فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / تقليد رواية القصص الكردية بالغناء يخطو أولى خطواته في طريقٍ طويل نحو إعتراف اليونسكو

تقليد رواية القصص الكردية بالغناء يخطو أولى خطواته في طريقٍ طويل نحو إعتراف اليونسكو

باعتبارها واحدة من أقدم أشكال التعبير الثقافي في بلاد ما بين النهرين، ينبغي إضافة غناء الروايات (dengbej) إلى قائمة اليونسكو للتراث الثقافي غير المادي، وذلك بحسب مطربة الأوبرا بيرفن تشكار، التي بدأت بتوقيع عريضة لجمع الدعم ورفع الوعي بأهمية تقليد غناء الروايات، وهو تقليد كردي قديم لرواية القصص. وفي هذا الصدد، قالت تشكار، وهي كردية الأصل وتعيش في ألمانيا وتقدم عروضاً في جميع أنحاء أوروبا، لـفَنَك، “جمع التواقيع ليس سوى جزء من الحملة. أريد التعاون مع المعاهد الموسيقية والثقافية لتحقيق ذلك.”

من الصعب تحديد عمر تقليد غناء الروايات الحقيقي، بيد أنه يعود بالتأكيد إلى ما قبل الإسلام. ففي الأيام الخوالي، كان المغنون الرواة يتجولون بين البلدات والقرى ويشاركون قصص الحب والموت والنضال والسياسة. كان هذا التقليد وسيلةً لإبقاء الناس على اطلاعٍ بالأحداث والتطورات في المجتمع ولكن أيضاً لنقل القصص التاريخية والأساطير إلى الأجيال القادمة. يمكن للمرء القول أن المغني الراوي هو تعبير رئيسي عن الأسلوب الشفهي الذي حافظت من خلاله الثقافة الكردية على بقائها. وعلى حد تعبير تشكار، “لولا المغنين الرواة، لربما اختفت ثقافتنا.”

نشأت تشكار في بلدة ديريك الصغيرة في مقاطعة ماردين، جنوب شرق تركيا. وقالت إن المغنين الرواة كانوا جزءاً من حياتها، وبحسب قولها “في طفولتي، كان جدي يستمع دائماً إلى المغنين الرواة العظماء على الراديو أو على المسجل. كان هذا أيضاً حال العديد من الأكراد.”

لا بد أن هذا التصرف كان محفوفاً بالمخاطر بالنسبة لجدها لأن تشكار كانت طفلة في الثمانينات، إذ لم تكن الثقافة الكردية حرة في تاريخ الجمهورية التركية، التي تأسست عام 1923، ولكن بعد الانقلاب العسكري عام 1980، وصل القمع إلى مستوياتٍ جديدة. فقد كان مجرد التحدث باللغة الكردية قد يزج بك في السجن، ناهيك عن المشاركة في تعبيرات أكثر نشاطاً عن الثقافة الكردية، مثل غناء الروايات. لم يتحسن الوضع حتى نهاية القرن، عندما وصل حزب العدالة والتنمية، الذي يتزعمه الرئيس الحالي رجب طيب أردوغان، إلى السلطة.

انتهزت الحركة الكردية الفرصة لمحاولة إنقاذ هذا التقليد – حيث كان الفن على وشك الانقراض على نحوٍ خطير في ذلك الوقت، إذ كان معظمهم من كبار السن وبعض النساء المسنات الذين لا يزالون يتقنون الطريقة التقليدية لرواية القصص. تركزت الجهود في ديار بكر، أكبر مدينة كردية في جنوب شرق تركيا، حيث تم فتح منزل لغناء الروايات في عام 2007، كما يظهر في الصورة. كان يقع في المركز التاريخي في مبنى تقليدي مع فناء، ومبني من أحجار البازلت السوداء التي تُميّز المدينة. وإن كانت الظروف الجوية مناسبة، يمكن للزوار في أي وقت من اليوم الدخول للمركز حيث سيجدون دوماً بضعة مطربين يجلسون في الفناء، بينما في الأيام الماطرة يتواجدون في الغرف المفروشة بالفرش التقليدي في الداخل.

