فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / كيف غيرت تركيا موقفها تجاه سوريا

كيف غيرت تركيا موقفها تجاه سوريا

Turkey- Recep Tayyip Erdogan
الرئيس الروسى فلاديمير بوتين (وسط)، والرئيس التركى رجب طيب اردوغان (يمين) والرئيس الإيراني حسن روحاني (يسار) يتحدثون إلى وسائل الاعلام بعد اجتماعٍ ثلاثي حول سوريا في سوتشي يوم 22 نوفمبر 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV

لعبت تركيا دوراً حاسماً في الحرب في سوريا، حيث حشدت الدعم الدولي للمعارضة السورية، ودعمت الجهات الفاعلة العسكرية المُفضلة لديها، فضلاً عن صراعها مع الأكراد السوريين. بيد أن تورط تركيا في الصراع، على مدار ما يقرب من سبع سنوات، تغير بشكلٍ كبير، فما هي أسباب ذلك؟

منذ إندلاع الثورة السورية عام 2011، كان الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان واحداً من أعلى الأصوات التي طالبت بالإطاحة بالرئيس السوري بشار الأسد. فقد لاقى عِداءه لدمشق ودعمه للمعارضة السورية استحسان العديد من السوريين، سيما أولئك الذين أجبروا على مغادرة البلاد بسبب الاضطرابات. ومقارنةً بذلك، انخفضت حدّة الخطاب من أنقرة في عام 2017. وعلى غرار زعماء العالم الآخرين، أجبر أردوغان على القبول بأن الأسد بات في مأمنٍ وبأنه لن يخسر الحرب، وذلك في ضوء دعم كلٍ من روسيا وإيران. ففي حين كانت تركيا يوماً ما المحور الرئيسي في الائتلاف المناهض للأسد، تحولت مشاركة أنقرة إلى جدول أعمالٍ يخدم بكل بساطة مصالحها الشخصية.

وعلى الرغم من أن الحرب كانت تبدو في بداياتها غير مضرّةٍ، نسبياً، بالمصالح التركية، إلا أن هيمنة الحكم الذاتي الكردي في شمال البلاد، إلى جانب تسليح الدول الغربية للميليشيات الكردية، غيرت بشكلٍ كبير ميزان القوى.

وتجدر الاشارة الى أن تركيا تخوض حرباً ضد تمردٍ على مستوى منخفض من جانب المسلحين في حزب العمال الكردستاني منذ عقود، وأن أنقرة تخشى أن ترسل الحرب فى سوريا تدفقاتٍ من الأسلحة والمقاتلين من ذوي الخبرة عبر الحدود إلى تركيا. فعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يرتبط حزب العمال الكردستاني بعلاقاتٍ قوية مع القوات الكردية الرئيسية في سوريا، بما في ذلك وحدات حماية الشعب وقوات سوريا الديمقراطية، الذين تدعمهم الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في معركتهم ضد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش.” وترى تركيا أن تكديس الأسلحة في أيدي الأكراد في سوريا يشكل تهديداً مباشراً لأمنها، كما تحاول أنقرة منع المساعدات العسكرية لهذه الجماعات منذ الإعلان عن دعمهم ولكن دون نجاحٍ ملموس. وفي ضوء ذلك، تشعر تركيا بالحاجة إلى إعطاء الأولوية لمصالحها الشخصية- أي بشكلٍ أساسي منع إقامة دولة كردية أو جيب رسمي على حدودها. وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، شنت القوات التركية عملية درع الفرات عام 2016، وبمساعدة مقاتلي الجيش السوري الحر، قسمّت القوات التركية المناطق ذات الأغلبية الكردية إلى منطقتين، مما وضع حداً للآمال بوجود جيبٍ كردي مجاور.

وبشكلٍ مبدئي، كانت العملية تهدف إلى دحر تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش،” بالرغم من تعثر التقدم التركي عند التقائه بالقوات الموالية للأسد في منطقة الباب، مما خلق منطقة نفوذٍ تتماشى مع آمال أنقرة بالرغم من كونها تُدار من قِبل السوريين.

وتدعي وسائل الإعلام التركية عودة 75 ألف سوري بالفعل إلى “المناطق الآمنة” في ديارهم من تركيا، بما فيها مناطق مثل الباب. فلطالما طالب أردوغان بـ”مناطق آمنة” أو بمناطق حظرٍ جوي مدعومة دولياً في سوريا، لتكون بمثابة ملاذٍ آمنٍ للمدنيين، وعلى نحوٍ محتمل، لوقف تدفق اللاجئين إلى تركيا، التي تستضيف اليوم أكثر من ثلاثة ملايين لاجىء سوري. وفي حين لا يوجد ضغطٌ سياسي مباشر في تركيا يدعو لعودة السوريين إلى ديارهم، ذلك أنهم يساهمون بالفعل وعلى نطاقٍ واسع باقتصاد البلاد، إلا أن إتاحة الظروف لعودةٍ آمنةٍ للسوريين يوفر رأس مالٍ سياسي كبير لأدروغان.

