فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / الحكم والسياسة / الإمارات العربية المتحدة: ما بين المخاطر الجيوسياسية والسعادة

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: ما بين المخاطر الجيوسياسية والسعادة

UAE Ministers of IC, Happiness, and Youth. Fanack, WAM.
شاركت كلٌ من وزيرة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة للتعاون الدولي- ريم إبراهيم الهاشمي، وزيرة الدولة للسعادة- عهود الرومي، وزيرة الدولة للشباب- شما المزروعي، ووزيرة الدولة لشؤون المجلس الوطني الإتحادي- نورا الكعبي، في أداء اليمين الدستورية للوزراء في الرابع عشر من فبراير 2016 في أبوظبي، في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

أعلن الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة ورئيس مجلس الوزراء في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحاكم إمارة دبي، في 8 فبراير 2016، على تويتر استحداث مناصب وزارية جديدة. وتشتمل هذه على وزراء للسعادة والتسامح والشباب (بقيادة وزيرة شابة). وأوضح الشيخ محمد أثناء انعقاد القمة العالمية للحكومات أنّ استحداث “المنصب الجديد، وزير دولة للسعادة، مهمته موائمة كافة خطط الدولة وبرامجها وسياساتها لتحقيق سعادة المجتمع،” وأضاف “تم إقرار استحداث منصب وزير الدولة للتسامح، لترسيخ التسامح كقيمة أساسية في مجتمع الإمارات.”

تم تأسيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في عام 1971 من اتحاد سبع إماراتٍ هي أبو ظبي، ودبي، والفجيرة، وعجمان، ورأس الخيمة، وأم القيوين، والشارقة، والتي يحكم كلاً منها أمير بالوراثة. يشكّل الأمراء معاً المجلس الأعلى للإتحاد، الذي ينتخب رئيساً لحكم البلاد بأكملها. الرئيس الحالي هو خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، أمير أبو ظبي، عاصمة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أيضاً. كما نجح نائب الرئيس الشيخ محمد في تحويل ثاني أكبر الإمارات، دبي، إلى مدينة عالمية.

برزت دبي في أفلام هوليوود وبوليوود الشهيرة، مثل الجزء الرابع من فيلم مهمة مستحيلية: بروتوكول شبح، بطولة توم كروز، وفيلم بانغ بانغ! بطولة محبوبيّ بوليوود هريثيك روشان وكاترينا كايف. تتصدر دبي باستمرار عناوين الأخبار بمشاريع التنمية ومؤسساتها واسعة النطاق. وبالإضافة إلى بناء أكبر ناطحة سحاب في العالم، برج خليفة، الذي يصل إرتفاعه إلى 2,717 قدم، تُعرف دبي في وسائل الإعلام بجزيرتها الاصطناعية، نخلة الجميرة، التي حطمت أكثر من مائة رقم قياسي في موسوعة غينيس للأرقام القياسية، فضلاً عن خطط لبناء منحدر داخلي للتزلج على الجليد يبلغ طوله 1,2 كيلومتر في قلب الصحراء، الذي سيصبح أطول منحدرٍ في العالم. وكحال جارتها الخليجية، قطر، التي من المقرر أن تستضيف نهائيات كأس العالم لكرة القدم في عام 2022، ستستضيف دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة حدثاً عالمياً ضخماً، ففي عام 2020، سيتم تنظيم معرض إكسبو العالمي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وستكون هذه المرة الأولى التي يُنظم فيها معرض إكسبو في منطقة “ميناسا” (الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا وجنوب آسيا).

