فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / الاقتصاد في الإمارات العربية المتحدة / الاقتصاد المتدهور لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

الاقتصاد المتدهور لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

UAE- Dubai
صورة تم التقاطها في 26 سبتمبر 2018 تُظهر أشخاصاً على شاطىء إمارة دبي. Photo AFP

لا تحبذ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة التحدث عن اقتصادها المتدهور، إذ تعاني إمارة دبي الثرية، على وجه الخصوص، من المتاعب. ففي عام 2018، انخفضت أسعار الشقق الفارهة في منطقة مساكن شاطىء جميرة الفخمة بنسبة 15% عن العام الماضي، في مؤشرٍ واضحٍ على الركود.

كما تراجع سوق الأوراق المالية في البلاد بنسبة 13%. ولكن ربما تكون الحقيقة الأكثر دلالة هي أن دبي لم تصدر سوى 4722 رخصة تجارية جديدة في الربع الثاني من عام 2018، وهو أقل بكثير من 25% عما كان عليه الوضع قبل عامين، عندما كانت التراخيص الجديدة في أعلى مستوياتها على الإطلاق.

وعليه، يقول المسؤولون الإماراتيون إن الركود مؤقت وأن الاقتصاد سيتعافى بمجرد ارتفاع أسعار النفط، إلا أن بعض الخبراء يتوقعون تراجعاً على المدى الطويل، إذ يشيرون إلى أنه في حين كان من المتوقع أن يزيد عدد سكان دبي إلى أكثر من 3 ملايين نسمة هذا العام، إلا أن معظم القادمين الجدد كانوا من العمال منخفضي الأجر في قطاعات البناء أو الخدمات.

فقد قال حسنين مالك، الرئيس العالمي لأبحاث الأسهم والاستراتيجية لدى إكسوتكس كابيتال ومقرها دبي، إنه من الواضح أن صناعات النقل ومناطق الأعمال في دبي لا تجتذب أو تحتفظ بما يكفي من العمال الأجانب في الوظائف الإدارية لدعم سوق العقارات.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن حقيقة أن 90% من سكان دبي من الأجانب هي أيضاً مثيرةٌ للقلق، لأن فقدان الوظائف، في كثيرٍ من القطاعات، يعني غالباً مغادرة البلاد. فقد أدى الارتفاع الشديد في عدد الأشخاص الذين يغادرون البلاد إلى التأثير بشكلٍ كبير على القطاع العقاري. ومع توفر أعداد هائلة من المنازل، ومع انخفاض الطلب، انخفضت أسعار العقارات إلى حدٍ كبير.

كما تعمد شركات التجزئة في دبي إلى تسريح عمالها لتجنب خروجها من سوق العمل. السبب واضح: أعداد أقل من الناس باتوا يتسوقون في المدينة، وحتى أولئك الذين يفعلون، باتوا أكثر حرصاً فيما يتعلق بما ينفقون مما كان الحال عليه في السنوات السابقة. كما تعاني السياحة من مشاكل أيضاً بسبب فائض الفنادق.

وقال مالك فندق هندي لصحيفة آسيا تايمز: “أصحبت المنافسة الآن شديدة، بل إن بعض الفنادق تتقاضى أقل مما هو مطلوب لضمان استمرارها لمجرد البقاء ضمن المنافسة.”

ولم يكشف أيٌ ممن تحدثوا إلى صحيفة آسيا تايمز عن أسمائهم الكاملة، مما يُشير إلى انعدام الحرية في الإمارة والحساسية التي تحيط بمشكلة الاقتصاد.

ومع ذلك، اشتكى غالبيتهم من انخفاض الإجور وارتفاع الأسعار، الذي يرجع إلى ضريبة القيمة المضافة البالغة 5% والتي تم فرضها في أوائل عام 2018. وقبل سنتين، تم فرض رسومٍ للبلدية بنسبة 3% وضريبة الفنادق على السياح بنسبة 10%. ضاعفت هذه الضرائب من التحديات التي يواجهها عمّال الأجور المنخفضة.

