فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مراهنة خطرة: هل دبلوماسية الرهائن توتر العلاقات الأمريكية التركية؟

مراهنة خطرة: هل دبلوماسية الرهائن توتر العلاقات الأمريكية التركية؟

Turkey- Turkey-US relations
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN / SAUL LOEB

أنذرت الحرب الكلامية بين تركيا والولايات المتحدة بالتحول إلى ما هو أكثر إيلاماً في أغسطس 2018، حيث وعد الجانبان بتنفيذ تهديداتهما وفرض العقوبات. ومع ذلك، السبب في هذا الوعيد والتهديدات الاقتصادية، رجلي دين هما بؤرة هذا الصراع الدبلوماسي، مما أثار تساؤلاتٍ حول ما إذا كان الرجال رهائن سياسيين في خضم هذا الصراع الجيوسياسي.

فمن جهة، تريد تركيا بشدة تسليم فتح الله غولن، وهو رجل دين تركي مؤثر عاش في المنفى الاختياري في الولايات المتحدة منذ عقود. وعلى الرغم من علاقاته الوثيقة السابقة مع الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان، إلا أنه مطلوب من أنقرة بتهمة تدبير محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016. وقد رفضت الولايات المتحدة حتى الآن أو ما زالت تعالج الطلبات التركية بتسليمه.

وعلى الجانب الآخر، طالبت الولايات المتحدة بالإفراج عن أندرو برونسون، القس الإنجيلي الأمريكي المسجون منذ أواخر عام 2016 في تركيا بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب.

فمنذ إلقاء القبض على برونسون، رفضت الحكومة التركية جميع المطالب العامة بالإفراج عنه، بحجة أن القضاء التركي مستقل (أو كما تدعي أنقرة استقلاله)، وأن مصيره خارج أيدي الحكومة. وبالتالي، فهذه هي نفس الحجة التي تستخدمها واشنطن عندما يطالب السياسيون الأتراك بتسليم غولن.

بلغت الأمور ذروتها في أواخر يوليو، عندما حكمت محكمةٌ تركية بوضع برونسون تحت الإقامة الجبرية ورفضت الإفراج عنه بالكامل، مما أثار غضب الحكومة الأمريكية. وفي اليوم التالي، 26 يوليو، هدد نائب الرئيس الأمريكي، مايك بنس، بفرض عقوباتٍ على تركيا بسبب رفضها المستمر لإطلاق سراح برونسون. أدى هذا إلى انحدارٍ جديد في العلاقات الأمريكية التركية، بعد عدة سنواتٍ من العلاقات المتدهورة. وأيد الرئيس دونالد ترمب تهديد بنس، الذي وعد في تغريدة له بفرض “عقوباتٍ كبيرة” على تركيا.

نفذت الولايات المتحدة تهديداتها عن طريق فرض عقوباتٍ وتجميد أصول وزيري الداخلية والعدل التركيين. رداً على ذلك، أمر أردوغان بفرض نفس العقوبات ضد نفس الوزراء الأمريكيين. ومع ذلك، ولأن الولايات المتحدة لديها العديد من الوزراء الذين يتعاملون مع محفظة مماثلة لوزارة الداخلية التركية، فمن غير الواضح بالضبط على من ستطبق العقوبات. وعلاوةً على ذلك، في حين أن العقوبات الأمريكية يمكن أن تكون معوقة للأفراد المستهدفين، ويرجع ذلك أساساً إلى التأثير بعيد المدى للبنوك الأمريكية، يبدو من غير المحتمل تأثر وزراء الولايات المتحدة بشكلٍ كبير بمثل هذه الإجراءات التركية. ومع ذلك، لا يتوقع أن يتضرر أي من الوزيرين الأتراك من جراء هذه العقوبات الرمزية إلى حدٍ كبير.

أما فيما يتعلق بالقيمة الاسمية (خاصة بالنظر إلى سجل حقوق الإنسان المتدهور لأنقرة)، قد يبدو أن تركيا هي الطرف الوغد في هذه المعادلة. ولكن في الوقت الذي يبدو فيه احتجاز تركيا لبرونسون، إلى حدٍ كبير، إن لم يكن كلياً، ذو دوافع سياسة، فإن الولايات المتحدة تستغل الوضع لتحقيق مكاسب سياسية خاصة بها.

