فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة

الثقافة

حفل زفاف في أنقرة / Photo Shutterstock
حفل زفاف في أنقرة / Photo Shutterstock

المحتويات

الأدب الكلاسيكي
الأدب الحديث
الموسيقى والرقص
الفنون التقليدية
الفنون الجميلة
فن العمارة
الثقافة الشعبية
المسرح والسينما
المتاحف
الرياضة

عبر القرون، تركت الحضارات المتعاقبة بصماتها على الأناضول. وتشهد على ذلك المباني المثيرة للإعجاب المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. ويمكن للزوار التمتع بكثير من الكنوز الرائعة في المتاحف داخل تركيا وخارجها. واشتهرت الموسيقى التركية الحديثة والأدب بشكل خاص، ولكن صناعة السينما التركية لم تشتهر بعد.

الأدب الكلاسيكي

يشير مصطلح “كلاسيكي” إلى نوعين من الأدب، العلمي والشعبي، اللذين ظهرا قبل عملية “التغريب” التي بلغت ذروتها خلال إصلاحات التنظيمات العثمانية (1839-1876). يعرف النوع الأول باسم أدب الديوان (الشعر العثماني) المتأثر بشدة باللغتين العربية والفارسية اللتين يستقي منهما المفردات والأسلوب. يعتبر شعر “البلاط”، ويتألف من مقاطع من سطرين أو أربعة أسطر غنية بالاستعارات، جوهر هذا الأدب ويركز على السجع والأوزان الشعرية المنظومة بحذاقة. ومن روّاد هذا النوع من الأدب الذي شهد عصره الذهبي في القرن السادس عشر: “باقي” (1526-1600)؛ و “فضولي البغدادي” (نحو 1483–1556)؛ و “نديم” (نحو 1681-1730)؛ و “نفعي” (1572-1635)، الذي عرف بشعره الهجائي. ويعتبر الشيخ غالب (1757-1798) آخر الشعراء الكلاسيكيين الكبار. أما النثر، الذي يتطلب مصادر فكرية وموسوعية هامة، فهو مخصص لدائرة أصغر من الجهابذة؛ فهو يحكي عن الرحلات، كما هو الحال بالنسبة إلى كتاب “سياحتنامه (الرحلات)” للكاتب أوليا جلبي (1611-1682)، وتاريخ المؤرخين محمد نصري (توفي 1520) ومصطفى نعيمة (1655-1716). في النهاية، تعتبر الرسائل السياسية والتاريخية التي تستحضر قصص الأمراء – على غرار تلك التي كتبها Koçi Bey (توفي 1650) وكاتب شلبي (1609-1657) – جزءً من هذا الأدب الكلاسيكي.

يتميز الأدب الشعبي الكلاسيكي، الذي يعتبر فيه يونس أمره (نحو 1240 – نحو 1321) أحد أهم رواده، بسهولة فهم لغته ودلالاته التي غالباً ما تكون صوفية. وبدءً من تحديات مجتمعات العلويين أو القزلباش في القرن السادس العشر ضد القبائل التركمانية “التكافؤية” نسبياً واستلهاماً من المجموعات الشيعية الفارسية المهدوية في الإمبراطورية العثمانية، ركز هذا الشعر أيضاً على تعاليم “وحدة الوجود” التي عارضتها المؤسسة الدينية السنيّة، مما أدى إلى ولادة الأدب العلوي الشفهي، كما يتجلى بأعمال الشاعر الصوفي أديب حربي (1853-1917) في القرن التاسع عشر:

“قبلما وُجد الله والكون، خلقناهما وأعلنا عن وجودهما. وقبلما لم يكن هناك فضاء يليق بالله، استضفناه في بيتنا. لم يكن له اسم بعد. ما الذي أقوله؟ لم يكن حتّى موجوداً. لم يكن له رداء أو مظهر؛ فأعطيناه شكلاً ليصبح إنساناً”.

الأدب الحديث

يمكن تقسيم تاريخ الأدب الحديث إلى فترتين تفصلهما ثغرة كبيرة تعود إلى الفترة الكمالية التي لم ينتج عنها سوى القليل من الأعمال الهامة. تغطّي الفترة الأولى العقود الأخيرة من القرن التاسع عشر، والتي يمكن تعريفها بـ “الصدع”، وفق الكاتب الشهير أحمد حمدى طانبينار (1901- 1962) والعالم الاجتماعي حلمي ضياء أولكن (1901-1974). أدخل الكثير من أدباء هذه الفترة، مثل إبراهيم شناسي (1826-1871) وضياء باشا (1825-1880) ونامق كمال (1840-1888) المعروفين بـ “أبطال الحرية”، أفكار الحرية والوطن وعملوا كنقاد اجتماعيين. لكن أدت عملية “التغريب” إلى ما وصفه أولكن بـ “الشخصية المزدوجة”، والتي مثّلها أدباء مثل أحمد مدحت (1842- 1912) وسامي باشا زاده سزائي (1859-1936) ورجائى زاده محمود أكرم (1847-1914) الذين أعربوا عن انزعاجهم من وجودهم “الشرقي” وليس “الغربي” وحزنهم الشديد فيما يتعلق بالهاوية التي تنتظرهم. وشهدت نهاية هذه الفترة ولادة الشعر الحديث الذي قارن ما بين توفيق فكرت (1867-1915) – ملحد ومفكر حر امتدح على نحو ثوري محاولة اغتيال السلطان عبد الحميد الثاني (التي نجى منها “السلطان الأحمر”) – ومحمد عاكف آرصوي (1873-1936) – مناصر للحركة السلفية الوهابية في نهاية القرن العشرين.

