يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
هذه الدولة التي يحكمها حالياً رجب طيّب إردوغان لعبت دوراً حاسماً ...
في غضون أيام، أصبح دور الولايات المتحدة وموقعها في الحرب في سوريا ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Delil SOULEIMAN ©AFP | Delil SOULEIMAN ©AFP | Delil SOULEIMAN ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Buffer Zone on Syrian Border: Why the Turkish Obsession?

Buffer Zone on Syrian Border: Why the Turkish Obsession?

Turkish military syria
US troops walk past a Turkish military vehicle during a joint patrol with Turkish troops in the Syrian village of al-Hashisha on the outskirts of Tal Abyad town along the border with Turkish troops, on September 8, 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

In September 2019, US and Turkish forces began patrolling a ‘buffer zone’ along the Turkish-Syrian border, realizing a long-term policy goal for Ankara. Turkey has called for a buffer zone on its southern border for almost the entire duration of the conflict in Syria. It continued pushing the idea long after Washington and some of its Western allies dismissed a no-fly zone in Syria as too difficult to enforce. The viability of such a zone policed by Western aircraft was shot to pieces once Russia committed forces to Syria in 2015. So why the Turkish obsession?

The answer lies not in the refugees that would ostensibly have moved into a buffer zone but with the population native to much of the border area: the Kurds. Since the 1960s, Turkey has waged a low-intensity guerrilla war against militant Kurdish groups, the most important of which is the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK). Although a largely one-sided conflict, given Turkey’s military dominance, the ability of PKK militants to sneak across the border into Turkey and Iraq has stymied Turkish efforts to crush the group. Syrian state support for the PKK during the 1960s and ’70s also allowed the militants to establish a more permanent presence in Syria’s ethnically Kurdish north. As with most borders, this frontier has long been porous, allowing the smuggling of black market goods as well as arms. For decades, Turkey has engaged in military campaigns in Iraq to strike PKK positions and arguably went a step further in northern Syria by sponsoring the 2018 invasion of the Afrin district, then Kurdish held, to install Ankara-backed forces.

A buffer zone along the border provides not just a red line for Kurdish military activity, which the Turks will no doubt be keen to police with their array of advanced aircraft and domestically produced un-manned aerial vehicles. It also offers a clearly delineated insulation zone for the PKK elements based or operating in Turkey. Theoretically, demarcating a military exclusion zone such as a buffer zone would allow Ankara to cut off supplies to PKK militants inside Turkey. In reality, they have little need of complex supply lines. The PKK has the ability to embed itself in the civilian population and has few material demands outside of locally procured food and daily supplies (the PKK in Turkey rarely fights with heavy weapons and stashes light weapons in hills and towns). Still, Turkey has pursued a buffer zone, presumably as a way to put added pressure on Kurdish armed groups in Syria and to try and prevent the movement of weapons (new supplies of which have come from US forces) from further infiltrating into Turkey. There is already evidence that US-made rockets given to Iraqi forces have made their way into the Turkish-Syrian border region.

A herculean effort

Originally, a buffer zone was ostensibly demanded on humanitarian grounds. Since 2011, Turkey has taken in more Syrian refugees – an estimated 3.6 million – than any other country. Tensions have flared between Turkish and Syrian communities numerous times, and they continue to rise in certain regions. However, the call for a buffer zone seems to have been a thinly veiled attempt to further domestic security and political goals by leveraging international humanitarian concerns. If Syrians in Turkey are deported to this buffer zone, there are fears that what some view as forced demographic changes in Afrin – where non-Kurdish refugees have been moved into Kurdish homes – could be replicated in this new buffer region.

US military syria
A US military convoy takes part in a joint patrol with Turkish troops in the Syrian village of al-Hashisha on the outskirts of Tal Abyad town along the border with Turkish troops, on September 8, 2019. Photo: Delil SOULEIMAN / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

In August 2019, the US and Turkey agreed to various elements, including air control and headquarters for a buffer zone along the Turkish-Syrian border.

Forces from both countries began patrolling the zone in September 2019, no doubt a compromise measure designed to allay Kurdish fears of Turkish forces being given free rein to use military force in the area. These patrols also serve an important PR role for Turkey, as photos and videos of US and Turkish troops working alongside each other aim to help mend relations between Washington and Ankara, which have been decidedly testy in recent years.

However, the illusion of a done deal came undone even as patrols were already taking place when Ankara accused Washington of duplicity. Turkey’s foreign minister said that US moves to implement shared policing of the zone were merely ‘cosmetic’. Apparently, no agreement has been reached on how deep the buffer zone should be, with the Turks demanding 40 kilometres and the US only offering 20.

Despite this lack of agreement, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan set a September deadline for the US to fully comply or risk another Turkish intervention in northern Syria.

Why the pressure?

Erdogan is under growing pressure at home to find a solution to tensions, perceived and real, between Syrian refugees and the Turkish communities hosting them. The slowing Turkish economy, in particular, has provoked rising anti-Syrian sentiment, with hard-up Turks quick to blame Syrians for their troubles. The buffer zone has long presented a publicly palatable way to push Syrians back into Syria, regardless of their connection to the region or even their willingness to go back. In recent months, Turkey has been forcibly deporting Syrians across the border, despite claiming the contrary, in a move that is no doubt designed to ease public criticism of the government’s management of the country’s Syrian population.

Ankara has threatened an incursion east of the Euphrates into north-east Syria for years. Unlike its campaign in Afrin, which is a small and isolated territory, an invasion of the much larger Syrian Kurdish-controlled region would likely be even more costly in terms of manpower and materials, with far more risk of mission creep, given the lack of geographical constraints. Despite his bluster, the potential costs are likely to deter Erdogan from committing troops to an incursion into the buffer zone, but with attacks on the US-backed Syrian Democratic Forces (which Ankara claims are tied to the PKK), Turkey could certainly inflame tensions in the area.

The real cost of a buffer zone

The tragic irony of Turkey’s efforts to implement a buffer zone is that years after it tabled the idea on humanitarian grounds, the suffering of Syrian civilians and their need for such a zone on humanitarian grounds has not decreased. As can be seen from the angry protests in Idlib province on the border with Turkey, which will not be covered by the buffer zone, the advance of Syrian regime forces still poses an enormous threat to civilians. Indeed, these forces have merely sidestepped the Turkish observation posts in Idlib that were meant to protect civilians from further encroachment or violence. It seems that with so much to win or lose geopolitically in Syria, the country’s people hold little value for the regional powers. Turkey has spent much of the war securing its own borders, and the buffer zone appears to be little more than an extravagant frontier defence.

The buffer zone in northern Syria, which was mooted for years, has finally taken shape with this latest US-Turkish cooperation. However, any accord in Syria seems fragile and – as evidenced by the Astana agreements – has no guarantee of being honoured. Regardless of the needs of Syrians for an end to the conflict and safe spaces to live, it seems that the geopolitical interests of the strongest parties to the conflict will decide the country’s fate.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN | ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN | ©AFP ⁃ Delil SOULEIMAN

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.