فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / السياسة الخارجية

السياسة الخارجية


بعد تأسيسها عام 1923، تبنت الجمهورية التركية سياسة الحياد رسمياً، وانضمت إلى عصبة الأمم عام 1932 ووقعت على مواثيق إقليمية مع الدول المجاورة لها (وفاق البلقان عام 1934 مع اليونان ويوغسلافيا ورومانيا، وميثاق سعد آباد الموقع مع إيران والعراق وأفغانستان عام 1937 ضد المعارضة الكردية المسلحة). وتحول هذا الحياد الرسمي إلى موقف مناصر لألمانيا في الحرب العالمية الثانية بعد “عملية بارباروسا” التي بدأت في 22 حزيران/يونيو 1941. وتثبت الكثير من الوثائق الألمانية أن رئيس الوزراء التركي شكري سراج أوغلو (1887-1953) أعرب عن أمنيته بأن تمسح القوات الألمانية الاتحاد السوفييتي عن الخارطة.

دفع التهديد السوفييتي في أعقاب الحرب العالمية الثانية بتركيا إلى طلب الحماية من الغرب: انضمت إلى حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو، 1951)؛ وشاركت في الحرب الكورية (1951-1953)؛ وأُقيمت فيها قواعد عسكرية أمريكية؛ وبقيت إحدى أهم المناطق العازلة للكتلة الغربية أثناء الحرب الباردة، على الرغم من العلاقات الدبلوماسية والثقافية مع الاتحاد السوفييتي.

خلقت نهاية الحرب الباردة الكثير من الفرص، غير أنها فرضت أيضاً قيوداً على السياسة الخارجية التركية. في بادئ الأمر، بدا التقارب المذهل مع “الجمهوريات التركية” في آسيا الوسطى مؤشراً لظهور كتلة تركية، إلا أنها لم تدم طويلاً؛ فعوضاً عن ذلك، قام زعماء هذه الجمهوريات، والذين سعوا للحفاظ على حكمهم، بطلب الحماية من روسيا لضمان استمراريتهم. ولم يحُل دعم تركيا لأذربيجان في حربها ضد أرمينيا دون انتصار أرمينيا في منطقة قرة باغ العليا (1988–1994). وأدى الدعم السوري لحزب العمال الكردستاني المسلح، بالإضافة إلى ظهور منطقة كردية مستقلة في العراق بعد حرب الخليج عام 1991، إلى ظهور قيود أخرى على السياسة الخارجية التركية، مما أجبرها على التركيز بشكل شبه حصري على الشرق الأوسط.

الرئيس مصطفى كمال أتاتورك والشاه رضا بهلوي
الرئيس مصطفى كمال أتاتورك والشاه رضا بهلوي

في عهد حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية

أحمد داود أوغلو (ولد 1959)
أحمد داود أوغلو (ولد 1959)

لم يغيّر تشكيل حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية فوراً السياسات الخارجية التركية في منطقة آسيا الوسطى أو القوقاز أو البلقان، والتي كان يبدو أن وضعها الراهن سيدوم طويلاً. ولكن مع استمرار عضويتها في الناتو، طوّرت تركيا تدريجياً سياسة إقليمية مستقلة في الشرق الأوسط، مدافعة عن العلاقات السلمية بين الدول. وقامت حكومة حزب العدالة والتنمية بالفعل بتطوير سياسة خارجية فاعلة للغاية في الشرق الأوسط، وخاصة منذ تعيين أحمد داود أوغلو (مواليد عام 1959) – أستاذ في العلاقات الدولية – وزيراً للخارجية عام 2009. في نظريته المعروفة بنظرية “العمق الاستراتيجي”، وصف داود أوغلو تركيا بأنها القوة الأساسية في المجال الإمبراطوري/العثماني السابق. وقال داود أغلو إن تركيا كانت تحتاج إلى تطوير سياسة “اللامشاكل” مع جميع الدول المجاورة لها. ولكن هذه السياسة اصطدمت بالواقع الإقليمي المتمثل في الخلافات بين تركيا وإسرائيل وتلك التي بين الدول المجاورة لها مباشرة كإيران وسوريا بشكل خاص.

