فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / المعارضة التركية: المستضعفون متحدون

المعارضة التركية: المستضعفون متحدون

Turkey- Muharrem Ince
المرشح الرئاسي عن حزب المعارضة الرئيسي في تركيا، حزب الشعب الجمهوري، محرم اينجه (الثاني يمين) يسير برفقة زوجته بينما يقومون بتحية أنصارهم خلال تجمعٍ لحملته للإنتخابات الرئاسية في مدينة جوروم في 17 مايو 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

سيتجه الأتراك، في 24 يونيو 2018، إلى صناديق الاقتراع لأول مرة منذ أكثر من عقدٍ من الزمان، مع إمكانية أن تصبح خسارة الرئيس رجب طيب أردوغان وحزبه، حزب العدالة والتنمية، احتماليةً واقعية. وبالرغم من أن المعارضة التركية لا تزال خليطاً متنوعاً من اليساريين والعلمانيين والقوميين والأكراد، إلا أنهم تآزروا معاً في محاولةٍ للإطاحة بالرجل الذي هيمن على السياسة التركية منذ الألفية.

فقد تنامى استقطاب تركيا إلى حدٍ كبير في السنوات الأخيرة، مما تسبب بتوتراتٍ داخلية إلا أن هذا في الواقع عزز من مكانة أردوغان، حيث أن أولئك في معسكره باتوا يعلقون أهميةً أكبر من ذي قبل على دوره في حماية تركيا من المزيد من العنف.

وخلال حكمه الذي استمر قرابة 15 عاماً، اعتمد أردوغان على الأصوات من نصف البلاد على الأقل، مستخدماً النمو الاقتصادي ووجهات النظر الإسلامية السياسية المحافظة اجتماعياً لاستقطاب دعم جمهور الناخبين، الذي غالباً ما تم تهميشه من قِبل السياسات الجمهورية الأكثر علمانية في تركيا خلال العقود الماضية. ونتيجةً لذلك، حرض أردوغان على ظهور معارضةٍ ضاربة الجذور بين اليساريين، والديمقراطيين الاجتماعيين، والليبراليين، والعلمانيين والعديد من الأقليات.

وخلال فترةٍ طويلة من رئاسته، كانت المعارضة التركية مقسمة وضعيفة، ولم تحقق سوى انتصاراتٍ مجزأة على المستوى الفردي، مثل الدخول الذي طال انتظاره لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي المؤيد للأكراد، إلى أروقة البرلمان في عام 2015. كما فشلت المعارضة في استغلال الاحتجاجات الشعبية التي اندلعت في حديقة جيزي في عام 2012، وعندما سنحت لها الفرصة لتوحيد صفوفها في وجه حزب العدالة والتنمية في الاستفتاء على الدستور الذي أجريّ عام 2017، عجزت مرة أخرى عن إبداء أي مقاومة (على الرغم من أن التصويت، وفقاً للتقارير، لم يكن حراً ولا نزيهاً).

وتعتبر انتخابات يونيو القادم أول مرةٍ تتحد فيها المعارضة التركية منذ عام 2003 لمواجهة “تحالف الشعب” الذي شكله حزب العدالة والتنمية وحزب الحركة القومية. وستتنافس الكتلة، المؤلفة من حزب الشعب الجمهوري، والحزب الجيد الذي تم تشكيله حديثاً، وحزب السعادة، والحزب الديمقراطي، على الأصوات البرلمانية التي ترافق الإنتخابات الرئاسية. إلا أنه على نحوٍ ذي مغزى لم تتم دعوة حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي ذو الأغلبية الكردية، وهو ثاني أكبر حزب معارض في البرلمان، للإنضمام إلى الكتلة. ومن الواضح أن التحالف مع حزبٍ كردي، في ظل تنامي العنف مع المقاتلين الأكراد في تركيا إلى جانب الحملات التي يتم شنها ضد الجماعات المتحالفة مع حزب العمال الكردستاني في كلٍ من سوريا والعراق، جعل في الأمر مخاطرةً كبيرة بالنسبة لجماعات المعارضة الأخرى.