وقال سائق سيارة أجرة يدعى كاسير لصحيفة آسيا تايمز: “قالوا إنك إذا ما جئت إلى هنا ستجني الكثير من المال. ولكن هذا ليس صحيح. الحياة صعبة، تعمل طوال الوقت وبعد ذلك في النهاية، وبعد أن تنفق المال على الإيجار، والطعام، والوقود وتعطي شركة سيارات الأجرة حصتها، لا يتبقى لك شيء.”

بينما يُجادل الدكتور عبد الخالق عبد الله، وهو أستاذ بارز في العلوم السياسية من دبي، إن الركود الاقتصادي مبالغ فيه، إذ أشار إلى أن الإمارة تمتلك واحداً من أكثر الاقتصادات تنوعاً ونضجاً في المنطقة. فقد قال لنا في فَنَك أن اقتصاد دبي ينافس اقتصادات نيويورك ولندن، وأن أي ركودٍ ما هو إلا جزءٌ من دورة طبيعية لأي اقتصادٍ نابض بالحياة.
وقال الدكتور عبد الله: “هناك تراجعٌ في الاقتصاد الآن، لكني لا أعتقد أنه يستحق الكثير من القلق.” وأضاف “يرجع هذا التراجع إلى المبادىء الاقتصادية العادية والتوترات الإقليمية والحرب.”

ومع ذلك تحاول الإمارات تخفيف حدة المشكلة، ففي 27 نوفمبر، أعلنت أبو ظبي إيقاف رسوم الترخيص الاقتصادي لمدة عامين، والتخلي عن فرض رسوم البلدية على 75 خدمة وتخفيض الرسوم الأخرى بنسبة 10 إلى 15%. خفض الرسوم هذا مطبقٌ فقط على الأعمال التجارية الشركاتية، وتم تفعيله في الأول من ديسمبر.

وفي حين ينبغي أن تستفيد الشركات في أبو ظبي من هذه الخطوة، يتوقع صندوق النقد الدولي أن تتعافى دبي بشكلٍ أسرع بحلول العام المقبل، أي في الوقت المناسب حيث ستستضيف المدينة معرض إكسبو 2020، تماماً كما يتوقع الدكتور عبد الله.

الوقت وحده كفيلٌ بإثبات ذلك، ولكن وفقاً لتدابير الإمارات العربية المتحدة الخاصة، اتخذت البلاد خطواتٍ جذرية لمحاولة إعادة إحياء الاقتصاد. ففي مايو 2018، سمحت للأجانب بتملّك الأعمال التجارية الخاصة بهم في دبي أو أبو ظبي دون وجود شريكٍ محلي. كما بات بعض المهنيين الأجانب مؤهلون الآن للحصول على تصريح إقامة لمدة 10 سنوات، الأمر الذي لم يكن ممكناً من قبل. ويقول الخبراء إن هذا القرار جزءٌ من تحول أوسعٍ في مجلس التعاون الخليجي للابتعاد عن الاعتماد على الوقود.

فقد قال خاتيجا هاك، رئيس أبحاث منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في بنك الإمارات دبي الوطني، أكبر بنك في دبي: “يجب أن تواكب الإمارات العربية المتحدة التغييرات أو تحافظ على تقدمها إن لم ترغب في أن تفقد ميزتها التنافسية.” وأضاف “عندما كان سعر النفط 100 دولار للبرميل لعدة سنوات لم تكن هناك حاجة كبيرة لجذب الاستثمار الأجنبي. من الواضح أن هذا قد تغير.”

