فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / وسط تفاقم الأزمة الدبلوماسية، تركيا تراهن على التحالف مع قطر

وسط تفاقم الأزمة الدبلوماسية، تركيا تراهن على التحالف مع قطر

Turkey-Erdogan and Qatar's Foreign Minister
الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان يستقبل وزير الخارجية القطري، الشيخ محمد بن عبد الرحمن بن جاسم آل تاني، بعد ان انتقد جهود العديد من الدول العربية عزل قطر بمزاعم رعايتها للجماعات المسلحة، انقرة، تركيا، 14 يوليو 2017. Photo Anadolu Agency ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ KAYHAN OZER

عند تواتر الأخبار في الخامس من يونيو 2017 بفرض المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة ومصر والبحرين، حصاراً على قطر لدعمها المزعوم للإرهاب، سارعت تركيا إلى التقدم كوسيطٍ محتمل. ومع ذلك، انتقلت في غضون أيامٍ من كونها وسيطاً محتملاً إلى مؤيدٍ قوي لقطر.

وفي الوقت الذي فرض فيه جيران قطر حصاراً بحرياً وبرياً وجوياً، هرعت تركيا بإصدارٍ تشريعاتٍ لإرسال قواتٍ إلى الإمارة وحلقت طائراتها المحملة بأكثر من 100 حمولة طائرة من المواد الغذائية المستعجلة، التي تمس الحاجة إليها.

وسرعان ما شوهدت الدبابات التركية تجوب شوارع العاصمة القطرية، الدوحة (الأمر الذي اعتبره البعض تصعيداً عسكرياً). وقد يصل عدد القوات التركية في قطر، في نهاية المطاف، إلى ألف جندي، فضلاً عن وحدة من القوات الجوية.

ففي 25 يونيو، أي بعد يومين من قيام اللجنة الرباعية بقيادة السعودية بإصدار قائمة مطالب من 13 بنداً إلى قطر، باعتبارها الثمن المطلوب لرفع الحصار، وصف الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان المطالب التي تشمل إغلاق قناة الجزيرة التي تمولها الدولة، وقطع العلاقات مع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين وإغلاق القاعدة العسكرية التركية، بأنها تمثل “عدم احترامٍ لتركيا” ومخالفة للقانون الدولي.

وقال أردوغان لصحفيين فرنسيين أنه لن يغلق القاعدة العسكرية ما لم تطلب منه قطر ذلك، مؤكداً، للمرة الثانية، على التزامه تجاه الإمارة المحاصرة. كما تساءل أيضاً عن سبب عدم إدراج إغلاق القواعد الفرنسية والأمريكية في البلاد على قائمة المطالب.

وعلى الرغم من رفضه للامتثال، لطالما كان أردوغان حريصاً على الحفاظ على علاقاتٍ طيبة مع طرفيّ النزاع. ومن المتوقع أن توقع تركيا اتفاقاً لبيع سفنٍ حربية من طراز كورفيت للسعودية فى المستقبل القريب. وإذا ما تم عقد هذه الصفقة، ستكون أكبر صفقة تصديرية في تركيا حتى الآن ونعمةً كبيرة ذلك، أنها تسعى لزيادة مبيعاتها الدولية للأسلحة.

كما ترى تركيا أيضاً في قطر سوقاً مستدامة لشركاتها الدفاعية. ومع ذلك، فإن مصالحها في الإمارة أبعد من ذلك بكثير، إذ تسعى شركات تعهدات البناء الرئيسية في تركيا، التي تدفع النمو الاقتصادي، إلى الحصول على عقودٍ مربحة من الدولة الغنية بالنفط، كما أن تركيا حريصة على جذب المزيد من الاستثمارات القطرية لتمويل المشاريع المحلية والأعمال التجارية. ومع امتنان القطريين لمثل هذه المكافأة المحتملة، فلربما لم يكن دعم أردوغان مفاجىءً.

أما على المستوى السياسي، تمتلك أنقرة والدوحة وجهات نظرٍ متشابهة حول مجموعة من القضايا الإقليمية؛ وهي محاباةٌ تقدرها تركيا. ففي سوريا ومصر وليبيا وغزة والمنطقة الكردية في العراق، تفضل الدولتان نفس الإسلاميين السنة. ومع رغبتهما المشتركة في الإطاحة بالرئيس السوري بشار الأسد، كانت تركيا وقطر من الداعمين الرئيسيين للجماعات المتمردة المعارضة، بما في ذلك جماعات الإسلاميين المتشددين، التي اجتذبت انتقادات إقليمية ودولية.

وبالمثل، كان موقف دولة قطر المعتدل تجاه إيران عاملاً رئيسياً في الأزمة الدبلوماسية. فالمملكة العربية السعودية، التي تعتبر إيران منافستها الرئيسية للهيمنة الإقليمية، ما فتئت تشعر بالقلق إزاء طموحات قطر وضع سياسة خارجية مستقلة عن جيرانها، وهي سياسة تخدم مصالحها بشكلٍ صريح. ومثل قطر، استفادت تركيا أيضاً من اتباع نهجٍ أكثر ليونة تجاه طهران لتحقيق مكاسب وطنية، واقتصادية على وجه الخصوص، ورفضت التوافق مع سياسة الخيار الواحد للمملكة العربية السعودية.