إلا أنّ المنطقة لا تنعم بالاستقرار الذي تنشده، إذ تستمر تداعيات الربيع العربي (الثورات والاحتجاجات التي اندلعت في مختلف أنحاء العالم العربي عام 2011)، بملاحقة منطقة الشرق الأوسط. كما تواجه دول مجلس التعاون الخليجيالسعودية، والكويت، والبحرين، وقطر، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وسلطنة عُمان- على وجه الخصوص مخاطر مشتركة، أبرزها انخفاض قيمة النفط في السوق العالمي، والتأثير المتواصل للأزمة الاقتصادية العالمية مع ما ترتب عليها من ضغوطاتٍ أثرت على الاقتصادات غير المتنوعة لمنطقة شبه الجزيرة العربية، فضلاً عن تنامي التعصب الديني والتطرف الذي تجسد في صعود تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” على حدودها، والعنف الطائفي الذي أوهنّ البلاد من الداخل. وفي ضوء ذلك، خضعت بعض الحكومات، مثل حكومتي تونس ومصر، لتغييرات في النظام كنتيجة مباشرة للربيع العربي، فيما دخلت سوريا في براثن حربٍ أهلية منذ عام 2010.

ولمواجهة التهديد المباشر لتغيير النظام، أعلن أعضاء دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي عن إصلاحاتٍ ووسعوا رعايتهم للمواطنين على شكل مكآفات حكومية للعاملين والمتقاعدين، بالإضافة إلى معونات إضافية لشراء موارد الدولة (مثل الكهرباء والوقود). ولكن، جاء الدعم الاقتصادي المعزز خلال فترة مضطربة. فقد اتحدت دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بدايةً لقمع الاحتجاجات في البحرين، ومن ثم انخرطت في مارس 2015 في حربٍ مكلفة في اليمن، في محاولةٍ لموازنة النفوذ الإيراني الملموس في المنطقة. فضلاً عن ذلك، فقد ازدادت الضغوطات الاقتصادية بشكلٍ أكبر مع الانخفاض الكبير في عائدات النفط، ويرجع سبب هذا الانهيار بشكلٍ جزئي إلى طفرة النفط الصخري الأمريكي الناتج عن التكسير الهيدروليكي، مما يهدد هيمنة المملكة العربية السعودية باعتبارها رائدة في العالم في مجال تصدير النفط. تم إغراق الأسواق بالنفط السعودي في محاولةٍ لمواجهة المنافسة الأمريكية، مما أدى إلى انخفاض أسعار النفط، المصدر الذي تعتمد عليه غالبية دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

ولذلك، تم استحداث مجلس الوزراء الجديد في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لمعالجة القضايا الخطيرة من منظور استشرافي. وفي 10 فبراير 2016 غرّد رئيس الوزراء على تويتر “التشكيل الجديد هو مرحلة جديدة عنوانها المستقبل والشباب والسعادة، وتطوير التعليم، والتعامل مع التغير المناخي لحماية بيئتنا.” فعلى سبيل المثال، يتوجب على وزيرة التسامح الشيخة لبنى بنت خالد القاسمي، التي كانت أول وزيرة في دولة لإمارات العربية المتحدة عام 2004 ومن ثم شغلت منصب وزيرة التجارة الخارجية، مواجهة أيديولوجيات التطرف والعنف في المنطقة. فدول الخليج السُنيّة منخرطة في حربٍ ضد الحوثيين الشيعة والقوات المتحالفة معها تحت قيادة الرئيس السابق، علي عبدالله صالح، في اليمن، بالإضافة إلى مشاركتها بحربٍ بالوكالة في سوريا ضد نظام الرئيس العلوي بشار الأسد، إلى جانب محاربتها في نفس الوقت لتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” السُنيّ، الذي يقوم بتنفيذ أعمالٍ إرهابية في دور عبادة الشيعة داخل أراضي دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. ومن المفترض أن تعزز وزيرة التسامح الشعور بالانتماء الوطني ليتجاوز الانتماء الطائفي، وإعادة صياغة الاضطرابات العنيفة في المنطقة بلغة العلمانية والقومية، وتلبية احتياجات 7,8 مليون وافد (من السكان البالغ عددهم 9,2 مليون نسمة)، وفقاً لاحتياجاتهم الدينية وخلفياتهم المتنوعة.

