فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / حقوق الإنسان في الإمارات العربية المتحدة / وضع العمال المهاجرين

وضع العمال المهاجرين

وجهت منظمة مراقبة حقوق الإنسان انتقادات بشكل دوري إلى حكومة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بسبب الاستغلال واسع النطاق للعديد من العمال وعاملات المنازل في البلاد، ومعظمهم من جنوب آسيا وجنوب شرق آسيا. وعلى سبيل المثال، في الفترة بين شهر آذار/مارس 2007 وأيلول/سبتمبر 2009، ورد اسم الإمارات العربية المتحدة في ثلاثة تقارير خاصة مع تفاصيل أنواع عديدة من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك ترحيل المهاجرين المصابين بفيروس نقص المناعة المكتسبة/الإيدز (23 أيلول/سبتمبر 2009)، والإساءة إلى عمال منازل من سريلانكا (14 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2007) واستغلال عمال البناء (11 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر 2007). وتطال معظم انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الإمارات العربية المتحدة الفئة الكبيرة من العمال المهاجرين الآسيويين، معظمهم من الهند وباكستان وبنغلادش، والذين يتعرضون للإساءة من قبل أرباب العمل ووكالات التوظيف، بما فيها مصادرة جوازات سفرهم وعدم دفع أجورهم وظروف السكن والعمل البائسة غير الإنسانية وشبيهة بالعبودية.

شملت إحدى التدخلات الأخيرة لمنظمة مراقبة حقوق الإنسان ظروفَ العمل في مشروع جزيرة السعديات في أبوظبي. ووفق منظمة مراقبة حقوق الإنسان، فإن الآلاف من العمال المهاجرين القادمين من جنوب آسيا والذين يعملون في بناء الجزيرة التي تبلغ تكلفتها 27 مليار دولار “تعرضوا للاستغلال والإساءة، وفي بعض الحالات للعمل القسري”. ووضعت المنظمة ذنب الانتهاكات على الوكالات التي تزوّد العمال وشركات البناء والقوانين القمعية. واعترف التقرير بالجهود التي بذلتها حكومة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مؤخراً في مجال تحسين ظروف السكن وضمان دفع أجور العمال في الوقت المناسب، إلا أنه أكد أيضاً على أن الإساءة إلى العمال كانت لا تزال أمراً شائعاً. وطُلب من المؤسسات الدولية التي تخطط لافتتاح فروع جديدة في الجزيرة – بما فيها متحف Guggenheim ، وجامعة نيويورك، ووكالة متاحف فرنسا (المسؤولة عن متحف اللوفر في أبوظبي)- استخدام نفوذها للمساعدة على إيقاف أعمال الإساءة من خلال الحصول على ضمانات تعاقدية قابلة للنفاذ بأن تحمي شركات البناء حقوق العمال الأساسية في مشاريعها.

 

التمييز العرقي من حيث الأجور

ينص دستور الإمارات العربية المتحدة على المساواة بين السكان بغض النظر عن العرق أو الجنسية أو الوضع الاجتماعي، ويحظر القانون التمييز على أساس العجز. إلا أن الدستور لا ينص على المساواة لغير المواطنين (بمن فيهم البدون). فالتمييز في العمل، في التوظيف والرواتب، على أساس العرق أو بلد المنشأ أمر شائع، ويبدو أن القانون يعاقب على هذه الأفعال. يتم الإعلان عن فرص عمل عديدة في الصحف المحلية، وتعلن المواقع الإلكترونية ذات الصلة بشكل واضح عن تفضيلها لعرق معين أو جنسية معينة و/أو عن استثناءات. وثمة جانب آخر لهذا التمييز، وهو الفارق الكبير في الرواتب والأجور التي تدفع إلى الموظفين من خلفيات متعددة بغض النظر عن تساوي مهاراتهم وتعليمهم ومؤهلاتهم. والمجموعات التي تحصل على الرواتب العليا: المواطنون الإماراتيون؛ يليهم الغربيون (من أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية وأستراليا ونيوزيلندا) والمهاجرون من البلدان الآسيوية المتطورة (من اليابان وكوريا الجنوبية) ومن أمريكا الجنوبية وأمريكا الوسطى، والعرب، والإفريقيين، والآسيويين، ومن جنوب آسيا وجنوب شرق آسيا. كما يستفيد المواطنون الإماراتيون بشكل كبير من الإعانات الحكومية وبرنامج الأمرتة، وهو عبارة عن مبادرة حكومية تهدف إلى استبدال القوى العاملة الأجنبية تدريجياً بمصادر بشرية محلية بعدة طرق، منها إجبار الشركات على توظيف عدد معين من المواطنين الإماراتيين.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Human Rights in the UAE / Position of Migrant Workers

Position of Migrant Workers


Human Rights Watch (HRW) has routinely criticized the UAE government for widespread abuse of the country’s many labourers and domestic workers, who are mostly from South and South-East Asia. For example, between March 2007 and September 2009, the UAE was named in three special reports detailing several kinds of human-rights violations, including the deportation of HIV-positive migrants (23 September 2009), abuse of Sri Lankan domestic workers (14 November 2007), and exploitation of construction workers (11 January 2007). Most of the human-rights violations in the UAE involve the large population of Asian migrant workers, mostly from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, who suffer, at the hands of their employers and employment agencies, abuses including confiscation of their passports, non-payment of wages, and deplorable working and housing conditions that can be inhumane and resemble slavery.

migrant workers
Photo HH


One of HRW’s recent interventions involved working conditions on the Saadiyat Island project in Abu Dhabi. According to HRW, thousands of South Asian migrant workers building the USD 27 billion island development ‘faced severe exploitation and abuse, in some cases amounting to forced labour’. The group blamed labour-supply agencies, construction companies, and repressive laws for the abuses. The report acknowledged the UAE government’s recent efforts to improve housing conditions and ensure the timely payment of wages for workers, but it also asserted that labour abuses were still common. International institutions planning to open branches on the island – including the Guggenheim Museum, New York University (NYU), and the French Museum Agency (responsible for the Louvre Abu Dhabi) – were urged to use their influence to help stop the abuses by obtaining enforceable contractual guarantees that construction companies will protect workers’ fundamental rights on their projects.


migrant workers

Ethnic discrimination in wages

migrant workers

The UAE Constitution provides for equality for citizens without regard to race, nationality, or social status, and the law prohibits discrimination based on disability, but the Constitution does not provide for equality for non-citizens (including Bedouns). Job discrimination, in employment and pay, on the basis of ethnic or national origin is common and appears to be sanctioned by law. Many job openings are advertised in local newspapers, and relevant websites clearly declare their ethnic or national preference and/or exclusions. Another aspect of this discrimination is the great difference in salaries and wages paid to employees from different backgrounds, regardless of their similar skills, education, and qualifications. The groups that tend to receive the highest salaries are Emirati nationals, followed by Westerners (Europeans, North Americans, Australians, and New Zealanders), nationals of developed Asian countries (especially Japanese and South Koreans), South and Central Americans, Arabs, Africans, Asians, and South and South-East Asians. Emiratis also benefit greatly from government subsidies and the programme of Emiratization, a government initiative to gradually replace the expatriate workforce with local human resources by several means, including forcing companies to hire a certain quota of UAE citizens.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.