فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تركيا تفرد عضلاتها في البحر الأبيض المتوسط

تركيا تفرد عضلاتها في البحر الأبيض المتوسط

Turkey greece
جنود يونانيون يتأهبون للصعود على متن عبارة في ميناء جزيرة كاستيلوريزو اليونانية الصغيرة، المعروفة رسمياً باسم جزيرة ميس، الجزيرة اليونانية المأهولة بالسكان في الجنوب الشرقي لجزر دوديكانيز، وتقع على بعد كيلومترين قبالة الساحل الجنوبي لتركيا في 28 أغسطس 2020. Photo: Louisa GOULIAMAKI / AFP

By: Mat Nashed

دفع انعدام ثقة تركيا العميق في حلفائها الغربيين وخصومها العرب إلى تبني سياسةٍ خارجية عدوانية، ففي الآونة الأخيرة، تصدرت تركيا عناوين الصحف لدعمها هجوم أذربيجان على ناغورني- قرة باغ، وهي منطقة حكم ذاتي يسيطر عليها الانفصاليون العرقيون المدعومون من الأرمن. دفع العنف المشتعل المجتمع الدولي إلى الدعوة إلى وقفٍ لإطلاق النار، بيد أن أنقرة تصعد الصراع بدعم أذربيجان عسكرياً.

يتوافق رد فعل تركيا مع سلوك سياستها الخارجية مؤخراً. ففي حين أثبتت الخسائر المدنية في ناغورني قرة باغ أنها كارثية، إلا أن تنقيب تركيا عن اكتشافات الغاز في البحر الأبيض المتوسط لا تزال القضية الأكثر إثارةً للجدل بالنسبة للعديد من خصومها وحلفائها الإقليميين.

فقد تصاعدت التوترات بين اليونان وتركيا بشكلٍ خاص في الأشهر الأخيرة. باختصار، تعتقد أثينا أن الجزر اليونانية المنتشرة على الساحل التركي تمنحها حقوقاً إقليمية. ومع ذلك، أكدت أنقرة منذ فترة طويلة أن الجزر اليونانية لا ينبغي أن يكون لها حق الوصول إلى المناطق الاقتصادية الخالصة. تعود جذور حجة تركيا إلى الأحكام الدولية السابقة التي منعت الجزر من المطالبة بحدود بحرية حصرية، كما كان الحال في نزاع 1982 بين ليبيا وتونس.

كما أن قبرص وتركيا أيضاً على خلافٍ حول اكتشافات الغاز في البحر المتوسط. يعود الصراع إلى عام 1974 عندما غزت تركيا شمال قبرص في أعقاب انقلابٍ مدعوم من اليونان على الجزيرة. قسّم الغزو الجزيرة فعلياً إلى قسمين، مع اعتراف المجتمع الدولي بالحكومة في الجنوب باعتبارها السلطة الوحيدة على الجزيرة. نتيجةً لذلك، تطالب الحكومة الجنوبية في مدينة نيقوسيا بالحقوق البحرية للجزيرة بأكملها.

لكن أنقرة لا تقر بأن قبرص الجنوبية اليونانية لها حقوقٌ في منطقة اقتصادية خالصة تتجاوز 12 ميلاً بحرياً قبالة سواحلها، بل تعتقد أنه يجب تقسيم الحدود البحرية بين الإدارة في قبرص الجنوبية اليونانية والإدارة المدعومة من تركيا في الشمال. كما تجادل أيضاً بأن مطالبة نيقوسيا بالحدود البحرية تنتهك المنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة الخاصة بها التي تمتد جنوباً من ساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

ولتعقيد المشكلة، ترفض أنقرة التوقيع على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لقانون البحار، التي تستخدم عادةً لتسوية مثل هذه النزاعات. وبدلاً من ذلك، وصل الخلاف إلى نقطة الغليان العام الماضي بعد أن إنتزعت تركيا مذكرة تفاهم من حكومة الوفاق الوطني الليبية المعترف بها دولياً.

