فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة

الثقافة

المحتويات

الثقافة التقليدية
ثقافة البحر والصحراء
مقارنة بين الثقافة المحلية وثقافة المهاجرين
الهندسة المعمارية
المأكولات
الأزياء
الموسيقى والرقص
الفن والأدب
الفعاليات الفنية والمهرجانات
الرياضة

الدين الرسمي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة هو الإسلام، واللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية. وكلا العنصرين جوهريان لثقافة سكان البلاد. كما تبلور الإطار الثقافي الأصلي من نمط الحياة البدوية وقرون طويلة من صيد السمك واللؤلؤ والتجارة البحرية. إلا أن البلاد تكتسب صفة عالمية بالكامل، وهناك أنماط حياة أخرى واضحة تماماً، بما في ذلك النمط الغربي. ففي غالبية المدن الرئيسية، يشيع استخدام اللغة الإنكليزية بين المجموعات المختلفة، كما تشيع الأزياء ونمط الحياة الغربية، بما فيها المطاعم وسلاسل محلات الوجبات السريعة ومراكز التسوق والملاهي الليلية.

تحتفل الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالأعياد الإسلامية التقليدية، بما في ذلك الولائم التي تلي شهر رمضان والحج السنوي ورأس السنة الإسلامية (وفق التقويم الهجري) والإسراء والمعراج. ومن أكبر الاحتفالات التي تشهدها الإمارات العربية المتحدة هو يوم الاستقلال الواقع في 2 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، ذكرى قيام الاتحاد عام 1971.

تعتبر الإمارات العربية المتحدة دولة منفتحة وليبرالية على أكثر من صعيد، نظراً إلى تسامحها تجاه الثقافات والمعتقدات الأخرى. يُسمح لجماعات المغتربين باتباع أنماط حياتهم الخاصة، مع بعض القيود. والمناسبات والعطل الخاصة غير الوطنية، مثل عيد الميلاد وديوالي، ليست رسمية، ولكن بعض المجموعات تحتفل بها. أما رأس السنة الميلادية فهو العطلة الرسمية غير الإسلامية الوحيدة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. للإمارات العربية المتحدة حياة ثقافية تجمع بين الإرث التقليدي الإماراتي والتقاليد العالمية للفنون والموسيقى والرياضة والأنشطة الترفيهية. ومن الفنون وأنواع الرياضة المحلية المحبّبة نذكر الرقص الشعبي وتربية الصقور وسباق الخيل والهجن. بدأت البلاد تتحول إلى مركز دولي للمهرجانات السينمائية والفن الحديث والهندسة المعمارية والمنافسات الرياضية رفيعة المستوى، مما يجعل ثقافة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أكثر انفتاحاً وتنوعاً من العديد من بلدان المنطقة.

الثقافة التقليدية

الثقافة التقليدية للإمارات العربية المتحدة هي نتاج مهارات شعب من البحارة والبدو الرحل وقسوة الطبيعة التي يعيشونها يومياً: الصحراء والبحر. وقبل قيام الاقتصاد النفطي في أوائل ستينيات القرن العشرين، تبلورت الثقافة الإماراتية التقليدية جراء تيارين: البدو الرحل الذين قطنوا الصحراء ومارسوا الزراعة في الواحات على نطاق ضيق في إطار النطاق الأوسع للاقتصاد وثقافة الصحراء؛ وثقافة البحر المتمحورة حول صيد اللؤلؤ والتجارة البحرية. كانت هاتان الثقافتان الفرعيتان مترابطتين اقتصادياً وسياسياً واجتماعياً، مما شكّل ثقافة وهوية اجتماعية مشتركة. وتشترك الإمارات العربية المتحدة بأوجه عديدة من ثقافتها مع البلدان العربية المجاورة والثقافة العربية الأوسع نطاقاً.

كانت القبيلة الركن الأساسي للمجتمع الإماراتي منذ أن أحضرت موجات الهجرة المتلاحقة، في أوائل منتصف الألفية الأولى قبل الميلاد، قبائل عربية إلى المنطقة. وفرض تنوع المناطق التي قطنتها هذه القبائل – الصحراء والواحات والجبال والساحل – أنماط الحياة التقليدية التي تطورت على مر القرون، وكان القاسم المشترك بينها سعة الحيلة التي أظهرها الناس في استثمار بيئتهم القاسية إلى أبعد الحدود. وساعدهم على ذلك البنية الاجتماعية القديمة قدم الزمن، والتي فرضت على أفراد كل عائلة واجب تقديم المساعدة لأقربائهم وللقبيلة ككل. وضمن القبيلة، كان حس الضيافة الفردية مصدر فخر واعتزاز. وكان الدين الواحد، الإسلام، يجمع الناس معاً.

