فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / المرأة

المرأة

إسطنبول / Photo Fanack
إسطنبول / Photo Fanack

وفق تقديرات أخيرة، تبلغ نسبة النساء العاملات اللواتي يتقاضين أجراً 30% من إجمالي اليد العاملة، وتُضاف إليهن اللواتي يعملن في القطاع غير الرسمي ولا يتقاضين أجراً، في شركات عائلية أو الإنتاج الزراعي. وضع النساء في تركيا متناقض ولا يمكن تفسيره فقط بـ “النظام الأبوي” أو “وضع المرأة في الإسلام” أو حتى “تحرير المرأة في عهد النظام الكمالي“؛ فالمرأة حاضرة في المهن التي تتطلب كفاءات عالية بنسبة 30-40% (طبيبات وعاملات في حقل العلوم)، غير أنها تكاد تكون غائبة في القوى العاملة للطبقة الوسطى الدنيا. يُفسر التمثيل الفائض للنساء في الوظائف التي تتطلب مؤهلات عالية إما بالفروقات الطبقية – حيث ترسل الأسر الميسورة بناتها إلى مؤسسات تعليمية ذات اعتبار – أو بـ “رأس المال الثقافي” المكتسب بمجهود شخصي، مما يتيح لبعض النساء إمكانية مواصلة تحصيلهنّ العلمي؛ وبالتالي رفض الزواج المبكر الذي يفرضه الأهل واكتساب الموارد المهنية التي تتيح لهن التمتع باستقلاليتهنّ. أما الزواج المدبر فيُفرض عادة على النساء اللواتي لم يرثن رأس المال الثقافي هذا أو لم يتمكنّ من الحصول عليه.

لا يستهدف العنف المنزلي النساء حصراً. إذ تظهر الدراسة أنّ استخدام العنف ضد المرأة مقبولاً في المجتمع، وحتّى بين النساء أنفسهن. والأرقام مثيرة للقلق: وفق جمعية حقوق الإنسان في إسطنبول، تعرضت 4,190 امرأة للقتل في الفترة الممتدة بين العامين 2005 و 2009، بعضهنّ ضحايا “جرائم الشرف”. ولا يتم الإعلان رسمياً سوى عن 500-600 حالة اغتصاب في السنة؛ غير أنّ هذا الرقم – وحتى من دون التطرق إلى حالات سفاح القربى – لا يعكس الواقع في هذه المسألة الحساسة.

ينتج عن هذه المعلومات الهامة، التي غالباً ما يتم حذفها من التحليلات التي تتناول قضية المرأة في تركيا (وفي العديد من المجتمعات الإسلامية الأخرى)، نتائج مختلفة. فعلى سبيل المثال، قادت البلاد رئيسة وزراء في الفترة الممتدة بين العامين 1993 و 1995، وهي تانسو تشيلر (مواليد 1946)، التي دعمت موقف الدولة تجاه القضية الكردية، وقد حظيت باحترام وتأييد مجموعة من جنرالات الجيش. كما ترأست السيدة أوميت بوينر (مواليد 1963) جمعية الصناعيين ورجال الأعمال التركية التي تمثل الطبقة البورجوازية في إسطنبول. لكن بعيداً عن هذه الحالات النادرة، هناك حضور قليل للمرأة في الحياة السياسية، حتى ولو كان عددهن في ازدياد (13 عام 1995، و 23 عام 1999 و 24 عام 2002). عام 2007، بلغ عدد النساء في البرلمان 50 (9% من العدد الإجمالي)، وارتفع ليبلغ 75 عام 2011 (14%)، ومن بينهن 11 ينتمين إلى اللائحة الكردية الممثلة بـ 35 نائب فقط (بين رجال ونساء)، 6 منهم في السجن.

يفترض الوضع الراهن إعادة النظر في مسألة المرأة في تركيا. وفق الشاعر القومي محمد أمين يورداكول (1869-1944)، مالت القومية في العقد الأول من القرن العشرين إلى “وضع المرأة في قلب الدولة”. ووفق الباحثة الاجتماعية التركية نازان أكسوي، كانت الصلاحيات السياسية الممنوحة للمرأة في عهد الكماليين محدودة: “على الرغم من أن حركة التحديث في تركيا تقوم على الفرد، إلا أن ما يُطلب من المرأة بعيد كل البعد عن أن تصبح فردأ مستقلاً… والعامل الأساسي الذي يهدد استقلالية المرأة هو أن الخطاب الوطني المطلوب لبناء دولة جديدة كان ذكورياً”. وتشاطر الباحثة الاجتماعية شيرين تيكيلي زميلتها أكسوي الرأي، وتقول في هذا الصدد: “في خطابه الموجّه إلى المرأة، شدد ]أتاتورك[ على أنّ واجب المرأة الأسمى هو الأمومة”. لا يمكن لقرويات الأناضول، اللواتي يُعتبرن مثالاً لـ “الإيثار”، ولا للعاملات النخبة تجنب أن يصبحن أمهات. وبالتالي، أصبحت رسالة الكماليين مبهمة أو حتى متعارضة: فمن أجل تعظيم دور الأمومة، لم تطالب ببساطة بالتقاليد القديمة فحسب، وإنما أيضاً دعت إلى تعزيزها بواسطة خطابات وممارسات إيديولوجية. فالمرأة التي حظيت بالتشجيع على التحرر من دورها المعتاد، طولبت بالتنازل عن طموحاتها في العمل كي لا تتفوّق على الرجل”.

