فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / من الماضي الى الحاضر / جدول الأعمال الإمبريالي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

جدول الأعمال الإمبريالي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

UAE- Mohammed bin Zayed
ولي عهد أبوظبي الشيخ محمد بن زايد (إلى اليمين) مع حاكم دبي ووزير الدفاع الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم ، في القصر الرئاسي في العاصمة الإماراتية أبوظبي في 20 يوليو 2018. Photo AFP

اليوم، تُعيد الإمارات العربية المتحدة، التي كانت يوماً ما تعتمد على القوة الناعمة، تشكيل الشرق الأوسط وما حوله. فولي عهد أبو ظبي، محمد بن زايد، الذي يُشار إليه عادةً بالأحرف الأولى من اسمه، مبز، من يضع جدول الأعمال.

وعلى الرغم من كون محمد بن زايد المسؤول عن اتخاذ القرارات منذ سنوات، إلا أنه كان يخطو خطواته بحذرٍ شديد كي لا يزعج الرئيس الصوري لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحاكم إمارة أبو ظبي، الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان. ومع ذلك، تغير نهج محمد بن زايد الحذر بعد أشهرٍ فحسب من تعرّض آل نهيان لسكتةٍ دماغية في يناير 2014.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، رفّع محمد بن زايد أفراد من عائلته ودائرته المقربين ليحتلوا مناصب اقتصادية وأمنية رئيسية، ليبسطوا سيطرتهم الكاملة بشكلٍ فعّالٍ على البلاد ورؤيتها للمنطقة.

تتمثل مخاوف محمد بن زايد الرئيسية بالحدّ من تأثير إيران والقضاء على جماعة الإخوان المسلمين، الجماعة التي صنفتها الإمارات العربية المتحدة على قائمة المنظمات الإرهابية في نوفمبر 2014.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يرتبط الموقف الإماراتي المعادي تجاه قطر ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالهدف الثاني لمحمد بن زايد. وبحسب مهران كامرافا، أستاذ دراسات الشرق الأوسط في جامعة جورجتاون في قطر، فإن كلا البلدين ضد منح الحريات السياسية والمدنية لمواطنيها، بيد أن قطر تتعاون مع الإسلاميين وتدعمهم، بينما اختارت دولة الإمارات اتخاذ إجراءاتٍ صارمة ضد المتعاطفين مع الإخوان.

أدى هذا الاختلاف إلى ظهور منافسة شديدة بين البلدين، الأمر الذي أثار استياء أميركا. فقد اشتعل التوتر بين الولايات المتحدة والإمارات العربية المتحدة بعد أن قال مسؤولون في الاستخبارات الأمريكية إن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة اخترقت الموقع الإلكتروني للحكومة القطرية ليبدو وكأن قطر تشيد بإيران وحزب الله وحماس وإسرائيل. وفرت هذه الخطوة ذريعةً لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لحشد حلفائها في المملكة العربية السعودية ومصر والبحرين لحصار قطر “لتأييدها” علناً أعداء مجلس التعاون الخليجي الرئيسيين.

وعلى الرغم من أن البيت الأبيض أقحِم في لعب دور الوسيط، بشكلٍ غير مريح، بين حلفائه الخليجيين، إلا أن المصالح الأمريكية والإماراتية ظلت منسجمةً بشكلٍ وثيق عندما يتعلق الأمر بمعظم القضايا الأخرى في المنطقة. ومع ذلك، تخضع هذه العلاقة للاختبار اليوم في ظل السياسة الخارجية المستقلة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

ليبيا أيضاً مجرد واحدةٍ من أسباب الخلافات. فقد دعمت الإمارات العربية المتحدة الرجل القوي خليفة حفتر، الذي أعلن جهاراً عن نيته تطهير ليبيا من الإسلاميين. ففي ظل إدارة أوباما، اعتقد المسؤولون الأمريكيون أن سياسات الإمارات العربية المتحدة تقوض جهود السلام التي تقودها الأمم المتحدة في هذا البلد الممزق. وقال مسؤولٌ أميركي سابق رفيع المستوى لصحيفة واشنطن بوست: “إن خطر إنشاء قدرة عسكرية مستقلة هو أن تخلق قدرة عسكرية مستقلة.” وأضاف “من الرائع أن يكون لنا شريكٌ في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، إلا أنه لا تتوافق آراؤنا دوماً.”

أما فيما يتعلق بقضايا أخرى، فكلا البلدين يجمعهما انسجام كامل. فعلى سبيل المثال، الإمارات العربية المتحدة حليفٌ أساسي في التحالف الذي تدعمه الولايات المتحدة والذي تقوده السعودية في اليمن. هدف التحالف هو طرد المتمردين الحوثيين، الذين يتلقون الدعم بشكلٍ متزايد من إيران، من العاصمة اليمنية صنعاء وإعادة حكومة الرئيس عبد ربه منصور هادي المعترف بها دولياً.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، تتعاون الإمارات العربية المتحدة والولايات المتحدة أيضاً في شنّ حملةٍ لمكافحة التمرد ضد تنظيم القاعدة في جنوب اليمن. فقد كشف تحقيق أجرته وكالة أسوشيتيد برس عام 2017 أن الإمارات كانت تحتجز المشتبه بهم في سجونٍ سرية حيث يتفشى التعذيب وسوء المعاملة. وقال أحد شهود العيان لـوكالة أسوشيتيد برس إنه يُقال أن القوات الأمريكية كانت موجودةً في واحدٍ على الأقل من هذه المرافق.