انتخابات تركية حتى النخاع

Turkey- Meral Aksener
رئيس حزب الشعب الجمهوري المعارض في تركيا، كمال كيليتشدار أوغلو، وزعيمة الحزب المعارض التركي- الحزب الجيد ومرشحة الرئاسة ميرال أكشينار، يتصافحان أثناء وقوفهما لإلتقاط صورة بعد اجتماعهم في مقر حزب الشعب الجمهوري في أنقرة، في الرابع من يونيو 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN

في ما قد يكون لافتاً للنظر في الإنتخابات في معظم البلدان، يخوض صلاح الدين دميرتاش، زعيم حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي، ثالث أكبر حزب برلماني في تركيا، الإنتخابات التشريعية والرئاسية من خلف القضبان. ومع عدم رضى العديد من الأتراك عن عمليات الإعتقال الجماعية التي جرت في غضون العامين الماضيين، أثار مصير دميرتاش تعاوناً غير متوقع.

وفي لحظة خلافٍ نادرة نسبياً، قال عضو البرلمان عن حزب العدالة والتنمية، عزيز بابوسكو، للصحفين أنه يعتقد أنه ينبغي إطلاق سراح دميرتاش، مما تسبب في غضب مؤيدي أردوغان المتشدديين. وبصورةٍ مفاجئة إلى حدٍ ما، بسبب سياستها القومية الصارمة، طالبت ميرال أكشينار، زعيمة الحزب الجيد، أيضاً بإطلاق سراح دميرتاش. بيد أنها لا تتمتع بقوة مهيمنة بما فيه الكفاية لضمان إطلاق سراحه ومن غير المرجح أن يشكل أي مكسبٍ لاحق لحزب الشعوب الديمقراطي تهديداً سياسياً لحزبها. ومع ذلك، فإن تحرير البطل السياسي الكردي من شأنه أن يشكل تهديدا خطيراً لآمال أردوغان في الفوز أو تحييد التصويت الكردي.

وبوجود صحافة بعيدة كل البعد عن كونها حرة ونزيهة، تخوض المعارضة التركية معركةً عسيرة، ذلك أن حوالي 90% من وسائل الإعلام التركية مؤيدة للحكومة. ففي الأسابيع الثلاث الأولى من شهر مايو، خصصت أكبر هيئتي بث في البلاد 70 ساعة من التغطية لحزب العدالة والتنمية وحزب الحركة القومية. وفي المقابل، حظي حزب الشعب الجمهوري بـ22 ساعة، والحزب الجيد بـ17 دقيقة، ولم يحظى حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي بثانية واحدة. وزعم الحزب الجيد أنه يتم حجبه بشكلٍ متعمد من موجات الأثير ذلك أن أردوغان يخشى جاذبية أكشينار.

ومما يزيد من تعقيد الأمور، أن حالة الطوارىء التي فرضتها الدولة منذ محاولة الإنقلاب في عام 2016 لا تزال قائمة. ففي إبريل الماضي، تم تنظيم احتجاجات واسعة النطاق ضد حالة الطوارىء، التي تمنح سلطات موسعة للقوى الأمنية. وإلى جانب قانون التصويت الجديد الذي توجه له أصابع الإتهام بتسهيله حشو أوراق الاقتراع، وترهيب الناخبين الأكراد، وإعاقة الضوابط والتوازنات، هناك مخاوف حقيقية من أن تكون هذه الانتخابات أيضاً بعيدة كل البعد عن الحرية والنزاهة.

السياسة الشخصية

بمجرد أن أعلنت كتلة المعارضة عن مرشحها للرئاسة، محرم اينجه، وهو عضوٌ سابقٌ في البرلمان ومدرس فيزياء سابق، بدأ تداول صورة له وهو يشرب المشروبات الكحولية خلال شهر رمضان المبارك. وعلى الرغم من انحداره من أسرة مسلمة متدينة، إلا أنه سرعان ما بدأت أصواتٌ مؤيدة للحكومة بمهاجمة جدارته لقيادة أمة مسلمة. بيد أن اينجه رد بقوله أن الصورة التقطت في وقتٍ آخر وأن هذا الأمر يعنيه لوحده، متخذاً بذلك موقفاً صارماً سيكون بالتأكيد موضع ترحيبٍ من قِبل الليبراليين في البلاد. ومع ذلك، ينبغي عليه أن يضمن أن مثل هذا الإنفتاح تجاه العلمانيين في تركيا لن يكلفه أي دعمٍ محتمل من قِبل السكان الأكراد المحافظين والمتدينيين.