 

السياسة الخارجية وسط أزمات المنطقة

سوريون ينتظرون عند معبر أكتشاكال في الحدود التركية-السورية التي أغلقتها تركيا بعد سيطرة المسلحين على الجانب السوري, كانون الثاني/يناير 2014 Photo eyevine/HH
سوريون ينتظرون عند معبر أكتشاكال في الحدود التركية-السورية التي أغلقتها تركيا بعد سيطرة المسلحين على الجانب السوري, كانون الثاني/يناير 2014 Photo eyevine/HH

 

لقد فضح اختطاف 49 شخصا دبلوماسيا تركيا مع عائلاتهم من قبل الدولة الأصولية الإسلامية في العراق والشام (داعش) في مدينة الموصل العراقية في 11 حزيران/يونيو 2014 عمق الأخطاء التي ارتكبتها تركيا مؤخرا في سياستها الخارجية  اً. فعلى الرغم من التحذيرات المبكرة، يبدو أن الحكومة التركية قد  استخفت  ربما لأسباب أيديولوجية،  بحجم الخطر الذي تشكله هذه الجماعة السنية المتطرفة.

في السنوات الأخيرة، سعى كل من رئيس الوزراء أردوغان ووزير خارجيته أحمد داود أوغلو الى اتباع  نهج دبلوماسي مستقل عن الغرب.  فمع فقدان احتمالات الانضمام للاتحاد الأوروبي من جاذبيتها في مواجهة المعارضة الصريحة من فرنسا وألمانيا والتراجع الاقتصادي في أوروبا فقد بدأ كلاهما بتغذية الأحلام بأنه قد يكون بمقدور تركيا أن تصبح قوة رئيسية في الشرق الأوسط..

وبعد أن قام حزب العدالة والتنمية بتهميش مؤسسات الدولة التي أنشأها كمال أتاتورك، لم يستطع نجم تركيا في المنطقة لفترة من الزمن. وهذا ما حذا بوزير الخارجية أحمد داود أوغلو بالترويج لسياسة ” لا مشاكل مع الجيران” حيث استردت أنقرة علاقاتها مع أعداء الماضي مثل سوريا بشار الأسد. ولكن النجاح الأولي الذي حصدته تركيا استند إلى العلاقات مع حكومات قوية.

الاضطرابات السياسية التي أعقبت الثورات العربية وسقوط القادة المستبدين في تونس ومصر وليبيا، مجتمعة مع شعور قادة تركيا بالثقة بالنفس والاعتزاز بها، قد جعل أنقرة على خلاف مع معظم جيرانها.

اليوم، إن مقياس عزلة تركيا هو أن أكراد العراق، الذين جرت العادة على أن ينظر إليهم باعتبارهم يشكلون تهديداً، هم الآن أحد أقرب الحلفاء  لهذه الدولة في الإقليم. إن العلاقات مع اسرائيل، التي سمحت لتركيا في وقت سابق بلعب دور الوسيط في الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي، قد انهارت بالفعل جراء أحداث أسطول سفينة مرمرة في غزة، والذي تسبب بوفاة عشرة أتراك في أيار عام 2010.

آب وفي آب 2011، بينما كانت سوريا تجتاحها القلاقل، قوض رئيس الوزراء أردوغان من العلاقات مع نظام بشار الأسد حيث توقع أن ينهار هذا النظام. ومع إطالة الصراع لشهور وسنوات وظهور صورة مشرذمة أكثر للمقاومة، كانت فيها الجماعات الجهادية تكستب مكانة مهمة، فإن الدول الغربية التي كانت في البداية شجعت تركيا على المشاركة، بدأت بتني نهج أكثر حرصا.

تركيا، من ناحية أخرى، استمرت بالرهان على سقوط الأسد.  وهناك اعتقاد بأنها تعاونت مع قطر لتقديم المساعدات للجماعات السنية المتطرفة مثل جبهة النصرة ودولة داعش وأنها سمحت للمقاتلين من العبور إلى أراضيها..