وكما هو حال مساعدتها للروهينغيا في ميانمار ودعمها للقضية الفلسطينية، لا تغذي المساعدة الإنسانية التركية للشعب السوري سوى الصورة التي يريدها أردوغان كزعيمٍ شعبي خيّر في العالم الإسلامي.

وخلال السنوات الأولى للصراع، كانت مؤتمرات جنيف– محادثات السلام برعاية الولايات المتحدة وبدعمٍ من الغرب- الأمل الرئيسي في إنهاء الحرب عن طريق المفاوضات. إلا أنها اليوم مشروعٌ فاشل، وباتت محادثات أستانا بين الفصائل السورية المتحاربة، التي تشرف عليها روسيا وإيران وتركيا، الوسيلة الرئيسية للتوسط في الصراع. فلطالما كانت تركيا طرفاً حاسماً في الصراع، كما شكل استعدادها للمشاركة في المحادثات في أستانا صفعةً في وجه جهود السلام الأوروبية والأمريكية.

وعلى الرغم من أن العديد في الغرب يرون في محادثات أستانا أداةً لإيران وروسيا لتمويه دعمهم لنظام الأسد، إلا أن تركيا لا تنظر إليها باعتبارها جهوداً هامشية يمكن تجاهلها. في الواقع، مع استمرار تدهور علاقات تركيا مع أوروبا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وبخاصة في الآونة الأخيرة عندما أوقف كلا البلدين إصدار التأشيرات لمواطني البلد الآخر، أتاحت محادثات أستانا الفرصة لتركيا لمتابعة أهداف سياستها الخارجية بشكلٍ مستقل عن حلفائها التقليديين. وتفيد التقارير أيضاً بأن مشاركة تركيا في محادثات أستانا مشروطٌ، إلى حدٍ ما، بإعطاء روسيا وإيران الضوء الأخضر للعملية التركية ضد القوات الكردية في جيب عفرين المحاصر الآن في شمال سوريا.

والأهم من ذلك، فإن “مناطق تخفيف حدة التصعيد” الأربع المؤقتة التي اتفق عليها في محادثات أستانا في سبتمبر 2017- والتي تعدّ من أهم نتائجها إلى الآن- لم تسفر سوى عن تعزيز المصالح التركية في سوريا. فمن خلال إضفاء الشرعية على دور تركيا كدولةٍ مراقبة في شمال البلاد، وافقت دمشق وطهران وموسكو على عدم التدخل في العمليات التركية في البلاد في الوقت الراهن. بل إن شق محافظة إدلب، المعقل الرئيسي للمعارضة السورية، باعتبارها إحدى المناطق المذكورة آنفاً، قد مكنّ تركيا من حماية صورتها كداعمٍ للقوى المعارضة للأسد.

وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن المشاركة في محادثات أستانا لم تؤثر على التعاون التركي مع جماعات المتمردين السوريين. فهذه القوى، بما في ذلك العناصر المتطرفة التي تسيطر على الكثير من مساحات محافظة إدلب، لا تزال في حوارٍ مع تركيا. فعلى ما يبدو، كان توغل القوات التركية في شهر أكتوبر الماضي حول عفرين قد تم بالتنسيق مع مقاتلين من تحالف تحرير الشام الجهادي، الذي رافق المركبات التركية داخل سوريا. وعليه، فإن خطوات تركيا بالنأي بنفسها عن المبادرات المدعومة من الغرب في سوريا تدار بعناية لحماية مصالح أنقرة والعلاقات القائمة.

وفي النهاية، مع عدم وجود حلولٍ سريعة للصراع السوري في الأفق، أصبح النهج التركي تجاه الحرب متمحوراً حول مصالحها الذاتية، فقد ولّت أيام المطالبة بتغيير النظام. ويبدو أن الأسد باقٍ، الأمر الذي انعكس في موقف تركيا المتغير من الحرب، والذي بات يركز الآن على مواجهة القوة العسكرية الكردية، فالتهديد الكردستاني المتجدد سيضمن عدم مغادرة تركيا لسوريا في أي وقتٍ قريب.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV | ©AFP ⁃ Mikhail KLIMENTYEV

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / How Turkey has Changed Its Stance on Syria

How Turkey has Changed Its Stance on Syria

Turkey- Recep Tayyip Erdogan
Russian President Vladimir Putin (C), Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan (R) and Iranian President Hassan Rouhani address the media after a trilateral meeting on Syria in Sochi on November 22, 2017. Photo AFP

Turkey has played a critical role in the war in Syria, rallying international support for the Syrian opposition, backing its preferred military actors and tussling with Syria’s Kurds. However, over the nearly seven years of the conflict, Turkey’s involvement has changed dramatically. But why?