مشاكل توحيد الأكراد واليمين السياسي؟

Turkey- Peoples' Democratic Party
أشخاص يتجمهرون خارج مبنى محكمة باكيركوي في اسطنبول يوم 12 يناير 2018، دعماً لرئيس حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي، الزعيم الكردي صلاح الدين دميرتاش. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ OZAN KOSE

نأت كتلة المعارضة بنفسها عن تحالفٍ رسمي في الإنتخابات الرئاسية، ولكن في حال لم يحقق مرشحٌ واحد الفوز بالأغلبية منذ البداية وتبدأ الجولة الثانية من الإنتخابات الرئاسية، فإن التفضيلات الثانية للناخبين هي التي ستحدد الفائز. وفي هذه الحالة، سيعتمد تحالف المعارضة الرئيسي على الفوز بالأصوات الكردية. ومع وجود أكشينار، التي لطالما كانت من الصقور في السياسة التركية عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتمرد الكردي، والتي تقود هذه الكتلة، فإن التصويت الكردي قد لا يكون أمراً بسيطاً. ومع ذلك، فقد شهدت تركيا بالفعل انخراط المعارضة ببعض المناورات السياسية الذكية، وإذا ما رأى دميرتاش المسجون تحقيقاً لأفضل مصالح حزب الشعوب الديمقراطي بسقوط أردوغان، فعندئذ يمكنه أن يحشد أكراد تركيا تحت راية المعارضة. ومع ذلك، لا يمكن لأحد أن يعرف مدى امتثال الأكراد لمثل هذه الدعوة.

من جهته، قدّم كل واحد من أكبر أحزاب المعارضة الثلاث مرشحاً للإنتخابات الرئاسية: محرم اينجه، وميرال أكشينار، وصلاح الدين دميرتاش. وعليه، يخاطر هذا التنوع الموسع بأسماء المرشحين هذا بتقسيم التصويت ويسمح لأردوغان بالفوز بالجولة الأولى، بخاصة إذا ما هاجم هؤلاء المرشحين بعضهم البعض. وكما أظهر هامش الاستفتاء الضئيل في العام الماضي (حتى مع انتشار الادعاءات بالعرقلة والتزوير على نطاق واسع)، فإن تركيا منقسمة في دعمها لأردوغان وخططه، فالوقت وحده كفيلٌ بتحديد ما إذا كان دعم “أي شخصٍ ما عدا أردوغان” قد وصل أخيراً إلى كتلةٍ حرجة.

فقد صاغ أردوغان حكم تركيا حول احتياجاته ورغباته. فأردوغان معتادٌ على الدفاع عن رأيه، إلا أن هذا الضغط غير المسبوق على منصبه قد يدفعه إلى تبني تكتيكاتٍ أكثر صرامة للتشبث بالسلطة. كما أنه يبسط سيطرته بالفعل على الصحافة والقضاء، ويمتلك قبضةً من حديد على الجيش والشرطة وأجهزة المخابرات. ومع ذلك، إذا ما وصلت التصريحات العلنية بعدم رضاهم عن حكمه مثل وسم (هاشتاغ) كفاية– الذي أصبح الأكثر تداولاً على تويتر في أوائل مايو- إلى أعتاب القصر الرئاسي، فلربما يُجبر رجل تركيا القوي على استعراض عضلاته للوصول إلى كرسي الحكم مجدداً.

فقد بُنيّ ثقلٌ كبيرٌ من دعم أردوغان على الإزدهار الاقتصادي خلال السنوات الخمس عشرة الماضية. وحتى الآن، فشلت المعارضة التركية في التوصل إلى خطةٍ اقتصاديةٍ بديلة قابلة للتطبيق. ومع ذلك، فإن القلق الدولي من تصريحات أردوغان الأخيرة حول التلاعب في أسعار الفائدة قد أعطت على ما يبدو حججاً للمعارضة بأن إعادة السلطات الرئاسية أكثر أهمية من العلاقة الاقتصادية.

