تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

تركيا تترأس قائمة الوجهات للعرب من أصحاب الجوازات المتدنية التصنيف

تركيا عرب
شاة يسيرون بجوار بائعي الأسماك والخبز بالقرب من جسر غلطة في اسطنبول في 26 أكتوبر 2021. أوزان كوس / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

دانا حوراني

منذ ثمانية أشهر، قرر الباحث والناشط على مواقع التواصل اللبناني جهاد سمرا أن يبيع جميع ممتلكاته وينتقل للعيش في العاصمة التركية أنقرة.

أما ما دفعه إلى اتخاذ هذا القرار فهو الضغط الذي تعرّض له من قبل سياسيين غاضبين بسبب ما كان ينشره على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. إذ يتمحور نشاط سمرا على موقع تويتر حول فضح السياسيين الفاسدين،  ونشر التوعية حول مسائل قومية مستترة. وبناء على ذلك، اضطر الناشط أن يبحث عن المخرج الأسرع والأقل كلفةً، بعد أن استحال عليه البقاء في لبنان.

وصرّح سمرا لموقع “فناك” قائلًا: “تنتظرني مذكرات توقيف في المطار، وإذا اخترت العودة إلى لبنان قد أقع في مأزق مع الأحزاب السياسية التي انتقدتها في الماضي.”

حاليًا يؤكد سمرا أنه راضٍ عن حياته الجديدة كـ “رحّالة رقمي” في تركيا، حيث يحق له تجديد إقامته لوقت قصير ما لم يكن موظفًا  في البلد، ويتقاضى مدخوله  من الخارج. كما أنه الآن حرٌّ في التعبير عن آرائه السياسية على مواقع التواصل، طالما يحترم القوانين التركية المعنية، بحسب قوله.

احتضنت تركيا حوالي خمسة ملايين عربي في السنوات العشر الأخيرة، وقد أصبحت ملجأً لسكان الشرق الأوسط الذين يودون السفر من دون مواجهة أي عائق  في الحصول على تأشيرة دخول، مقارنةً مع الدول الغربية التي تفرض قيودًا أكثر تشددًا على حاملي الجوازات غير الغربية.

ونظرًا إلى العوائق المفروضة على سكان الشرق الأوسط، وبالأخص الدول التي تعصف فيها الحروب مثل سوريا والعراق والسودان واليمن، إضافةً إلى الدول التي تشهد توترات سياسية، على غرار لبنان وإيران، أمسى الكثيرون مقيّدين في السفر ويتطلعون نحو تركيا كوجهة للترفيه والسياحة والعمل.

نبذة تاريخية

هاجر حوالي مليوني عربي من بلاد الشام وبلاد ما بين النهرين إلى تركيا خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية. وتبعها تدفق كثيف خلال الحرب العراقية –الإيرانية في الثمانينات والغزو الأمريكي للعراق عام 2003.

وفي عام 2011، أضحت تركيا ملاذًا لجميع الهاربين من الاضطرابات في العالم العربي، من لاجئين ومهاجرين أجانب.

فأصبح نظام الحماية المؤقتة في تركيا ملجأً لجميع السوريين الفارّين من النزاع الذي نشب في بلادهم عام 2011. وبحسب المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، باتت تركيا تحتضن ما يقارب 3.64 مليون سوريٍ، إضافةً إلى 322.188 من المتقدمين للحصول على الحماية الدولية، ومعظمهم من العراق وأفغانستان وإيران.

ووفقًا لصحيفة Le Monde Diplomatique، أصبحت تركيا موطنًا لمئات آلاف العراقيين وما يفوق 30.000 مصريٍ وعشرات الآلاف من الليبيين واليمنيين والفلسطينيين والأردنيين، إضافةً إلى الجزائريين والمغربيين والتونسيين.

وعلى الرغم من أعدادهم الهائلة، يؤكد سمرا أن العادات والتقاليد المشتركة تسهّل اندماج شعوب الشرق الأوسط في تركيا.

التشابه الثقافي

في ظل الدولة العثمانية، حكم نظام سنيّ إسلامي ما يعرف اليوم بتركيا الحديثة، ما أدى إلى نشوء عدد كبير من المعالم والعمارات من الطراز الإسلامي. كما تظهر العادات الاجتماعية التقليدية من خلال ممارسات يومية، على غرار إقامة الصلاة في المساجد وصلاة الجماعة يوم الجمعة.

