فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / وُجوه

وُجوه

الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، حاكم دبي

كان الشيخ محمد حريصاً على الشروع بالإصلاحات وتحويل دبي إلى مركزٍ للتجارة والسياحة الدولية، إلى جانب حرصه على الحدّ من اعتمادها على تضاؤل احتياطيات النفط. وبالتالي، أطلق العديد من المبادرات لتعزيز عملية التحديث والتطوير في الإمارة. ولكونه رجلٌ يُعرف عموماً بعدم رضاه عن الوضع الراهن، جاء أول تغييرٍ جذري للشيخ محمد كرئيسٍ للوزراء في أبريل 2007، عندما أعلن عن مراجعةٍ استراتيجية للحكم في دولة الإمارات على المستويين الحكومي الاتحادي والمحلي.

17/03/2017
وفي مقابلةٍ مع مجلة نيوزويك الشرق الأوسط، رسمت المزروعي رؤيتها لتضمين الشباب. فقد تطرقت إلى التحدي المتمثل في سد الفجوة بين جيلها والحكومة، ورداً على سؤالٍ حول مدى القدرة التي تمتلكها في الواقع لاتخاذ القرارات، أعربت عن ثقتها في قيادة الإمارات وبالحرية التي ستمنح لها للعمل.
12/10/2020
يُمثل الشيخ منصور سلالةً جديدة من القادة الإقليميين الذين يدركون التحديات التي تواجهها مجتمعات الشرق الأوسط والخليج في الوقت الذي يقومون فيه بالتحديث والتطوير، وهم على استعدادٍ للقيام بكل ما يلزم لضمان نجاح بلدانهم.
18/10/2020
كما صمت سلطان سعود القاسمي أيضاً على تويتر. وقال مصدرٌ مقرب منه أن الأزمة الخليجية لربما تكون السبب وراء عدم تفاعله على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بعد اليوم. وفي الوقت الراهن على الأقل، يبدو أن أيامه على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ونشاطه بات من الماضي. وإذا ما تم حل أزمة الخليج، قد يعود إلى التغريد بحرية مجدداً.
18/08/2020
شهِد بن زايد أثناء نشأته التحول السريع لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من مجرد منازل بسيطة إلى فنادق هيلتون وناطحات السحاب. وطوال الوقت، أدرك هو ووالده، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان، وشقيقه خليفة بن زايد، درسين مهمين: لا يمكن بقاء دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة دون حمايةٍ خارجية، كما أن عليهم المحافظة على أهمية استراتيجية للإبقاء على اهتمام ومساندة حلفائهم الغربيين.
24/08/2020
وبصرف النظر عن قضايا الاختلاس والفساد، تورط العتيبة في فضائح أكثر خطورة. نشرت صحيفة هافينغتون بوست، التي حصلت على دفعة أخرى من رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المسربة، قصة دعم العتيبة لأحد الجهود الرئيسية للتشكيك بقطر في أذهان الأميركيين منذ عام 2014، وهي مهمة لم ينجح بها إلى حدٍ كبير، على الرغم من الخلاف بين الدولة الخليجية ودول أخرى عديدة، بما فيها دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، في مايو 2017، بسبب دعمها المزعوم للإرهاب.

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Faces

Faces of the UAE

Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, Emir of Dubai

Sheikh Mohammed was keen to initiate reforms and transform Dubai into an international trade and tourist hub while also making it less reliant on dwindling oil reserves. He thus launched several initiatives to further the emirate’s modernization and development process. Known as a man generally not satisfied with the status quo, Sheikh Mohammed’s first shake-up as prime minister came in April 2007, when he announced a strategic review of the UAE's governance at both the federal and local government levels.

12/10/2020
Sheikh Mansour represents a new breed of regional leaders who are aware of the challenges facing Middle Eastern and Gulf societies as they modernize and develop, and are willing to do whatever it takes to ensure their countries succeed.
17/03/2017
In an interview with Newsweek Middle East, al-Mazrui laid out her vision for youth inclusion. She addressed the challenge of bridging the gap between her generation and the government, and, in response to a question about how much decision-making power she would actually have, she expressed confidence in the Emirate leadership and the freedom she would be given to operate.
18/10/2020
al-Qassemi has gone silent on Twitter, too. A source close to him said that the Gulf crisis might be the reason why he is not interacting on social media anymore. For now at least, it seems that his social media and activism days are behind him. If the Gulf crisis is resolved, he may go back to Tweeting freely again.
18/08/2020
Bin Zayed grew up witnessing the rapid transformation of the UAE from huts to Hilton hotels and skyscrapers. Along the way, his father, Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan, elder brother Khalifa and he learned two valuable lessons: the UAE cannot survive without outside protection and they need to remain strategically significant to keep mainly their Western allies interested and on board. Moreover, the country’s geographical location puts it between two regional powers that historically have shown an interest in controlling it.
24/08/2020
Aside from embezzlement and corruption, al-Otaiba was implicated in even more serious scandals. The Huffington Post, which was provided with another batch of the leaked emails, broke the story of al-Otaiba supporting a major effort to raise doubts about Qatar in the minds of Americans since 2014, a mission in which he has been largely unsuccessful despite the row between the Gulf state and several other countries, including the UAE, over its alleged support of terrorism that erupted in May 2017.


"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!