تميزت فترة جمعية الاتحاد والترقي (1908-1918) بولادة أدب قومي درج بلغةٍ أتقنها أدباء مثل عمر سيف الدين (1844-1920) ومحمد أمين يورداكول (1869-1944) وضياء كوك ألب (1876-1924) ويعقوب قدري قره عثمان أوغلو (1889-1974). مع بعض الاستثناءات – مثل ناظم حكمت (1902-1963)، الذي اغتيل، وصباح الدين علي (1907-1948)، الذي نفي من البلاد – اتسمت العقود الكمالية (1923-1945) بظهور أدب الدعاية القومية المخصص في المقام الأول لتأليه “الزعيم الخالد”.

في نهاية نظام الحزب الواحد، بدأت مرحلة جديدة من الأدب التركي، مع ظهور أسلوب شعبي “فلّاحي” شديد التأثر بالتقاليد والأساطير ومآسي الماضي، كما يلاحظ في أعمال فقير بايقورت (1929-1999) دورسون أكشم (1930-2003) ويشار كمال (ولد في 1923). لهذه الأعمال النثرية نظير في الشعر، مثل “الرحلات الزرقاء” (عذراء أرهات، 1915-1982 وصباح الدين أيوب أوغلو، 1908-1973)، المستلهم من “الأناضول”. وفي الستينيات، ظهر أسلوب حزين جديد يعكس خيبة أمل جيل من رجال الفكر “المستغربين” في أعمال سوغي صويصال (1936-1976) وعدالة آغا أوغلو (مواليد 1929) وأوغوز أتاي (1934-1977) الذي يشير إلى رجال الفكر الأتراك بــ “اللامسنودين”، أي صنف غير مسنود من البشر وبالتالي محكوم عليه بالسقوط. وقد نشأ جيل 1990-2000 على أساس هذا الإرث الغني، بمن فيهم: إليف شفق (مواليد 1971)، صاحبة كتاب “لقيطة إسطنبول” (بالإنكليزية) الذي خلق فضيحة حول إنكار مذبحة الأرمن؛ والروائي أورهان باموق (مواليد 1952) الحائز على جائزة نوبل للآداب عام 2006، والذي تعمّق في التاريخ العثماني (اسمي أحمر) والتاريخ الحديث الذي اتّسم بالعنف (جودت بيه وأولاده، والكتاب الأسود، وثلج).

أخيراً، وبعد فترة طويلة من الحظر، ولد الأدب الكردي من جديد، أولاً في المنفى في أوروبا ومن ثم في تركيا ذاتها. ومن أبرزهم الكاتب محمد أوزون (1953-2007). وشهدت الفترة ذاتها ولادة نوع جديد من الأدب التركي: من الأرمن (مثل مكرديج مارغوسيان، ولد عام 1938) واليهود (مثل روني مارغوليس، ولد عام 1955).

الموسيقى والرقص

الموسيقى متنوعة في تركيا، بما فيها التقليد القديم للأغاني الشعبية والموسيقى الشرقية (أغاني خفيفة، غالباً ما تعزف في البلاط الملكي). تم حظر هذه الأغاني في الفترة 1934-1943، لاعتبارها فاسدة وذات أصول بيزنطية أو عربية. غير أنها اكتسبت شعبية كبيرة في العقود القليلة الماضية، وليس كالنمط “الأصلي” الذي تقدره النخبة، وإنما كالعربي الذي يجمع ما بين الأنماط الموسيقية التقليدية والغربية الشعبية. ومن بين نجوم الموسيقى المدمجة الذين لهم شعبية كبيرة: أورهان كنجباي (مواليد 1944) والمغني إبراهيم تاتليس (مواليد 1952).

هناك أنماط أخرى من الموسيقى إلى جانب الموسيقى العربية التي لا تضاهى، ومنها: موسيقى “البوب” (مثل تاركان تيفيتوغلو، مواليد 1972)؛ و “الراب” التي أصبحت رائجة في التسعينيات؛ والاحتجاجية، كالتي أدتها فرقة Grup Yorum (“مجموعة الأداء”) اليسارية. وشهدت الموسيقى الاحتجاجية انطلاقتها مع مغني الأوبرا السابق روحي سو (1912- 1985) الذي أدى أغاني صوفية وعلوية، كما أثبت جدارته في تأليف أساليب موسيقية جديدة مستوحاة من الموسيقى الاحتجاجية في أوروبا وأمريكا اللاتينية. وتشكل هذه الموسيقى جزءً من مجموعة فلكلورية أوسع، تشمل الرقصات الشعبية. وأخيراً، تحاول فرق مختلفة، مثل فرقة Kardeş Türküler (أغاني الإخوة) إحياء الأغاني الشعبية في الأناضول من خلال أداء أغاني أرمينية ويونانية وسفاردية وكردية.