وفي حين تُظهر الأرقام أن 99.8% من سكان تركيا يعتبرون أنفسهم مسلمين، إلا أنها لا تأخذ بعين الاعتبار وجود الأشخاص غير المتدينين والأقليات الدينية. ومع هذا، يعتبر جهاد سمرا أن تواجد الدين الإسلامي بشكل واسع قد سهّل على المسلمين العرب تبدُل أحوالهم، وبخاصة من ناحية العادات الغذائية. إذ يعتبر اللحم الحلال والوصفات التقليدية عاملين مهمّين في الاندماج الاجتماعي، وفقًا لسمرا.

أما من ناحية الحياة الاجتماعية، فيشير الناشط إلى أن حسن الضيافة في أنقرة مماثلةٌ لما قد نجده في الشرق الأوسط. ويساهم ذلك في رأب الصدع ما بين حضارات قد تختلف في الظاهر ولكنها تتشابه في الباطن.

ويضيف سمرا قائلًا: “نجد العنصرية أينما ذهبنا، وتركيا ليست استثناءً. إنما يقدرك الناس هنا إذا أظهرت لهم الاحترام. وستلاحظ مدى لطفهم إذا تعرفت عليهم عن كثب.”

“تنجح إسطنبول عادة في جذب الأجانب، وبخاصة الغربيّون منهم، بفضل سحرها وجمالها. ولكنني شخصيًا أفضل الحياة الهادئة هنا في أنقرة.”

جوهرة سياحية

تقع تركيا ما بين آسيا وأوروبا، وهي مشابهة لهما من الناحية الثقافية والمعمارية. كما تقع في ملتقى البلقان والقوقاز والشرق الأوسط وشرق المتوسط، مما ينعم عليها بمناخ متعدد الأوجه ومناظر طبيعية متنوعة.

ونظرًا إلى تنوع الأرض والطبيعة والسواحل، يعتبر سمرا أن “رؤية البلد بأكمله قد تتطلب زيارة عدة مناطق يوميًا لمدة أربع سنوات.”

يستفيد المسافرون القادمون من الشرق الأوسط من الأسعار المعقولة في السوق الناتجة عن تدهور سعر صرف الليرة التركية. إذ يتم التداول بها حاليًا على سعر 15.3 ليرة للدولار الأمريكي الواحد (خلال كتابة هذا المقال)، ما دفع بالأسعار الى الارتفاع  بنسبة 70% للمرة الأولى منذ عشرين عامًا. ولا شك في أن الظروف القاسية المتأتية من وضع الليرة قد أثرت سلبًا على الشعب التركي، إلا انها جذبت السياح من حاملي العملات الأجنبية بفضل توفّر العمليات الطبية غير المكلفة لديها، على غرار علاج الأسنان، وزرع الشعر،  وجراحة الليزر للعيون.

ويشير سمرا إلى أن العرب الأثرياء يسافرون إلى لندن وميلان، في حين يتوجه العرب من الطبقة العاملة إلى إسطنبول.

وبحسب الناشط، لطالما فضّل الأثرياء من عرب دول الخليج التوجه إلى المدن الغربية مثل لندن، لشراء العقارات أو استكمال دراستهم. كما أدت التوترات الأخيرة بين تركيا وبعض دول الخليج، بخاصةٍ المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة، إلى تراجع في عدد السياح الآتين من تلك الدول.

وفي حين تحبَّذ زيارة الشرق أوسطيين إلى تركيا، إلا أنه يصعب الحصول على العمل أو على إقامة طويلة الأجل.

تحديات العمل في تركيا

لجأ مئات اللبنانيين إلى تركيا من جراء الأزمة المالية التي حلّت على بلادهم. وفيما يسهل الحصول على إقامة مؤقتة، تصعب الطريق أمام الذين يطمحون إلى البقاء لوقت أطول.

ويشرح سمرا قائلًا: “نادرًا ما يقوم أرباب العمل بتوظيف الأجانب، وإذا حصل فإنّهم يدفعون  ما يعادل الحد الأدنى للأجور أو أقل.”

كما أمست السلطات التركية تشدد قبضتها على القادمين. ولتجنّب شروطها الصارمة، ينصح سمرا العاملين عن بعد بتقديم طلب للحصول على بطاقة إقامة قصيرة الأجل التي تتيح لهم السكن في تركيا لمدة أقصاها سنتان.

وفي ما يتعلق بتكاليف العيش، يزعم سمرا أن أنقرة من أيسر المدن كلفةً حول العالم.

وأضاف قائلًا: “بوسعك أن تعيش مرتاحًا في أنقرة بـ 400 دولار في الشهر. أما لتعيش في إسطنبول، فتحتاج الى ضعف هذا المبلغ.”

