فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تركيا منذ الإنتخابات

تركيا منذ الإنتخابات

Turkey- BRICS summit
الرئيس التركي، رجب طيب أردوغان، يحضر اجتماعاً خلال قمة بريكس العاشرة (تجمع أكبر الاقتصادات الناشئة في العالم، وهي البرازيل وروسيا والهند والصين وجنوب إفريقيا) في 27 يوليو 2018 في جوهانسبرغ بجنوب إفريقيا. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MIKE HUTCHINGS

تم في يونيو 2018 ، انتخاب الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان لمنصب رئيس تركيا الجديد بصلاحياتٍ أوسع، حيث حاز على أقل من 53% من إجمالي عدد الأصوات. فبعد عدة سنواتٍ مضطربة من سنوات حكمه البالغة 15 عاماً اليوم في تركيا، يتوق الكثيرون لرؤية ما يعنيه إعادة إنتخابه للمنصب الرئاسي، وبخاصة أن المنصب يمنحه اليوم سلطاتٍ أكبر من أي زعيم تركي سابق منذ أيام مؤسس الجمهورية، مصطفى كمال أتاتورك. فقد تم إلغاء مكتب رئيس الوزراء، على غرار النمط السياسي الأمريكي. واليوم، يستطيع الرئيس تعيين نوابه وقضاته، الأمر الذي يمنحه، في بلدٍ يفتقر في الوقت الراهن إلى ضوابط وتوازنات موثوقة، سيطرةً لا مثيل لها على تركيا. لكن ما الذي تغير بالفعل؟

سيادة القانون الجديد

منذ محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016، عاشت تركيا في ظل حالة الطوارىء التي منحت الرئيس سلطاتٍ شبه تنفيذية. في الواقع، صُممت حالة الطوارىء لاستخدامها لمدة 3 أشهر، إلا أن حكومة أردوغان جددتها 7 مرات. والآن، بعد أن مُنح الرئيس أردوغان سلطاتٍ تنفيذية على غرار الولايات المتحدة في أعقاب إعادة انتخابه، تم إلغاء حالة الطوارىء أخيراً، مما يُظهر أن هذا الإجراء قد تم من أجل الاستيلاء على السلطة.

وعوضاً عن ذلك، تم إقرار قانونٍ جديد، إذ يمنح قانون مكافحة الإرهاب الجديد السلطات الحق في احتجاز المشتبه بهم بالإرهاب (وهو مصطلحٌ يُطبق على مجموعة واسعة من المحتجزين في تركيا) دون توجيه أي تهمٍ لهم لمدة تصل إلى 4 أيام. كما يسمح القانون الجديد بتقييد حركة الأشخاص المشتبه فيهم وإقالة الموظفين العموميين إذا ما اشتبه في أنهم ينتمون إلى جماعاتٍ إرهابية. وعلى الورق، تبدو الإجراءات مشابهة لبعض القوانين الغربية. ومع ذلك، فإن إساءة استخدام النظام القضائي التركي لمحاولة تطهير المجتمع التركي من أي شخصٍ أو منظمة حتى وإن كانت تربطها علاقاتٍ عن بعد بمنظمة غولن، التي يُلقى عليها باللوم في محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016، تثير المخاوف حول كيفية استخدام هذه التشريعات. كما يسمح القانون لولاة المحافظات بتقييد حق التجمع للمواطنين. وقد أكدت المحكمة الدستورية للبلاد أن جميع المراسيم الصادرة خلال فترة حكم الطوارىء تعتبر دائمة. ويتضمن هذا قوانين ذات روابط مشكوك فيها بالتشريعات الطارئة، مثل القانون الذي يجبر السائقين على استخدام إطارات الشتاء.

وفي 8 يوليو، أي قبل يومٍ واحدٍ من تنصيبه رئيساً للبلاد، قام أردوغان بإقالة حوالي 18 ألفاً من موظفي الدولة كجزءٍ من حملة التطهير المستمرة منذ عامين للمشتبه في تعاطفهم مع حركة الإنقلاب في تركيا. فقد اشتملت قوائم الجولة الأخيرة من حملات الإقالة الجماعية على جنود وأكاديميين وضباط شرطة. وإلى جانب هذه الإقالات الجماعية الضخمة، تم إغلاق قناة تلفزيونية وثلاث صحف. ويعدّ هذا آخر هجومٍ على وسائل الإعلام، التي لا تنسجم مع حزب أردوغان، حزب العدالة والتنمية، في تركيا.