وفي تصريحاتٍ له في 13 يونيو 2017، وصف أردوغان الحصار على قطر بـ”اللاإنساني والمعارض للقيم الإسلامية،” في محاولةٍ لمراعاةٍ الهوية الدينية المشتركة لجميع الأطراف. ويتفق هذا الخطاب الديني مع رغبة تركيا في اعتبارها الحَكَم على القيادة الإسلامية في المنطقة، فضلاً عن سعيها لتحقيق نفوذٍ إقليمي ودولي أكبر.

في الواقع، وفي ظل حكم حزب أردوغان، حزب العدالة والتنمية، تدل سياسة تركيا في التعامل مع الإسلاميين السنة في أرجاء الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا على اهتمامها بتماسك السنة على نطاق أوسع، وليس تحالفها مع قطر وحدها فحسب.

وفي هذا الصدد، بدا أن الربيع العربي خلط الأوراق لمصلحة تركيا، حيث وصل الإسلاميون إلى السلطة في تونس ومصر. ولكن بعد ست سنوات، ومع الإطاحة بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر ونأي حزب النهضة التونسي بنفسه عن الإسلام السياسي، لم يتبق سوى القليل من أحلام تركيا. وفي الوقت الراهن، لم يتبق لتركيا سوى قطر كصديقٍ مقرب وحليف.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ KAYHAN OZER | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ KAYHAN OZER

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Amid Deepening Diplomatic Crisis, Turkey Gambles on Qatar Alliance

Amid Deepening Diplomatic Crisis, Turkey Gambles on Qatar Alliance

Turkey-Erdogan and Qatar's Foreign Minister
Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan receives Qatar’s Foreign Minister Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulrahman bin Jassim Al Thani after he criticized the effort by several Arab countries to isolate Qatar over allegations of sponsoring militant groups, Ankara, Turkey, 14 July 2017. Photo Anadolu Agency

When news broke on 5 June 2017 that Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt and Bahrain had imposed a blockade on Qatar for its alleged support of terrorism, Turkey was quick to step forward as a potential mediator. Within days, however, it had gone from a potential mediator to a firm supporter of Qatar.

As Qatar’s neighbours cut their land, sea and air links, Turkey rushed through legislation to send troops to the emirate and flew in more than 100 planeloads of urgently needed food.

Turkish tanks were soon seen rolling through the Qatari capital Doha (and have been credited by some with stopping a military escalation). The number of Turkish troops in the emirate could eventually reach 1,000, with an air force contingent also envisaged.

On 25 June 2017, two days after the Saudi-led quartet issued a 13-demand ultimatum to Qatar as the price for lifting the blockade, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan described the demands, which include shutting down the state-funded broadcaster al-Jazeera, severing ties with the Muslim Brotherhood and closing a Turkish military base, as “disrespectful” and contrary to international law.

Speaking to French journalists, Erdoğan said he would not close the base unless requested to do so by Qatar, reaffirming his commitment to the beleaguered emirate. He also questioned why the demand did not include the French and American bases in the country.

Despite his refusal to comply, Erdoğan has been keen to stay on good terms with both sides of the dispute. Turkey is expected to sign a deal to sell corvette warships to Saudi Arabia in the near future. If the deal goes ahead, it will be Turkey’s largest export deal to date and a major boon as it seeks to grow its international arms sales.

Turkey also sees Qatar as a sustainable market for its defence firms. However, its interests in the emirate run far deeper. Turkey’s main construction companies, which drive economic growth, are seeking lucrative contracts from the gas-rich state, and Turkey is eager to attract greater Qatari investment to fund domestic projects and business. With Qatari gratitude holding such potential reward, Erdoğan’s support is perhaps unsurprising.

At the political level, Ankara and Doha have similar views on a range of regional issues, an alignment that Turkey values. In Syria, Egypt, Libya, Gaza and Iraq’s Kurdish region, both countries favour the same Sunni Islamists. With a shared desire to see Syrian President Bashar al-Assad toppled, Turkey and Qatar have been key supporters of opposition rebel groups, including hardline Islamist militants, which has attracted regional and international criticism.

Similarly, Qatar’s softer stance towards Iran has been a major factor in the diplomatic crisis. Saudi Arabia, which sees Iran as its main rival for regional dominance, has long been troubled by Qatar’s ambitions to carve a foreign policy that is independent of its neighbours, a policy that explicitly serves its own interests. Like Qatar, Turkey has also taken advantage of a softer approach to Tehran for national, particularly economic, gain and has refused to align itself with Saudi Arabia’s black and white politics.

In remarks on 13 June 2017, Erdoğan called the blockade on Qatar “inhumane and against Islamic values”, in an attempt to appeal to the shared religious identity of all parties. This religious rhetoric is in line with Turkey’s desire to be seen as the arbiter of Islamic leadership in the region as well as its quest for greater regional and international clout.

Indeed, under Erdoğan’s Justice and Development Party (AKP), Turkey’s policy of engagement with Sunni Islamists across the Middle East and North Africa is indicative of its interest in wider Sunni cohesion rather than an alliance with Qatar alone.

In this respect, the Arab Spring seemed to be playing into Turkey’s hands, as Islamists came to power in Tunisia and Egypt. Six years later, however, with the Muslim Brotherhood ousted in Egypt and Tunisia’s Ennahda party distancing itself from political Islam, little remains of Turkey’s dreams. For the time being, it has only Qatar left as a close friend and ally.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.