فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / حقوق الإنسان في الإمارات العربية المتحدة / حرية التعبير والتجمّع تحت التهديد في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

حرية التعبير والتجمّع تحت التهديد في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

UAE- International Security exhibition
إماراتي يمشي بجانب معدات شرطة مكافحة الشغب في معرض ومؤتمر الامن الدولي ودرء المخاطر الداخلية في ابوظبي. Photo AFP

أبرز تقريرٌ أعدته مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان قمع حرية التعبير وانعدام العدالة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. فقد قُدم هذا التقرير ونوقش في 23 يناير 2018 أثناء الدورة التاسعة والعشرين للفريق العامل المعني بالاستعراض الدوري الشامل في جنيف، سويسرا.

ووفقاً للعديد من منظمات حقوق الإنسان، تواصل السلطات تقييد حرية التعبير وتكوين الجمعيات من خلال النظام القضائي. وكتبت هيومن رايتس ووتش في تقريرها لعام 2017 عن الدولة الخليجية: “سكان الإمارات الذين يُعرف أنهم تحدثوا إلى منظمات حقوقية دولية يتعرضون لخطر الاعتقال التعسفي والسجن. ينص قانون مكافحة الإرهاب الإماراتي لعام 2014 على عقوبة الإعدام للأشخاص الذين تؤدي أنشطتهم إلى “الإضرار بالوحدة الوطنية أو السلم الاجتماعي،” دون تعريف الأمرين في القانون.” ويمكن أن يؤدي الاحتجاز التعسفي أيضاً إلى التعذيب وإساءة المعاملة، كما أفاد تقرير هيومن رايتس ووتش: “انتقدت مجموعة من خبراء الأمم المتحدة الحقوقيين، بمن فيهم المقرر الخاص المعني بالتعذيب، والمقرر الخاص المعني باستقلال القضاة والمحامين، ورئيس الفريق العامل المعني بالاحتجاز التعسفي، تعامل الإمارات مع 5 مواطنين ليبيين محتجزين تعسفياً منذ 2014 وقال المقرر الخاص المعني بالتعذيب إنه تلقى معلومات موثوقة تفيد بإخضاع السلطات الرجال للتعذيب.”

ويقوم مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان بتقييم ورصد حالات الاحتجاز التعسفي، بشكلٍ يومي، للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان من قبل السلطات في دول الخليج. وفي الإمارات العربية المتحدة، تتضمن القضايا التي يتابعونها بشكلٍ أساسي قضية محمد الركن، وهو محامٍ محتجز منذ عام 2012 والذي مُنح جائزة لودوفيتش تراريو الدولية لحقوق الإنسان لعام 2017، وأسامة النجار، الذي كان من المفترض أن يطلق سراحه في مارس الماضي 2017، وعبيد الزعابي، الذي أطلق سراحه في ديسمبر 2017 بعد أكثر من ثلاث سنوات على إعلان براءته، والدكتور ناصر بن غيث، الذي حكم عليه بالسجن عشر سنوات بسبب “نشر معلومات كاذبة،” وأحمد منصور، وهو عضو في مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان. وغالباً ما توجه لهم تهمٌ تتعلق بالإرهاب، هذا في حال وجهت لهم تهمٌ في الأصل.

وقالت سيما واتلينغ، من حملة منظمة العفو الدولية في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، لفَنَك: “في مارس 2017، ألقي القبض على المدافع البارز عن حقوق الإنسان أحمد منصور، ولا يزال مكان وجوده غير معروف.” وأضافت “لم يُسمح له برؤية محامٍ، ولم يسمح له إلا بزيارتين عائليتين قصيرتين. وهو سجين رأي. ففي 17 سبتمبر 2017، جُلب إلى مبنى النيابة العامة في أبوظبي، حيث التقت به أسرته لفترة وجيزة للمرة الثانية بعد أول زيارة مُراقبة في 3 أبريل 2017. وبالرغم من أن السلطات تدعي احتجازه في السجن المركزي، إلا أن مكان احتجازه الدقيق لا يزال غير موثّق. كما لا يزال غير قادرٍ على رؤية محامٍ، وأحيل منذ احتجازه إلى الحبس الانفرادي، وهو ما يُشكل معاملةً قاسية أو لا إنسانية أو مهينة وربما يتعرض للتعذيب. وتخشى منظمة العفو الدولية على سلامته.”

