فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / من الماضي الى الحاضر / لاعب إقليمي وعالمي

لاعب إقليمي وعالمي

زعماء مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج

شهد تأسيس الاتحاد عام 1971 بداية بروز الإمارات العربية المتحدة كقوة إقليمية وعالمية جديدة، تهيمن عليها إمارتا دبي وأبوظبي الثريتان، واتّسم بنمو مادي واجتماعي ضخم تحكمه قوى اقتصاد السوق الحرة والعولمة.

في منطقة الخليج الفارسي والعالم العربي الأرحب، سعت الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى تعزيز التعاون وحل الخلافات عن طريق الحوار. وبالتالي، أصبحت إحدى الميزات الرئيسية لسياسة البلاد الخارجية تنمية العلاقات الوثيقة مع الدول المجاورة في شبه الجزيرة العربية. وتأسس مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج، الذي يضم الإمارات العربية المتحدة والكويت والمملكة العربية السعودية والبحرين وقطر وعُمان، في مؤتمر قمة عُقد في أبوظبي في أيار/مايو 1981، وتحول منذ ذلك الوقت، بدعم قوي من الإمارات العربية المتحدة، إلى تجمّع إقليمي فعال يتمتع باحترام واسع. ينسّق المجلس أعماله ويتعاون في المسائل الاقتصادية والسياسية والأمنية. ونشأ خلاف مؤخراً بين المملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة حول اقتراح العملة الموحّدة الذي تقدم به البنك المركزي لمجلس التعاون لدول الخليج، مما دفع دولة الإمارات إلى الانسحاب من الاتحاد النقدي بعد فترة قليلة من إعلان إقامة مقره الرئيسي في الرياض. كما أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة عضو في منطقة التجارة الحرة العربية الكبرى والجامعة العربية، المنظمتين الأقل فعالية وتكاملاً من مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج.

سياسة الإمارات العربية المتحدة معتدلة وذات ميول غربية. كما نسجت علاقات تجارية هامة مع اقتصادات غير غربية مثل الصين. وتبدي دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة قناعتها بأن المنطقة لن تتوصل إلى إرساء الأمن والسلام والاستقرار وتطبيع العلاقات بين كافة البلدان، بما فيها إسرائيل، ما دامت الأخيرة تحتل فلسطين وأراضٍ عربية أخرى. ولذلك تدعم الإمارات العربية المتحدة إنهاء الاحتلال الإسرائيلي وتأسيس دولة فلسطينية مستقلة عاصمتها القدس الشرقية، وذلك في إطار اتفاق سلام دائم يقوم على مبادرة السلام العربية الصادرة في 2002.

على الصعيد الدولي، نشطت الإمارات العربية المتحدة في تعزيز عمليات حفظ السلام والمساهمة بسخاء في المساعدات الإنسانية. عام 1974، خصّص الشيخ زايد نسبة لا يُستهان بها من دخل أبوظبي كمساعدة للبلدان العربية والإسلامية والنامية.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن الإمارات يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها ...
منذ ما يقرب من قرن، منذ نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، كانت المنطقة التي ...
الإمارات العربية المتحدة عضو في منظمة الأمم المتحدة وجامعة الدول ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: GIUSEPPE CACACE / AFP ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Past to Present / A regional and global player

A regional and global player

GCC leaders: rulers of (from left to right) Kuwait, Qatar, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the UAE

The formation of the federal union in 1971 marked the beginning of the rise of the UAE as a new regional and global power, dominated by the rich emirates of Dubai and Abu Dhabi and characterized by incredible material and social growth under the forces of a free-market economy and globalization.

In the Arab Gulf region and the broader Arab world, the UAE has sought to enhance cooperation and resolve disagreements through dialogue. One of the central features of the country’s foreign policy has thus been the development of closer ties with its neighbours in the Arabian Peninsula. The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), which includes the UAE, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, and Oman, was founded at a summit conference held in Abu Dhabi in May 1981 and has since become, with strong UAE support, an effective and widely respected regional grouping. The Council coordinates and cooperates on economic, political, and security matters. A split recently emerged between the UAE and Saudi Arabia over the common currency proposed by the central bank of the GCC, prompting the UAE to withdraw from the monetary union soon after it was announced that it was to be headquartered in Riyadh. The UAE is also a member of the Greater Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA) and the Arab League, organizations less effective and less integrative than the GCC.

The policy of the UAE is moderate and Western-leaning. UAE also has significant commercial relations with non-Western economies such as China. The UAE continues to believe that the restoration of security, peace, and stability in the region, as well as normalization of relations between all countries, including Israel, cannot be achieved while Israeli occupation of the Palestinian and Arab territories continues. The UAE strongly supports an end to the Israeli occupation and establishment of an independent Palestinian state, with East Jerusalem as its capital, within the context of a lasting peace-agreement based on the Arab Peace Initiative of 2002.

Internationally, the UAE has been active in promoting peacekeeping and has been a generous contributor of humanitarian aid. In 1974 Sheikh Zayed allocated a substantial percentage of Abu Dhabi’s income as aid to Arab, Islamic, and developing countries.

Further Reading

Fanack’s United Arab Emirates country file provides a comprehensive overview about UAE, its history, politics, culture...
For almost a century, the territory which today makes up the United Arab Emirates (UAE) fell under Great Britain's spher...
The UAE is a member of the United Nations and the Arab League and has established diplomatic relations with more than 60...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: GIUSEPPE CACACE / AFP ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!