لا تزال الثقافة الإماراتية التقليدية حاضرة في الأماكن التي يرتادها الكثير من الإماراتيين، كموانئ صيد السمك وأسواق السمك وساحات بناء السفن ومراكز تربية الصقور وأسواق الذهب والبهارات والعطور ومتاجر الأزياء التقليدية؛ وحتى الصحراء نفسها لا تزال المقصد المفضل للإماراتيين لقضاء عطل نهاية الأسبوع والأعياد. ولا تزال عائلات عديدة تحتفظ بمنازل ومزارع في الصحراء يهتم بها عمال مغتربون، لقضاء الوقت مع الأهل والأقرباء وركوب الخيل. كما أن بعض هذه المزارع محطات للسياح فيما يعرف بسفاري الصحراء، حيث يمكنهم ركوب الهجن ومشاهدة الماعز والأغنام. ويتم تنظيم الفعاليات الثقافية على مدار السنة، وتشمل السباقات والألعاب والمعارض والندوات. مثالاً على ذلك، ينظم نادي تراث الإمارات سباقات دورية للقوارب الشراعية التقليدية (الداو) والهجن. كما يرعى كل من مركز أبوظبي للثقافة والتراث وقرية التراث في دبي أحداثاً ثقافية هامة ومعارض دائمة.

ثقافة البحر والصحراء

تبلورت الثقافة الإماراتية عبر قرون طويلة من خوض غمار البحار لكسب لقمة العيش، أكان في تجارة المسافات الطويلة أو القرصنة أو جمع الطعام من البحر. وتأصلت التقاليد الشعبية والمأكولات والطهي والحرف اليدوية والمصطلحات اللغوية والأغاني والرقص والعديد من الأوجه الأخرى لنمط حياة الناس في أنشطة بحرية كصيد السمك واللؤلؤ وبناء القوارب. ويمكن ملاحظة تأثير هذه الثقافة البحرية بشكل واضح في يومنا هذا؛ فالعديد من القوارب التي لا تزال تستخدم اليوم لصيد السمك أو السباقات أو للترفيه عن السياح تشبه قوارب “الداو” الشراعية التقليدية الشهيرة (مع أنها مزودة بمحركات وغالباً دون أشرعة).

كانت الصحراء العربية، بقسوتها، التأثير الرئيسي الثاني على تشكل الثقافة الإماراتية التقليدية. كانت القبائل تجوب الصحراء بحثاً عن الكلأ والماء، وتعيش معظم الوقت في خيام أو بيوت بسيطة وتستخدم الجمال كوسيلة نقل وبقاء. وتحولت المواقع القليلة التي كانت توفر المياه، عادة المياه الجوفية، إلى مستوطنات شبه دائمة مزروعة بأشجار النخيل. وكانت هذه الواحات، بما فيها الواحات الكبيرة مثل واحة البريمي وواحة ليوا، تسند مجموعات صغيرة من البدو شبه الرحل والمزارعين. ويمكن ملاحظة استمرارية ثقافة الصحراء هذه في استمرارية القيم والتقاليد البدوية وأنواع معينة من الأنشطة الترفيهية والرياضات الشعبية. فلا تزال سباقات الهجن والخيل شعبية حتى يومنا هذا.

مقارنة بين الثقافة المحلية وثقافة المهاجرين

تجمع الإمارات العربية المتحدة ثقافات متعددة: الثقافة العربية الإماراتية الأصيلة؛ ومجموعة واسعة من ثقافات المغتربين والتي تختلف من حيث حجمها وتأثيرها وحضورها وعلاقتها بالثقافة الإماراتية. وتختلف العلاقات والتفاعلات بين هذه الثقافات، وفق عوامل عديدة كاللغة والدين والتقاليد وطريقة النظر إلى الأمور، مما ينشأ عنه علاقات متنوعة واضطرابات ونزاعات. كباقي الشعوب الأخرى التي قطنت المنطقتين الجنوبية والجنوبية الشرقية للجزيرة العربية، أثرت الثقافات الفارسية والهندية والإفريقية بشكل كبير على شعب الإمارات. ومن خلال التجارة وهجرة جماعات كبيرة من أهالي تلك المناطق، تركت هذه الثقافات بصمة مميزة على المطبخ واللغة والتقاليد ونمط الحياة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

