فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تركيا: الدعوة لإجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة قد تكون "ضربة المعلم" للرئيس أردوغان / الإنتخابات التركية: الفائزون والخاسرون

الإنتخابات التركية: الفائزون والخاسرون

Turkey- Turkey elections
الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان، زعيم حزب العدالة والتنمية، أثناء استقباله من قبل أنصاره بعد خروجه من أحد مراكز الإقتراع بعد الإدلاء بصوته في الإنتخابات الرئاسية والبرلمانية، في اسطنبول في 24 يونيو 2018. Photo AFP

أعلن الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان، في 24 يونيو 2018، إعادة إنتخابه لفترةٍ رئاسية جديدة تمتد إلى خمس سنوات. فقد فشل التضخم الذي بلغت نسبته 12% وانخفاض قيمة الليرة بنسبة 20% هذا العام في أن يُدير الناخبون ظهورهم للرئيس، الذي يعود له الكثير من الفضل في إزدهار اقتصاد البلاد على مدى الـ15 عاماً الماضية.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، لم يكن لفصل 110 آلاف موظف حكومي من وظائفهم على مستوى البلاد واعتقال عشرات الآلاف من الأتراك، أثرٌ يذكر على نجاحه عبر صناديق الاقتراع. فقد أظهرت النتائج غير الرسمية التي أعلنتها وكالة الأناضول التابعة للدولة، بكل وضوح، الفائزين والخاسرين في هذه الإنتخابات.

الفائزون

ختم أردوغان ليلة الإنتخابات بتجاوزه نسبة 52% من الأصوات، ليفوز بذلك في الإنتخابات بشكلٍ صريح ويضع حداً للحاجة إلى الإنتقال لجولةٍ ثانية من التصويت. كما حصل حزبه، حزب العدالة والتنمية على 42% من الأصوات، ليضمن بذلك أغلبية برلمانية وذلك بفضل تحالفه مع حزب الحركة القومية اليميني. ومع ذلك، كان هذا الفوز أقل بما نسبته 7% من الأصوات التي فاز بها حزب العدالة والتنمية في نوفمبر 2015، مما زاد من اعتماده على الشركاء. ومن غير الواضح بعد الثمن الذي يُريده حزب الحركة القومية مقابل ولائه لأردوغان.

وبحصوله على ما نسبته 11% من الأصوات، تخطى حزب الحركة القومية بشكلٍ كبير التوقعات، لا سيما أن زعيم الحزب، دولت بهتشلي البالغ من العمر 70 عاماً، لم يبذل الكثير من الجهد خلال الحملة الإنتخابية- بالرغم من حصوله على وقتٍ أكثر من البث المخصص من قِبل وسائل الإعلام التابعة للدولة من مرشحي المعارضة الآخرين. فقد وقف إلى جانب حزب العدالة والتنمية بعد أن أنشأ تحالفاً انتخابياً قبل التصويت، الذي يبدو أنه خدمه على أكمل وجه. وتوقع الكثيرون أن يصوّت ناخبوا حزب العدالة والتنمية، الذين بات يتملكهم الإحباط من تسلط أردوغان المتنامي، لمرشحٍ معارض. وبدلاً من ذلك، تشير الأرقام المعلنة للجمهور إلى أنهم صوتوا لصالح حليف أردوغان الانتخابي. فقد كان هذا التصويت الاحتجاجي مدروساً لعدم التأثير على توازن القوى، الذي بات اليوم، كما كان قبل الانتخابات، من اختصاص حزب العدالة والتنمية الإسلامي الذي ينتمي إليه أردوغان.

الخاسرون

كان محرم إنجه، المرشح الرئاسي عن حزب الشعب الجمهوري، الخاسر الأبرز. فقد أنهى الحملة الإنتخابية باعتباره الزعيم الفعلي لأكثر حركة معارضة موحدّة (أو تحالفٍ فضفاض) منذ عقود. وخلال التجمعات، التي يُقال أنها جذبت ملايين المؤيديين، كان من الواضح أنه أعاد ضخ الدماء إلى اليسار السياسي ومنح الناخبين، الذين لا يزالون يعارضون بشدة أجندة أردوغان وسياساته الشخصية، الأمل.

وعلاوة على ذلك، أيقظت لمسة إنجه “الشعبية،” بحديثه أمام الحشود بطريقة أكثر تواصلاً من المرشحين السابقين الأوفر حظاً من حزب الشعب الجمهوري، وتساهله فيما يخص تدين أسرته، الآمال بأن يتمكن من جذب أصوات المزيد من الناخبين المحافظين اجتماعياً.