وحالياً، يواجه مواطنان يحملان جنسيةً مزدوجة (الأمريكية والتركية) تهماً تتعلق بالإرهاب في تركيا (بمن فيهم العالم في ناسا الذي حكم عليه بالسجن لمدة سبع سنوات ونصف). كما يقبع موظفان من القنصلية الأمريكية خلف القضبان التركية بالفعل، بينما تم احتجاز ثالث تحت الإقامة الجبرية. بيد أن أياً من هذه القضايا المذكورة حازت على الاهتمام الذي تلقاه قضية برونسون، الأمر الذي أثار تساؤلاتٍ حول مدى اهتمام البيت الأبيض بالسجناء ذلك أنهم لن يعودوا بالفائدة على الرئيس في استطلاعات الرأي.

وعلى تويتر، أشاد ترمب ببرونسون بأنه “رجل مسيحي عظيم، ورجل عائلي وإنسان رائع” و”رجل بريء،” كما كرر بنس هذه الصفات. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن بنس مسيحي إنجيلي ملتزم لعب دوراً رئيسياً في حشد الأصوات لصالح ترمب من داخل المجتمع الإنجيلي القوي في انتخابات عام 2016. فقد أصبح مصير برونسون من القضايا الملحة للإدارة، وذلك قبل أشهرٍ قليلة من الانتخابات النصفية ذات الأهمية في نوفمبر. ففي الدوائر الرسمية، يشار عادةً إلى برونسون باسم “القس،” وهي طريقة فعّالة لدعم التأييد المسيحي لقضيته وجهود البيت الأبيض لتحريره في هذا العام الانتخابي الحاسم. ومع ذلك، فإن هذه التمثيلية السياسية المصطنعة التي تُخفي دبلوماسية الرهائن الظاهرة تنطبق على كلا الطرفين.

ففي حديثه في مؤتمر حزب العدالة والتنمية في 4 أغسطس، بدا أن وزير الخارجية، مولود جاويش أوغلو، حاول دحض أي فكرةٍ تقول أن برونسون محتجزٌ كرهينة. ومع ذلك، أكد أن كلا الحكومتين في خضم نقاشاتٍ تتعلق ببنك خلق. فقد كان المصرف المملوك للدولة جوهر محاكمةٍ بارزة في نيويورك العام الماضي لمدير بنك خلق، محمد هاكان أتيلا، الذي تمت مقاضاته بسبب مساعدته إيران في التهرب من العقوبات الأمريكية. ويبدو أن وزارة الخزانة الأمريكية ستفرض غرامةً تصل إلى عدة مليارات من الدولارات على بنك خلق لدوره في هذا المخطط.

وبشكلٍ يُدين جاويش أوغلو، كشفت العديد من التقارير الصحفية عن وجود مفاوضاتٍ بين واشنطن وأنقرة لمنح برونسون الحرية مقابل غرامة أكثر تساهلاً تُفرض على بنك خلق. كما ورد أن الولايات المتحدة عرضت السماح لأتيلا إنهاء محكوميته في وطنه. فقد كان عرّاب هذه الصفقة إطلاق إسرائيل لسراح إبرو أوزكان، وهي ناشطة تركية احتجزت لمساعدتها حماس. وعلى الرغم من إطلاق إسرائيل لسراحها، إلا أن الطلب الذي قدمته أنقرة في اللحظات الأخيرة لإسقاط أي تحقيقٍ له علاقة ببنك خلق عرقل الصفقة. وفي نهاية المطاف، لا يزال برونسون قيد الإقامة الجبرية.

تتزامن هذه الخلافات مع تزايد التوترات التجارية بين أنقرة وواشنطن. واليوم، تقوم الولايات المتحدة بمراجعة دخول البضائع التركية المعفاة من الرسوم الجمركية إلى الأسواق الأمريكية عن طريق برنامج نظام الأفضليات المعمم، مما أدى إلى تدهور الليرة التركية إلى مستوى منخفض جديد. كما أدخلت تركيا تعريفاتٍ انتقامية بعد فرض ضرائب الاستيراد التي أعلنتها الولايات المتحدة في الأشهر الأخيرة. وفي محاولةٍ لزيادة الضغط على أنقرة، ضاعفت الولايات المتحدة الرسوم الجمركية على الحديد والألمنيوم التركي في أغسطس، حيث أعلن ترمب عن التعرفة من خلال تغريدةٍ على تويتر، مضيفاً أن العلاقات الثنائية “ليست جيدة في الوقت الحالي.”