تُثير مثل هذه الاعتقالات المخاوف من التحدث علناً، إذ أوضحت واتلينغ: “قبل اعتقاله، كان أحمد منصور آخر مدافعٍ عن حقوق الإنسان في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة يمتلك الشجاعة الكافية لمواصلة الحديث عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في البلاد. ومنذ اعتقاله، بات من الصعب جداً الحصول على أي معلومات. وعلى مدى العامين الماضيين، توقفت التقارير الإعلامية التي تطرح هذه القضايا عن ذكر أسماء المدعى عليهم في هذه القضايا، مما يزيد من صعوبة متابعة أواضعهم. يُضاف هذا إلى حقيقة ان الناس يخافون من التحدث.”

ويقول خالد إبراهيم، المدير التنفيذي لمركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، لفَنَك: “حتى المجرمين يتمتعون بحقوق أكثر من النشطاء. ويُضيف “ألقيّ القبض على بعضهم بسبب تغريداتٍ سلمية فحسب! لا يُسمح للناس بالتحدث.” كما قدم مثالاً ألا وهو ما عُرف بقضية الإمارات 94، وهم مجموعة من الأكاديميين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والناشطين الاجتماعيين والمحامين الذين يتواجدون جميعاً اليوم في السجون لتوقيعهم على رسالة تدعو إلى مزيد من الحرية. كما أصدر مركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان تقريراً عن التعذيب والاعتداء في السجن في مارس 2015، استناداً إلى البحوث التي أجراها والذي شمل 150 صفحة من الوثائق وشهادات 56 محتجزاً، والذي غطى حوادث من عام 2012 إلى عام 2014.

وأضاف إبراهيم، “بمجرد أن شهدت الحكومة ما سُمي بالربيع العربي، تملكها الخوف ووضعت جميع المدعى عليهم في السجون، جميع من كتبوا تقارير عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.” وتابع القول “إنها فضيحة في هذا البلد. يجب إطلاق سراح جميع المدعى عليهم إذا ما أرادت الإمارات العربية المتحدة التوافق مع تصريحاتها العلنية تجاه العلاقات الدولية.”

كما تطالب منظمة العفو الدولية أيضاً باتخاذ إجراءاتٍ ملموسة فيما يتعلق بهؤلاء السجناء، والتعاون الكامل مع آلية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان، وذلك بتوجيه دعوة إلى المقرر الخاص المعني بحالة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان للقيام بزياراتٍ دون قيود تتعلق بمدتها ونطاقها، وضمان عدم اعتقال أي شخص أو احتجازه تعسفياً. وقالت واتلينغ إن “حالة حقوق الانسان في الإمارات تدهورت بالرغم من أن السلطات تدعي العكس.” وتُضيف “تواصل السلطات تقييد حرية التعبير وتكوين الجمعيات تعسفاً، مستخدمةً قوانين التشهير الجنائي ومكافحة الإرهاب لاحتجاز ومقاضاة وإدانة وسجن منتقدي الحكومة. وينبغي على المجتمع الدولي التوقف عن الإنبهار بروعة وجمال البلاد وإبداء المصالح الاقتصادية أولاً.” وحتى الآن، لم تعالج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هذه المخاوف أو حتى الرد على هذه الاتهامات التي وجهتها المنظمات الحقوقية.