حتى وإن جاءت استطلاعات الرأي (بالرغم من كونها ليست كافيةً لتجنب الجولة الثانية) لصالح أردوغان في الإنتخابات الرئاسية، فإن الإنتخابات البرلمانية قضية أخرى مختلفة تماماً. فالإنتخابات البرلمانية تُقدم فرصةً لا مثيل لها منذ عام 2002 لتتمكن أحزاب المعارضة من الإطاحة بحزب العدالة والتنمية. فحتى وقتٍ قريب جداً، بدا احتمال وجود حكومة غير تابعة لحزب العدالة والتنمية أمراً مستبعداً إلى حدٍ كبير. ففي نهاية المطاف، قد تكون حملة اينجه المثيرة، وخطاب أكشينار الحازم، ومكانة دميرتاش الساحرة، كافيةً لتغيير وجه تركيا السياسي، بشكلٍ حرفي.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ ADEM ALTAN | ©AFP ⁃ OZAN KOSE

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Turkey / Past to Present / Turkey’s Opposition: Underdogs United

Turkey’s Opposition: Underdogs United

Turkey- Muharrem Ince
Presidential candidate of Turkey’s main opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP), Muharrem Ince, (2R) walks with his wife as they are greeted by supporters during an election campaign rally in Corum on May 17, 2018. Photo AFP

On 24 June 2018, Turkey will go to the polls for the first time in over a decade, with the pro-spect of a loss for President Recep Tayyip Erdogan and his Justice and Development Party (AKP) a realistic possibility. Turkey’s opposition remains a mixed bag of leftists, secularists, nationalists and Kurds, but it has banded together in an effort to unseat the man who has dominated Turkish politics since the millennium.

Turkey has grown increasingly polarized in recent years, causing internal tensions but actually largely shoring up Erdogan’s position, as those in his camp attach ever greater importance to his role in protecting Turkey from further violence.

During his nearly 15-year rule, Erdogan has relied on votes from at least half of the country, using economic growth and socially conservative, politically Islamist views to fan support from an electorate that was often sidelined by Turkey’s more secular, Republican politics of past decades. As a result, Erdogan has fomented a deep-rooted opposition amongst leftists, social democrats, liberals, secularists and many minorities.

For much of his presidency, Turkey’s opposition has been divided and weak, only achieving piecemeal victories on an individual level, like the long-awaited entry into parliament of the pro-Kurdish People’s Democratic Party (HDP) in 2015. The opposition failed to exploit the mass Gezi Park protests in 2012, and when given the opportunity to join forces against the AKP in the 2017 constitutional referendum, it was once again unable to put up much resistance (even if the vote was reportedly neither free nor fair).

The June election is the first time since 2003 that the Turkish opposition has banded together to battle the ‘people’s alliance’ formed by the AKP and the Nationalist Movement Party (MHP). Made up of the Republican People’s Party (CHP), the newly formed Iyi (Good) Party, the Felicity Party and the Democrat Party, the bloc will contest the parliamentary vote that accompanies the presidential poll. Crucially, however, the predominantly Kurdish Peoples’ Democratic Party, the second biggest opposition party in parliament, has not been invited to join the bloc. Growing violence with Kurdish militants in Turkey as well as the campaigns against groups in Syria and Iraq allied with the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) have evidently made an alliance with a Kurdish party too great a risk for the other opposition groups.

A Very Turkish Election

Turkey- Meral Aksener
Leader of the main Turkish opposition Republican People’s Party (CHP) Kemal Kilicdaroglu, leader and presidential candidate of the Turkish opposition Good Party (IYI) Meral Aksener shake hands as they pose for a photo following their meeting at the Republican People’s Party headquarters in Ankara, on June 4, 2018. Photo AFP

In what would be striking for an election in most countries, Selahattin Demirtas, the leader of HDP, Turkey’s third-largest parliamentary party, is contesting the election and presidency from jail. With many Turks unhappy about the mass incarcerations of the past two years, Demirtas’ fate has provoked unexpected cooperation.

In a relatively rare moment of disunity, AKP lawmaker Aziz Babuscu told journalists he thought that Demirtas should be freed, incurring the wrath of Erdogan’s hardline backers. Somewhat surprisingly given her starkly nationalist politics, Iyi Party leader Meral Aksener has also called for Demirtas’ release. She is not a dominant enough force to secure his release and any ensuing gain for the HDP is unlikely to pose a political threat to her own party. However, freeing the Kurdish political champion would pose a serious threat to Erdogan’s hopes of winning or neutralizing the Kurdish vote.