فالإقتصاد التركي هشٌ ولا يزال يعتمد بالكامل على الاستثمار الأجنبي (بل يمكن القول إنه مدمن عليه). ويرجع هذا إلى حدٍ كبير إلى استراتيجية أردوغان المالية المتعلقة باستخدام مشاريع البنية التحتية الضخمة وحقن أموال الدولة للحفاظ على استمرار الاقتصاد. وقد تشكل العقوبات الأمريكية صدمةً خطيرة للاقتصاد التركي، الذي قد يعاني بالفعل من الضغوط الأمريكية على الدول التي تتاجر مع إيران (تعدّ تركيا واحدةً من أكبر شركاء إيران التجاريين).

وبينما تحرص واشنطن على الضغط على أنقرة لتذعن للمطالب الأمريكية بشأن برونسون، فلا شك أن واشنطن تدرك السلطة التي تمارسها على الاقتصاد التركي. وعلى الرغم من العداء الحالي، فمن المحتمل أن حماس واشنطن لشل حليفٍ لحلف للناتو قد يبدو ضئيلاً، فكيف بحليفٍ ذو صلةٍ سياسية جغرافية مثل تركيا.

بعد أن باتت واشنطن بين مطرقة توجيه ضربةٍ قوية لحليفٍ سابق وسندان ظهورها بمظهر المتساهل مع حليفٍ يحاول الإفلات باللجوء إلى تكتيكات المساومة من العصور الوسطى، أصبحت واشنطن في موقفٍ صعب. فقد أظهرت المواجهات السابقة مع الخصوم، بما في ذلك إيران وكوريا الشمالية، للعالم أن الولايات المتحدة يمكن أن تضطر إلى اللجوء إلى دبلوماسية الرهائن. وحتى وإن لم يتمكن أردوغان من الحصول على جائزته الحقيقية – فتح الله غولن – فإن الرغبة الواضحة لإدارة ترمب في تجنّب رفع العصا لن يؤدي سوى إلى إفساد الطفل، كما يُقال. ومع كل صدام، تزداد قوة أردوغان في الداخل ويصبح أكثر ثقةً بقدرته على المساومة مع الولايات المتحدة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN / SAUL LOEB

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Dangerous Game: Is Hostage Diplomacy Straining US-Turkey Relations?

Dangerous Game: Is Hostage Diplomacy Straining US-Turkey Relations?

Turkey- Turkey-US relations
Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN / SAUL LOEB

The war of words between Turkey and the United States (US) threatened to turn into something much more painful in August 2018, as both sides promised to put their money where their mouths are and impose sanctions. However, behind the bluster and economic threats, two clerics are at the heart of this diplomatic tussle, prompting questions over whether the men are political hostages in this geopolitical clash.

On one side, Turkey desperately wants the extradition of Fethullah Galen, an influential Turkish cleric who has lived in self-imposed exile in the US for decades. Despite past close ties with Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, he is wanted by Ankara for allegedly masterminding the 2016 attempted coup. The US has so far refused or is still processing Turkish requests to extradite him.

On the other side, the US has demanded the release of Andrew Brunson, an American evangelical pastor imprisoned since late 2016 in Turkey on terror charges.

Since Brunson was arrested, the Turkish government has rebuffed all public demands for his release, arguing that as Turkey’s judiciary is independent (or so Ankara claims), his fate is out of the government’s hands. This is the same argument that Washington wields when Turkish politicians demand Gulen’s extradition.

This all came to a head in late July, when a Turkish court ruled to put Brunson under house arrest but refused to release him fully, infuriating the US government. The following day, 26 July, US Vice-President Mike Pence threatened sanctions against Turkey for its continued refusal to release Brunson. This heralded a new low in US-Turkish relations, after several years of deteriorating ties. Pence’s threat was seconded by President Donald Trump, who promised in a tweet to impose ‘large sanctions’ on Turkey.