بل اتهم البعض في قضية الإمارات 94 بإنشاء حركة للإخوان المسلمين في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهي تهمةٌ لطالما نفتها المجموعة. فقد عاقبت الإمارات العربية المتحدة بشدة أعضاء الإخوان المسلمين المزعومين والفعليين، خوفاً على طموحاتها (شبه) الديمقراطية، ومعارضة الأسر الحاكمة التي تتولى اليوم السلطة في البلاد. وقال الدكتور عزام التميمي، الناشط البريطاني الفلسطيني “تعتبر الإمارات العربية المتحدة الإخوان المسلمين منظمةً إرهابية، إذ أنهم لا يقبلون أي شيءٍ يتعلق بهم، بل وصل بهم الحد إلى طرد المواطنين غير الإماراتيين المرتبطين بالإخوان وسجن الآخرين، بل وتعذيبهم.” وأضاف “يعتقد محمد بن زايد [ولي عهد أبوظبي] أن هذه حربه المقدسة لهزيمة الإخوان المسلمين، ذلك أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة تشعر بالتهديد من الربيع العربي وأي حزب سياسي إسلامي يتولى السلطة بعده. فهم يخشون أن يحصل في البلاد ما حصل في تونس ومصر. ولكن الآن، تم القضاء، تقريباً، على الإخوان المسلمين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.”

ويبدو أن معظم الدول التي ترتبط بعلاقاتٍ مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تغض الطرف عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. فقد وقعت المملكة المتحدة، على سبيل المثال، على برنامج تعاوني وفني واسع النطاق مع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث يرى النقّاد أن للأمر علاقة بتسهيل تدفق رأس المال بين البلدين. وفي الوقت نفسه، اتُهِمت فرنسا بتجاهل مصير العمال الوافدين خلال أعمال تشييد موقع متحف اللوفر في أبوظبي. وعلى الرغم من صدور مراسيم في عام 2016 لوضع قواعد مناسبة لإنهاء العقود، لا يزال العمال الوافدون معرضون لخطرٍ كبير في ظل نظام الكفالة الذي يربط العمال بأرباب عملهم وبالتالي يصبحون عرضة لسوء المعاملة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MARWAN NAAMANI ©AFP | MARWAN NAAMANI ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Human Rights / Freedom of Expression and Association Under Threat in the UAE

Freedom of Expression and Association Under Threat in the UAE

UAE- International Security exhibition
An Emirati man walks past riot police equipment at the International Security and National Resilience exhibition and conference in Abu Dhabi. Photo AFP

A report by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights  has highlighted the suppression of freedom of expression and the lack of justice in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). This report was presented and discussed on 23 January 2018 during the 29th Human Rights Council Universal Periodic Review Working Group session in Geneva, Switzerland.

According to many human rights organizations, the authorities continue to restrict freedoms of expression and association through the judiciary system. Human Rights Watch (HRW), in its 2017 report on the Gulf state, wrote: ‘UAE residents known to have spoken with international rights groups are at serious risk of arbitrary detention and imprisonment. The UAE’s 2014 counterterrorism law provides for the death penalty for people whose activities are found to “undermine national unity or social peace”, neither of which are defined in the law.’ Arbitrary detention can also lead to torture and mistreatment, as HRW reported: ‘A group of United Nations human rights experts, including the special rapporteur on torture, the special rapporteur on the independence of judges and lawyers, and the chair of the Working Group on Arbitrary Detention, criticized the UAE’s treatment of five Libyan nationals who had been held in arbitrary detention since 2014. The special rapporteur on torture said he had received credible information that authorities subjected the men to torture.’

The Gulf Center for Human Rights (GCHR) assesses and monitors on a daily basis the cases of human rights defenders arbitrarily arrested by the authorities in the Gulf countries. In the UAE, the cases they are following the closest are Mohammed al-Roken, a lawyer detained since 2012 who has been awarded the Ludovic-Trarieux International Human Rights Prize, Osama al-Najjar, who was supposed to have been released last March 2017, Obaid al-Zaabi, who was released in December 2017, more than three years after being found innocent, academic Dr Nasser bin Ghaith, who has been sentenced to ten years in jail for ‘posting false information’, and Ahmed Mansour, a member of the GCHR. The defendants are mostly charged with terrorism, if they are charged with anything at all.