في عام 2017، حققت الإمارات أكثر من 10 مليار دولار من الاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة، وهي أعلى نسبة في أي بلدٍ عربي. ومع ذلك، يدرك حكام الإمارات أن هناك حاجة لمزيد من الاستثمارات للتعويض عن انخفاض أسعار النفط، ولهذا السبب تم إنشاء وحدة خاصة في وزارة الاقتصاد. تم تأسيس الوحدة بموجب مرسوم رئاسي وتم تكليفها باستقطاب المستثمرين الأجانب، فقد أمرت بالفعل بالتعامل مع الشركات الأجنبية كشركاتٍ وطنية، على أمل الحد بشكلٍ كبير من عبء الروتين الحكومي.

وتوقع أحد المطورين في الإمارات، الذي أخبر بلومبرغ أنه ينتظر تحسن السوق قبل البدء في مشروع بقيمة 4 مليارات دولار في البلاد، أن الاقتصاد سيتدهور لبضع سنواتٍ أخرى على الرغم من محاولات المسؤولين الإماراتيين تحسين الاقتصاد على وجه السرعة.

وقال وليد الزعابي، رئيس مجلس إدارة مجموعة تايجر، “الحكومة على دراية بالتحديات والحكام يضعون الأولوية للتنمية الاقتصادية.” وأضاف “هذا أمر إيجابي. لكن الإيجارات انخفضت بنسبة 30% منذ عام 2016 وسيستغرق الأمر عامين أو ثلاثة قبل أن ترتفع الأسعار.”

وأضاف الزعابي أن إحدى الإستراتيجيات التي يمكن للإمارات اعتمادها هي توفير الإقامة الدائمة للمشترين العرب الذين جاءوا إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة من دولٍ قمعية أو ممزقة سياسياً مثل العراق وسوريا ومصر. وشدد على أن العشرات من الموظفين غادروا شركته في السنوات الأخيرة للذهاب إلى ألمانيا أو كندا، على الرغم من قبولهم برواتب منخفضة للغاية. وقال في هذا الصدد، “من المفيد أن تقوم دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بدراسة قوانين الهجرة هذه،” وتابع القول “ينتقل بعض المختصين العرب من الطبقة الوسطى إلى الدول التي تقتطع نصف رواتبهم تقريباً مقابل الضرائب والتعليم والرعاية الصحية وللحصول على المواطنة. يفضل الكثيرون البقاء هنا.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: GIUSEPPE CACACE ©AFP | GIUSEPPE CACACE ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Economy / The UAE’s Flagging Economy

The UAE’s Flagging Economy

UAE- Dubai
A picture taken on September 26, 2018 shows people on the beach in the United Arab Emirate of Dubai. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

The United Arab Emirates, or UAE, doesn’t like to talk about its flagging economy. The wealthy emirate of Dubai is particularly in trouble. In 2018, the prices of luxury apartments in its posh Jumeirah Beach Residence district were down 15 percent from a year ago, a clear indicator of recession.

The country’s stock market has also slid 13 percent. But perhaps the most telling fact is that Dubai only issued 4,722 new business licenses in the second quarter of 2018, which is down more than 25 percent from two years ago, when new licenses were at an all time high.

Emirati officials say that the slump is temporary and that the economy will recover once oil prices increase. But some experts are forecasting a long-term slump. They note that while Dubai’s population was expected to expand to over 3 million people this year, most of the newcomers were low-wage workers in the construction or service sectors.

Hasnain Malik, a Dubai based global head of equity research and strategy at Exotix Capital, said that its clear that Dubai’s transport industries and business zones aren’t attracting or retaining enough foreign white-collar workers to support the real estate market.

The fact that 90 percent of Dubai’s population are foreigners is also worrisome, since in many sectors, losing a job often means leaving the country. And the uptick in people leaving has severely impacted the real-estate sector. With a massive supply of homes, yet little demand, real-estate prices have dropped considerably.

Dubai’s retail companies are also downsizing to avoid going out of business. The reason is clear: fewer people are shopping in the city, and those that do are more cautious with their spending than in previous years. Tourism is also in trouble due to a surplus of hotels.

