فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / إيران وتركيا: شركاء الحاضر

إيران وتركيا: شركاء الحاضر

Iran- Hassan Rouhani
الرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني (يسار) والرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان خلال مؤتمرٍ صحفي مشترك مع الرئيس الروسي، كجزءٍ من قمةٍ ثلاثية حول سوريا، في أنقرة، 4 أبريل 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

منذ قرونٍ مضت، كانت الإمبراطورية العثمانية والإمبراطورية الصفوية غريمين تقليديين؛ عدوين قاتلوا بعضهم البعض للهيمنة على الشرق الأوسط. وفي عام 2018، تغير الكثير، ويبدو أن إيران وتركيا تتمتعان بعلاقاتٍ هي الأكثر دفئاً منذ الثورة الإسلامية الإيرانية قبل قرابة أربعة عقودٍ من الزمان.

واليوم، يتشارك البلدان بعلاقاتٍ تجارية، سواء تلك المشروعة أو غير المشروعة، والتعاون العسكري والأهداف السياسية، وهو وضعٌ كان يبدو قبل بضع سنواتٍ من المستحيلات بين تركيا، العضو في حلف شمال الأطلسي (الناتو)، وجمهورية إيران الإسلامية المتشددة.

ومع ذلك، لم يتم الإعلان عن التقارب بين البلدين سوى في الأعوام القليلة الماضية فحسب. فمنذ عام 2012، تآمر المسؤولون التنفيذيون في بنك خلق المملوك للدولة في تركيا للسماح لإيران بالتهرب من العقوبات الأمريكية عن طريق إنفاق عائدات النفط والغاز على الذهب والغذاء. فقد كانت المحاكمة التي جرت مؤخراً للمدير العام للبنك، محمد هاكان أتيلا، والتي شهدت شهادة رضا ضراب، وهو متآمرٌ إيراني- تركي ضده، مما كشف النقاب عن دعم الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان للمخطط، أمراً محرجاً للغاية لأنقرة. كما استشاط أردوغان غضباً لسماح المدعي العام في نيويورك بنشر غسيل تركيا القذر على الملأ، وكثيراً ما هاجم الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في خطاباته في الفترة التي سبقت المحاكمة. وتُفسر هذه العداوة بين تركيا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية إلى حدٍ ما تحسن العلاقات التركية- الإيرانية، إذ أن سعي أنقرة لاتخاذ مسارٍ جيوسياسي أكثر استقلالاً عن الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا قد حرّر تركيا من الانخراط بشكلٍ أوثق مع دول شبه منبوذة مثل إيران، حتى في نطاق مثل هذه الصفقات غير المشروعة.

تقارب علني

بثت المصالح المتبادلة المزيد من الدفء في العلاقات بين البلدين. ففي أغسطس 2017، قام الجنرال محمد باقري، رئيس أركان الجيش الإيراني، بزيارةً رسمية إلى أنقرة، حيث التقى بأردوغان ووزير الدفاع التركي. وعلى ما يبدو كانت الزيارة، التي تعدّ الأولى لمسؤولٍ إيراني بهذا المستوى الرفيع منذ عام 1979، مثمرة، إذ خرجت بوعودٍ علنية بتعزيز التدريب والتعاون في مجال الاستخبارات المضادة. كما حدد أردوغان موعداً لزيارة إيران. وبدايةً، تم ترتيب زيارة باقري لمناقشة الحرب في سوريا، فالصراع الدائم منذ سبع سنوات كان إلى حدٍ كبير المحفز الرئيسي وراء التقارب التركي- الإيراني.

وعلى الرغم من أن تركيا وإيران يدعمان أطرافاً متنازعة في سوريا، مع دعم إيران القوي لنظام بشار الأسد ودعم تركيا، بشكلٍ رئيسي، للمتمردين السُنّة، إلا أن مصالحهم بدأت بالانسجام في السنوات الأخيرة. وبما أن الدعم الروسي للنظام جعل من الإطاحة بالأسد أمراً مستبعداً على نحوٍ متزايد، وافقت أنقرة على التعاون مع طهران وموسكو لوضع حدٍ للصراع وضمان خدمة مصالح تركيا بشكلٍ أفضل في هذه المرحلة. وعليه، سهلت محادثات أستانا هذا الحوار. فقد اعتبر الغرب، إلى حدٍ كبير، محادثات أستانا- وهي محادثاتٌ منافسة لمحادثات جنيف برعاية الأمم المتحدة- خدعةً روسية لتوجيه عملية اتخاذ القرارات الإقليمية إلى موسكو مجدداً، بالرغم من أن تركيا انخرطت في هذه المحادثات دون مثل هذا التحيز. واتفقت إيران وروسيا وتركيا على إنشاء مناطق لتخفيف حدة التصعيد، على الرغم من انتقادها في وقتٍ لاحق، وعلى نحوٍ سليم، بتمكينها هجمات النظام، إلا أنها بقيت لفترةٍ أطول من تلك التي وضعتها محادثات جنيف. وبشكلٍ حاسم، مهدت محادثات أستانا الطريق أمام توغل تركيا في جرابلس وعفرين في شمال سوريا، مستهدفةً المقاتلين الأكراد الذين تعتقد أنقرة أنهم مرتبطون بحزب العمال الكردستاني في تركيا.