إلا أنه بالرغم من ذلك فشل في حشد الدعم الكافي. فقد تمثلت آماله بالإطاحة بأردوغان بالحصول على أصوات أحزاب المعارضة الأخرى في الجولة الثانية من الإنتخابات، التي كانت الوسيلة الوحيدة القابلة للتطبيق لهزيمة الزعيم المخضرم.

ولكن بعد دخوله السباق الإنتخابي باعتباره الحلقة الأضعف، لا ينبغي النظر، ببساطة، إلى أداء إنجه على أنه هزيمة. فلا زال أردوغان يتمتع بقاعدةٍ شعبية كبيرة ومثيرة للإعجاب من المؤيدين، وبالتالي لم يكن بيده الكثير ليفعله. بل إن حقيقه أن إنجه كان قادراً على أن يبعث الأمل في حزبه بعد 15 عاماً من المعارضة الإنتخابية الرمزية، هو نصرٌ بحد ذاته. ومع الحملة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التي تفوقت على جهود حزب العدالة والتنمية، مهد إنجه لبلورة حقبة جديدة من سياسات المعارضة في تركيا. بل يعتقد البعض أنه قد يسعى إلى تحدى قيادة حزب الشعب الجمهوري.

كما وعدت ميرال أكشينار، زعيمة الحزب الجيد، وهي حركة سياسية جديدة ولدت من جراء خيبة الأمل من حزب الحركة القومية وحزب العدالة والتنمية، بسرقة الأصوات من القاعدة المؤيدة للرئيس. ومع ذلك، كانت ليلة الإنتخابات مخيبةً للآمال، مع القليل من الأدلة على تحولها إلى “أنثى الذئب.”

وعلى النقيض من ذلك، قاتل حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي المؤيد للأكراد للعودة إلى البرلمان، ليتجاوز عتبة الـ10% المطلوبة للتمثيل، ليكون بذلك قد حرم حزب العدالة والتنمية من أغلبيةٍ مطلقة. وفي ظل الحملة الإنتخابية لزعيمهم من خلف القضبان، ووسط مخاوف من إمكانية استخدام القانون الانتخابي الجديد للتمييز ضد الناخبين الأكراد، شكل حصوله على 11% من الأصوات انتصاراً حقيقياً لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي والديمقراطية التركية بشكلٍ عام.

غير عادلة وغير نزيهة؟

بعد الإدعاءات واسعة النطاق بحصول حالات تزويرٍ في الإستفتاء الدستوري الذي حصل العام الماضي، تنامت بعض التكهنات حول مدى حرية ونزاهة الإنتخابات. وفي يوم الإنتخابات، بدأت تطفو مزاعم بحصول إنتهاكاتٍ في المناطق الكردية، حيث وردت تقارير عن دخول رجال أمنٍ مسلحين إلى مراكز الإقتراع وانتشار فيديوهات على شبكة الإنترنت لحالات حشو الصناديق.

فقد قال مراقبون من منظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا (OSCE) إن أحزاب المعارضة حُرمت من ظروف الحملات الانتخابية المتساوية وأن حزب العدالة والتنمية تمتع بميزة غير مشروعة بسبب التغطية الإعلامية المفرطة والقيود المفروضة على الصحافة الحرة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قال المراقبون إن حالة الطوارىء والقيود المفروضة على الحقوق أثرت على نتيجة التصويت. إن مثل هذا الإختلال يُضيف المزيد من المفخرة لأداء أحزاب المعارضة.

فلا يوجد في تركيا استطلاعاتٌ لرأي الناخبين بعد الإقتراع، كما كانت وسائل الإعلام المحلية والدولية تعتمد على وكالة الأناضول التابعة للدولة للحصول على النتائج. فكما جاءت الأصوات الأولية بشكلٍ متوقع من مناطق مؤيدة لحزب العدالة والتنمية، أظهرت النتائج الأولى تقلباتٍ كبيرة تجاه أردوغان وحزبه. أدى ذلك إلى انتقاداتٍ لوسائل الإعلام المؤيدة للحكومة التي تحاول رسم صورة لنصرٍ محتوم لحزب العدالة والتنمية، فضلاً عن تأييدها الخاطىء لحزب العدالة والتنمية في تقاريرها عن النتائج، مما منح ساعاتٍ من الأمل لمؤيدي حزب الشعب الجمهوري بأن النتيجة النهائية ستنقلب مرةً أخرى لصالحهم. إلا أن هذه النتيجة المرغوبة لم تتحقق قط.