اعتبرت السلطة الكمالية الموسيقى الكلاسيكية الغربية على أنها الموسيقى الوحيدة التي تعكس “الروح التركية”؛ تدير المديرية العامة للأوبرا والباليه ستة دور للأوبرا (أنقرة وإسطنبول وإزمير ومرسين وأنطاليا وسامسون) وتنظم عدداً من المهرجانات. وعلى الرغم من جمهورها الخاص وظهور عدد من عازفي البيانو على الساحة العالمية، مثل إيديل بيرت (مواليد 1941) وفاضل ساي (مواليد 1970)، إلا أن الموسيقى الكلاسيكية الغربية لم تلعب دوراً كبيراً في الساحة الموسيقية في تركيا.

الفنون التقليدية

تركيا غنية بالحرف اليدوية التقليدية، خاصة المنسوجات والمخرمات والجرار والخشب والنحاس والخزف والأواني الفخارية والزجاج والحجر. وتشتهر الكثير من المواقع، مثل بيبازاري وطرابزون، بأعمال الفضة والذهب. بينما تتخصص مواقع عديدة في صناعة السجاد (البسط والكليم الشهير).

عام 2008، بلغ عدد أعضاء قسم الحرفيين والتجارة في اتحاد نقابات الحرفيين التركية (TİSK) حوالي مليوني عضو، مما يشير إلى أهمية هذا القطاع في معظم أجزاء الدولة. معظم الحرف مخصصة للاستهلاك المحلي، إلا أن هناك طلب كبير عليها من قبل السياح.

الفنون الجميلة

على الرغم من الإهمال الكبير الذي تعرضت له الفنون الجميلة في تركيا، إلا أنها تطورت خلال أكثر من قرن. يعود النمط الجديد في التمثيل والرسم والتعبير المستوحى من الغرب إلى نهاية الإمبراطورية العثمانية. وحصلت على قوة دفع حقيقية من خلال الأعمال الشرقية لعثمان حمدي بيك (1842-1910)، الذي يعتبر مؤسس علم المتاحف التركية. وفي عهد الجمهورية الكمالية، حاول الرسامون الهروب من علم الجمال المخصص بالكامل للأمجاد الوطنية و “أبي الأتراك” مصطفى كمال – مثل زكي كوكاميمي (1900 – 1959) وعلي جلبي (1904-1993) ورفيق إبيكمان (1902-1974) وبدري رحمي أيوب أوغلو (1911-1975) وفكرت المعلا (1903-1967) ونوري إيام (1915-2005) وإبراهيم بالابان (مواليد 1921) – إلى أساليب تجريدية أو فلكلورية أو شعبية. وفي الستينيات والسبعينيات، ظهر أسلوب جديد يدمج الفن الملتزم بالجماليات النخبوية في أعمال فنانين، مثل أورهان تايلان (مواليد 1941) وفريد أونغورن (1932-2010). وخلال العقدين الماضيين، طوّرت عدد من الجامعات، منها جامعة المعمار سنان وجامعة يلدز التقنية (إسطنبول) وجامعة 9 أيلول (إزمير)، مناهج تعليمية في الفنون، كما فتحت المتاحف وصالات العرض مخصصة للفنون الجميلة التركية أو الأجنبية أبوابها في إسطنبول (مثل، متحف الفن الحديث في إسطنبول، ومتحف الفنون الجملية في جامعة المعمار سنان، ومتحف إلغيز للفن المعاصر). كما بدأ بعض الرسامين الشباب، ومنهم عائشة غُل يشيلنيل وإسراء ميرال دميركان وإيلكر باسيرلي، باكتساب شهرة في أوروبا، والذين جمعوا في أعمالهم بين الحرف التقليدية بالفن الحديث أو دمجوا عدداً من المدارس الفنية (مثل الرسم والنحت مع الفنون المسرحية أو الموسيقى).

فن العمارة

لفهم تنوع أنماط الهندسة المعمارية المتنوعة في تركيا، يمكننا البدء بتراث ما قبل الإسلام، منها متحف آجيا صوفيا (بنيت 532-537) ومتحف كاريا (كنيسة المخلص في خورا، بنيت 534). وتشاهد الهندسة المعمارية للسلاجقة الأتراك، المتواضعة نوعاً ما، في العديد من المدن في وسط الأناضول. ويكمل فن العمارة العثمانية، المعروف بعظمته والممثل بأعمال المهندس الشهير المعمار سنان آغا (1489 – 1588)، هذا الإرث الهندسي، وإنما يتجاوزها من حيث الحجم والطموح. قام مهندسون آخرون بتكييف أعمال المهندس سنان، ومنهم سيدفكار محمد الآغا، الذي بنى الجامع الأزرق الشهير في إسطنبول بين العامين 1609 و 1616. وشهدت إسطنبول في القرنين الثامن عشر والتاسع عشر ثورة معمارية حقيقية جمعت الكثير من الأساليب (خاصة الغربية)؛ ومن الأمثلة الهامة قصر دولما باهتشة (1842-1853) وجامعة إسطنبول (التي كانت وزارة الحرب عام 1833).