“In March 2017, prominent human rights defender Ahmed Mansoor was arrested and his whereabouts remain unverified,” Sima Watling, a campaigner for Amnesty International in the Middle East and North Africa, told Fanack Chronicle. “He has had no access to a lawyer and has only been allowed two short family visits. He is a prisoner of conscience. On 17 September 2017, he was brought to the public prosecution building in Abu Dhabi, where his family met him briefly for the second time following a first supervised visit on 3 April 2017. Even though the authorities claim that he is being held at Central Prison, his exact place of detention remains unverified. [He] still has no access to a lawyer, and since his arrest has been detained in solitary confinement, which amounts to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment and possibly torture. Amnesty International fears for his safety.”

Such arrests instill a fear of talking openly, Watling explained: “Prior to his detention, Ahmed Mansoor was the last human rights defender in the UAE brave enough to keep speaking about the human rights violations in the country. Since his detention, information is very difficult to obtain. Over the past couple of years, the media reporting on cases have stopped mentioning names of defendants in cases, making it more difficult to follow up on them. This is added to the fact that people are afraid of speaking out.”

“Even criminals have more rights than activists,” GCHR Executive Director Khalid Ibrahim told Fanack Chronicle. “Some are arrested just for peaceful tweets! People are not allowed to talk.” He gave the example of the UAE 94, a group of academics, rights defenders, social activists and lawyers who are all in prison for signing a letter calling for more freedom. GCHR issued a report on torture and abuse in prison in March 2015, based on research and including 150 pages of documentation with the testimonies of 56 detainees, covering incidents from 2012 to 2014.

“Once the government witnessed the so-called Arab Spring, it got scared so it put all the defendants in jail, all the people reporting human rights violations,” Ibrahim added. “It’s a scandal, this country. All defendants should be released if the UAE wants to be compatible with its public proclamations towards international relations.”

Amnesty International is also asking for concrete actions with regards to these prisoners, and full cooperation with the United Nations human rights mechanism, by extending an invitation to the special rapporteur on the situation of human rights defenders to conduct visits without restriction on duration and scope, and ensure no one is arbitrarily arrested or detained. “The human rights situation has deteriorated in the UAE despite the authorities claiming the contrary,” Watling said. “The authorities continue to arbitrarily restrict freedoms of expression and association, using criminal defamation and anti-terrorism laws to detain, prosecute, convict and imprison government critics. The international community should stop being impressed by the glamour and glitz and putting economic interests first.” So far, the UAE has not addressed these concerns or responded to the accusations made by rights organizations.

Some of the UAE 94 members were accused of setting up the Muslim Brotherhood movement in the UAE, a charge the group has always denied. The UAE has come down hard on alleged and actual members of the Muslim Brotherhood, fearing its (quasi-) democratic ambitions and opposition to the royal families currently in power. Dr Azzam Tamimi, a British Palestinian activist, said, “The UAE considers the Muslim Brotherhood to be a terrorist organization; they don’t accept anything related to them, going so far as to expel non-UAE citizens connected with the organization and jailing the others, even torturing them.” He added, “Mohammed bin Zayed [crown prince of Abu Dhabi] thinks it’s his holy war to defeat the Muslim Brothers, because the UAE feels threatened by the Arab Spring and any Islamic political party taking power after it. They are concerned the same thing that happened in Tunisia and Egypt would happen there too. But now, the Muslim Brothers have been nearly eradicated in the UAE.”

Most countries with ties to the UAE seem to have turned a blind eye when it comes to human rights violations. The United Kingdom, for example, has signed up for  a collaborative and extensive arts programme with the UAE, which critics say is as much about lubricating the easy flow of capital between the two countries. France, meanwhile, has been accused of ignoring the fate of migrant workers during the construction of an outpost of the Louvre museum in Abu Dhabi. Although decrees were issued in 2016 to establish proper rules for contract termination, migrant workers remain at great risk under the kafala or visa sponsorship system that ties workers to their employers and is prone to abuse.

image_pdfimage_print