الثقافة المحلية للمجتمع الإماراتي المحلي ثقافة الأقلية، وهي دائمة التأثر بثقافات الجماعات الأجنبية التي تشكل أغلبية السكان. وزادت التغيرات السكانية السريعة التي شهدتها الأعوام الخمسة الأخيرة من أعداد المهاجرين في البلاد ورفعت بالتالي الضغوط على الثقافة المحلية. ويبدي الكثير من المواطنين قلقهم حيال ما يعتبرونه تهديداً للهوية الثقافية للبلاد، متخذين مثالاً لهم تراجع استخدام اللغة العربية وتأثيرات أخرى غير مرغوب بها على الثقافة العربية المحلية للمواطنين الأصليين، على صعيد الأزياء والمأكولات والذوق الفني والعادات التقليدية.

الهندسة المعمارية

عبر السنين، حولت عائدات النفط الضخمة أبوظبي، وبشكل خاص دبي، إلى معارض من الهندسة المعمارية الحديثة على الطراز الغربي.

المأكولات

قبل ستينيات القرن العشرين، كان طعام الإماراتيين مكوناً بشكل أساسي من السمك والأرز والخبز والتمر واللبن والخضار واللحوم (الخراف والماعز والجمال). ومنذ ذلك الحين، تضاعفت المأكولات من حيث النوعية والكمية، نظراً إلى أن المتاجر الحديثة باتت تقدم مجموعة واسعة من المأكولات المستوردة. بالنسبة إلى الإماراتيين، وجبة الغداء هي الوجبة التقليدية الأساسية ويتم تناولها عادة في المنزل مع أفراد العائلة حوالى الساعة الثانية بعد الظهر. وتتكون وجبة الغداء النموذجية من السمك والأرز واللحم والخضار. ويلتزم الإماراتيون بالمحرمات الإسلامية فيما يتعلق بلحم الخنزير والمشروبات الروحية وبوجوب تناول اللحم الحلال دون سواه، أي لحوم الحيوانات المذبوحة بحسب الطريقة الإسلامية المعتمدة. ونظراً لوجود الجاليات الكبيرة الأجنبية وغير المسلمة، يتوفر لحم الخنزير والمشروبات الروحية على نطاق واسع، وذلك في متاجر ومطاعم وحانات وفنادق مرخصة خصيصاً.

يعود المطبخ الإماراتي إلى آلاف السنين، إلا أن غالبية الناس، بمن فيهم السكان المحليين، ليس لديهم أدنى فكرة عن أصل بعض الأطباق والمكونات التقليدية. فالكثير من الأطباق الإماراتية التقليدية هي أنواع من أطباق من شرق إفريقيا والهند وشرق آسيا والشرق الأوسط، إضافة إلى بعض المكونات الأساسية البريطانية. والعديد من المأكولات الإماراتية هجينة تجتمع فيها تقاليد مستوردة عديدة؛ من بين هذه الأطباق: “البرياني” المستورد من الهند، والذي يتمتع بمكانة مرموقة كطبق محلي، إلى جانب “الهريس” و “الخبيص”.

الإماراتيون شعب مضياف، ويتشرّف باستقبال الضيوف، ويبني علاقات طيبة مع الأصدقاء والأقرباء. يتم استقبال الضيوف بالمشروبات التقليدية والحلويات، وعادة بالقهوة العربية وثمار البلح الطازجة. ويتم إشعال البخور في الغرف التي يُستقبل فيها الضيوف لينتشر عبقه في كافة أرجاء البيت. غالبية الأطباق المحلية لا تُباع في المطاعم أو المقاهي، وإنما تُطهى في المنزل أو تحضّر تجارياً حسب الطلب للمناسبات الخاصة كالأعراس والمناسبات الأخرى. ومع ارتفاع أعداد المهاجرين في الإمارات، تتوفر تشكيلة أوسع من المأكولات في مطاعم الوجبات السريعة، ويشيع تناولها بين الإماراتيين والأجانب المقيمين في الإمارات على حد سواء.