As the Syrian revolution began in 2011, Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan was one of the loudest voices calling for the removal of Syrian leader Bashar al-Assad. His hostility to Damascus and his backing of the Syrian opposition won him many plaudits among Syrians, especially those forced by the upheaval to leave the country. In comparison, the rhetoric from Ankara in 2017 has been muted. Like other world leaders, Erdogan has had to accept that, with Russian and Iranian backing, al-Assad’s position is safe and he will not lose the war. Where Turkey was once a lynchpin in the anti-Assad coalition, Ankara’s involvement has pivoted to a purely self-serving agenda.

Although initially the war appeared relatively harmless to Turkish interests, with the ascendance of Kurdish self-governance in the country’s north, coupled with the arming of Kurdish militias by Western countries, that has dramatically changed the balance of power.

Turkey has been fighting a low-level insurgency by militants in the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) for decades, and Ankara understandably fears that the war in Syria will send a flow of arms and experienced fighters across the border into Turkey. The PKK has strong ties with the main Kurdish forces in Syria, including the YPG and Syrian Democratic Forces, which the United States (US) has been supporting in their fight against the Islamic State (IS). Turkey sees the build-up of arms in Kurdish hands in Syria as a direct threat to its own security, and Ankara has been trying to block military aid to these groups since the support was announced but with little tangible success. In light of this, Turkey feels the need to prioritize its own interests – namely blocking the establishment of a Kurdish state or official enclave on its border. To this end, Turkish forces mounted operation Euphrates Shield in 2016. Along with allied Free Syrian Army fighters, Turkish troops split the Kurdish-majority region in two, putting an end to hopes of a contiguous Kurdish enclave.

The operation was nominally aimed at defeating IS, although the Turkish advance was halted when it met forces loyal to al-Assad at al-Bab, creating a zone of influence that, although administered by Syrians, is beholden to Ankara’s wishes.

Turkish media claims that 75,000 Syrians have already returned from Turkey to ‘safe zones’ in their home-land, including areas like al-Bab. Erdogan has long called for internationally backed ‘safe zones’ or no-fly zones in Syria, as a refuge for civilians and presumably to halt the influx of refugees into Turkey, which now hosts more than 3 million. While there is no immediate political pressure in Turkey to see Syrians returned home, indeed they contribute widely to the country’s economy, enabling the conditions for the safe return of Syrians offers considerable political capital for Erdogan.

As with its aid to the Rohingya in Myanmar and the Palestinian cause, Turkey’s humanitarian assistance to the Syrian people is only nurturing the image Erdogan desires as the popular and benevolent leader of the Muslim world.

For the first years of the conflict, the Geneva conferences – United Nations-brokered and Western-backed peace talks – were the principal hope for a negotiated end to the war. Now, however, they lie dead in the water, and the Astana talks between warring Syrian factions, overseen by Russia, Iran and Turkey, are the main vehicle for mediating the conflict. Turkey has always been a critical actor in the conflict and its willingness to participate in Astana has been a slap in the face for European and US peace efforts.

Although the Astana talks are portrayed by many in the West as a tool for Iran and Russia to whitewash their support for al-Assad’s regime, in Turkey they are not seen as a marginal effort to be ignored. Indeed, as Turkey’s relations with Europe and the US continue to deteriorate, most recently after Washington and Ankara stopped issuing visas to each other’s citizens, the Astana talks have presented Turkey with an opportunity to pursue foreign policy objectives independent of its traditional allies. Reportedly, Turkey’s involvement in the Astana talks is also contingent to some degree on Russia and Iran green-lighting a Turkish operation against the Kurdish forces in the now-surrounded Afrin enclave in northern Syria.

Importantly, the four temporary ‘de-escalation zones’ that the Astana talks agreed upon in September 2017 – their most significant result to date – have only furthered Turkish interests in Syria. By legitimizing Turkey’s role as an observer state in the country’s north, Damascus, Tehran and Moscow agreed not to interfere with Turkish operations in the country for the time being. The incising of Idlib province, the main bastion of the Syrian opposition, as one of the zones has enabled Turkey to protect its image as a backer of forces opposed to al-Assad.

Furthermore, involvement in Astana has not affected Turkish cooperation with Syrian rebel groups. These forces, including the extremist elements that control much of Idlib, remain in dialogue with Turkey. October’s incursion by Turkish troops around Afrin was seemingly conducted in concert with fighters from the jihadist alliance Tahrir al-Sham, which escorted Turkish vehicles within Syria. Turkey’s steps away from Western-backed initiatives on Syria have been carefully managed to protect Ankara’s interests and existing relations.

With no quick solutions to the Syrian conflict in sight, Turkey’s approach to the war has become one of self-interest. Gone are the days of demanding regime change. Al-Assad looks here to stay, a fact reflected in Turkey’s changing stance on the war, which is now focused on countering Kurdish military strength. The resurgent Kurdish threat will ensure that Turkey will not be leaving Syria any time soon.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.