فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / من الماضي الى الحاضر / انسحاب الإمارات العربية المتحدة من اليمن خطوة استراتيجية من جميع الجوانب

انسحاب الإمارات العربية المتحدة من اليمن خطوة استراتيجية من جميع الجوانب

UAE- Emirati fighters yemen
يظهر في هذه الصورة التي التقطت في 20 يناير 2019، مقاتلون إماراتيون من قوات التحالف المدعومة من السعودية على الساحل الغربي لليمن أثناء وجودهم على متن مروحية في إحدى القواعد العسكرية في خوخا، على بعد 100 كيلومتر جنوب مدينة الحديدة الساحلية المطلة على البحر الأحمر. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Saleh Al-OBEIDI

أعلنت الإمارات العربية المتحدة، في 8 يوليو 2019، عن “إعادة إنتشارٍ استراتيجي” من مدينة الحديدة الساحلية، على طول الساحل الغربي لليمن، بالإضافة إلى تراجعٍ تكتيكي في مناطق أخرى. تعتبر هذه الخطوة منعطفاً كبيراً في هجوم التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية في البلاد، الذي لعبت فيه الدولة الإماراتية دوراً داعماً رئيسياً.

بررت الدولة الخليجية قرارها بالقول إنها كانت تتجه نحو استراتيجية “السلام أولاً،” إذ تشير التقارير إلى أن أعداد القوات في الحديدة، منطقة يسيطر عليها الحوثيون، قد انخفضت بالفعل من 750 جندي إلى 150 جندياً، بينما تمت إزالة الطائرات العمودية والمدفعية الثقيلة. فقد كان إعلان نهاية الأسبوع أول تأكيدٍ على أن نقاش هذا التحول كان يدور رحاه منذ شهور.

استمرت الحرب بين حركة الحوثيين المسلحة وقوات الرئيس عبدربه منصور هادي، من الحكومة المعترف بها رسمياً، في اليمن منذ عام 2014، إذ كان تحالفٌ من القوات الدولية بقيادة المملكة العربية السعودية يدعم النظام منذ مارس 2015، حيث تمثل الدعم بأفراد من القوات الجوية وجنودٍ لمواجهة الحوثيين، وهي جماعة متمردة تدعمها، بحسب العديد من المصادر، إيران. وعليه، كانت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة واحدة من أهم حلفاء المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث قدمت قواتها الجوية وأسلحتها وتمويلها وما يقدر بنحو 5000 جندي. أما على الطرف الجنوبي الشرقي من شبه الجزيرة العربية، فقد ذكرت التقارير أن القوات الإماراتية دربت 90 ألف جندي. ورغم ما يقال بامتلاك البلاد جيشاً أصغر حجماً مقارنةً بالحلفاء الإقليميين الأكبر، إلا أنه أصبح القوة المهيمنة بعد أن سيطر التحالف على بلدتي المخا وخوخا ومناطق أخرى على الساحل اليمني الغربي في أوائل عام 2017. هناك، تم تدريب قوات العمالقة اليمنية والمقاتلين الموالين لطارق صالح، ابن شقيق الرئيس اليمني السابق علي عبد الله صالح. اتحدت القوتان لتشكيل “حراس الجمهورية.”

من جهتها، وصفت الأمم المتحدة تداعيات النزاع بأنها واحدة من أسوأ الكوارث الإنسانية في العالم، حيث توفي أكثر من 70 ألف شخصٍ منذ بداية النزاع، وفقاً للبيانات التي تم جمعها من قبل مشروع بيانات مواقع النزاع المسلح وأحداثها، بينما لربما يعاني ما يقارب الـ14 مليون شخص من المجاعة، فضلاً عن وفاة ما يقدر بنحو 85 ألف طفل، بسن الـ5 أعوامٍ أو أقل، بسبب سوء التغذية الحاد. من الجدير بالذكر أن المملكة العربية السعودية متورطة أيضاً في جرائم حرب محتملة.

وفي ديسمبر 2018، دعمت أطراف التحالف اتفاق السلام بقيادة الأمم المتحدة والموقع في ستوكهولم والذي دعا إلى وقفٍ لإطلاق النار، وفتح الممرات الإنسانية وإمكانية تبادل الأسرى.

فقد كرر الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبو ظبي، مراراً وتكراراً أن مشاركة الإمارات في الحرب أمر أساسي للأمن في الشرق الأوسط. وفي الوقت الذي تدعم فيه إيران الحوثيين، لا يبدو أن العلاقات الاقتصادية بين الدولة الفارسية والإمارات العربية المتحدة قد تأثرت، حيث أن التجارة السنوية بين البلدين، والتي تبلغ قيمتها 20 مليار دولار، تبدو بلا عوائق.