لا تزال المأكولات البحرية شائعة بين الإماراتيين الذين يأكلون كميات هائلة من الأسماك الطازجة الفاخرة المعروفة بـ “الهامور” والأسماك المجففة المعروفة بـ “الكسيف”، ومن أنواعها “البدح” (سمك أبيض منقط صغير) و “اليوبل” (سمك غامق اللون، غالباً ما يكون سمك اللخمة أو القرش). ومثال آخر هو “البثيثة”، نوع من الحلويات الذي يصنع من معجون التمر ودقيق القمح والسمن والمنكهة بحب الهال. وكونها لا تفسد، فقد كانت الأكلة المفضلة لصيادي اللؤلؤ في رحلاتهم الطويلة.

الأزياء

من الرموز الباقية في الثقافة التقليدية الإماراتية الأزياء اليومية للرجال والنساء. والأزياء التقليدية إرث يفتخر به الإماراتيون ورمز للتميز والهوية. يرتدي الرجل كندورة أو دشداشة بيضاء ويضع على رأسه غطرة بيضاء تثبت على الرأس بعقال أسود. ويفضّل الرجل الإماراتي اللحية القصيرة والشاربين. وترتدي المرأة الإماراتية عباءة سوداء طويلة وشيلة سوداء تغطي كامل الرأس والشعر. كما ترتدي المرأة الأكثر تحفظاً النقاب لتغطي وجهها، إما بشكل كامل أو تظهر العينان فقط.

مع ازدياد الغنى المادي، تم إدخال تنويعات في الأسلوب والقماش والألوان على أزياء الرجل والمرأة. ففي بعض المناسبات، يرتدي بعض الرجال كندورة ملونة (سوداء أو زرقاء أو ذهبية) وغطرة حمراء أو سوداء مخططة. كما تطورت أزياء النساء لتتماشى مع الموضة من حيث الزينة والتطريز والألوان وتغييرات على العباءة أو الشيلة. كما أدخلت الأجيال الشابة عناصر من الثقافة الغربية على لباسهم اليومي؛ يعتمر العديد من الشبان قبعات البيسبول، كما شاع اردتاء الجينز وثياب أخرى على الموضة تحت العباءة بين الشابات.

الموسيقى والرقص

تتمتع الإمارات العربية المتحدة بتراث عريق في الموسيقى والرقص، وقد لعب كلاهما دوراً أساسياً في حياة الناس. تم تأليف الأغاني لترافق مهاماً مختلفة، من جلب المياه من الآبار إلى الغطس لصيد محار اللؤلؤ في الخليج. كانت تتم الاستعانة بمطرب محترف في قوارب الداو التي كانت تستعمل في صيد اللؤلؤ؛ وكانت مهمته تتمثل في حث الرجال على العمل من خلال الموسيقى والغناء. كان “النحّان” يبدأ بالغناء وينضم إليه البحارة وهم يعملون. ولكل أغنية إيقاع يتماشى مع مهمة معينة. ومثل أناشيد البحارة الغربيين، كانت الموسيقى تلهب العمل الجماعي. كما كان يتم الرقص والغناء خلال الاحتفالات، ولا تزال العديد من الأغاني والرقصات تتناقلها الأجيال، واستمرت حتى يومنا هذا. ترقص الشابات مع أرجحة شعرهن الطويل الأسود المتدلي وهز الجسم كلما زاد الإيقاع نقراً والموسيقى قوة؛ ويمثل الرجال بشكل رمزي معارك حربية أو رحلات صيد ناجحة باستخدام العصي أو السيوف أو البنادق.

في يومنا الراهن، تضم الإمارات العربية المتحدة، مع سكانها من كل أنحاء العالم، مجموعة واسعة من الثقافات المصغرة من الغناء والرقص. تبث الإذاعات والقنوات التلفزيونية المحلية أغانٍ ورقصات من أنحاء عديدة من العالم، للحفاظ على التقاليد الثقافية للمستمعين والجمهور. وتتوفر الموسيقى الغربية والهندية والعربية الشعبية (من الإمارات العربية المتحدة والخليج والعالم العربي ككل) على نطاق واسع.