ويشير رايان غودمان، وهو مسؤولٌ سابق في البنتاغون ويدرّس القانون اليوم في جامعة نيويورك، إلى أن الولايات المتحدة قد تكون متواطئة في جرائم حربٍ بسبب تعاونها الوثيق مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في جنوب اليمن.

فقد كتب غودمان وأليكس مورهد، أستاذ القانون في جامعة كولومبيا: “ينبغي أن يكون الكشف عن إساءة معاملة المعتقلين في الإمارات العربية المتحدة مثيراً للقلق بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة والمؤيدين الدوليين الآخرين على وجه الخصوص.” وأضافا، “كما أنه يزيد من المخاطر القانونية على الحكومات، ومسؤوليها شخصياً، ويورط الولايات المتحدة في مجموعة من الممارسات الضارة وغير المنتجة التي تهدد بإبعاد السكان اليمنيين المحليين.”

كما تدعم الإمارات العربية المتحدة الانفصاليين الجنوبيين في اليمن الذين يشتبكون مع القوات المدعومة من السعودية، كما دعمت في السابق مقاتلين ضد حزب الإصلاح، وهو فرع الإخوان المسلمين في اليمن واللاعب الرئيسي الآخر في حرب السعودية ضد الحوثيين.

وعلى الرغم من تزايد المصالح المتضاربة مع الولايات المتحدة، يؤكد المسؤولون الإماراتيون أن بلادهم تشكل قوةً للاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط. فهذا هو الخط الذي رسمه سفير دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في واشنطن، يوسف العتيبة، الذي أصبح مقرباً من صنّاع السياسة الأمريكيين في إدارة ترمب، بمن فيهم صهر الرئيس ومستشاره جاريد كوشنر.

وقال العتيبة لصحيفة الواشنطن بوست: “الأمر يتعلق بالجغرافيا والتهديدات التي نشأنا عليها منذ اليوم الأول،” مدافعاً عن الأجندة العدوانية لدولة الإمارات والقدرات العسكرية الناشئة في المنطقة.

امتدت حملة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ضد التوسع الإيراني الملموس والإسلاميين السياسيين إلى القرن الإفريقي، حيث تتنافس الإمارات العربية المتحدة أمام قطر على العلاقات الدبلوماسية والعسكرية والتجارية. فقد تمكنت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من تحقيق نفوذٍ كبير في جيبوتي، وجمهورية أرض الصومال المعلنة ذاتياً، بالإضافة إلى منطقة بونت لاند الصومالية. ومع ذلك، بات يبدو إصلاح علاقة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مع جيبوتي أمراً متعذراً بعد إلغاء الأخيرة عقداً لمدة 30 عاماً كانت قد أبرمته مع شركة شحنٍ في دبي في فبراير 2018. وكان من المفترض أن يسمح العقد للشركة بإدارة منشأة حاويات رئيسية تقع على طول البحر الأحمر وخليج عدن.

وإلى جانب المصالح التجارية التي تسعى إليها في القرن الإفريقي، تقوم الإمارات أيضاً بإنشاء قواعد عسكرية لمساعدتها في عملياتها في اليمن وموازنة التوسع الإيراني. ولكن تُخاطر هذه المشاركة المتنامية بتعميق الانقسامات القائمة وإشعال الصراعات في المنطقة. ويحذر تيموثي ويليامز، المحلل في مركز الفكر البريطاني المعني بالقضايا الأمنية- المعهد الملكي للخدمات المتحدة- ومقره لندن، بالتحديد من أن التعاون العسكري بين الإمارات وإريتريا يمكن أن يفسد العلاقة الهشة بالفعل بين إثيوبيا والسودان. ولا يبدو أن ذلك يهم الإماراتيين، المعنيون بشكلٍ أكبر بالتفوق على نفوذ قطر وإيران بأي ثمن.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن الإمارات يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها ...
منذ ما يقرب من قرن، منذ نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، كانت المنطقة التي ...
منذ ذلك الحين انتهجت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة سياسة من أولوي...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: KARIM SAHIB ©AFP | KARIM SAHIB ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Past to Present / The Imperial Agenda of the United Arab Emirates (UAE)

The Imperial Agenda of the United Arab Emirates (UAE)

UAE- Mohammed bin Zayed
Abu Dhabi’s Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed (R) walks with Dubai Ruler and Minister of Defence Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, at the presidential palace in the UAE capital Abu Dhabi on July 20, 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

Once a country that relied on soft power, the UAE is now reshaping the Middle East and beyond. Mohammed bin Zayed, the crown prince of Abu Dhabi, who is commonly referred to by his initials MBZ, is setting the agenda.