لقد تأثرت السياسة الخارجية التركية على نحو متزايد  بميول قادة البلاد السنيين. انهارت علاقات أنقرة مع بغداد بعد أن دعمت تركيا المعارضين لرئيس الوزراء العراقي نوري المالكي قبل انتخابات عام 2010 .تصاعدت حدة التوتر مؤخراً أيضاً مع تركيا، بعد تجاهل اعتراضات واشنطن، وإبرام اتفاق بشأن النفط مع الحكومة الإقليمية الكردية )حكومة إقليم كردستان)، الذي يسمح بتصدير النفط عبر ميناء جيهان العائد لها.

كانت الحكومة التركية أيضاً صريحة في دعمها لجماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر. عندما تمت الإطاحة بالرئيس محمد مرسي لدى استيلاء الجيش بقيادة الجنرال عبد الفتاح السيسي في يوليو عام 2013، اتهم رئيس الوزراء أردوغان إسرائيل بالتدخل. سعى رئيس الدولة في تركيا عبد الله غول باتجاه تحسين العلاقات المتدهورة، فقد قام بتهنئة السيسي بعد انتخابه بالرئاسة أيار عام 2014.

تغييرات دبلوماسية

مخيم نيزب في منطقة غازي عنتاب, بالقرب من الحدود التركية-السورية, آذار/مارس 2014 Photo Corbis
مخيم نيزب في منطقة غازي عنتاب, بالقرب من الحدود التركية-السورية, آذار/مارس 2014 Photo Corbis

في يونيو عام 2014، اضطرت الحكومة التركية لإجلاء المئات من مواطنيها من ليبيا، فضلاً عن دبلوماسيي القنصلية في بنغازي، وبعد أن أصدر  مؤيدو الجنرال المتقاعد خليفة حفتر، الذين شنوا هجوماً ضد الإسلاميين في أيار عام 2014، تحذيراً إلى تركيا، حيث اتهموها بدعم الارهاب.

يبدو أن السلطات التركية قد أدركت بشكل متأخر أن الجماعات السنية المتطرفة تشكل تهديداً في المنطقة. في يونيو عام 2014، قامت الحكومة التركية بتحديث قائمتها للمنظمات الإرهابية، وأضافت جبهة النصرة كجماعة إرهابية على صلة بتنظيم القاعدة تعمل في سوريا والعراق.  هذا ولم يكن دعمها للجماعات المتطرفة وقوداً للانقسامات الطائفية في البلدان المجاورة فحسب ولكنه كان يشكل خطراً من خلال تصدير الأزمة إلى تركيا، في الوقت الذي تعاني البلاد من أكثر من مليون لاجئ سوري تدفقوا عبر الحدود منذ بدء الصراع.

لقد أدت الاضطرابات إلى تحولً دبلوماسي كبير لدى دول الجوار.  حيث تعيش العراق الآن على شفير الانقسام، حيث أعلن الزعيم الكردي مسعود بارزاني مؤخراً أن أكراد العراق سيسعون إلى الاستقلال. مثل هذه التصريحات، والاستيلاء التام للأكراد على مدينة كركوك النفطية، ومطالب التركمان والعرب أيضاً، قد أثارت كلها رد فعل قوي لدى السلطات التركية  مؤخرا. ولكن يمكن ألا ترحب تركيا باحتمال قيام دولة كردية مستقلة، فإنه لم يعد من الممكن تصور أنها سوف تتسامح مع هذا الأمر.

أحيت أنقرة أيضاً محادثات السلام مع حزب العمال الكردستاني (PKK) والساسة الأكراد في البلد، وذلك من أجل معالجة المشكلة الكردية الخاصة بها. ولحرصه على الحصول على دعم الأكراد للانتخابات الرئاسية، قدم الرئيس أردوغان مؤخراً قوانين جديدة لتسهيل معالجة المشكلة، ولكن تظل التنازلات التي تقوم أنقرة بإعدادها لجعل الأمور العالقة المتبقية مقيدة بالحاجة من أجل تجنب استعداء القوميين الأتراك. لقد اكتسبت القضية الكردية أيضاً بعداً جديداً مع الأكراد السوريين لحزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي (PYD)، التابع لحزب العمال الكردستاني، والسيطرة على المناطق الحدودية الآن في شمال سوريا.