The US followed up on this by sanctioning and freezing the assets of the Turkish interior and justice ministers. In response, Erdogan ordered the same sanctions against the same US ministers. However, as the US has several ministers dealing with a portfolio similar to the Turkish Interior Ministry, it is unclear exactly to whom the sanctions would apply. Furthermore, while US sanctions can be crippling for individuals targeted, mainly due to the far-reaching influence of US banks, it seems unlikely that US ministers would be much affected by these Turkish measures. That said, neither of the two Turkish ministers are expected to be hurt by these largely symbolic sanctions.

At face value (especially given Ankara’s worsening human rights record), it may seem that Turkey is the villain in this equation. Yet while Turkey’s detention of Brunson seems largely, if not totally, politically driven, the US is exploiting the situation for its own political gain.

Currently, two dual Turkish-American nationals are facing terrorism-related charges in Turkey (including a NASA scientist sentenced to seven and a half years in prison).

Two US consulate employees are already in prison while a third has been detained under house arrest. None of these cases has received anything like the attention that Brunson’s enjoys, prompting questions as to just how much the White House cares about prisoners who cannot give the president a bump in the polls.

On Twitter, Trump hailed Brunson as a ‘great Christian, family man and wonderful human being’ and an ‘innocent man of faith’. Pence echoed his description. Pence is himself a committed evangelical Christian who played a key role in cementing votes for Trump from the powerful evangelical community in the 2016 election. Brunson’s fate has become something of a cause célèbre for the administration, just months before the all-important mid-term elections this November. In official circles, Brunson is typically referred to as a ‘pastor’, a sure-fire way of building Christian support for his cause and the White House’s efforts to free him in this critical election year. Yet the political charade masking this apparent hostage diplomacy goes both ways.

Speaking at an AKP (Justice and Development Party) conference on 4 August, Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu appeared to contest any notion that Brunson was being held hostage. However, he confirmed that the two governments are in discussions regarding Halkbank. The state-owned bank was at the centre of a prominent trial in New York last year of a Halkbank executive, Mehmet Hakan Atilla, who was prosecuted for helping Iran to evade US sanctions. The US Treasury appears likely to hit Halkbank with a fine amounting to several billion dollars for its role in the scheme.

Rather damningly for Cavusoglu, several media reports exposed negotiations between Washington and Ankara to exchange Brunson’s freedom for a more lenient fine on Halkbank. The US also reportedly offered to allow Atilla to finish his sentence in his homeland. Thrown into this deal was the release by Israel of Ebru Ozkan, a Turkish activist held for aiding Hamas. Although Israel released her, a last-minute demand from Ankara for any probe into Halkbank to be dropped soured the deal. Brunson remains under house arrest.

This spat coincides with growing trade tensions between Ankara and Washington. The US is now reviewing Turkey’s duty-free access to US markets via the Generalized System of Preferences programme, pushing the Turkish lira to a new low. Turkey also fielded retaliatory tariffs following the import taxes announced by the US in recent months. In an attempt to up the pressure on Ankara, the US doubled tariffs on Turkish steel and aluminium in August. Trump announced the tariffs in a tweet, adding that bilateral relations are ‘not good at this time’.

Turkey’s economy is fragile and remains totally reliant on (and arguably addicted to) foreign investment. This is largely thanks to Erdogan’s fiscal strategy of using monster infrastructure projects and injections of state cash to keep the economy going. US sanctions would be a serious shock to the Turkish economy, which may already suffer from US pressure on countries trading with Iran (Turkey is one of Iran’s largest trading partners).

While keen to put pressure on Ankara to bow to US demands regarding Brunson, Washington is no doubt aware of the power it wields over the Turkish economy. Despite the current animosity, there is likely little enthusiasm in Washington to cripple a NATO ally, especially one as geopolitically relevant as Turkey.

Caught between striking a powerful blow to an erstwhile ally and appearing to let this same ally get away with medieval bargaining tactics, Washington is in a difficult position. Past confrontations with adversaries, including Iran and North Korea, have shown the world that the US can be forced into hostage diplomacy. Even if Erdogan cannot obtain his real prize – Fethullah Gulen – the Trump administration’s apparent desire to spare the rod will only spoil the child. With every clash, Erdogan is growing stronger at home and more confident in ability to bargain with the US.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN / SAUL LOEB | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN / SAUL LOEB

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.