في غضون ذلك، أنشأت الإمارات العربية المتحدة عدداً من القواعد ذات المواقع الإستراتيجية داخل اليمن وخارجها (في جزيرة بريم في اليمن، وعصب في إريتريا، وبربرة في أرض الصومال، وبوصاصو في بونتلاند) مما عزز من دورها الأمني في المنطقة.

ومع ذلك، لا توجد إجابة محددة للأسباب التي دفعت الإمارات للانسحاب، ولكن يمكن الإشارة إلى بعض الأحداث. فقد لوحظت معارضة كبيرة لأنشطة التحالف في اليمن من خلال الاحتجاج المدني والنقد السياسي، على سبيل المثال، من قبل أعضاء الكونغرس في الولايات المتحدة، مما أضر بسمعة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الدولية.

بالإضافة إلى فرق التدريب على الساحل الغربي، فقد عملت الإمارات عن كثب مع جماعاتٍ في الجنوب، حيث حافظت أيضاً على تواجد عسكري منخفض، مثل المجلس الانتقالي الجنوبي الانفصالي. ووفقاً لمنصة المخابرات الجيوسياسية الأمريكية ستراتفور، فإنه من خلال العمل عن كثب مع الجماعات الجنوبية، حيث تحتفظ بوجودٍ عسكري، أنشأت الإمارات “حزاماً آمناً:” بنية تحتية أمنية لاستقرار الجنوب، باستخدام القوات المحلية لاحتجاز المواطنين الذين لهم صلات بالجماعات الإسلامية.

في هذا الصدد، قد يكون من الخطأ الاعتقاد بأن الانسحاب يمثل حالة من الغياب الإماراتي في الصراع، أو أنه انتصارٌ للحوثيين وإيران، الأمر الذي يقول بعض المسؤولين أن الولايات المتحدة أو السعودية تخشاه، إذ لا يزال وجود دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ملموساً في المنطقة، حتى لو لم يعد هناك قواتٌ برية كبيرة على الأرض، وفقاً للسكان المحليين.

يمكن للمرء القول أن الإمارات لم تتصور قط التواجد على أرضٍ يمنية على المدى الطويل وأن الهدف من مشاركتها هو تحقيق الاستقرار في اليمن – وبالتالي فإن إعادة إنتشار الموارد لا يعدّ انحرافاً عن هذا الهدف. فبدلاً من التركيز على محاربة الحوثيين، سيتم توجيه جهود الإمارات نحو مكافحة الإرهاب. يشير الوجود الإماراتي المستمر في الجنوب وكذلك في جزيرة سقطرى أيضاً إلى أن البلاد تمتلك طموحاتٍ سياسية أكبر في المنطقة، وفقاً لبعض المحللين، على غرار الوصول إلى مشاريع التنمية والتجارة. من جهته، اقترح بيتر سالزبوري، من مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، أن هذه الخطوة تعكس تصدعاتٍ واضحة بين الجماعات الموالية للحكومة والمناهضة للحوثيين، لأن أهداف دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كانت مختلفة عن شركائها في التحالف منذ بداية الحرب في اليمن. التقدم المحرز في الحديدة مكّنهم من السعي وراء هذه الأهداف.

جاء التراجع أيضاً نتيجة امتداد خطوط المعركة بما يتجاوز نشاط الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وبالتالي، جوهرياً، فإن عدداً أقل من القوات الإماراتية بالكاد يؤثر على الصراع، حيث إن الخطوط الأمامية اليمنية الحالية تسيطر عليها قوات الدول الأخرى، وفقاً لستراتفور.

ومع ذلك، من المهم الإشارة إلى أن المصالح اليمنية الجنوبية كانت تنحرف عن المجهود الحربي الشامل، لذا فإن تعزيز قوة الجماعات في هذا الجزء من البلاد يمكن أن يحفز حركاتٍ انفصالية جديدة كذلك. وبالتالي، ترى حكومة هادي أن تعزيز الأمم المتحدة لقوة الميليشيات في هذا الجزء من اليمن يمثل تحدياً لحكومته وقيادته. فقد سمح الدور الأمني المعزز الجديد لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، بما في ذلك شبكة قواعدها وعلاقاتها القوية مع الجماعات المحلية، بمشاركةٍ أعمق في ليبيا لدعم هجوم الجنرال خليفة حفتر في البلاد.