تتسم فترة الجمهورية، التي تستلهم من الأساليب الأوروبية (خاصة الإيطالية)، بعظمة بلغت أسمى تعابيرها في ضريح آتاتورك التذكاريّ الشهير (المبني بين العامين 1944 و1953). وشهدت هذه الفترة بناء قصور الشعب والتماثيل بطابع وطني في الساحة الرئيسية لكل من المدن الكبرى.

يتميز تاريخ فن العمارة التركية ما بعد الحكم الكمالي بالقليل من الأعمال الفنية، كالمراكز التجارية التي على الطراز الأمريكي والمجمعات السكنية والأبراج العالية غير الأصلية التي تطّل على إسطنبول.

الثقافة الشعبية

في بلد شهد الكثير من التغييرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية في العقود الماضية، من الصعب تقديم معايير قياسية “للثقافة الشعبية”. ومنذ ظهور استوديوهات التسجيل في الخمسينيات والقنوات التلفزيونية بين العامين 1990 و 2000، فقد مفهوم الثقافة الشعبية معناه. فاختفت مهرجانات الشعر والعروض التقليدية، مثل عروض قره كوز وحاجيوات (عيواظ)، الشخصيتان الرئيستان في عروض خيال الظل التي كانت شائعة بشكل خاص في شهر رمضان، والتي تحولت من “شعبية” إلى “نخبوية” يتطلب الحفاظ عليها دعماً كبيراً من الدولة. وينطبق الأمر ذاته على التراث الغني للرقص الشعبي الذي قمعته الحكومة أو تم تسييسه إلى حد كبير من قبل الأحزاب اليمينية واليسارية أو الحركة العلوية أو المنظمات الكردية.

هناك ثلاثة سجلات إضافية في الثقافة الشعبية الحالية: الأغاني الكلاسيكية التي يتم أداؤها بأسلوب البوب (على غرار المغني الشهير زكي موران، 1931-1996)؛ والأغاني التي على الطراز العربي، والتي كانت الأكثر شعبية منذ الستينيات وقام بأدائها مطربون مثل إبراهيم تاتليس (مواليد 1952) وفردي طيفور (مواليد 1945)؛ والمسلسلات التلفزيونية. تتألف معظم المسلسلات من حلقات كثيرة، يجوز فيها تجاوز المعايير الأخلاقية – مثل المثلية الجنسية والعلاقات خارج إطار الزواج والزنا. ترتكز هذه المسلسلات على تكييف نصوص المسلسلات البرازيلية التي اشتهرت في التسعينيات وأحرزت نجاحاً باهراً، خاصة في العالم العربي والبلقان. وهناك مسلسلات مسيّسة إلى حد كبير، مثل: “وادي الذئاب”، مسلسل قومي متطرف ومعادٍ للسامية يتناول قصة رجال يعملون في الخفاء والسر في سبيل “البلاد والأمة” في حرب ضد أعداء داخليين (كالحركة الكردية والأقليات والسياسيين “الخونة”) أو أعداء خارجيين (الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل).

المسرح والسينما

هناك العديد من الفرق المسرحية العامة (حالياً تتحول إلى خاصة) والخاصة التي تنخرط أحياناً في السياسة، وبخاصة في إسطنبول. ومن أهم الممثلين التاريخيين في “الفن السادس” التركي من الحقبة العثمانية: غولو أغوب (1840-1902)؛ وفي العصر الحديث، جينكو إيركال (مواليد 1938) وخلدون دورمان (مواليد 1928) وتوتو كاراكا (1912-1992) وليفنت كيركا (مواليد 1948) ومشفق كينتير (مواليد 1932) وعديلة ناشط (1930-1987) وعلي بويراز أوغلو (مواليد 1943) وغولريز سوروري (مواليد 1929).

تشتهر تركيا بأفلامها. أدى ظهور السينما التركية في الستينيات إلى شعبية السينما التركية التي أصبحت، بمساعدة يلمظ غوني (1937-1984) – الذي أخرج أفلاماً مثل Hope و Friend و Herd و Yol (الحائز على جائزة السعفة الذهبية في مهرجان “كان” السينمائي عام 1982) – سلاحاً سياسياً حقيقياً.