كما أكد أن الانتقال للعيش في تركيا يتطلب إتقان اللغة أولًا، إذ يعتبر الحاجز الأكبر للاندماج الثقافي.

وصرّح الفنان السوري رامي الكور لـموقع “فناك” أن السفر لتركيا بهدف السياحة أو العمل إنما حلم لأبناء شعبه، زاعمًا أن الحصول على تأشيرة دخول أمسى شبه مستحيل للسوريين. أما قبل الحرب الاهلية، فكان بوسع السوريين الدخول إلى تركيا بعدة طرق، ومنها برًا عبر الباص.

وأضاف قائلًا: “أخبرني أقاربي عن المعالم السياحية التركية والمواقع الجميلة التي زاروها، لكنني لم أرها بنفسي بعد.”

ونظرًا إلى عدم توفر التأشيرات السياحية، بات الجميع يقدّمون طلبات للهجرة، وهي عملية معقدة ومكلفة، بحسب الكور. فيضطر السوريون إلى القدوم إلى لبنان لتقديم طلبهم في القنصلية التركية.

“بكل صراحة، أتمنى أن أجد وظيفة في تركيا، إنما فرص العمل للسوريين محدودة. لدي أصدقاء تمكنوا من الانتقال خلال الحرب،  ويخبرونني أن فرحة الحياة في تركيا تطغى على العقبات الثقافية والكلام العنصري.”

وأفادت منظمة العفو الدولية أن المواطنين الاتراك يشعرون بقلق متزايد إزاء التعايش مع اللاجئين السوريين، وذلك على الرغم من كون تركيا  إحدى أكبر الدول التي تستقبل اللاجئين. وعند طرح السؤال على المواطنين، عبّر العديد منهم عن رغبتهم في رؤية اللاجئين ينتقلون إلى مناطق آمنة في سوريا، وذلك علمًا أن السوريين الذين عبروا عن رغبتهم في الانتقال إلى تلك المناطق لم تتجاوز نسبتهم 6%. أما الأكثرية، فعبّروا عن سعادتهم إزاء التعايش مع مجتمعهم المضيف وعن رغبتهم في البقاء في المستقبل.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

Turkey, a Popular Destination for Arabs with Low-ranking Passports

Turkey Arabs
Pedestrians walk next to fish and bread vendors near The Galata Bridge in Istanbul on October 26, 2021. Ozan KOSE / AFP

Dana Hourany

Eight months ago, Lebanese researcher and digital activist, Jihad Samra, decided to sell his belongings and resettle in Turkey‘s capital, Ankara.

After facing pressure from irate politicians over his social media posts, Samra made the decision. The activist’s Twitter activity is focused on exposing corrupt politicians and increasing public awareness about hidden national issues. As a result, the researcher was pressed to seek the quickest and cheapest route out, as staying in Lebanon was no longer a viable option.

“There are arrest warrants waiting for me at the airport; if I choose to return to Lebanon, I will get into trouble with political parties I have criticized in the past,” he told Fanack.

For the time being, Samra says he is content with his new life as a “digital nomad” in Turkey, where he’s allowed to renew his residency for a short time period, as long as he’s not employed in Turkey and as long as his income is generated overseas. Samra says that he’s now at liberty of expressing his political views in the digital space, so long as he abides by the relevant Turkish laws.

Harboring around five million Arabs for over a decade, Turkey has become a safe haven for Middle Easterners wishing to travel with little to no visa restrictions, compared to Western countries, which impose harsher restrictions on non-white passport holders.

Due to limitations on people of the Middle East, namely war-torn countries such as Syria, Iraq, Sudan, and Yemen, in addition to politically tense countries such as Lebanon and Iran, many have limited mobility crossing borders and often find themselves looking to Turkey as a popular destination for leisure, tourism, and employment.

A brief history

 During World War II, about two million Arabs from the Levant and Mesopotamia immigrated to Turkey. This was followed by another massive influx during the 1980s Iran-Iraq conflict and the US invasion of Iraq in 2003.

In 2011, the nation became a safe haven for those escaping upheavals across the Arab world, cultivating both refugees and foreign immigrants.

For Syrians fleeing a horrific conflict that erupted into a full-fledged war in 2011, Turkey’s Temporary Protection System became a refuge. According to UNHCR estimates, there are around 3.64 million Syrians in the country. Additionally, Turkey is host to 322,188 International Protection applicants, mostly from Iraq, Afghanistan, and Iran.

According to Le Monde Diplomatique, Turkey is home to hundreds of thousands of Iraqis, more than 30,000 Egyptians, tens of thousands of Libyans, Yemenis, Palestinians, and Jordanians, as well as Algerians, Moroccans, and Tunisians.