ووفقاً لتقرير السعادة العالمي لعام 2015، وهي دراسة استقصائية لحالة السعادة العالمية وأكثر الشعوب سعادةً فيما يتعلق بـ” الاجراء المناسب للتقدم الاجتماعي وهدف السياسة العامة،” احتلت الإمارات العربية المتحدة المركز العشرين كأكثر الشعوب سعادةً في العالم، على الرغم من الأحداث المضطربة التي تهز المنطقة. وفي مقالٍ يشرح أسباب المناصب الوزارية الجديدة، كتب الشيخ محمد “فالتغييرات تعكس ما تعلمناه من الأحداث في منطقتنا خلال الخمس سنوات الماضية.”

وبالفعل، حققت الإمارات العربية المتحدة العديد من التغييرات، بالتركيز على الشباب في البلاد إلى جانب تسليط الضوء على قيم التسامح والسعادة. وعند سؤال مراسل Fanack للشاعرة الإمارتية الرائدة، عفراء عتيق، حول استحداث منصب وزيرة السعادة، قالت “لطالما كانت السعادة عاملاً رئيسياً في الخطط الاستراتيجية لدولة الإمارات (يُسمى الضمان الصحّي للمواطنين في إمارة دبي “سعادة”)، لذا، في الحقيقة، لم تكن فكرة الوزارة مستبعدة. إنّ هذا مؤشر على أن الأفراد ورفاهيتهم، كانوا ولا يزالون، محور كل شيء تفعله هذه الدولة.” إنّ المزاج العام في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة نابضٌ بالحياة، كما يبدو مجلس الوزراء الجديد بأعضاءه الـ29، الذي من بينهم 8 نساء، ووزيرة الشباب شما المزروعي البالغة من العمر 22 عاماً، واعداً. ولتجسيد هذه اللحظة، ارتدت وزيرة السعادة، عهود الرومي، أثناء تأديتها اليمين الدستورية قلادة ذهبية كبيرة كُتب عليها بالانجليزية “Happy.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: WAM via AP ©Hollandse Hoogte | Wam via AP ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Governance & Politics / UAE Between Geo-Political Dangers and Happiness

The UAE Between Geo-Political Dangers and Happiness

Nieuw ministers in the UAE
UAE Minister of State for International Cooperation – Reem Ibrahim Al Hashimi, Minister of State for Happiness – Ohood Al Roumi, Minister of State for Youth – Shamma Al Mazrui, and Minister of State for FNC Affairs – Noura Al Kaabi, take part at the swearing-in ceremony for ministers on 14 February, 2016 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Photo WAM via AP.

On 8 February 2016, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and ruler of Dubai, announced on Twitter the establishment of new ministerial positions. These included Ministers of Happiness, Tolerance, and Youth (the latter a young woman). Sheikh Mohammed explained during the world government summit that “A new post, Minister of State for Happiness, will align and drive government policy to create social good and satisfaction” and “The post of Minister of State for Tolerance has been created to promote tolerance as a fundamental value in UAE society.”

In 1971, the United Arab Emirates was established as a federation of seven polities—Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Fujairah, Ajman, Ras al-Khaimah, Umm al-Quwain, and Sharjah—each of which is governed by an emir, a hereditary ruler. Together, the emirs form the Federal Supreme Council from which a president is elected to govern the entire country. The current president is Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the emir of Abu Dhabi, which is also the capital of the UAE. Vice president Sheikh Mohammed succeeded in transforming the second largest emirate, Dubai, into a global city.

Dubai has been featured in popular Hollywood and Bollywood movies, such as Mission Impossible IV: Ghost Protocol, with Tom Cruise in the lead, and Bang Bang! featuring Bollywood favourites Hrithik Roshan and Katrina Kaif. Dubai is consistently in the news for its development projects and large-scale enterprises. In addition to building the largest skyscraper in the world, the Burj Khalifa; standing at 2,717 feet, Dubai is recognized in the media for its artificial island – Palm Jumeirah, for breaking more than one hundred Guinness World Records, and for its plans to build a 1.2-kilometre indoor ski slope in the desert city, which will be the world’s longest. Like its other Gulf neighbour, Qatar, which is set to host FIFA’s World Cup in 2022, the UAE is charged with staging a massive world event. In 2020, the World Expo is set to take place in the United Arab Emirates. This would be the first time the World Expo will be held in the MENASA region (Middle East, North Africa, and South Asia).