يمكن للمخاوف المشتركة إزاء ظهور متطرفي الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام
“داعش” في كل من العراق وسوريا أن تؤدي إلى تعزيز المزيد من التعاون بين الخصمين القديمين ايران وتركيا. تحافظ الجارتين على علاقات اقتصادية قوية، ولكن توترت تلك الروابط منذ أن وجدوا أنفسهم على طرفي نقيض في الصراع السوري. خلال زيارته لأنقرة في شهر يونيو، صرح الرئيس الإيراني روحاني عزمه على تحسين العلاقات التجارية والدبلوماسية مع تركيا.

تعزيز التجارة كان جانباً هاما ًلسياسة أنقرة الخارجية في السنوات الأخيرة، حيث تتحرى تركيا أسواقاً بديلة لتعويض التباطؤ الاقتصادي في أوروبا. أصبح العراق ثاني أكبر شريك تجاري لتركيا بعد ألمانيا، حيث بلغت قيمة الصادرات التركية قيمة 12  مليار دولار في عام 2013. مرور البضائع التركية أيضاً عبر العراق في طريقها الى الخليج. إن استمرار حالة عدم الاستقرار تضر باقتصاد تركيا.

ما زالت تركيا  طرفا إقليميا له تأثيره، ولكن الأحداث الأخيرة أثبتت  محدودية هذا التأثير. من المرجح أن تدفع المخاوف الأمنية الأخيرة بتركيا العضو في حلف شمال الاطلسي إلى الاعتماد أكثر على حلفائها الغربيين على المدى الطويل، حتى لو تم تقويض العلاقات إلى حد ما بسبب خطاب رئيس الوزراء أردوغان المعادي للغرب وتزايد المخاوف بشأن المعايير الديمقراطية في تركيا.

سيتبين مع مرور الوقت إذا كانت الانتكاسات الدبلوماسية ستشجع القادة الأتراك على اعتماد  نهج أكثر حذراً وواقعية. نظراً لازدياد التقلبات في المنطقة، يجب أن يكون التركيز الرئيسي على  درء الأضرار ومنع تركيا من الانجرار إلى الفوضى والتوترات الطائفية على حدودها الجنوبية.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Foreign Policy

Foreign Policy of Turkey


After its foundation in 1923, the Turkish Republic adopted an official policy of neutrality, becoming a member of the League of Nations in 1932 and signing regional pacts with its neighbours (the Balkan Pact of 1934 with Greece, former Yugoslavia and Romania, the Saadabad Pact against the Kurdish armed opposition with Iran, Iraq and Afghanistan in 1937). This official neutrality was transformed into a pro-German stance during World War II, after ‘Operation Barbarossa’ began on 22 June 1941. As many German documents attest, the Turkish Prime Minister Şükrü Saraçoğlu (1887-1953) expressed the wish to see the Soviet Union wiped off the map by the German forces.

The Soviet threat in the wake of World War II forced Turkey to seek Western protection: the country become a member of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO, 1951), participated in the Korean War (1951-1953), hosted American military bases and, in spite of diplomatic and cultural relations with the Soviet Union, remained one of the most important buffer zones of the Western Bloc during the Cold War.

The end of the Cold War created many opportunities, but also constraints on the Turkish foreign policy. The spectacular rapprochement with the Central Asiatic ‘Turkic Republics’ seemed, at the beginning, as a sign of the emergence of a Turkish bloc, but it was short-lasting; instead, the leaders of these Republics, who were keen to protect their own rule, sought Russian protection to ensure their own durability. The Turkish support to Azerbaijan in its war with Armenia did not prevent the Armenian victory in the High Karabakh region (1988-1994). The Syrian support to the Kurdish armed organization PKK, as well as the emergence of a Kurdish autonomous region in Iraq after the Gulf War of 1991, created other constraints on the Turkish foreign policy, forcing it to concentrate almost exclusively on the Middle East.