جاء هذا الاتفاق من رحم الحرب الأهلية الليبية، التي شهدت قيام القوات الشرقية التابعة للجنرال خليفة حفتر بشن هجومٍ على العاصمة طرابلس في أبريل 2019، ورافق الهجوم دعمٌ جوي إماراتي ومرتزقة من شركة الأمن الروسية الخاصة، مجموعة فاغنر.

دفع هجوم حفتر على العاصمة حكومة الوفاق الوطني إلى اللجوء إلى تركيا طلباً للمساعدة، وعليه، هرولت أنقرة لإنقاذ حكومة الوفاق الوطني من خلال نشر طائرات مسيرة متطورة ومرتزقة سوريين. في المقابل، حددت مذكرة التفاهم حدوداً بحرية بين تركيا وليبيا تخترق الجزر اليونانية كريت ورودس وكاستيلوريزو.

اشتعلت اليونان غضباً من الاتفاقية وطردت بعد ذلك سفير ليبيا في حكومة الوفاق الوطني. كما أعربت كل من مصر وإسرائيل وقبرص وفرنسا عن غضبها أيضاً ذلك أن مذكرة التفاهم تقوض خطط إنشاء خط أنابيب تحت الماء لنقل الغاز الطبيعي من مصر وإسرائيل إلى أوروبا.

وبالتالي، أجبرت خطوة تركيا منافسيها على إنشاء منتدى غاز شرق المتوسط، الذي يقول العديد من الخبراء إنه يعادل “أوبك” للدول المطلة على البحر المتوسط فحسب. تصدرت مصر المبادرة التي شهدت توقيع ست دول على منتدى للطاقة لمواجهة ما وصفته القاهرة بـ “انتهاك” تركيا لحقوقها الاقتصادية.

وعليه، يعتزم منتدى غاز شرق المتوسط تعزيز التعاون السياسي والعسكري لتعيين الحدود البحرية ومنع أنقرة من التنقيب عن الموارد الطبيعية في المنطقة. ومن بين الأعضاء أيضاً كل من اليونان وإسرائيل وإيطاليا ومصر والسلطة الفلسطينية والأردن، كما طلبت فرنسا العضوية أيضاً، بينما ترغب الولايات المتحدة في أن تكون مراقباً دائماً.

ومع ذلك، فقد يجبر المنتدى تركيا على مضاعفة سياستها الخارجية الحازمة، فقد انتقد حزب العدالة والتنمية، الذي يتزعمه أردوغان، في السابق حكاماً سابقين لتملقهم القوى الغربية على حساب مصالح تركيا، وعليه، وعد أردوغان باستعادة الإرث الإمبراطوري لتركيا بجعلها لاعباً إقليمياً مؤثراً. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن عدم ثقة أنقرة في حلفائها الأوروبيين يرجع بشكلٍ خاص إلى استبعادها من منتدى غاز شرق المتوسط والاتحاد الأوروبي.

قد يؤدي التوتر حول البحر الأبيض المتوسط إلى اشتباكاتٍ بين حلفاء الناتو، إذ أوشك حصول ذلك عندما واجهت فرقاطة فرنسية ثلاث سفن حربية تركية في 10 يونيو. آنذاك، كانت فرنسا تحاول تنفيذ فرض حظر توريد الأسلحة الذي تفرضه الأمم المتحدة على ليبيا، بيد أنها تعرضت لانتقاداتٍ لقيامها فحسب بقمع الشحنات البحرية التركية. ومن الجدير بالذكر أيضاً أن الحظر لا يعيق نقل الأسلحة جواً، وهي الطريقة التي تساعد فيها الإمارات وفرنسا وروسيا قوات حفتر.