التدخل بالمال

في أواخر يوليو، رفض البنك المركزي التركي رفع أسعار الفائدة، على الرغم من ضغوط المجتمع الدولي للقيام بذلك للتخفيف من ارتفاع التضخم. وقبل الانتخابات، وعد أردوغان مراراً وتكراراً بفرض سيطرةٍ أكبر على سياسة البنك المركزي، وبالتالي أثار الفشل في رفع معدلات الفائدة مخاوف من أن أردوغان يعمل على الإيفاء بوعده. بل وصف أسعار الفائدة بـ”أصل الشرور.” وعليه، خسرت الليرة التركية، على الفور، 3% من قيمتها أمام الدولار، الأمر الذي أسفر عن رد فعلٍ في الأسواق مشابه تماماً لما حصل بعد إعلان إعادة إنتخابه. فالاقتصاد التركي يعتمد على المستثمرين الأجانب وتحركاتٍ كهذه، التي تحمل في طياتها مناشدة قومية وطنية محددة، تنفّر الأموال الأجنبية وتثير المخاوف حول مستقبل الاقتصاد التركي.

وجوه غير صديقة

كان تعيين صهر أردوغان، بيرات البيرق، في منصب وزير المالية، واحداً من أكثر اللحظات التي تصدرت عناوين الصحف في فترة ما بعد الإنتخابات. ففي حين يتمتع البيرق بخبرةٍ وزارية سابقة، بعد أن شغل منصب وزير الطاقة قبل الانتخابات، إلا أنه يبدو أن هذه الخطوة تؤكد نظرية أردوغان في ترسيخ نمط السلالات بشكلٍ أكبر للحكم. واليوم، يتربع البيرق في قلب السلطة في تركيا ومن الواضح أن أردوغان يثق به إلى حدٍ كبير لمنحه سلطاتٍ كبيرة. ومن منظور المستثمرين الخارجيين، كان من المأمول بأن يجلب البيرق نهجاً أكثر عقلانية وأقل سياسة للسياسة المالية. ولكن بعد الإعلان الأخير عن أسعار الفائدة، تبدو هذه الآمال ساذجة. ويبدو أنه سيكون تليذاً مخلصاً لوالد زوجته في الحكومة.

ومع ذلك، لم تقتصر المخاوف على محاباة الأقارب فحسب. فقد تم عرض مناصب وزارية على مجموعة من الصقور داخل حزب العدالة والتنمية، مما أثار قلق بعض المراقبين في المجتمع الكردي في تركيا من أن احتمالات التوصل إلى اتفاق سلامٍ مع حزب العمال الكردستاني، باتت ضئيلة. فقد بدا أن أردوغان على وشك إبرام إتفاق سلامٍ مع المتمردين الأكراد في مرحلةٍ ما خلال فترة حكمه، إلا أن قضية السلام لطالما كانت بمثابة كبش فداءٍ لطموحه الخاص، إذ كان على استعدادٍ للتخلي عن السلام في خضم سعيه وراء الهيمنة الانتخابية. فقد أعقبت خسارة حزب العدالة والتنمية للأغلبية في انتخابات يونيو 2015 تصاعداً في العنف في الحرب ضد حزب العمال الكردستاني، تلاه استعادة حزب العدالة والتنمية للأغلبية في نوفمبر 2015. ومع هذا الاختيار من المستشارين الذين يشكلون اليوم السياسة الكردية في تركيا، يبدو من غير المحتمل أن يتم التوصل إلى حلٍ للتمرد والتوترات العرقية في جنوب شرق تركيا، التي لطالما كان الأكراد يتوقون لها على جدول أعمال أردوغان.

خلافات قديمة

فيما اعتبر أقوى انتخاباتٍ تجري منذ أكثر من عقدٍ من الزمان، إلا أن العلاقات ما بين حزب العدالة والتنمية بزعامة أردوغان وحزب المعارضة الرئيسي، حزب الشعب الجمهوري، محفوفة بالمخاطر. فقد جدد أردوغان هجماته على حزب الشعب الجمهوري بفرض حظرٍ على السياسيين المعارضين الذين يحضرون جنازات الجنود القتلى بسبب العلاقات المفترضة للحزب المعارض مع إرهابيي حزب العمال الكردستاني.