President Mustafa Kemal Atatürk and Shah Reza Pahlavi of Persia/Iran
President Mustafa Kemal Atatürk and Shah Reza Pahlavi of Persia/Iran

Under AKP government

Ahmet Davutoğlu (b. 1959) Minister of Foreign Affairs
Ahmet Davutoğlu (b. 1959) Minister of Foreign Affairs

The formation of an AKP (Justice and Development Party) government did not immediately change Turkish foreign policies in the Central Asian region, Caucasia or in the Balkans, where a long-lasting status quo seemed to be quite viable. But while remaining a member of NATO, Turkey has gradually developed an autonomous regional policy in the Middle East, advocating inter-state relations. The AKP government has, indeed, developed, particularly since the appointment of Ahmet Davutoğlu (born in 1959), a professor of international relations as Minister of Foreign Affairs in 2009, a very active foreign policy in the Middle East. Davutoğlu’s so-called ‘strategic deepness’ theory described Turkey as the main strong power in the former imperial/Ottoman space. According to Davutoğlu, Turkey needed, in order to reinforce its position in the region, to develop a ‘zero problem’ policy with all her neighbours. This policy was, however, severely challenged by the regional realities as one can observe in Israeli-Turkish conflicts as well as in conflicts with immediate neighbours as Iran and particularly Syria.

Foreign Policy Amid Regional Crises

Syrians wait outside the Syrian-Turkish border gate near Akçakale, which Turkey closed after al-Qaeda militants took control of the Syrian side, January 2014 / Photo eyevine/HH
Syrians wait outside the Syrian-Turkish border gate near Akçakale, which Turkey closed after al-Qaeda militants took control of the Syrian side, January 2014 / Photo eyevine/HH

The kidnapping of 49 Turkish diplomats and their families by the radical Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS) in the Iraqi city of Mosul on 11 June 2014 has exposed the deep flaws of Turkey’s recent foreign policy. In spite of early warnings, the Turkish government appears to have underestimated, perhaps for ideological reasons, the danger posed by this extremist Sunni group.

In recent years, Prime Minister Erdoğan and his proactive foreign minister Ahmet Davutoğlu sought to follow a diplomatic line that was more independent of the West. As the prospect of EU membership lost some of its appeal in the face of vocal opposition from France and Germany and the economic downturn in Europe, they entertained dreams that Turkey might become a leading power in the Middle East.

After the Justice and Development Party (AKP) government sidelined the country’s Kemalist institutions, Turkey’s star did indeed rise in the region, for a while. Foreign Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu promoted a policy of “zero problem with neighbors,” and Ankara was mending ties with former foes such as Bashar al-Assad’s Syria. But Turkey’s initial success was based on ties with strong governments.

The political turmoil that followed the Arab uprising and the fall of autocratic leaders in Tunisia, Egypt, and Libya, combined with the prideful self-confidence of Turkey’s leaders, have, left Ankara at odds with most of its neighbors.

Today, it is a measure of Turkey’s isolation that the Iraqi Kurds, who used to be seen as a threat, are now one of the country’s closest regional allies. Relations with Israel, which had earlier allowed Turkey to act as a mediator in the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, had already broken down over the Mavi Marmara Gaza flotilla events, which caused the death of ten Turks in May 2010.

In August 2011, as unrest engulfed Syria, Prime Minister Erdoğan severed ties with the Syrian regime of Bashar al-Assad, expecting its imminent collapse. As months turned into years and a more fractured picture of the opposition emerged, in which jihadist groups were gaining prominence, Western nations that had initially encouraged Turkey’s involvement adopted a more cautious approach. Turkey, on the other hand, continued to bank on Assad’s fall. Along with Qatar, it is believed to have provided assistance to extremist Sunni groups such as Jabhat al-Nusra, as well as ISIS, allowing their fighters to cross its territory.