كما طالت الإنتقادات أردوغان لاحتفاله المبكر بالنصر، الذي تم قبل صدور أي نتائج رسمية. وفي العديد من البلدان، يُنظر إلى هذا باعتباره تصرفاً متعجرفاً أو حتى أحمق. وفي المناخ السياسي الحالي لتركيا، حيث تنتشر الاتهامات بالخيانة والتي غالباً ما يكون لها عواقب وخيمة، هيأ ادعاء أردوغان بالفوز المشهد أمام توجيه تهمة الخيانة لأي شخصٍ يعارض نتائج الإنتخابات. وعلى الرغم من اعتراف المعارضة بنتائج الانتخابات، إلا أن حزب الشعب الجمهوري قال في البداية أن استطلاعات الحزب الخاصة في صناديق الاقتراع تلقي بظلالٍ من الشك على أرقام وكالة الأناضول.

مثيرٌ للإعجاب أم ساذج؟

دعا إنجه أردوغان في خطاب إعترافه بالهزيمة على أن يكون رئيساً لجميع الأتراك، وليس لحزبه فحسب، بل إن إنجه هاتف أردوغان لتهنئته على الفوز. وفي حين يُسلط هذا الضوء على رسالته خلال الحملة الإنتخابية، إلا أنه أغفل عن سياسة أردوغان. فلسنوات، عمل أردوغان على تعزيز ليس سلطته الخاصة فحسب، بل أيضاً سلطة حزب العدالة والتنمية. إن رغبته في البقاء زعيماً لحزب العدالة والتنمية بينما يتولى منصب الرئيس (قام بتغيير الدستور لضمان ذلك) يعكس رغبته الثابتة في أن يرى الأجندة الإسلامية لحزب العدالة والتنمية باعتبارها القاعدة الراسخة لتركيا.

إن فوز أردوغان يعني أكثر من مجرد خمس سنوات أخرى من حكمه الاستبدادي. فقد منحته الانتخابات مجموعة من الصلاحيات الجديدة – التي تم التصويت عليها في استفتاء العام الماضي – بما في ذلك منحه الحق في تعيين المسؤولين الرسميين بشكلٍ مباشر، وفرض حالة الطوارىء والتدخل من جانبٍ واحد في النظام القضائي.

في ظل هذا التركيز المفرط للسلطة بيد رجلٍ له سجلٌ حافلٌ في قمع المعارضة وفرض أجندته الخاصة على شبعه، فلربما لم تشهد تركيا بعد سوى الفصل الأول من فصول تحولها.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / In Turkey, Calling Early Elections Could Be President Erdogan’s Master Stroke / Turkey’s Elections: The Winners and Losers

Turkey’s Elections: The Winners and Losers

Turkey- Turkey elections
Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, leader of the Justice and Development Party (AKP), is greeted by supporters as he leaves the polling station after casting his vote during snap twin Turkish presidential and parliamentary elections in Istanbul on June 24, 2018. Photo AFP

On 24 June 2018, Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan announced that he had been re-elected for another five-year term.

Inflation of 12 per cent and a 20 per cent drop in the lira’s value this year failed to turn the electorate against the president, who has been behind much of the country’s economic prosperity over the past 15 years.

Furthermore, the 110,000 civil servants dismissed nationwide and the tens of thousands of Turks detained did little to dent his success at the ballot box. The unofficial results from the state-run Anadolu Agency showed clear winners and losers in the elections.

The Winners

Erdogan ended the night with just over 52 per cent of the vote, winning the elections outright and re-moving the need for a second-round vote. His Justice and Development Party (AKP) took home 42 per cent of the vote, assuring a parliamentary majority thanks to an alliance with the right-wing Nationalist Movement Party (MHP). Even so, this was 7 per cent fewer votes than the AKP won in November 2015, deepening its reliance on partners. It is unclear yet what pound of flesh the MHP will demand for its loyalty to Erdogan.