هيمن أسلوب غوني على السينما التركية لفترة طويلة حتى بعد موته، ولكن في أوائل القرن الحادي والعشرين ظهرت إبداعات فنية جديدة تأثرت بالموجة الجديدة ومنتجون جدد مثل أندري تاركوفسكي، مثل فيلم Uzak من إخراج نوري بيلج سيلان (مواليد 1959). لم تعبّر هذه الأفلام بوضوح عن الجوانب السياسية، ولكنها انتقدت الماضي و “المسائل الحساسة” في تركيا المعاصرة، مثل فيلم Journey to the Sun لمخرجته يسيم أوسطا أوغلو (مواليد 1960) و Future Lasts Forever لمخرجه أوزكان ألبير (مواليد 1975). ومن الجدير بالذكر أيضاً ظهور السينما الألمانية التركية التي أنتجت أفلاماً، مثل Head On لمخرجه فاتح أكين (مواليد 1973)، وأفلام الشتات الكردي (A Song for Beko لمخرجه نظام الدين أريج، مواليد 1956).

المتاحف

بناء أول متحف عثماني عام 1807، المخصص للسلطان إلى أن تمّ فتح أبوابه لعامة الشعب عام 1839. هناك متاحف في مدن عديدة، وأهمها متحف آجيا صوفيا ومتحف علم الآثار في إسطنبول ومتحف الفنون التركية والإسلامية في إسطنبول ومتحف الحضارات الأناضولية (قيد الترميم) في أنقرة. كما تتمتع المواقع التاريخية، مثل أفسس وميليتوس، بمتاحف خاصة بها.

شهدت السنوات العشرون الأخيرة نهضة في بناء المتاحف، احتلت فيها إسطنبول الصدارة (79 متحفاً) وتبعتها إزمير وبورصة (17) ومن ثم عينتاب وإسكيشهر (14) والدردنيل (12) ومرسين (11) وباليكسير وأماصيا (10). وزاد عدد المتاحف الخاصة من 93 عام 2002 إلى 141 عام 2010. كما زاد عدد زوار المتاحف في الفترة ذاتها من 7,422,208 إلى 25,854,341 زائر. ولكن هذه الزيادة تنسب أيضاً إلى نمو السياحة. ومعظم المتاحف متخصصة إما في التاريخ المحلي أو تعظيم الجيش أو حرب الاستقلال.

الرياضة

تعد المصارعة التقليدية من أهم الرياضات التقليدية في تركيا، ولا تزال بطولاتها تقام على الرغم من قدمها. كما أن للرياضات الحديثة، مثل كرة السلة والكرة الطائرة، شعبيتها، إلا أنها لا تستطيع أن تجاري رياضة كرة القدم التي يشترك فيها عدد من فرق إسطنبول (مثل نادي غلاطا سراي ونادي فنربختشة ونادي بشيكتاش) والمحافظات (ومنهم طرابزونسبور). ودائماً ما تشعل كرة القدم نار الحماس في مشجعيها وتثير التطرف القومي. يتسم تاريخ كرة القدم التركية في السنوات الأخيرة بعدد من الفضائح التي تتعلق بشكل خاص بالتلاعب بنتائج المباريات لقاء الملايين من الدولارات.

إقرأ المزيد

نظراً لكون المتاحف مدعومة من قبل الدولة إلى حدٍ كبير أو مجانية للمواطنين الأتراك، فمن الواضح أن أهمية ربط الأتراك بماضي البلا...
في الوقت الذي أصبح فيه الحمّام موضعاً للهوس الجنسي في الثقافة الغربية، الذي غالباً ما كان يتم التعبير عنه بتزيينه "الغريب" برس...
باعتبارها واحدة من أقدم أشكال التعبير الثقافي في بلاد ما بين النهرين، ينبغي إضافة غناء الروايات (dengbej) إلى قائمة اليونسكو للتر...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Kobby Dagan ©Shutterstock

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Turkey / Society, Media & Culture / Culture

Culture

Wedding party in Ankara / Photo Shutterstock
Wedding party in Ankara / Photo Shutterstock

Contents

Classic Literature
Modern Literature
Music and Dance
Traditional Arts

Fine Arts
Architecture
Popular Culture
Theatre and Films
Museums
Sports

Over the centuries successive civilizations have left their mark on Anatolia. Turkey’s impressive architecture, across the country, bears testimony to its rich past, and visitors can admire many artefacts in Turkey’s museums – and in many museums abroad. Modern Turkish music and literature enjoy worldwide acclaim, yet the international public is yet to discover the Turkish film industry.

Classic Literature

The term ‘classical’ refers to two types of literature, scholarly and popular, that appeared before the Westernization process that reached its peak during the reforms of the Tanzimat (1839-1876). The first type, known as the divan literature (Divan Edebiyatı) (Ottoman poetry) and strongly influenced by the Arabic and Persian languages from which it draws its vocabulary and style, is best expressed in poetry. Court poetry, consisting of stanzas of two or four lines rich in allegory, is the essence of this literature and focuses on skilfully composed rhymes and measures. Baki (1526-1600), Fuzuli (c.1483-1556), Nedim (c.1681-1730), and Nefi (1572-1635) are considered pioneers of this literature, whose golden age was in the 16th century. Nefi is especially known for his satirical poetry. Şeyh Galip (1757-1798) is considered the last of the great classical poets. Prose required important intellectual and encyclopaedic resources. It narrates journeys, as in the case of the book Seyahatname by Evliya Çelebi (1611-1682) and the chronicles of historians Mehmet Neșri (died c.1520) and Mustafa Naima (1655-1716). Finally, the political-historical treatises, which evoke the stories of princes, such as those by Koçi Bey (died 1650) and Katip Çelebi (1609-1657), are considered part of this type of classic literature.