وفي غضون ذلك، تزايدت الدعوات لمرشح الانتخابات الرئاسية، محرم إنجه، الذي وحد آمال الأشخاص الذين لا يؤيدون حزب العدالة والتنمية، لإزاحة أردوغان من منصبه، ليتحدى قيادة حزب الشعب الجمهوري. فمنذ عام 2010، يقود الحزب كمال كيليتشدار أوغلو، الذي، على الرغم من موقفه المتشدد ضد عمليات التطهير الجماعي التي يقوم بها أردوغان بعد محاولة الانقلاب في عام 2016، فشل في تحقيق تأثير يشبه، ولو قليلاً، الدعم الشعبي الذي حظي به إنجه، إذ نجح الأخير حتى الآن في التحدي. ومع ذلك، من غير المرجح أن تحول هذه الشائعات دون تحفيز الدعم له لمواصلة المقاومة ضد الحكم الاستبدادي المتزايد لحزب العدالة والتنمية الذي يتزعمه الرئيس أردوغان.

وفي هذه الأثناء، لا يزال الزعماء السابقون لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي المؤيد للأكراد، فيغين يوكسيكداغ وصلاح الدين دميرطاش، في السجن بتهمة الإرهاب. فقد اتُهموا بارتباطهم بعلاقاتٍ مع المقاتلين الأكراد واعتقلوا في عام 2016. وأثناء وجوده في السجن، خاض دميرطاش الإنتخابات الرئاسية التي أقيمت في يونيو الماضي كمرشحٍ عن حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي.

ثقة متجددة

مؤخراً، تجدد الخلاف الدبلوماسي بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا بشأن إطلاق سراح أندرو برونسون، وهو قسٌ أمريكي سجن في تركيا بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب. فقد كانت إدارة ترامب تضغط من أجل إطلاق سراحه إلى جانب إبرام إتفاقٍ مع إسرائيل للإفراج عن مواطنة تركية، التي تم التفاوض بشأنها لضمان إطلاق سراح برونسون. ومع ذلك، أخلت تركيا سبيله ووضعته تحت الإقامة الجبرية، الأمر الذي أثار غضب الأمريكيين في الوقت الذي يُعيد فيه مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي النظر أيضاً في حظر بيع مقاتلات إف-35 لتركيا. كان رد أردوغان على الغضب الأمريكي واضحاً لا لبس فيه، في أعقاب جملته: “حماية استقلال القضاء في تركيا” من خلال عدم التدخل في عقوبته.

إقرأ المزيد

تركيا
هذه الدولة التي يحكمها حالياً رجب طيّب إردوغان لعبت دوراً حاسماً ...
يمثل فوز إمام وغلو ضربةً قوية للهيمنة الانتخابية لحزب العدالة وال...

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ MIKE HUTCHINGS | ©AFP ⁃ MIKE HUTCHINGS

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Turkey since the Election

Turkey since the Election

Turkey- BRICS summit
Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan attends a session meeting during the 10th BRICS summit (The grouping of the world’s leading emerging economies, namely Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) on July 27, 2018, in Johannesburg, South Africa. Photo AFP

In June 2018, President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan was elected to the newly empowered role of president of Turkey, winning just under 53% of the popular vote. After several tumultuous years of his now 15-year hold on power in Turkey, many are eager to see what his re-election to the presidential role means, especially as the post is now bestowed with more power than any Turkish leader has held since the Republic’s founder, Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. Styled along American lines, the prime ministerial office has been abolished. The president now can appoint his own deputies and judges, which, in a country now lacking in credible checks and balances, offers him almost unparalleled control over Turkey. But what has already changed?

The New Rule of Law

Since the attempted coup in 2016, Turkey has lived under a state of emergency that has gifted near-executive power to the president. The state of emergency was designed to be used for 3 months but Erdoğan’s government renewed it 7 times. Now, with US-style executive powers given to President Erdoğan following his re-election, the state of emergency has finally been repealed, arguably showing the measure up for the power-grab.

But in its place, a new law has been signed into force. This new ‘anti-terror’ law allows the authorities to detain terror suspects (a term used on a broad swathe of detained persons in Turkey) without charge for up to 4 days. The new law also makes it possible to restrict movement of suspected persons and to dismiss public workers if they are suspected of affiliation with terror groups. On paper, the measures appear comparable to some Western laws. However, the abuse of the Turkish judicial system to try and cleanse Turkish society of any person or organisation even remotely linked to the Gulen group, who is blamed for the 2016 coup attempt, raises fears over how such legislation could be used. The law also enables governors to restrict the right of assembly of citizens. The country’s Constitutional Court has confirmed that all decrees from the emergency rule period are to be considered permanent. This includes laws with questionable links to emergency legislation, such as a law forcing drivers to use winter tires.