الفن والأدب

الشعر النبطي هو النوع الأدبي الأكثر انتشاراً في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ينظم الشعراء المحليون الشعر باللهجة المحكية. وأصبح الشعر مبجلاً، ربما لأن الكلمة المحكية كانت على الدوام الشكل الأهم للتعبير الفني لهذا الشعب القبلي، الذي كان يفتقر إلى المواد الخام المستخدمة في بلدان أخرى لأشكال أكثر إحساساً من التعبير الفني وركز بالأكثر على التقليد الشفوي بدلاً الكتابي كممارسة ثقافية. وتتنوع مواضيع الشعر المحلي بين هجاء القادة الوطنيين وقصائد الحب الرومانسي.

تقام في الإمارات العربية المتحدة العديد من المهرجانات والمسابقات الأدبية، من بينها جائزة بوكر العربية، الفرع المحلي لجائزة بوكر البريطانية (المعروفة بالجائزة العالمية للرواية العربية)، والتي أصبحت حدثاً سنوياً منذ عام 2008 وتمنح جوائز نقدية هائلة كل عام للأعمال الروائية العربية الفضلى لروائيين عرب من كل أنحاء العالم. ثمة جائزة أخرى مهمة أيضاً، وأقدم عهداً من سابقتها، وهي جائزة سلطان العويس؛ على اسم رجل أعمال إماراتي خيّر؛ تمنح الجائزة عن فئات مختلفة، منها الشعر والنقد الأدبي، منذ أواسط ثمانينيات القرن العشرين. كما أصبحت المعارض الفنية، وبدرجة أقل، الإنتاج الفني أكثر شعبية.

الفعاليات الفنية والمهرجانات

ث الثقافية الموسيقية والسينمائية التي يزداد تأثيرها. لدبي وأبوظبي نسخهما الخاصة من المهرجانات السينمائية ومعارض الكتب والفعاليات الثقافية الأخرى. وباتت الشارقة تشتهر بالأعمال المسرحية ومهرجان المسرح الدولي الذي يقام سنوياً. وقّعت أبوظبي مؤخراً على صفقات بمليارات الدولارات مع متحفي اللوفر و Guggenheim لفتح فروع لهما في الإمارة على جزيرة ياس التي تم بناؤها حديثاً.

يزور الكثير من المطربين العرب والهنود والغربيين والفرق الموسيقية وغيرهم الإمارات العربية المتحدة دورياً لإحياء الحفلات لجمهور عريض من الإماراتيين والعرب والغربيين والمغتربين من أنحاء أخرى من العالم. وتشتهر المهرجانات السينمائية ومعارض الكتب على الصعيد الدولي، ومنها مهرجان دبي السينمائي الدولي ومعرض أبوظبي الدولي للكتاب.

الرياضة

لا تزال ممارسة الرياضات التقليدية، كتربية الصقور والصيد وسباق الخيل والهجن وقوارب الداو، شائعة بين المواطنين الإماراتيين. كما بنت دبي وأبوظبي صيتاً دولياً بتنظيم أغنى وأفخم سباقات الخيل والهجن؛ كما تم إدخال سباقات Formula One إلى الإمارات: بنت كل من دبي وأبوظبي مضامير لسباق السيارات في السنوات الأخيرة لاستضافة سباقات Grand Prix. كما تستضيف دبي عدداً متزايداً من بطولات كرة المضرب والغولف، والتي تجذب لاعبين من الطراز الرفيع من حول العالم. كما يستقطب ماراثون دبي، وهو سباق يقام سنوياً تمنح فيه جوائز نقدية قيمة، الآلاف من جميع أنحاء العالم، واكتسب شعبية واسعة. استثمرت دبي مبالغ طائلة في منشأتها المتعددة الأهداف: مدينة دبي الرياضية. غير أن الرياضة الأكثر شعبية في البلاد هي كرة القدم، تليها الروكبي والكريكيت، الرياضتان الشعبيتان بين فئات المجتمع المختلفة. ومن الرياضات التي تجدر الإشارة إليها: الرياضات المائية وتسلق الصخور ورالي الصحراء وركوب الخيل والتزحلق على الجليد في الصالات المغلقة.