The classic popular literature, of which Yunus Emre (c.1240-c.1321) is considered a pioneer, is distinguished by the accessibility of its language and its references, which are often of Sufi origin. Beginning with the challenges of the Alevi or Qizilbash communities in the 16th century against the relatively egalitarian Turkmen tribes and inspired by the messianic Persian Shiites in the Ottoman Empire, this poetry also emphasized the doctrine of vahdet-i vücud (unity of existence), opposed by the Sunni religious establishment, which gave birth to the Alevi oral literature, as exemplified by the work of the 19th-century mystic poet Edib Harabi (1853-1917): ‘While God and the universe did not exist We have created and proclaimed them to be. While there was still no space worthy of Him We welcomed God into our home as a guest. He did not have a name yet. What am I saying? He did not even exist. He had neither clothes nor appearance. We gave Him form to make Him human.’

Modern Literature

The history of modern literature can be divided into two periods separated by a wide gap corresponding to the Kemalist era, which produced only a few important works. The first period covers the last decades of the 19th century, which can be called, according to famous writer Ahmed Hamdi Tanpınar (1901-1962) and sociologist Hilmi Ziya Ülken (1901-1974) ‘the rift’. Many authors of this period, such as İbrahim Şinasi (1826-1871), Ziya Paşa (1825-1880) , and Namık Kemal (1840-1888), known as ‘the heroes of freedom’, introduced the ideas of freedom and fatherland and practiced social criticism. However, the Westernization process led to what Ülken described as a ‘dual personality’, represented by authors such as Ahmed Midhat (1842-1912), Sami Paşazade Sezai (1859-1936), and Recaizade Mahmud Ekrem (1847-1914), who expressed their discomfort with their ‘oriental’ being and their ‘Western’ ‘non-being’, and a deep melancholy regarding the abyss that awaits them. The end of this period witnessed the birth of the modern poetry that spanned from Tevfik Fikret (1867-1915) – atheist and freethinker who rebelliously praised the attempt on the life of Sultan Abdülhamid II (which the ‘Red Sultan’ survived) – to Mehmed Akif Ersoy (1873-1936), a proponent of the neo-Salafi movement at the turn of the 20th century.

The period of the Committee of Union and Progress (1908-1918) was marked by the birth of anationalist literature, popularized in a language mastered by authors such as Ömer Seyfettin (1844-1920), Mehmed Emin Yurdakul (1869-1944), Ziya Gökalp (1876-1924), and Yakup Kadri Karaosmanoğlu (1889-1974). With few exceptions – such as Nazım Hikmet (1902-1963) and Sabahattin Ali (1907-1948), the first forced into exile, the other murdered – the Kemalist decades (1923-1945) were marked by a literature of nationalist propaganda, dedicated mainly to the deification of the Eternal Leader.

At the end of single-party rule, a new period of Turkish literature began, with the emergence of a popular ‘peasant’ style sensitive both to traditions and legends and to past tragedies, as seen in the work of Fakir Baykurt (1929-1999), Dursun Akçam (1930-2003), and Yaşar Kemal (born 1923). These prose works find their counterpart in poetry such as the ‘Blue Cruises’ (Azra Erhat, 1915-1982), Sabahattin Eyüboğlu, (1908-1973) inspired by Anatolia. In the 1960s, a new melancholic style reflecting the disappointment of a generation of Westernized intellectuals emerged in the works of Sevgi Soysal (1936-1976), Adalet Ağaoğlu (born 1929), and Oğuz Atay (1934-1977); the latter defines Turkish intellectuals as ‘the disconnected’, a species that cannot hold onto anything and is therefore condemned to fall. It was on the foundation of this rich heritage that the 1990-2000 generation emerged, including Elif Şafak (born 1971), author of The Bastard of Istanbul, (written in English), that created a scandal around the denial of the Armenian Genocide (and Orhan Pamuk (born 1952), the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2006 and explored both Ottoman history (My Name is Red) and the recent history characterized by violence (Cevdet Bey and His Sons, The Black Book, and Snow). Finally, after a long period of interdiction, Kurdish literature was reborn in exile in Europe and then in Turkey itself. One of its most important figures is Mehmed Uzun (1953-2007). The same period witnessed the birth of a new type of Turkish literature, written by Armenian authors (such as Mıgırdiç Margosyan, born 1938) and Jewish authors (such as Roni Margulies, born 1955).