With 11 per cent of the vote, the MHP far outdid expectations, particularly as the party’s leader, 70-year-old Devlet Bahceli, did little in the way of campaigning – even if he received more air time from state broadcasters than opposition candidates. He stood by the AKP, having forged an electoral alliance before the vote, and this appears to have served him well. Many expected that the AKP voters who had become disenchanted with Erdogan’s growing authoritarianism would vote for an opposition candidate. Instead, publicly released figures indicate they voted for Erdogan’s electoral ally. This protest vote was calculated not to affect the balance of power, which now, as before the elections, rests with Erdogan’s Islamist AKP.

The Losers

CHP presidential candidate Muharrem Ince was the obvious loser. He ended the election campaign as the de facto leader of the most united opposition movement (or loose coalition) in decades. With rallies reportedly drawing millions of supporters, it was clear that he had rejuvenated the political left and given hope to the voters who remain strongly opposed to Erdogan’s agenda and personality politics.

Moreover, Ince’s ‘popular’ touch – speaking at rallies in a far more relatable way than CHP frontrunners before him – and his ease with his family’s religiosity, sparked hopes that he could attract more socially conservative voters.

Even so, he failed to rally sufficient support. His hopes of ousting Erdogan rested on other opposition parties lending their votes to him in a second round, the only viable means of defeating the long-time leader.

However, having entered the race as the clear underdog, Ince’s performance should not be viewed simply as a defeat. Erdogan still commands an intensely loyal and impressively large base, for whom he apparently can do little wrong. The fact that Ince was able to inspire hope in his party after 15 years of nominal electoral opposition is a victory. With a social media campaign that far outdid the AKP’s efforts, Ince has set the stage for a new era of opposition politics in Turkey. Some think he may even challenge the CHP’s leadership.

Meral Aksener’s Iyi Party, a new political movement born out of disillusionment with the MHP and AKP, promised to steal votes from the president’s base. However, election night was a disappointment, with little evidence of a swing to ‘the she-wolf’.

In contrast, the pro-Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP) fought its way back into parliament, crossing the 10 per cent threshold required for representation, and in doing so denying the AKP an outright majority. With their leader campaigning from jail, and amid fears that a new electoral law could be used to discriminate against Kurdish voters, gaining 11 per cent of the vote was a real victory for the HDP and Turkish democracy.

Unfree and Unfair?

After the widespread claims of fraud in last year’s constitutional referendum, there was speculation about whether these elections would be free and fair. On election day, claims of abuses in Kurdish areas began to spread, with reported cases of armed security personnel entering polling stations and videos posted online of ballot box stuffing.

Observers from the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) said that opposition parties were denied equal campaigning conditions and that the AKP enjoyed an undue advantage from excessive media coverage and restrictions on the free press. Additionally, observers said the ongoing state of emergency and rights restrictions impacted the vote’s result. Such an unbalanced field adds further credit to the performance of the opposition parties.

Turkey does not have exit polls, and domestic and international media were dependent on the state-run Anadolu Agency for the results. As the initial votes predictably came from pro-AKP areas, the first results showed heavy swings towards Erdogan rand his party. This led to criticisms of pro-government media trying to paint a picture of an inevitable AKP victory as well as erroneously favouring the AKP in their reporting of the results, giving hours of hope to CHP supporters that the final tally would swing back in their favour. This longed-for result never materialized.

Criticism was also levelled at Erdogan’s early claim of victory, which he made well before any official results had come in. In most countries, this would be seen as presumptuous or even foolish. In Turkey’s current political climate, where accusations of treachery are widespread and often have dramatic consequences, Erdogan’s claim set the scene for anyone opposing the result to be declared a traitor. Although the opposition conceded the elections, the CHP initially said that the party’s own polls at the ballot box cast doubt on the Anadolu Agency’s figures.

Admirable but Naive?

Ince’s concession speech called on Erdogan to act as a president for all and not just for his own party. Ince even called Erdogan to congratulate him on his win. While this played up to his own campaign message, it missed the point of Erdogan’s politics. For years, Erdogan has been consolidating not only his own power but also that of the AKP. His desire to remain the leader of the AKP while president (he changed the constitution to ensure this) speaks to his steadfast desire to see the AKP’s Islamist agenda become Turkey’s established norm.

Erdogan’s win means more than just another five years of his authoritarian rule. The elections gifted him with a raft of new powers – voted for in last year’s referendum – including the right to directly appoint public officials, impose a state of emergency and intervene unilaterally in the judicial system.

With such a concentration of power in the hands of a man with a track record of quashing dissent and forcing his own agenda on his people, Turkey may only have seen the first chapter of its transformation.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.