Despite their enormous numbers, Samra says that common cultural norms and traditions make integration easier for people from the Middle East.

Cultural similarities

 Under the Ottoman Empire, the territory that is now Turkey was ruled as a Sunni Islamic state. As a consequence, the land is dotted with beautiful Islamic architecture and monuments. Daily routines such as echoing prayers in mosques and Friday mass prayers reflect Islamic traditional social patterns.

Although figures show that 99.8% of its population still identifies as Muslims, these estimates understate the prevalence of irreligious people and minority religions. Nevertheless, the prominence of Islam, according to Samra, makes for an easier transition for Muslim Arabs, especially when it comes to dietary preferences. Halal meat and traditional recipes make for important factors when it comes to social integration, Samra says.

In terms of social life, the activist notes that the hospitality of the people in Ankara is similar to that of the Middle East. He argues that this helps bridge the gap between the seemingly different civilizations, which have more in common than their outward appearances.

“Racists exist everywhere, and Turkey is no exception. However, folks here typically appreciate you if you respect them. You’ll notice how kind they are if you get to know them well,” he said.

“Istanbul succeeds at luring foreigners, especially Westerners, due to its magical appeal and beauty. But for me, I prefer the peaceful life here, in Ankara,” he added.

A touristic gem

 The country, which is wedged between Asia and Europe, is culturally and architecturally similar to both. Turkey is also situated at the confluence of the Balkans, Caucasus, Middle East, and the eastern Mediterranean, giving it a climate with a wide range of temperatures, as well as a diversified scenery.

Given the diversity of terrain, flora, and coasts, Samra believes that “to see everything completely, one would have to visit various regions of the nation every single day for four years.”

Middle Eastern travelers benefit from the Turkish market’s affordability owing to the continued fall of the Turkish lira. The currency is presently trading at 15.3 per USD (at the time of writing), leading prices to rise by around 70%, reaching a 20-year high. While this is in no doubt extremely harsh on the people of Turkey, it does attract tourists with foreign currency for its affordable medical procedures like dental treatment, hair transplants, and laser eye surgery.

“Rich Arabs go to London and Milan, while working-class Arabs head to Istanbul,” Samra said.

According to the activist, wealthier Arabs from Gulf countries have typically preferred Western places such as London, where many of them have purchased property or obtained education. Furthermore, recent tensions between Turkey and a few Gulf countries, especially Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, resulted in a shortage of tourist traffic to Turkey from the latter two countries.

While Middle Eastern citizens are encouraged to visit Turkey, long-term residence and employment are more difficult.

Challenges of working in Turkey

Hundreds of Lebanese fled to Turkey in the aftermath of Lebanon’s financial crisis. While the temporary residence is a simple procedure, people with long-term goals face a difficult road.

“Employers seldom recruit foreigners, and when they do, they pay them minimum wage or less,” Samra explained.

Additionally, the authorities are tightening their grip. To circumvent strict conditions, Samra advises remote workers to apply for a short-term residence card, which allows them to stay in the nation for up to 24 months.

In terms of living costs, Samra argues that Ankara is one of the most affordable cities in the world.

“In Ankara, you can live comfortably on $400 per month. However, you’ll probably need twice as much in Istanbul,” he added.

Anyone seeking to relocate to Turkey must first learn the language since it is the most significant barrier to cultural integration, Samra said.

Syrian artist Rami El Kour told Fanack that flying to Turkey for vacation or employment is a pipe dream for his people. He claims that visas for Syrians are basically non-existent. Prior to the civil war, however, Syrians who wanted to go to Turkey had many options, including the possibility of taking a bus.

“I’ve heard stories from my relatives about Turkish landmarks and great locations to visit,” he said, “but I have yet to see them for myself.”

Since tourist visas are not an option, most people file for immigration, which is laborious and expensive, according to El Kour; Syrians are compelled to go all the way to Lebanon to apply at the Turkish consulate.

“To be honest, I’d love to work in Turkey, but job options for Syrians are limited. I have friends who managed to leave during the war; they tell me that the joys of living there outweigh any cultural hurdles or racist remarks,” he said.

Despite Turkey’s status as one of the world’s largest refugee hosts, Amnesty International reports that Turkish inhabitants are increasingly concerned about the future of living with Syrian refugees. When questioned, several Turks stated that they would like to see refugees relocated to secure zones in Syria, despite the fact that only 6% of Syrians have indicated an interest in being placed in such “safe zones.” The majority expressed thanks and delight for being able to coexist with their host community and want to be able to do so in the future.