Though MBZ has called the shots for years, he previously treaded carefully so as not to upset the nominal ruler of the UAE and Emir of Abu Dhabi Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan . However, MBZ’s cautious approach changed just months after Al Nahyan suffered a stroke in January 2014.

Since then, MBZ has elevated members of his family and inner circle to key economic and security positions, effectively asserting complete control over the country and its vision for the region.

MBZ’s chief concerns are limiting the influence of Iran and eradicating the Muslim Brotherhood, a group that the UAE designated as a terrorist group in November 2014.

The UAE’s hostile stance towards Qatar is closely related to MBZ’s second objective. Both countries, argues Mehran Kamrava, a Professor of Middle Eastern Studies at Georgetown University in Qatar, are against granting political and civil freedoms to their citizens. Yet while Qatar co-opts and supports Islamists, the UAE has chosen to crack down on perceived sympathizers of the Brotherhood.

This difference has spawned an archrivalry between the two countries, much to America’s dismay. Tensions between the US and UAE flared after American intelligence officials said that the UAE hacked the Qatari government’s website to make it seem that Qatar was praising Iran, Hezbollah, Hamas and Israel. The move provided the UAE with the pretext to rally its allies Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Bahrain to blockade Qatar for publicly “endorsing” the Gulf Cooperation Council’s (GCC) main adversaries.

Although the White House was thrust into the uncomfortable role of mediator between its Gulf allies, US and Emirati interests had remained closely aligned when it came to most other issues in the region. That relationship, however, is now being tested thanks to the UAE’s increasingly independent foreign policy.

Libya is just one area of contention. The UAE has fully supported strongman Khalifa Haftar, who has publicly declared his intention of cleansing Libya of Islamists. Under the Obama administration, US officials believed that the UAE’s policies were undermining UN-led peace efforts in the fractured country. “The danger of creating an independent military capability is that you create an independent military capability,” a former senior U.S. official told The Washington Post. “It’s great that we have a partner in the Emiratis, but we don’t always see eye to eye.”

On other issues, the two countries are in complete agreement. The UAE, for instance, is a primary ally in the American-backed, Saudi-led coalition in Yemen. The coalition’s objective is to dislodge the Houthis rebels, who are increasingly receiving support from Iran, from the Yemeni capital Sanaa and restore the internationally-recognized government of President Abd Rabbu Mansour Hadi.

The UAE and US are also cooperating to wage a counterinsurgency against Al-Qaida in southern Yemen. A 2017 investigation by the Associated Press (AP) revealed that the Emirates were holding suspects in secret prisons where torture and abuse was rife. US forces were allegedly present in at least one of the facilities, witnesses told AP.

A former Pentagon official who now teaches law at New York University, Ryan Goodman, notes that the US could be complicit in war crimes due to its close cooperation with the UAE in southern Yemen.

“The revelations of the UAE detainee abuse should be especially concerning for the US and other international supporters,” wrote Goodman and Columbia law school professor Alex Moorehead. “It further heightens the legal risk for governments, and their officials personally, and involves the US in a range of harmful and counterproductive practices that threaten to alienate the local Yemeni population.”

The UAE has also been supporting southern separatists in Yemen who are clashing with Saudi-backed forces. It has also supported fighters against Islah, which is the Muslim Brotherhood affiliate in Yemen and another key player in Saudi Arabia’s war against the Houthis.

Despite the increasingly diverging interests with the US, UAE officials maintain that their country is a force for stability in the Middle East. That’s the line pandered by the UAE’s Ambassador to Washington, Yousef Al Otaiba, who has grown close with US policymakers in the Trump administration, including the president’s son-in-law and adviser Jared Kushnertr.

“It really has to do with geography and the threats we grew up with from day one,” Al Otaiba told The Washington Post, defending the UAE’s aggressive agenda and budding military capacity in the region.

The UAE’s campaign against perceived Iranian expansion and political Islamists has stretched into the Horn of Africa, where the Emirates are competing with Qatar for diplomatic, military and commercial ties. The UAE had managed to achieve heavy influence in Djibouti, the self-declared republic of Somaliland, as well as the Somali region of Puntland. However, the UAE’s relationship with Djibouti now seems irrecoverable following the latter’s cancellation of a 30-year contract with a Dubai shipping firm in February 2018. The contract was supposed to permit the firm to manage a major container facility located along the Red Sea and Gulf of Aden.

Besides the commercial interests it is pursuing in the Horn of Africa, the UAE is also establishing military bases to aid in their operations in Yemen and offset Iranian expansion. But this growing involvement arisksrisks deepening existing divisions and igniting conflicts in the region. Timothy Williams, an analyst for defence think-tank Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) in London, specifically warns that the UAE’s military cooperation with Eritrea could strain the latter’s already fragile relationship with Ethiopia and Sudan. That doesn’t seem to matter to the Emiratis, who are more concerned with exceeding the influence of Qatar and Iran at all costs.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB | ©AFP ⁃ KARIM SAHIB

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.