إقرأ المزيد

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / United Arab Emirates / Society, Media & Culture / Culture

Culture

Contents

Traditional Culture
Maritime and Desert Culture
Local Versus Expatriate Culture
Architecture
Food
Dress
Music and Dance
Art and Literature
Performing Arts and Festivals
Sports

The official religion of the UAE is Islam, and the official language is Arabic. Both of these elements are intrinsic to the culture of the national population. The indigenous culture has also been shaped by the Bedouin life style, as well as centuries of fishing, pearling, and sea trade. The country is, however, thoroughly globalized, and other lifestyles, including Western, are readily visible. In most of the main cities, English is the language commonly spoken between different groups, and it is common to see Western dress and ways, including restaurants and fast-food chains, shopping malls, and night clubs.

The UAE celebrates the traditional Islamic holidays, including the feasts following the month of Ramadan and the annual pilgrimage, and the Islamic new year (according to the Hijra calendar) and the al-Isra wa-al-Miraj (the Prophet Muhammad’s night journey and ascension to heaven). One of the most celebrated days marked by the UAE is its National Day of Independence on 2 December, the anniversary of the formation of the federation, in 1971.

The UAE is an open and liberal country in many ways, showing considerable tolerance of other cultures and beliefs. Expatriate groups can follow their own lifestyles, with few restrictions. Non-national special occasions and holidays, such as Christmas and Diwali, are not observed officially but are celebrated by some groups. New Year (according to the Gregorian calendar) is the one non-Islamic holiday observed officially in the UAE. The UAE has a cultural life that combines Emirati traditional heritage and international traditions in arts, music, sport, and entertainment. Local folk dancing, falconry, and horse- and camel-racing are among cherished local arts and sports. The country is becoming an international centre for film festivals, modern art, architecture, and high-profile athletic competitions, making the UAE’s visible culture more open and diverse than that of many other countries in the region.

Traditional Culture

The UAE’s traditional culture was the product of the survival skills of a seafaring and nomadic people and the harsh environments they faced daily – the desert and the sea. Before the establishment of the oil economy in the early 1960s, two main orientations shaped traditional Emirati culture: that of the nomadic, desert-dwelling Bedouins, engaging in small-scale oasis farming in the broader context of the desert economy and culture; and that of the maritime culture that revolved around pearling and sea trading. These subcultures were economically, politically, and socially interdependent, creating a common culture and social identity. The UAE shares significant aspects of its culture with neighbouring Arab countries and the broader Arab culture.

The tribe has been the principal building block of UAE society since successive waves of migration, beginning in the middle of the first millennium BCE, brought Arab tribes to the region. The varied terrain which these tribes inhabited – desert, oasis, mountains, and coast – dictated the traditional lifestyles that evolved over the centuries, the common thread of which was the resourcefulness which the people displayed in exploiting their harsh environment to its limits. They were aided in this by the age-old social structure, in which each family was traditionally bound by obligations of mutual assistance to their immediate relatives and to the tribe as a whole. In the tribe, an individual’s selfless hospitality was the source of his honour and pride. A common religion, Islam, bound the people together.

Traditional UAE culture can be found in places still frequented by many Emirati people, including fishing ports, fish markets, boat-building yards, falconry centres, gold and spice souks, perfume and traditional dress shops, and even the desert itself, still a favourite spot for Emiratis on weekends and holidays. Many families still keep a desert house and farm (mazra), now maintained by guest workers, where they spend time visiting with family and relatives and riding horses. Some of these farms are also on the scheduled stops of tourists on what are known as desert safaris, where they can ride camels and see goats and sheep. Cultural events are organized throughout the year, offering attractions such as races, games, exhibits, and lectures. For example, the Emirates Heritage Club holds regular races for longboats, dhows, and camels. Similarly, the Culture and Heritage Centre in Abu Dhabi and the Heritage Village in Dubai, also sponsor important cultural events and permanent exhibitions.

Maritime and Desert Culture

Traditional Emirati culture has been shaped largely by centuries of taking to the sea as a matter of survival, either in long-distance trade or piracy or for harvesting the food from the sea. Folk traditions, foods and cooking, handicrafts, language idioms, song, dances, and numerous other aspects of people’s way of life were rooted in sea experiences such as fishing, pearling, and boating. The influence of this maritime culture is easily detectable today. Many of the boats still used today for fishing, racing, or entertaining tourists, resemble the famous traditional sailboats known as dhows