With a press that is a long way from being free and fair, Turkey’s opposition is fighting an uphill battle. Some 90 per cent of Turkey’s media is pro-government. In the first three weeks of May, the two largest broadcasters dedicated 70 hours over coverage to the AKP and MHP. In contrast, the CHP received 22 hours, the Iyi Party 17 minutes and the HDP none at all. The Iyi Party has claimed that it is being deliberately blocked from the airwaves because Erdogan fears Aksener’s appeal.

Compounding this, the state of emergency imposed after the 2016 coup attempt remain in place. In April, widespread sit-in protests were held against the state of emergency, which grants expanded powers to the security authorities. Along with a new voting law that has been accused of facilitating ballot stuffing, intimidating Kurdish voters, and impeding checks and balances, there are very real fears that this election will also be far from free and fair.

Personality Politics

Almost as soon as the opposition bloc announced its presidential candidate as Muharrem Ince, a long-time MP and former physics teacher, an image of him drinking an alcoholic drink during the Muslim holy month of Ramadan began to circulate. Despite coming from a pious Muslim family, pro-government voices were quick to challenge his suitability to lead the Muslim nation. Ince struck back, stating the time the photo was different but also saying it was no one’s business anyway, marking out a strident position that will be welcome news to the country’s liberals. However, he will have to ensure that such overtures to Turkey’s secularists does not cost him any potential support from the more conservative and pious Kurdish population.

Problems Unifying the Kurds and the Political Right?

Turkey- Peoples' Democratic Party
People gather outside Bakirkoy courthouse in Istanbul on January 12, 2018, in support of the jailed co-chair of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP), Kurdish leader Selahattin Demirtas. Photo AFP

The opposition bloc has shunned a formal alliance in the presidential election but if no one candidate wins a majority initially and the presidential election goes to a second round, voters’ second preferences will determine the winner. In this case, the main opposition alliance will be relying on winning over the Kurdish vote. With Aksener, long a hawkish figure in Turkish politics when it comes to the Kurdish insurgency, leading this bloc, capturing the Kurdish vote may not be simple. That said, Turkey has already seen the opposition engage in some savvy politicking, and if the jailed Demirtas sees the HDP’s best interests served by Erdogan’s fall, then he could rally Turkey’s Kurds under the opposition’s banner. However, no one can say how obedient the Kurds would be to such a call.

Each of the three largest opposition parties is fielding a candidate for the presidential election: Muharrem Ince, Meral Aksener and Selahattin Demirtas. Such a wide field risks splitting the vote and allowing Erdogan to win in the first round, particularly if these three candidates attack each other. As the slim margin of the referendum vote last year (even with widespread allegations of obstructions and fraud) attests, Turkey is split in its support for Erdogan and his plans. Only time will tell if the support for ‘anyone but Erdogan’ has finally reached a critical mass.

Erdogan has shaped Turkey’s governance around his needs and wants. He is used to fighting his own corner, but this unprecedented pressure on his position may push him to adopt ever more extreme tactics to hold onto power. He already controls the press and the judiciary, and has a tight hold on the military, police and intelligence apparatus. Even so, if public declarations of their unhappiness with his rule like the ‘Tamam’ (‘enough’) hashtag – which became a Twitter trending topic in early May – reach the doors of the Presidential Palace, Turkey’s strong-man may feel forced to muscle his way into office again.

Much of Erdogan’s support has been founded on the economic prosperity of the past 15 years. So far, Turkey’s opposition has failed to come up with a viable alternative economic plan. That said, the international concern that Erdogan’s recent proclamations about manipulating interest rates has seemingly given opposition arguments about walking back presidential powers more economic relevance.

Even if polls put Erdogan ahead (although not sufficiently to avoid a second round) in the presidential elections, the parliamentary elections are another matter entirely. These offer the most exciting opportunity since 2002 for Turkey’s opposition parties to unseat the AKP. Until very recently, the prospect of a non-AKP government seemed highly unlikely. Ince’s rousing campaign, Aksener’s tough rhetoric and Demirtas’ talismanic status could finally be enough to change the face – quite literally – of Turkish politics.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.