ومع ذلك، أوقفت السفينة الفرنسية سفينة شحن تنزانية يشتبه في أنها تحمل أسلحة إلى ليبيا، لكن سفينة تركية مرافقة للسفينة التنزانية هددت الفرقاطة الفرنسية بأجهزة الرادار المستهدف، مما دفع الطاقم الفرنسي إلى ارتداء سترات واقية من الرصاص واتخاذ مواقع دفاعية بأسلحتهم الخفيفة. بالكاد تم استبعاد حصول اشتباك، بينما زعمت تركيا في وقتٍ لاحق أن السفينة التنزانية كانت تحمل مساعداتٍ وليس أسلحة.

أياً كان ما تحمله سفينة الشحن، إلا أن ذلك لم يُخفِ طموح تركيا في تعزيز قوتها البحرية، المجهزة بالفعل بالسفن والغواصات المنتجة محلياً، التي ستنضم إليها سفنٌ حربية أكبر حجماً في العام المقبل.

من جانبه، رد الإتحاد الأوروبي بالتهديد بفرض عقوباتٍ على تركيا بسبب أفعالها أحادية الجانب في البحر المتوسط، إلا أن تركيا تحسب أن عضويتها في حلف الناتو تحميها من عواقب وخيمة. الوقت وحده كفيلٌ بإثبات صحة ذلك.

في الوقت الراهن، لا ينبغي عزل أردوغان أو مكافأته على التنمر على حلفائه وخصومه، بل يجب على الاتحاد الأوروبي بدلاً من ذلك التعاون والتوصل إلى حل وسط مع تركيا لمعالجة مصالحهما المشتركة. ويجب على الكتلة التغلب على الانقسامات الداخلية قبل القيام بأي محاولةٍ حقيقية للقيام بذلك. كما يتعين عليها تقبّل استعراض أردوغان لأي تنازل من أوروبا أمام قاعدته المحلية؛ فهذا ثمنٌ ضئيل يتوجب دفعه لتجنب الحرب في البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Louisa GOULIAMAKI ©AFP | Louisa GOULIAMAKI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Turkey Flexes its Muscle in the Mediterranean

Turkey Flexes its Muscle in the Mediterranean

Turkey greece
Greek soldiers prepare to board a ferry at the port of the tiny Greek island of Kastellorizo, officially Megisti, the most southeastern inhabited Greek island in the Dodecanese, situated two kilometers off the south coast of Turkey on August 28, 2020. Photo: Louisa GOULIAMAKI / AFP

By: Mat Nashed

Turkey’s deep distrust of western allies and Arab adversaries have compelled it to adopt an aggressive foreign policy. Most recently, Turkey made headlines for supporting Azerbaijan’s offensive on Nagorno-Karabkh, an autonomous region controlled by Armenian-backed ethnic separatists. The violence has prompted the global community to call for a ceasefire, but Ankara is escalating the conflict by militarily supporting Azerbaijan.

Turkey’s reaction is consistent with its recent foreign policy behavior. And while the civilian toll in Nagorno-Karabkh is proving catastrophic, Turkey’s drilling for gas discoveries in the Mediterranean remains the most contested issue for many of its regional foes and allies.

Tensions between Greece and Turkey have particularly boiled over in recent months. In brief, Athens believes that the Greek islands dotting the Turkish coastline bestows it with territorial rights. However, Ankara has long maintained that Greek islands should not have access to exclusive economic zones (EEZs). Turkey’s argument is rooted in previous international rulings that prevented islands from claiming exclusive maritime boundaries, as was the case in a 1982 dispute between Libya and Tunisia.

Cyprus and Turkey are also at loggerheads over gas discoveries in the Mediterranean. The conflict dates back to 1974 when Turkey invaded Northern Cyprus following a Greek backed coup on the island. The invasion effectively split the island in two, with the international community recognizing the government in the south as the sole authority on the island. As a result, the southern government in the city of Nicosia claims maritime rights for the whole island.