وعلى الرغم من الإشارة إلى أولئك الفنانيين بـ”المغنين،” إلا أن الأسلوب يتراوح في الواقع بين إلقاء الشعر والغناء. وعادةً، يضع المغني الراوي كف يده مقعراً خلف أذنه. وعندما يجتمع أكثر من مغني، فإنهم عادةً ما يتولون قص روايات بعضهم البعض. يمكن أن تكون القصص التي يتم سردها قديمة أو أكثر حداثة، لكن يتوقع من أفضل المؤدين تقديم قصصٍ جديدة أيضاً، مضيفين التطورات السياسية الحديثة إلى الأغاني الحالية، أو في بعض الأحيان يستخدمون المزاح. يمكن للجلسة الواحدة أن تستغرق من نصف ساعة إلى ساعة أو أكثر من ذلك – كما لم يكن الغناء طوال الليل استثناءً في الأيام الخوالي.

استناداً إلى وصف “التراث الثقافي غير المادي” على موقع اليونسكو، يبدو أنه من غير المحتمل أن لا يتم الإعتراف بتقليد غناء الروايات: ويشمل هذا التقاليد أو أشكال التعبير الحية الموروثة من أسلافنا والتي ستنقل إلى أحفادنا، مثل التقاليد الشفهية، وفنون الأداء، والممارسات الاجتماعية، والطقوس، والمناسبات الاحتفالية، والمعارف والممارسات المتعلقة بالطبيعة والكون، أو المعارف والمهارات المرتبطة بإنتاج الصناعات الحرفية التقليدية. كما ينص وصفٌ أكثر تفصيلاً على أن التراث غير المادي هو، من بين أمور أخرى، “تراث تقليدي ومعاصر وحي في الوقت نفسه” و”تراث قائم على الجماعات.” بمعنى آخر، يجب على المجتمع نفسه أن يعترف بالتقليد باعتباره تراثاً، ولا يمكن فرض هذا من قبل أي شخص خارج المجتمع.

على الرغم من ذلك، هناك صعوبة: يمكن للدول فقط أن تطلب رسمياً إضافة تراثٍ ما إلى قائمة اليونسكو. ففي أيامه الأولى، ربما منح حزب العدالة والتنمية الحاكم الثقافة الكردية بعض الحرية، لكن العديد من هذه “الحريات” تم إلغاؤها. يرجع هذا إلى تجدد العنف في المنطقة منذ عام 2015، عندما انتهت “عملية السلام” التي استمرت ثلاث سنوات. أثر هذا أيضاً على حي سور، حيث يقع منزل هذا التقليد. وعلى الرغم من أن المنزل لا يزال قائماً ويعمل، إلا أن روح إحياء الثقافة الكردية السابقة تضاءلت.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن قلعة ديار بكر وحدائق هوسال أضيفت إلى قائمة اليونسكو للتراث الثقافي في عام 2015. ومع ذلك، فإن القلعة والحدائق ليست كردية على نحوٍ خاص ولكنها تعكس التنوع الثقافي والديني الذي يمثل تاريخ المنطقة. إن غناء الروايات ليس فقط تراثاً غير مادي ولكنه أيضاً تراث كردي خالص أيضاً، ولطالما كان له جانبٌ سياسي – فالعديد من الأغاني تشهد على الصراع الكردي.

وبإلقاء نظرةٍ على قائمة التراث الثقافي غير المادي يظهر أنه حتى الآن ترتبط جميع المشاركات من تركيا بالثقافة التركية، باستثناء عيد النوروز، وهو مهرجان ربيعي يتم الاحتفال به في غرب آسيا. ويبدو من غير المحتمل أن تبدي تركيا على المدى القصير أي اهتمام بترويج تقليد غناء الروايات لليونسكو. بل إن تشكار على علمٍ بذلك غير أنها تقول إن العريضة غير سياسية بالمطلق وأنها تعتزم التحدث إلى مؤسسات الدولة حول هدفها.

ومع ذلك، تركز حالياً على الخطوات الأولى لطريقٍ طويل: إلى جانب تقديم الإلتماسات، تحاول إقامة روابط مع المؤسسات الثقافية والفنانين الذين يرغبون في الترويج لهذا التقليد أيضاً، لبناء تحالفٍ بأكبر حجمٍ ممكن، ومدعومٍ من قبل أكبر عددٍ ممكن من المواطنين يمكنها الوصول إليهم، وبحسب قولها “أقوم بذلك من أعماق قلبي، وآمل أن ينضم آخرون. جميعنا نحب ثقافة غناء الروايات.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: AHMAD AL-RUBAYE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Turkey / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Kurdish Storytelling Tradition Takes First Steps on Long Road to UNESCO Recognition

Kurdish Storytelling Tradition Takes First Steps on Long Road to UNESCO Recognition

As one of the oldest cultural expressions in Mesopotamia, dengbej should be added to the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage. This is according to opera singer Pervin Chakar, who has started a petition to gather support for and raise awareness about the importance of dengbej, an ancient Kurdish storytelling tradition. Chakar, who is originally Kurdish, lives in Germany and performs all over Europe, told Fanack, “Collecting signatures is only part of the campaign. I want to cooperate with music and cultural institutes to make this happen.”