 

Music and Dance

Music in Turkey is varied, including an old double tradition of türkü (folk songs) and şarki (lit. ‘Eastern’, light songs, often for the court). Considered degenerate and of Byzantine or Arabic origin, these songs were banned between 1934 and 1943. They have gained great popularity in the last few decades, not as the ‘authentic’ genre appreciated by the elite, but as the arabesque genre, combining traditional, Westernized popular instrumental styles. Singers such as Orhan Gencebay (born 1944) and İbrahim Tatlıses (born 1952), who are popular with the public, are two stars of fusion music.

There are several other styles besides the unrivalled arabesque music, including pop (e.g., Tarkan Tevetoğlu, born 1972), rap, which became popular in the 1990s, and protest music, such as that performed by the left-wing GrupYorum (‘Interpretation Group’). Protest music carries on a tradition beginning with Ruhi Su (1912-1985), a former opera singer who performed mystical and Alevi songs but also proved himself a creator of new musical styles, inspired by European and Latin American protest styles. This music is a part of a wider folkloric corpus, including popular dances. Finally, several groups, such as Kardeş türküler (Songs of Fraternity) are trying to ‘revive’ Anatolian folksong by performing Armenian, Greek, Sephardic, and Kurdish songs.

Western classical music was considered by the Kemalist authority the only music reflecting the ‘Turkish spirit’; the State Opera and Ballet, a public agency, operates six operas (Ankara, Istanbul, Izmir, Mersin, Antalya, and Samsun) and organizes several festivals. Despite a loyal audience and the emergence of several pianists on the international scene, such as İdil Biret (born 1941) and Fazıl Say (born 1970), Western classical music has played a minor role on the Turkish music scene.

Traditional Arts

Turkey is rich in traditional handicrafts, particularly textiles and lace, jars, wood, copper, porcelain, ceramic and earthenware, glass, and stone. Several sites such as Beypazarı and Trabzon are famous for their work in silver and gold. Several sites specialize in tapestry (carpets and the famous kilims).

The Esnaf ve Sanatkarlarır (Craftsmen and Tradesmen) department of the TİSK confederation had, in 2008, around two million members, which shows the importance of this sector in most parts of the country. Most of the crafts are intended for internal consumption, but there is also a great demand for these crafts among tourists.

Fine Arts

The fine arts in Turkey have been evolving for more than a century. This new style of representation, illustration, and expression, of Western inspiration, goes back to the end of the Ottoman Empire. It was given a real impetus by the oriental work of Osman Hamdi Bey (1842-1910), known also as the founder of Turkish museology. Under the Kemalist republic, painters trying to escape the official aesthetics dedicated entirely to the celebration of the nation and its ‘father’ Mustafa Kemal – such as Zeki Kocamemi (1900-1959), Ali Çelebi (1904-1993), Refik Epikman (1902-1974), Bedri Rahmi Eyüboğlu (1911-1975), Fikret Mualla (1903-1967), Nuri İyem (1915-2005), and İbrahim Balaban (born 1921) – devoting themselves to abstract styles or folkloric and popular styles. In the 1960s and the 1970s, a new style, combining the engaged art and the elitist aesthetics emerged in the works of artists such as Orhan Taylan (born 1941) and Ferit Öngören (1932-2010). Over the past two decades, many universities, including Mimar Sinan University, Yıldız Technical University (Istanbul), and Dokuz Eylül University (Izmir), have developed art courses, and many museums and galleries dedicated exclusively to Turkish or foreign fine arts have opened their doors in Istanbul (e.g., the Istanbul Museum of Modern Art, the Mimar Sinan University Museum of Fine Arts, and the Elgiz Museum of Contemporary Art). Some young artists, such as Ayşeygül Yeşilnil, Esra Meral Demircan, and İlker Basırlı, whose works combine traditional craft with modern art or integrate several artistic disciplines (e.g., painting and sculpture with the performing arts or music) also began to gain recognition in Europe.

Architecture

To understand the variety of architectural styles in Turkey, we can begin with the pre-Islamic heritage, of which Hagia Sophia (or Aya Sofya) (built in 532-537) and the current Kariye Museum (Church of the Holy Saviour in Chora, built in 534) are among the finest examples. The architecture of the Seljuk Turks, which is rather modest, is to be seen in many cities in the Central Anatolia region. Ottoman architecture, known for its grandeur and exemplified by the works of the famous architect Mimar Sinan (1489-1588), continues these legacies but exceeds them in scale and ambition. Sinan’s work was adapted by other architects, such as Sedefkar Mehmed Agha, who built the famous Blue Mosque in Istanbul between 1609 and 1616. Istanbul witnessed a true architectural revolution in the 18th and 19th centuries, which combined many (especially Western) styles; the Dolmabahçe Palace (1842-1853) and Istanbul University (originally the War Ministry, 1833) are among the most significant examples.

The period of the republic which draws its inspiration from European (especially Italian) styles, has an architecture of grandeur, of which the mausoleum of Atatürk, the famous Anıtkabir (built between 1944 and 1953), is both culmination and transcendence. During this period, People’s Houses and statues with nationalist themes were built in the main square of every large city.