“The competition is now so cut-throat, some hotels are even charging less than what is needed to break even just to stay in the game,” an Indian hotel owner told Asia Times.

Nobody who spoke to the Asia Times revealed their full names, citing the lack of freedom in the emirate and the sensitivity around the issue of the economy.

That said, most complained about shrinking wages and rising prices, which is due to a 5 percent value added tax which was imposed at the beginning of 2018. Two years earlier, a 3 percent municipality fee and a 10 percent hotel tax on tourists was added. These taxes have compounded the challenges for low-wage workers.

“They said, you come here, you’ll make a lot of money,” a taxi driver named Kasir told Asia Times. “But it’s not true. It’s a hard life, working all the time and then at the end, after you spend on rent, on food, on fuel and give the taxi company its share, you have nothing left.”

Dr. Abdulkhaleq Abdulla, a prominent Emeriti political scientist speaking from Dubai, argues that the economic recession is exaggerated. He states that the emirate has one of the most diverse and mature economies in the region. He told Fanack Chronicle that Dubai’s economy is competing with New York and London and that any recession is part of a natural cycle for any vibrant economy.

“There is a slide in the economy now, but I don’t think it warrants a great deal of concern,” Dr. Abdulla said. “The decline is due to regular economic principles, regional tensions, and war.”

The UAE is nonetheless trying to alleviate the pitch. On November 27, Abdu Dhabi announced that it would suspend economic license fees for two years, waive the municipal fees on 75 services and reduce other fees by 10 to 15 percent. The slashes only apply to corporate business and reportedly took effect on December 1.

While businesses in Abu Dhabi should benefit from the move, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) predicts Dubai will recover faster by next year, in time for the city hosting the Expo 2020 event, just as Dr. Abdulla predicts.

Time will tell. But by the UAE’s own measure, the country has taken drastic steps to try and revive the economy. In May 2018, it even allowed foreigners to own their businesses in Dubai or Abu Dhabi without having a local partner. Some foreign professionals are now eligible for a 10-year residence permit, which was never possible before. The decision, pundits say, is part of a broader shift in the Gulf Cooperation Council to move away from fossil fuels.

“The U.A.E. needs to keep pace or stay ahead if it doesn’t want to lose its competitive advantage,” said Khatija Haque, the head of Middle East and North Africa research at Emirates NBD, Dubai’s biggest bank. “When oil was at $100 a barrel for several years there wasn’t that much need to attract foreign investment. Clearly that has changed.”

In 2017, the UAE generated more than $10 billion in direct foreign investment, which is the highest of any Arab country. Yet the rulers of the UAE are aware that more investment is needed to compensate for low oil prices, which is why a special unit in the economy ministry was established. The unit was established via presidential decree and is tasked with luring foreign investors. It has already ordered to treat foreign companies like national ones, hoping to significantly reduce red tape.

One UAE developer, who told Bloomberg that he was waiting for the market to improve before starting a $4 billion project in the country, predicts the economy will flag for another few years despite attempts by UAE officials to improve the economy quickly.

“The government is aware of the challenges and the rulers are prioritizing economic development,” said Waleed Zaabi, the chairman of the closely-held Tiger group. “This is positive. But rents are down 30 percent since 2016 and it will take two or three years before prices increase.”

Zaabi added that one strategy that the UAE could adopt is to provide permanent residence to Arab property buyers who have come to the UAE from politically repressive or fractured countries like Iraq, Syria and Egypt. He stresses that dozens of employees have left his company in recent years to go to Germany or Canada, despite taking a considerable cut in their paycheck. “It would benefit the U.A.E. to examine these immigration laws,” Zaabi said. “Some middle-class Arab professionals are moving to countries that extract almost half their salaries in taxes in return for education, health care and a path to citizenship. Many would prefer to stay here.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE | ©AFP ⁃ GIUSEPPE CACACE

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.