فالمعركة ضد الأكراد أكثر مكانٍ تجد فيه تركيا وإيران أرضيةً مشتركة. فكلا الدولتين كافحت حركات التمرد الكردية لعقود، كما أن الحكم الذاتي للمنطقة الكردية في العراق لم يؤدِ سوى لإثارة المشاعر القومية- العرقية بين السكان الأكراد في كلتا الدولتين. ففي أكتوبر 2017، أغلقت إيران وتركيا حدودهما ومجالهما الجوي أمام حركة المرور من وإلى كردستان العراق وذلك بعد استفتاءٍ غير معترفٍ به للاستقلال أجري هناك في الشهر السابق. وأيضاً في عام 2017، أعلنت تركيا عن بناء جدارٍ على طول الحدود مع إيران لمكافحة التهريب عبر الحدود، وهي خطوةٌ رحبت بها إيران، التي كافحت لمعالجة المشكلة. وبالتعاون مع العراق، نفذ البلدان عمليةً مشتركة لمكافحة حزب العمال الكردستاني في ديسمبر. فإيران ليست من محبي التطلعات الكردية للحكم الذاتي في سوريا، ومن المحتمل أن الاعتبارات الخاصة بكيفية استفادة كل من تركيا وإيران من التوغلات التركية في شمال سوريا لعبت دوراً مهيمناً خلال زيارة الجنرال باقري إلى تركيا العام الماضي. ومن المثير للاهتمام، أنه في ضوء التعاون بين الدول الثلاث في محادثات أستانا، أعلنت الشركة التركية يونت انترناشونال (Unit International) في العام الماضي أنها وقعت اتفاقاً بقيمة سبعة مليار دولار مع شركة زاروبزنفت (Zarubezhneft) الروسية المملوكة للدولة وشركة الغدير الاستثمارية الإيرانية للتنقيب عن النفط والغاز الطبيعي في إيران، مما فتح جبهةً جديدة للتوسع في صناعة الطاقة في تركيا.

عدو عدوي

كما يجب النظر إلى العلاقات التركية الإيرانية الأكثر دفئاً في ضوء توازن القوى الإقليمي. فقد واجه صعود النفوذ الشيعي (المدعوم من إيران) في الشرق الأوسط مقاومةً شديدة من المملكة العربية السعودية السُنيّة. فمع سعي أنقرة إلى لعب دورٍ أكثر تأثيراً على المستوى الإقليمي، أثارت تركيا أيضاً غضب أعضاء الجامعة العربية، مما أثار التوترات مع الرياض. وصلت هذه التوترات أوجها مع الحصار الذي فرضته المملكة العربية السعودية على قطر في العام الماضي. وبما أن معظم دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي تكالبت على قطر الغنية بالنفط لاسترضائها إيران وسعيها إلى تحقيق أهدافها في المنطقة فيما يتعلق بسياستها الخارجية، بما في ذلك السماح بوجود قاعدة عسكرية تركية على أراضيها، دخلت تركيا وإيران على خط النزاع. حافظت تركيا وإيران على تزويد قطر بالغذاء، وسمحت إيران للخطوط الجوية القطرية باستخدام مجالها الجوي. وفي نوفمبر، وقعت تركيا وإيران وقطر اتفاقاً لتيسير نقل السلع وتعزيز التجارة الثلاثية، مما يوفر شريان حياة لقطر، التي ما زالت عالقة في نزاعٍ مع جيرانها. وفي دعمها لقطر، اتحدت المصالح التركية والإيرانية مرةً أخرى، هذه المرة في معارضة المملكة العربية السعودية.