Few works mark the architectural history of post-Kemalist Turkey – numerous American-style malls, housing blocks, and the imposing but unoriginal towers that overlook Istanbul.

Popular Culture

In a country that has been the scene of many socio-economic and political changes in the past several decades, it is difficult to provide benchmarks for ‘popular culture’. From the appearance of recording studios in the 1950s to the explosion of television channels from 1990 to 2000, the notion of popular culture has nearly lost its meaning. Bard festivals have disappeared, as have traditional performances, such as those of Karagöz and Hacivat, the lead characters of the shadow plays that were especially popular during Ramadan but ceased to be ‘popular’ and instead became ‘elitist’ and required significant public subsidies for their maintenance. The same is true of the rich heritage of popular dance; folk dance is repressed by the government or highly politicized by the left- and right-wing parties, the Alevi movement, or Kurdish organizations.

There are three additional registers in present-day popular culture: classic songs performed in a pop style (as by the famous Zeki Müren, 1931-1996); the arabesque, which has been the most common music since the 1960s, performed by singers such as İbrahim Tatlıses (born 1952) and Ferdi Tayfur (born 1945); and television series. Most TV series are soap operas, in which the transgression of moral standards – from demonstrations of homosexuality, to extramarital relationships or adultery – is allowed. They adapted the Brazilian telenovelas of the 1990s with great success, particularly in the Arab world and the Balkans. There are also highly politicized series, such as the famous Valley of the Wolves, an ultranationalist and anti-Semitic series featuring men working behind the scenes and undercover for ‘the country and the nation’ in the war against internal enemies (e.g., the Kurdish movement, minorities, and ‘traitor’ politicians) or foreign enemies (the United States, Israel).

Theatre and Film

There are many public (currently being privatized) and private theatre groups that are sometimes politically engaged, especially in Istanbul. The Turkish ‘sixth art’ has among its historical actors of the Ottoman Empire, such as Güllü Agop (1840-1902) and modern actors, including Genco Erkal (born 1938), Haldun Dormen (born 1928), Toto Karaca (1912-1992), Levent Kırca (born 1948), Müşfik Kenter (born 1932), Adile Naşit (1930-1987), Ali Poyrazoğlu (born 1943), and Gülriz Sururi (born 1929).

Turkey is well known for its films. The emergence of Yeşilçam (the local Cinecittà) in the 1960s popularized Turkish cinema, which became, with the help of Yılmaz Güney (1937-1984), director of films such as Hope, Friend, The Herd, and Yol (Palme d’Or, Cannes, 1982), a real political weapon.

Güney’s style dominated Turkish cinema long after its disappearance, but in the early 21st century, new artistic creations influenced by the New Wave and filmmakers such as Andrei Tarkovsky, appeared, as in Uzak by Nuri Bilge Ceylan (born 1959). The political aspect is not as clearly expressed in these films, but they look critically at the past and the ‘sensitive issues’ of contemporary Turkey, as in the Journey to the Sun by Yeşim Ustaoğlu (born 1960) and Future Lasts Forever by Özcan Alper (born 1975). Also noteworthy is the emergence of the Turkish-German cinema, especially Head On by Fatih Akin (born 1973) and Kurdish diaspora films (A Song for Beko by Nizamettin Ariç, born 1956).

Museums

The first Ottoman museum, created in 1807, was reserved to the sultan until it was opened to the public in 1839. Many cities have museums, but the most important are the Aya Sofya (or Hagia Sophia), the Istanbul Archaeological Museum, and the Turkish and Islamic Arts Museum in Istanbul, and the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations (under renovation) in Ankara. Historical sites such as Ephesus and Miletus have their own museums.

The past twenty years have witnessed the rapid creation of museums, with Istanbul in the lead (79), followed by Izmir and Bursa (17), Gaziantep and Eskişehir (14), Dardanelles (12), Mersin (11), and Balıkesir and Amasya (10). The number of private museums increased from 93 in 2002 to 141 in 2010. Museum attendance increased in the same period from 7,422,208 to 25,854,341, but this is also linked to the growth of tourism. Most museums are devoted either to local history or to the glorification, in a nationalist spirit, of the Army or the War of Independence.

Sports

The most important traditional sport, now somewhat outdated but still celebrated in festival competitions, is traditional wrestling (güreş). Modern sports, such as basketball and volleyball, are also popular, but they cannot compete with football, which involves several teams of Istanbul (including Galatasaray, Fenerbahçe, and Beşiktaş) and the provinces (including Trabzonspor). Football always brings out passion, including the mobilization of ultra-nationalists. The history of Turkish football has been marked in recent years by scandals, especially match-fixing involving millions of dollars.

Further Reading

With museums largely subsidised or free for Turkish citizens, the importance of connecting Turks with the country’s past is obviously valued. Yet as museums increasingly become a political and ideological battle-ground, history ...
As one of the oldest cultural expressions in Mesopotamia, dengbej should be added to the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage. This is according to opera singer Pervin Chakar, who has started a petition to gather support fo...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Kobby Dagan ©Shutterstock



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!