وقال عادل دشيله، الباحث اليمني والكاتب المستقل، الذي عمل سابقاً في جامعة BAMU في الهند، متحدثا لفَنَك: “لن يؤدي الانسحاب الإماراتي من اليمن إلى السلام والاستقرار في هذا البلد.” وأضاف “لقد نجحت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في تفكيك اليمن إلى كانتونات متنافسة على أسسٍ قبلية وطائفية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يعني هذا الانسحاب وجود تفاهمٍ بين الإيرانيين والإماراتيين.” وتابع القول، “ستقبل الإمارات بأن تحكم [ميليشيات الحوثي] بعض المناطق الشمالية، بينما يسيطر المجلس الانتقالي (الميليشيات الانفصالية الجنوبية) على بعض المناطق الجنوبية من اليمن.”

كما قال دشيله إن الإمارات تريد تحسين صورتها بعد اتهاماتٍ بارتكاب جرائم في سجونها السرية في جنوب اليمن، فضلاً عن كونها “لا تريد التصعيد ضد إيران.” كما كان إعلان انسحابها من اليمن وسيلةً لإيصال رسالة إلى طهران، بحسب دشيله، إذ قالت الإمارات لإيران: “لسنا ضدك.”

فقد انتقلت المملكة العربية السعودية الآن لتأمين ميناءين استراتيجيين على البحر الأحمر ومضيق باب المندب، بينما تتولى أيضاً قيادة القواعد العسكرية في المخا وخوخا وعدن وجزيرة بريم. وبالفعل، تشير التقارير السعودية إلى أن الحوثيين انتقلوا لمهاجمة السفن التجارية في جنوب البحر الأحمر ومضيق باب المندب، الأمر الذي ينكرونه.

في حين أن قرار دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بتخفيض وجود قواتها في اليمن يعد منعطفاً ملحوظاً في الصراع المستمر منذ أربع سنوات، إلا أن دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لا تزال تلعب دوراً رئيسياً داخلها عبر وكلائها ومن خلال جهود مكافحة الإرهاب، كما فصلّت لنفسها أيضاً دوراً أمنياً استراتيجياً جديداً في المنطقة، ويمكن أن يؤدي انخفاض تواجدها العسكري في اليمن إلى التخفيف من الأضرار التي لحقت بسمعتها نتيجة المشاركة في الحرب. واليوم، من المرجح أن يؤدي التورط السعودي الإضافي إلى مضاعفة الإنتقاد الدولي للمملكة، لكن مع وجود ما يقرب من 19000 من القوات المدربة في مكانها في الحديدة، لا تشير حقيقة قِلة أعداد القوات الإماراتية على الأرض اليمنية إلى نهاية هذه الحرب.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Saleh Al-OBEIDI

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Past to Present / The UAE’s Withdrawal From Yemen is Strategic in Every Way

The UAE’s Withdrawal From Yemen is Strategic in Every Way

UAE- Emirati fighters yemen
In this file photo taken on January 20, 2019, Emirati fighters from the Saudi-backed coalition forces on Yemen’s west coast frontline board a helicopter at a military base in Khokha, 100 kilometers south of the flashpoint Red Sea port city of Hodeida. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Saleh Al-OBEIDI

On July 8, 2019, the UAE announced a “strategic redeployment” from the port city of Hodeidah, along the western coast of Yemen, in addition to a tactical retreat in other areas. The move is a major turn in the Saudi-led coalition‘s offensive in the country, within which the Emirati nation has played a major supporting role.

The Gulf nation justified its decision by saying that it was navigating toward a “peace-first” strategy. Reports suggest that troop numbers in Hodeidah, a Houthi-held area, have already gone down from 750 soldiers to 150, while helicopters and heavy artillery have been removed. The weekend’s announcement was the first confirmation of a shift that has been in discussion for months.

A war between the Houthi-armed movement and the forces of President Abdrabbuh Mansur Hadi, of the officially recognized government, has been ongoing in Yemen since 2014. A coalition of international forces led by Saudi Arabia has been backing the regime since March 2015, providing air force personnel and troops against the Houthis, a rebel group that is, according to many sources, supported by Iran. The UAE has been one of Saudi Arabia’s most important allies, providing their air force, weapons, funding and an estimated 5,000 troops. On the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula, the Emirati forces have reportedly trained 90,000 soldiers. Although it is said to have a smaller army compared to larger regional allies, it became the dominant force after the coalition took al-Mokha, Khokha and other areas on the western Yemeni coast in early 2017. There were trained the Yemeni forces al-Amaliqa and the fighters loyal to Tareq Saleh, the deceased Yemeni president Ali Abdullah Saleh’s nephew. Both groups joined together to form “Guards of the Republic.”

The fallout of the conflict has been described by the U.N. as one of the worst humanitarian disasters in the world. More than 70,000 people have died since the beginning of the conflict, according to data collected by the Armed Conflict and Location Event Data Project, while up to 14 million people may be on the brink of famine and an estimated 85,000 children, five-years-old or younger, may have died from acute malnutrition. Saudi Arabia has also been implicated in potential war crimes.