ومع ذلك، لا يقتصر العداء بين الرياض وأنقرة على موقف تركيا من قطر فحسب. ففي أوائل مارس 2018، اتهم ولي العهد السعودي، الأمير محمد بن سلمان، تركيا بكونها جزء من “مثلث الشر” مع إيران والجماعات الإسلامية المتشددة. وهذا الهجوم هو الأكبر والأكثر علنية التي تشنه الرياض على أنقرة، ويأتي في الوقت الذي يقوم به الأمير بحملة علاقات عامة عالمية لتبييض صفحة المملكة العربية السعودية لدى الرأي العام الدولي.

كما كانت التعليقات دليلاً على التنافس المتزايد بين الدولتين، فقد شجب محمد بن سلمان محاولة تركيا إعادة إحياء الخلافة الإسلامية، التي انهارت قبل قرنٍ تقريباً مع ولادة الجمهورية التركية. وباعتبارها الوصية على أقدس موقعين في الإسلام، تتمتع الملكية في المملكة العربية السعودية بمكانةٍ موقرة في الثقافة الإسلامية، وهي مكانةٌ كانت يوماً ما مُلكاً للسلاطين العثمانيين. ويتوق أردوغان، الذي يفضل حزبه الإسلامي، حزب العدالة والتنمية، استخدام الحنين العثماني، بأن يحظى بسمعةٍ في نظر المسلمين كتلك التي تتمتع بها الرياض، فضلاً عن التأييد الشعبي الكبير الذي حظيت به تركيا لموقفها من فلسطين واستعدادها لاستضافة اللاجئين السوريين منذ عام 2011. وبحسب تعليقات محمد بن سلمان، لا يبدو أن هذا مر مرور الكرام في الأوساط السعودية.

ولكن، وبالرغم من العلاقات الوثيقة بشكلٍ ملحوظ، إلا أن تركيا وإيران بعيدتان كل البعد عن الصداقة. وبالنظر إلى موقفهما المتناقض حول مستقبل سوريا، وطموحات الدولتين الأوسع نطاقاً فيما يتعلق بالتأثير الإقليمي، فمن المرجح أن ينشأ خلافٌ بينهما في المستقبل. ولكن باعتبارهما شركاء حاليين، فهما ملائمين بدرجةٍ مثلى.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Iran and Turkey: Partners of the Moment

Iran and Turkey: Partners of the Moment

Iran- Hassan Rouhani
Iran’s President Hassan Rouhani (L) and Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan gesture during a joint press conference with the Russian president, as part of a tripartite summit on Syria, in Ankara, on April 4, 2018. Photo AFP

Centuries ago, the Ottoman and Safavid empires were archrivals, nemeses that battled each other for dominance of the Middle East. In 2018, much has changed, and Turkey and Iran appear to be enjoying the warmest relations since Iran’s Islamic Revolution nearly four decades ago.

The two countries now share trade ties, both legal and illicit, military cooperation and political objectives, a situation that even a few years ago would have seemed impossible between NATO member Turkey and the hardline Islamic Republic of Iran.

However, it has only been in the last couple of years that the countries’ closeness has been made public. Since 2012, executives at Turkey’s state-owned Halkbank have conspired to allow Iran to evade American sanctions by spending its oil and gas revenues on gold and food. The recent trial of one executive, Mehmet Hakan Atilla, in which Reza Zarrab, an Iranian-Turkish co-conspirator, testified against him, revealing Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s support for the scheme, was extremely embarrassing for Ankara. Erdogan was outraged that a New York prosecutor was allowed to air Turkey’s dirty laundry in public, and he frequently attacked the United States (US) rhetorically in the run-up to the trial. This antagonism between the US and Turkey explains to some degree the improvement in Turkish-Iranian ties. Ankara’s pursuit of a geopolitical path more independent of the US and Europe has freed Turkey to engage more closely with pseudo-pariah states like Iran, even to the extent of such illicit dealings.

Public Rapprochement

Mutual interests have also driven the warming of relations. In August 2017, General Mohammad Bagheri, Iran’s military chief of staff, made an official visit to Ankara, where he met with Erdogan and the Turkish defence minister. The visit, the first by such a senior Iranian official since 1979, was apparently fruitful, with public promises of enhanced training and counter-intelligence cooperation. Erdogan is also slated to visit Iran. Bagheri’s visit was initially organized to discuss the war in Syria, and it is this seven-year conflict that has largely been the catalyst for the Turkish-Iranian rapprochement.