Turkey’s foreign policy has been increasingly influenced by the Sunni leanings of the country’s leaders. Ankara’s ties with Baghdad broke down after Turkey supported opponents of Iraqi Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki ahead of the 2010 elections. Tension recently escalated further after Turkey, ignoring objections from Washington, concluded an oil agreement with the Kurdish Regional Government (KRG), allowing it to export oil through its Ceyhan terminal.

The Turkish government was also vocal in his support for the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt. When President Mohammed Morsi was deposed in an army takeover led by General Abdul Fattah al-Sisi in July 2013, Prime Minister Erdoğan blamed Israel for the intervention. Turkey’s head of state, President Abdullah Gül, seeking to improve damaged relations, congratulated al-Sisi after his election to the presidency in May 2014.

Diplomatic Shifts

Nizip refugee camp in Gaziantep province, near the Turkish-Syrian border, March 2014 / Photo Corbis
Nizip refugee camp in Gaziantep province, near the Turkish-Syrian border, March 2014 / Photo Corbis

In June 2014, the Turkish government was forced to evacuate hundreds of its citizens from Libya, as well as diplomats from its Benghazi consulate, after supporters of retired General Khalifa Hifter, who launched an offensive against Islamists in May 2014, issued a warning to Turkey, accusing it of supporting terrorism.

The Turkish authorities appear to have realized belatedly that extremist Sunni groups pose a threat in the region. In June 2014, the Turkish government updated its list of terrorist organisations and added Jabhat al-Nusra as an al-Qaeda-linked terrorist group operating in Syria and Iraq.  Its support for radical groups not only fuels sectarian divisions in neighboring countries but risks importing the problem to Turkey, at a time when the country grapples with over a million Syrian refugees who have poured across the border since the conflict began.

The turbulence in Turkey’s neighborhood have resulted in major diplomatic shifts. With Iraq now perilously close to partition, Kurdish leader Masoud Barzani recently announced that the Iraqi Kurds would seek independence. Such statements, and the Kurds’ quiet takeover of the oil city of Kirkuk, also claimed by Turkmens and Arabs, would have elicited a strong response from the Turkish authorities in the recent past. But while Turkey may not welcome the prospect of an independent Kurdish state, it is no longer inconceivable that it would tolerate it.

Ankara has also revived peace talks with the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) and Kurdish politicians at home, in order to address its own Kurdish problem. Eager to get the Kurds’ support for his presidential bid, President Erdoğan recently introduced new laws to ease the process, but the concessions that Ankara is prepared to make remain constrained by the need to avoid alienating Turkish nationalists. The Kurdish issue has also acquired a new dimension with the Syrian Kurds of the Democratic Union Party (PYD), affiliated with the PKK, now controlling border areas in northern Syria.

Common concerns about the rise of extremist ISIS in Iraq and Syria could promote more cooperation between old rivals Iran and Turkey. The two neighbours maintain strong economic ties, but those connections have been strained since they have found themselves on opposite sides of the Syrian conflict. During a visit to Ankara in June, Iran’s President Rouhani stated his intention to improve trade and diplomatic relations with Turkey.

Boosting trade has been an important aspect of Ankara’s foreign policy in recent years, as Turkey looked for alternative markets to compensate for the slowdown in Europe. Iraq has become Turkey’s second largest trading partner, after Germany, with Turkish exports totalling USD 12 billion in 2013. Turkish goods also pass through Iraq on their way to the Gulf. The ongoing instability might therefore harm Turkey’s economy.

Turkey remains an important regional player, but recent events have demonstrated the limits of its influence. Security concerns are likely to encourage NATO-member Turkey to rely more on its long-term Western allies, even if relations have been undermined somewhat by Prime Minister Erdoğan’s anti-Western rhetoric and growing concerns about Turkey’s democratic standards.

Time will tell if the latest diplomatic setbacks will encourage Turkish leaders to adopt a more cautious and realistic approach. In view of the increased volatility in the region, their main focus should be on limiting the damage and preventing Turkey from being sucked into the chaos and sectarian tensions at its southern borders.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.