In December 2018, coalition parties supported a U.N.-led peace agreement signed in Stockholm that called for a cease-fire, the opening of humanitarian corridors and the possibility of prisoner swaps.

The UAE’s involvement in the war has been iterated by Shaikh Mohammad Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, as fundamental to security in the Middle East. While Iran does support the Houthis, economic relations between the Persian country and the UAE does not seem to have been affected, as the two countries’ annual trade, worth $20 billion, appears unhindered.

In the meantime, the UAE has established a number of strategically located bases in and outside Yemen (in Perim Island in Yemen, Assab in Eritrea, Berbera in Somaliland and Bosaso in Puntland) that has boosted its security role in the region.

There is no definitive answer to the reason for the country’s withdrawal, but a few events can be pointed at.
Substantial opposition to the coalition’s activities in Yemen has been seen through civilian protest and political criticism, for instance, by Congressmen in the U.S, which has hurt the UAE’s international reputation.

As well as training groups on the western coast, it has been working closely with groups in the south, where it has also maintained a reduced military presence, such as the secessionist Southern Transitional Council (STC).

According to the American geopolitical intelligence platform Stratfor, by working closely with southern groups, where it maintains military presence, the UAE has created its “Security Belt”: a security infrastructure to stabilize the south, using local forces to detain citizens with links to Islamist groups.

In this regard, it would be an error to think that drawdown is a case of UAE absence in the conflict, or that it is a victory for the Houthis and Iran, as some officials say might be feared by the US or Saudi. The UAE’s presence is still felt in the area, even if they don’t have as many boots on the ground, according to locals.

You could say that the UAE never envisaged being on Yemeni ground for the long-term and that the aim of its involvement was to stabilize Yemen – therefore its redeployment of resources is not a digression from this objective. Rather than focusing on fighting the Houthis, the UAE’s efforts will now be geared towards counter-terrorism. The continued Emirati presence in the south as well as on the island of Socotra also indicates that the country has greater political ambitions in the region, according to some analysts, along the lines of access to development projects and trade. Peter Salisbury from the International Crisis Group has suggested that the move lays bare fissures among pro-government and anti-Houthi groups, as the UAE’s goals have been different to its coalition partners from the beginning of the war in Yemen. Progress seen in Hodeidah has enabled them to seek these out.

A drawdown is also the result of battle lines moving beyond where the UAE has been most active. Therefore, in essence, less troops from the Emirates may barely affect the conflict, as the current Yemeni frontlines are controlled by other countries’ forces, according to Stratfor.

It is nonetheless important to note that southern Yemeni interests have been diverging from the overall war effort, so strengthening groups in this part of the country could spur new separatist movements as well. The Hadi government, therefore, sees the U.A.E’s strengthening of militias in this part of Yemen as a challenge to his government and leadership. The UAE’s new strengthened security role, including its web of bases and strong ties with local groups, has allowed for deeper involvement in Libya in support of General Khalifa Haftar‘s offensive in the country.

“The Emirati withdrawal from Yemen won’t lead to peace and stability in this country,” said Adel Dashela, a Yemeni researcher and freelance writer, previously of BAMU in India, speaking to Fanack Chronicle. “The UAE has succeeded in dismantling Yemen into rival cantons on tribal and sectarian bases. In addition, this withdrawal means that there is an Iranian-Emirati understanding,” Dashela added: “The U.A.E will accept the militias of al-Houthi to govern some of the northern regions, and the transitional council (Southern Separatist militias) controls some southern regions of Yemen.”

Dashela also said that the UAE wants to improve its image after accusations of crimes in its secret prisons in southern Yemen, and that it “does not want to escalate against Iran.” Declaring its withdrawal from Yemen was also a way to convey a message to Tehran, Dashela, said. In doing so, the UAE told Iran: “We are not against you.”

Saudi Arabia has now moved in to secure two strategic Red Sea ports and the Bab al-Mandeb Strait, while also taking command of military bases at al-Mokha, Kokha, Aden and Perim Island. Already, Saudi reports suggest that Houthis have moved in to attack commercial vessels in the Southern Red Sea and the Bab- al-Mandeb Strait, which they deny.

While the decision of the UAE to reduce its troops presence in Yemen is a notable turn in the four-year conflict, the UAE still plays a key role within it via its proxies and through counter-terrorism efforts. It has also carved itself a new strategic security role in the region and its reduced military footprint in Yemen could serve to mitigate reputational damage from participating in the war. Now, further Saudi engagement is likely to amplify international criticism of the Kingdom but with almost 19,000 trained troops in its place in Hodeidah, the fact that there are fewer UAE feet on Yemeni ground does not indicate the end of this war.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Saleh Al-OBEIDI | ©AFP ⁃ Saleh Al-OBEIDI

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.