Dengbej’s real age is hard to determine, but it is certainly pre-Islamic. In the old days, dengbej singers would travel to towns and villages and share stories of love and death, struggle and politics. It was a way to keep people informed about events and developments in society but also to pass on historical stories and myths to next generations. Dengbej is, one could say, a key expression of the oral way in which Kurdish culture has always been kept alive. As Chakar put it, “Without the dengbej singers, maybe our culture would have vanished.”

Chakar grew up in the small town of Derik in Mardin province, south-east Turkey. Dengbej was part of her life, she said. “In my childhood, my grandfather always listened to the great dengbej singers on the radio or on his stereo. It was the same for many Kurds.”

It must have been risky for her grandfather because Chakar was a child in the 1980s. Kurdish culture has never been free in the history of the Turkish Republic, which was founded in 1923, but after the military coup of 1980, the suppression reached new levels. Just speaking Kurdish could land you in jail, let alone being involved in more active expressions of Kurdish culture, like dengbej. The situation did not improve until the turn of the century, when the Justice and Development Party (AKP), already led by now President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, first came to power.

The Kurdish movement took the opportunity to try to save dengbej – the art was dangerously close to extinction at the time, with mostly elderly men and a few elderly women still mastering the typical way of telling stories. The efforts were concentrated in Diyarbakir, the biggest Kurdish city in south-east Turkey, where in 2007 a dengbej house was opened, pictured here. It was located in the historical centre in a traditional building with a courtyard, built out of the black basalt stones that are so typical of the city. Weather allowing, at any time of the day, visitors can enter and will always find a few singers in the courtyard, or, on rainy days, in the traditionally furnished rooms inside.

Although the performers are referred to as ‘singers’, the style actually falls between reciting and singing. Typically, the dengbej singer keeps his – sometimes her – hand cupped behind his ear. When more dengbej singers are together, they usually take over each other’s stories. The stories being told can be old or more recent, but the best performers are expected to introduce new storylines as well, adding recent political developments into existing songs, or occasionally a joke. A proper dengbej session can easily take half an hour, an hour or even longer – singing through the night reportedly was no exception in the old days.

Based on the description of ‘intangible cultural heritage’ on UNESCO’s website, it seems unlikely that dengbej will not be recognized: such heritage encompasses traditions or living expressions inherited from ancestors and passed on to descendants, such as oral traditions, performing arts, social practices, rituals, festive events, knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe or the knowledge and skills to produce traditional crafts. A more detailed description states that intangible heritage is, among others, ‘traditional, contemporary and living at the same time’ and ‘community based’. In other words, the community itself must recognize the tradition as its heritage and this cannot be imposed by anybody outside the community.

There is a difficulty though: only states can officially request that a heritage be added to the UNESCO list. In its early days, the ruling AKP may have given Kurdish culture some leeway, but many of these ‘freedoms’ have since been rescinded. This is due to renewed violence in the region since 2015, when a three-year ‘peace process’ came to an end. This also affected the district of Sur, where the dengbej house is located. Although the house is still standing and functioning, the earlier spirit of reviving Kurdish culture waned.

It should be noted that the Diyarbakir Fortress and Hevsel Gardens were added to the UNESCO list of cultural heritage in 2015. However, the fortress and gardens are not particularly Kurdish but a reflection of the cultural and religious diversity that marks the region’s history. Dengbej is not just intangible heritage but explicitly Kurdish heritage too, and it has always had a political side – many songs testify to the Kurdish struggle.

A check of the list of intangible cultural heritage shows that, so far, all entries from Turkey are connected to Turkish culture, except Newroz, a spring festival celebrated across Western Asia. It seems unlikely that Turkey will in the short term show any interest in promoting dengbej to UNESCO. Chakar is aware of this but says that her petition is strictly apolitical and that she intends to speak to state institutions about its goal.

She is now focusing on the first steps of the long process: besides the petitions, she is trying to establish links with cultural foundations and artists that would be interested in promoting dengbej as well, to build a coalition that is as big as possible, supported by as many citizens as she can reach. “I do this with my heart, and I hope others will join. We all love dengbej culture,” she said.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ AHMAD AL-RUBAYE

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.