Although Turkey and Iran have supported opposing sides in Syria, with Tehran staunchly backing the regime of Bashar al-Assad and Turkey backing the predominantly Sunni rebels, in recent years their interests have begun to align. Since Russian support for the regime has made al-Assad’s ouster increasingly unlikely, Ankara has agreed to engage with Tehran and Moscow to bring the conflict to an end and ensure Turkey’s interests are best served in the interim. The Astana talks have facilitated this dialogue. A rival negotiation to the UN-brokered Geneva peace talks, the Astana talks have been seen in the West largely as a Russian ploy to steer regional decision making back towards Moscow, although Turkey has engaged in them without such prejudice. Iran, Russia and Turkey have agreed de-escalation zones that, although rightly criticized as enabling later regime attacks, have held longer than those devised in Geneva. Crucially, the Astana talks paved the way for Turkey’s incursions into Jarablus and Afrin in northern Syria, targeting Kurdish militants whom Ankara believes are linked to the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) in Turkey.

The battle against the Kurds is where Turkey and Iran find the most common ground. Both states have struggled with Kurdish insurgencies for decades, and the autonomy of Iraq’s Kurdish region has only fanned the flames of ethno-nationalist sentiment among both state’s Kurdish populations. In October 2017, Iran and Turkey jointly closed their borders and airspace to all traffic in and out of Iraqi Kurdistan after an unrecognized independence referendum there the previous month. Also in 2017, Turkey announced a wall along the border with Iran to combat cross-border smuggling, a move welcomed by Iran, which has struggled to tackle the problem. Together with Iraq, the two countries carried out a joint anti-PKK operation in December. Iran is no fan of Kurdish aspirations for autonomy in Syria, and considerations of how both Turkey and Iran can benefit from Turkish incursions into northern Syria likely played a dominant role during General Bagheri’s visit to Turkey last year. Interestingly, given the three countries’ cooperation in the Astana talks, the Turkish firm Unit International announced last year that it had signed a $7-billion agreement with Russia’s state-owned Zarubezhneft and Iran’s Ghadir Investment Holding to drill for oil and natural gas in Iran, opening up a new front for expansion in Turkey’s energy industry.

My Enemy’s Enemy

Warmer Turkish-Iranian relations must also be viewed in light of the regional balance of power. The ascendance of (Iranian-backed) Shiite influence in the Middle East has been met with stiff resistance from predominantly Sunni Saudi Arabia. As Ankara has sought a more influential regional role, Turkey has also irked the members of the Arab League, stoking tensions with Riyadh. These came to a head with last year’s Saudi-led blockade of Qatar. As the bulk of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) rounded on oil-rich Qatar for cozying up to Iran and pursuing its own foreign policy goals in the region, including allowing a Turkish military base on its territory, Turkey and Iran stepped into the fray. Turkey and Iran kept Qatar supplied with food, and Iran allowed Qatar Airways to use its airspace. In November 2017, Turkey, Iran and Qatar signed a deal easing the transport of goods and boosting trilateral trade, offering a lifeline to Qatar, which is still locked in a dispute with its neighbours. In supporting Qatar, Turkish and Iranian interests once again aligned, this time in opposition to Saudi Arabia.

However, the animosity between Riyadh and Ankara is not limited to Turkey’s stance on Qatar. In early March 2018, Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (also known as MBS) accused Turkey of being part of a “triangle of evil” with Iran and hardline Islamist groups. This attack is the most senior and public made by Riyadh against Ankara and comes as the prince instigates a global PR campaign to white-wash international opinions of Saudi Arabia.

The comments were also evidence of growing competition between the two states, with MBS denouncing Turkey for attempting to revive the Islamic caliphate, which collapsed almost a century ago following the birth of the Turkish republic. As the guardian of the two holiest sites in Islam, Saudi Arabia’s monarchy holds a revered position in Islamic culture, a position that once belonged to the Ottoman sultans. Erdogan, whose Islamic AK Party champions the use of Ottoman nostalgia, covets the standing in Muslim eyes that Riyadh enjoys and has won considerable public support for its stance on Palestine and its willingness to host Syrian refugees since 2011. From MBS’ comments, this does not seem to have gone un-noticed in Saudi circles.

Yet despite noticeably closer ties, Turkey and Iran are far from being friends. Given their opposing stances on the future of Syria and both countries’ wider ambitions for regional influence, they are likely to lock horns in the future. But as partners of the moment, they are ideally suited.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.