On 8 July, just the day before his inauguration as president, Erdoğan sacked some 18,000 state workers as part of the now two-year long purge of suspected putsch sympathisers in Turkey. Soldiers, academics, and police officers were included in this latest round of mass firings. Alongside these massive lay-offs, a TV channel and three newspapers were also closed. This is just the latest attack on the media in Turkey that doesn’t align with AKP, Erdoğan’s Justice and Development Party.

Meddling in Money

In late July, Turkey’s central bank refused to raise interest rates, despite pressure from the international community to do so to alleviate rising inflation. Prior to the election, Erdoğan repeatedly promised to take over greater control of central bank policy, so the failure to raise rates sparked fears that Erdoğan was following through on this promise. He has called interest rates the “mother and father of all evil”. The Turkish lira promptly lost 3% off the dollar, a reaction from the markets similar to the one they had when his re-election was announced. The Turkish economy is dependent on foreign investors and moves such as this one, which may hold a certain domestic nationalist appeal, are driving away foreign money and sparking fears for the future health of the Turkish economy.

Not-so-Friendly Faces

One of the most headline-grabbing moments post-election was the appointment of Erdoğan’s son-in-law, Berat Albayrak, to the post of finance minister. While Albayrak has prior ministerial experience, having served as energy minister before the election, this move seems to confirm the theory of Erdoğan cementing a more dynastic form of governance. Albayrak now sits at the very heart of power in Turkey and is obviously trusted by Erdoğan to wield significant power. From the perspective of outside investors, there was hope that Albayrak might bring a more rational and less political approach to fiscal policy. But after the latest announcement regarding interest rates, such hopes seem naive. He looks set to be a loyal disciple of his father-in-law in the cabinet.

However, concerns have not just been limited to nepotism. A raft of hawks from within the AKP have been offered cabinet positions, worrying some observers in Turkey’s Kurdish community that prospects of a peace deal with the Kurdistan Workers’ Party, or PKK, are slim. Erdoğan has seemed close to a peace deal with the Kurdish insurgents at points during this reign, but the cause of peace has always been a sacrificial lamb to his own ambition. He has been willing to forego peace in the pursuit of electoral domination. The loss of the AKP majority in the June 2015 election was followed by a spike in violence in the war against the PKK, itself followed by a regaining of the AKP majority in November 2015. With this selection of advisors now shaping Kurdish policy in Turkey, it seems unlikely that the solution to the insurgency and ethnic tensions in Turkey’s southeast that the Kurdish community has longed for will be found on Erdoğan’s watch.

Old Feuds

After what was viewed as the tightest election in over a decade, relations between President Erdoğan’s AKP and the main opposition party, the CHP (Republican People’s Party), are fraught. Erdoğan has renewed his attacks on the CHP with a ban on opposition politicians attending the funerals of killed soldiers because of the opposition party’s supposed links with PKK terrorists.

Meanwhile, calls have grown for Muharrem İnce, the CHP’s presidential candidate who united hopes among non-AKP supporters of unseating Erdoğan, to challenge for the leadership of the CHP. Since 2010, the party has been led by Kemal Kilicdaroglu who, despite a strong stance against Erdoğan’s mass purges following the 2016 coup attempt, has failed to inspire anywhere near the same public support as İnce did. İnce has so far ruled out a challenge. But that is unlikely to deter the rumour mill from galvanising support for him to continue the resistance against President Erdoğan’s AKP’s growing authoritarianism.

Meanwhile, the former leaders of the pro-Kurdish HDP (Democratic Peoples’ Party), Figen Yüksekdağ and Selahattin Demirtaş, remain in jail accused of terror charges. They were accused of links with Kurdist militants and arrested in 2016. While in prison, Demirtaş “ran” as the presidential candidate for the HDP during the June presidential election.

Renewed Confidence

The diplomatic spat between the US and Turkey over the release of Andrew Brunson, an American pastor imprisoned in Turkey on terror charges, has also recently reignited. The Trump administration has been pushing for his release and a deal with Israel to release a Turkish citizen reportedly was negotiated to ensure Brunson’s release. However Turkey only released him to house arrest, stoking American anger at a time when the US Senate is also considering banning the sale to Turkey of F-35 fighter jets. Erdoğan’s response to the US anger was unequivocal, following the same line of ‘protecting Turkey’s judicial independence’ in not interfering with his sentence.

image_pdfimage_print