مع أن الأنوثة في تركيا مسيسة وتستقطب العديد من الحركات، من الإسلامية إلى الاجتماعية ومن الأتاتوركية إلى الكردية، إلا أنها تبقى موضع نزاع، وبخاصة محاربة العنف ضد المرأة. تعمل منظمات عديدة، مثل Mor Çatı (السقف البنفسجي، وهي مؤسسة تعنى بالمسائل المرتبطة بحقوق المرأة) كقنوات تعبر النساء من خلالها عن مطالباتهنّ وكملاجئ لحماية النساء ضحايا العنف المنزلي أو الزوجي.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Turkey / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Women

Women

Istanbul / Photo Fanack
Istanbul / Photo Fanack

According to recent estimates, 30 percent of the women in the labour force are wage earners; added to that are women in the informal sector who work without pay in family businesses or agricultural production. The situation of women in Turkey is a paradox that cannot be explained solely by patriarchal family structures or the status of women in Islam, or, conversely, by the emancipation of women under the Kemalist state: women are omnipresent in skilled occupations, at a rate of 30-40 percent (e.g., doctors and scientists), but they are mostly absent from the middle- and lower-class workforce. The over-representation of women in skilled occupations is explained by class distinctions – wealthy families send their daughters to prestigious educational institutions – or by a ‘cultural capital’ built by personal commitment, making it possible for some women to go far in their education; this allows them to refuse early marriage imposed by the parents and garner the professional resources that enable them to enjoy their autonomy. Arranged marriages are for those women who do not inherit or fail to acquire this cultural capital.

Domestic violence targets especially, but not exclusively, women. Surveys show that the legitimacy of violence against women is largely internalized in society, even among women. The figures are alarming: the Istanbul branch of the Human Rights Association reports that 4,190 women were killed between 2005 and 2009, some of them as victims of ‘honour crimes’. Only 500-600 rape cases are officially reported each year, but this figure – even leaving aside cases of incest – is far from reflecting the reality of this sensitive issue.

Between 1993 and 1995, the country was led by a female Prime Minister, Tansu Çiller (born 1946), a hard-line supporter of the state’s position on the Kurdish issue who was respected and supported by a cohort of male generals. The Turkish Industry and Business Association, representing the bourgeoisie of Istanbul, is chaired by a woman, Ümit Boyner (born 1963). Aside from these symbolic figures, however, there are few women in politics, even if their numbers in Parliament are increasing (13 in 1995, 23 in 1999, and 24 in 2002). In 2007, there were 50 women in Parliament (9 percent of the total) and, in 2011, 78 (14 percent), including eleven belonging to the Kurdish List represented by only 35 deputies (men and women), six of whom are in prison.

These issues require us to reconsider women’s issues in Turkey. In the words of Mehmet Emin Yurdakul (1869-1944), a national poet, nationalism in the 1910s wanted to ‘place women at the heart of the country’. According to Turkish sociologist Nazan Aksoy, the political power granted to women under Kemalism was limited: ‘Although the individual is the basis of Turkish modernization, what we ask of women is in no way to become an independent individual entity. (…) The main factor that threatens the autonomy of women lies in the fact that the nationalist discourse required for building a new nation was “masculine”‘. Sociologist Şirin Tekeli points in the same direction: ‘In his speech to women [Atatürk] strongly emphasized that the most sacred duty of women is maternity. Neither the Anatolian peasant women who are considered a model of “altruism” nor the elite working women could avoid becoming a mother. The Kemalist message thus became vague and even contradictory: to glorify the maternal role, it did not simply call for old traditions but also sought to strengthen them through ideological speech and practice. Women who were encouraged to abandon their usual role were required to lower their ambitions in the work environment so as not to surpass men.’

Although feminism in Turkey is politicized and polarized between several movements, from Islamist to socialist and from Atatürkist to Kurdish, it remains combative, particularly in the fight against violence against women. Many organizations, such as Mor Çatı (Purple Roof, a shelter foundation) serve as channels for women to express their demands and as a place of refuge and protection for female victims of domestic violence or other abuse.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!