But the region is not as stable as it would like. The consequences of the Arab Spring (the uprisings and protests that burst out and spread throughout the Arab world in 2011) continue to haunt the Middle East. In particular, the countries of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)—Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, and Oman—face common dangers, most notably the decline in the value of oil on the world market, the lasting impact of the global economic crisis with consequent strains on the undiversified economies of the Arabian Peninsula, and the rise of fundamentalism and extremism, exemplified by the formation of Islamic State (IS), on their borders and debilitating sectarian violence within. Some governments, such as those of Tunisia and Egypt, underwent regime change as a direct result of the Arab Spring, and Syria has been caught up in a civil war since 2010.

To combat the immediate threat of regime change, members of the GCC announced reforms and expanded their patronage of citizens in the forms of state bonuses for workers and pensioners and additional subsidies for the purchase of state resources (such as electricity and oil). The enhanced economic support, however, came during a turbulent period. Countries of the GCC first united to suppress protests in Bahrain and then in March 2015 engaged themselves in a costly war in Yemen in an effort to offset perceived Iranian influence in the region. Economic strains were further augmented by a massive decline in oil revenue. The collapse is due partly to a surge in American shale oil produced by hydraulic fracturing, which threatens the hegemony of Saudi Arabia as the world’s leading oil exporter. The market was flooded with Saudi oil in an attempt to offset US competition, thereby reducing the price of oil, a resource on which most GCC countries rely.

The UAE’s new cabinet was therefore created to address serious issues with a forward-looking perspective. On 10 February 2016, the prime minister stated on Twitter that “The new cabinet focuses on the future, youth, happiness, developing education, and combating climate change.” For instance, the Minister of Tolerance Sheikha Lubna bint Khaled al Qasimi, who became the UAE’s first female minister in 2004 and earlier served as Minister of Foreign Trade, needs to counter the ideologies of extremism and violence in the region. Members of the Sunni Gulf states are engaged in a war against the Shiite Houthis and allied troops under the control of former president Saleh in Yemen, and a proxy war in Syria against the regime of the Alawi president Assad, while simultaneously combating the Sunni IS, which is carrying out acts of terror in Shiite places of worship in the homelands of the GCC countries.

The minister of tolerance will presumably be reinforcing a sense of national belonging that transcends sectarian affiliation, reframing the convulsions in the region in secular and nationalist terms, and addressing the needs of 7.8 million migrants (out of a population of 9.2 millions) with their diverse spiritual needs and backgrounds.

According to the 2015 World Happiness Report, a survey of the state of global happiness that views the degree of national happiness as the “proper measure of social progress and goal of public policy,” the UAE is the 20th-happiest nation in the world, even with all the turbulent events rocking the region. In an article explaining the reasons for the new cabinet positions, Sheikh Mohammed wrote, “The changes reflect what we have learned from events in our region over the past five years.”

The UAE has indeed made many changes, focusing on the country’s youth while highlighting the values of tolerance and happiness. When asked by Fanack’s correspondent about the creation of a minister for happiness, Afra Atiq, leading Emirati spoken-word poet, said, “Happiness has been a key factor in the UAE’s strategic plans (Dubai’s insurance scheme for Emiratis is called sa’ada, “joy”) so really the idea of the ministry is not farfetched. It is a sign that, as it has always been, people and their wellbeing are at the centre of everything this county does.” The mood in the UAE is vibrant, and the new 29-member cabinet, of which eight are women, and a Minister of Youth, 22 year-old Shamma al-Mazrui, seems promising. To symbolize this moment, Ohood al-Roumi, the Minister of Happiness, was sworn in wearing a large golden necklace inscribed with the word “Happy.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ WAM via AP

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.