But Ankara doesn’t acknowledge that southern Cyprus has rights to an EEZ beyond 12 nautical miles off its coast. It believes that maritime boundaries should be divided between the administration in the south of Cyprus and the Turkish backed administration in the north. It also argues that Nicosia’s claim to maritime boundaries infringes on its own EEZ that extends southward from the Mediterranean coast.

To compound the issue, Ankara refuses to sign the U.N Convention on the Law of the Sea, which would normally be utilized to settle such disputes. Instead, the disagreement reached a boiling point last year after Turkey extorted a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Libya’s internationally recognised Government of National Accord (GNA).

That agreement was born out of the Libyan civil war, which saw rouge General Khalifa Haftar’s eastern forces wage an assault on the capital of Tripoli in April 2019. The offensive was accompanied by UAE air support and mercenaries from the private Russian security company the Wagner Group.

Haftar’s assault on the capital prompted the GNA to turn to Turkey for help. Ankara came to the rescue of the GNA by deploying sophisticated drones and Syrian mercenaries. In return, the MOI delineated a maritime boundary between Turkey and Libya that cut through the Greek islands of Crete, Rhodes and Kastellorizo.

Greece was outraged at the agreement and subsequently expelled Libya’s GNA ambassador. Egypt, Israel, Cyprus, and France were also angered because the MOI undermines plans to create an underwater pipeline that would funnel natural gas from Egypt and Israel to Europe.

Turkey’s move thus compelled its rivals to create the EastMed Gas Forum, which many experts say is the equivalent of the “Opec of Mediterranean gas.” Egypt spearheaded the initiative, which saw six states sign onto an energy forum to confront what Cairo described as Turkey’s ‘violation’ of its economic rights.

The EastMed Gas forum intends to foster political and military cooperation to designate maritime boundaries and stop Ankara from carving into the region’s natural resources. Greece, Israel, Italy, Egypt, the Palestinian Authority and Jordan are all members. France has also requested membership, while the U.S wishes to be a permanent observer.

The forum, however, may merely compel Turkey to double down on its assertive foreign policy. The Justice and Development Party (AKP), which Erdogan heads, has previously blasted former rulers for cozying up to western powers at the expense of Turkey’s interests. Erdogan has thus promised to restore Turkey’s imperial legacy by making it an influential regional player. Ankara’s distrust of its European allies is particularly rooted in its exclusion from the EastMed Forum and the EU.

Tension over the Mediterranean could result in clashes between NATO allies. That was nearly the case when a French frigate had a standoff with three Turkish war vessels on June 10. France was attempting to enforce a U.N arms embargo on Libya, which has been criticized for only cracking down on Turkey’s sea shipments. The embargo does not impede the transportation of weapons by flight, which is how the UAE, France, and Russia aid Haftar’s forces. Nevertheless, the French vessel had stopped a Tanzanian cargo ship that was suspected of carrying weapons to Libya.

But a Turkish ship accompanying the Tanzanian vessel had threatened the French frigate with its target radar, prompting the French crew to put on their bullet-proof vests and take up defensive positions with their light weapons. Clashes were barley averted, while Turkey later claimed the Tanzanian ship was carrying aid, not weapons.

Whatever was inside the cargo, Turkey has made no secret about its ambition to strengthen its navy. Already equipped with domestically produced surface ships and submarines, larger warships are due by next year.

The EU has responded by threatening to impose sanctions on Turkey for its unilateral actions in the Mediterranean. But Turkey calculates that its NATO membership shields it from serious consequences. Time will tell if that’s true.

For now, Erdogan shouldn’t be alienated or rewarded for bullying his allies and foes. The EU should instead cooperate and compromise with Turkey to address their mutual interests. The bloc must overcome internal divisions before making any genuine attempt to do so. It must also accept that Erdogan will parade any concession from Europe to his domestic base. That’s a small price to pay to avert a war in the Mediterranean.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Louisa GOULIAMAKI ©AFP | Louisa GOULIAMAKI ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!