فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / الشباب

الشباب

الشباب التركي بجانب القرن الذهبي مضيق البوسفور(Photo by Ozan KOSE / AFP)

يشير الانخفاض السريع في معدل الولادات (حتى 2,3 في 2010) إلى احتمال زيادة عدد السكان المسنين بحلول عام 2040. لكن في نهاية العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين، كانت تركيا من أكثر دول أوراسيا شباباً، مما يفسر حيويتها الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والثقافية الواضحة. الأهمية العددية للسكان الشباب – الذي يمكن تفسيره بالتحضر في العقود الأخيرة، والذي رافقه تحسن في الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والصحية وتوفير خدمات عديدة في المناطق الريفية – يثير ثلاث قضايا تتعلق بوضعهم الاجتماعي وحريتهم ودورهم السياسي.

أولاً، من الواضح أن الشباب محرومون من وسائل العيش والاستقلالية: وفق معهد الإحصاء التركي، والذي موثوقيته مشكوك فيها، لم تطل البطالة سوى 18,4% من الشباب مقارنة بـ 10,4% من مجموع السكان؛ غير أنّ مصادر رسمية أخرى تقدر هذه النسبة بـ 26%.

ثانياً، من الواضح أن التحفظ الاجتماعي الزائد الموجود في تركيا منذ عدة عقود يتيح للشباب مجالاً قليلاً للمناورة في بعض مدن المحافظات وأجزاء كبيرة من إسطنبول وأنقرة. وقد يتمكن الشباب من الوصول إلى أماكن غير خاضعة نوعاً ما لهذه القيود – مثل شارع الاستقلال الشهير في إسطنبول وكزلاي في أنقرة وكوردون (منتزه) في أزمير – حيث تتوفر الموارد الثقافية وتسمح بالاختلاط بين النساء والرجال وتناول المشروبات الكحولية. غير أن دخول مثل هذه المناطق الغنية يتطلب موارد مالية تفوق مقدرة العديد من الشباب.

ثالثا،ً لعب الشباب دوراً سياسياً رائداً منذ عام 1950؛ لجأ البعض إلى النزاع المسلح ودفعوا ثمناً باهظاً مقابل التزامهم. لكن مشاركة الشباب المباشرة في الحياة السياسية ضعُفت منذ التسعينات، رغم اعتقال أكثر من 750 شاباً في تموز/يوليو عام 2012 بتهمة “الإرهاب”، التهمة التي توجّه ضد أي شكل من أشكال الالتزام – غالباً ما يكون رمزياً أكثر منه تنظيمياً – في حزب يساري أو الدفاع عن قضايا الأقليات.

لكن في البيئة الكردية، شكل الشباب، الذين تمت تعبئتهم منذ سن المراهقة، العمود الفقري لحزب العمال الكردستاني والتطرف السياسي. كما أنه ليس من باب الصدفة أبداً أن تشهد الحياة السياسية الكردية، التي غذتها سنوات من الصراع، تسليماً متسارعاً للسلطة لجيل الشباب في عقدهم الثالث.

[/two_fifth]

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ozan KOSE ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Turkey / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Youth

Youth

Turkish youth chat next to Bosphorus strait’s Golden horn (Photo by Ozan KOSE / AFP)

According to 2011 data, half of the Turkish population (totalling 79,414,269) is younger than 29 years old.

The rapid decline in birth rate (to 2.3 in 2010) points to the likelihood of an aging population by 2040. At the turn of the 2010s, however, Turkey was one of the demographically youngest countries in Eurasia, which explains its obvious social, economic, and cultural dynamism. The numerical importance of young people – which can be explained by urbanization in recent decades, accompanied by improvements in social, economic, and health conditions and the provision of many services in rural areas – raises three issues, regarding their social status, freedom, and political role.

First, it is clear that young people are largely deprived of the means of livelihood and autonomy: according to the Turkish Statistical Institute, whose reliability is questioned, unemployment affected only 18.4 percent of youth, compared to 10.4 percent of the total population; other official sources, however, put the percentage at 26.

Second, it is clear that the social ultra-conservatism existing for several decades in Turkey gives young people little room for manoeuvre in some provincial towns and in large parts of Istanbul and Ankara. Young people may have access to places that are more or less free of these restrictions – as on the famous İstiklal Avenue in Istanbul, Kızılay in Ankara, and Kordon (an esplanade) in Izmir – where cultural resources are abundant, socialization of men and women is permitted, and alcohol consumption is widely accepted, but access to such upscale areas requires financial resources beyond the reach of many young people.

Third, young people played a leading role in politics since 1950; some resorted to armed struggle and paid a high price for their commitment. Since the 1990s, however, their direct political participation has become less forceful, even though more than 750 were detained in July 2012, charged with ‘terrorism’, a term used to refer to any commitment – often more symbolic than organizational – to a left-wing party or to defending the cause of minorities.

In the Kurdish setting, however, youth, mobilized since their teen years, were the backbone of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party and political militancy. It is no coincidence that the Kurdish politics, fuelled by years of struggle, have also witnessed an accelerated handover of power to the younger generation of people in their thirties.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ozan KOSE ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!