The Arabian desert, with its harsh conditions, was the second principal influence on the formation of Emirati traditional culture. The tribes roamed the desert in search of fodder and water, living most of the time in tents or simple houses and using camels as the main mode of transport and survival. The few locations that offered a steady supply of water, usually from underground aquifers, became semi-permanent settlements planted with palm trees. These oases, including large ones, such as al-Buraimi and Liwa, supported small partially nomadic, partially agricultural communities. The survival of the desert culture can be seen in the continuation of Bedouin values and customs and in specific forms of popular entertainment and sports. The annual camel and horse races

Local Versus Expatriate Culture

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

The UAE is home to multiple cultures – an indigenous Arab Emirati culture, and a wide range of cultures of the expatriate communities, which vary in their size, influence, visibility, and relation to Emirati culture. The relations and interactions between these cultures vary, based on such factors as language, religion, tradition, and perception, creating varying connections, tensions, and conflicts. The people of the UAE, like other people who lived in Southern and South-eastern Arabia, have been strongly influenced by Persian, Indian, and African cultures. Through trade and the immigration of large groups of people from these areas, these cultures have left a distinct imprint on Emirati cuisine, language, customs, and lifestyle.

The local culture, as the culture of the national community of the UAE, is a minority culture and is constantly under the influence of the cultures of the majority foreign population. The rapid population changes of the last few years have increased the expatriate population in the country and increased the stresses on local culture. Many nationals feel strongly about what they see as a threat to the country’s cultural identity, citing the decrease in the use of Arabic and other unwelcome influences on the local Arab culture of nationals, for example, in dress, food, artistic taste, and traditional customs.

Architecture

Over the years large oil revenues have transformed Abu Dhabi and in particular Dubai into showcases of modern Western-style architecture.

Food

Before the 1960s, Emirati food included mainly fish, rice, bread, dates, yogurt, vegetables, and meat (from sheep, goats, or camels). Since then this diet has multiplied in quality and quantity, as modern shops and supermarkets offer a wide variety of imported foods. For Emiratis, lunch is the traditional main meal and is usually taken at home with family, around two o’clock. A typical lunch consists of fish, rice, meat, and a vegetable dish. Emirati nationals generally observe the Muslim proscription of pork and alcohol and the injunction to eat only halal meat, that is, meat from animals slaughtered in the approved Islamic way. Given the large expatriate, non-Muslim population, however, pork and alcoholic drinks are widely available in specially licensed supermarkets, restaurants, bars, and hotels.

Emirati cuisine is thousands of years old, but most people, including locals, have no idea where certain traditional dishes and ingredients originated. Many classic Emirati dishes are variations of fare from East Africa, India, East Asia, and the eastern Mediterranean, with a few indispensable British pantry staples. Much Emirati food is a hybrid of various imported traditions. This includes such dishes as biryani, which was brought from India but nevertheless has the reputation of a national dish, alongside such dishes as harees and khabees.

Seafood is still popular among Emiratis, who eat large quantities of the prized fresh fish known as hamur or hamour (grouper) and the sun-dried fish known as chassif, with variations known as bedh (from a small, speckled white fish) and yobel (a dark-fleshed fish, usually stingray or shark). Another example is bathitha, a sweet made from date paste, wheat flour, and ghee (clarified butter) and spiced with cardamom. As a non-perishable dish, this was a favourite food of pearl divers on their long voyages.

Among Bedouin dishes that are still popular today are chami (a sort of cottage cheese), jareesh (spicy crushed wheat with vegetables), harees (boiled, cracked, or coarsely ground wheat, with meat or chicken), and khabees (a sweet pudding made from flour and oil).

Emiratis are hospitable and honoured to receive guests and socialize with friends and relatives. Guests are welcomed with traditional drinks and sweets, usually Arabic coffee and fresh dates. Incense is burned in rooms where guests are received and is passed around so that the fragrance is spread throughout. National dishes are, for the most part, not sold in restaurants or cafes but are cooked at home or prepared commercially on request, for occasions such as weddings and other celebrations. As the immigrant population of the UAE increases, a wider variety of foods has become available and popular with both locals and expatriates, including from many fast-food restaurants and cafes.

Dress

One of the enduring icons of Emirati traditional culture is the daily dress of Emirati men and women. The traditional dress is both a proud heritage and a symbol of national distinction and identity. The men wear a white robe (kandura or dishdasha) and a white head cloth (ghutra) fastened to the head with a special black rope (agal). Men seem to prefer short beards and moustaches.

Women wear a long black dress (abaya) and a black headscarf-shawl (or shayla) that covers almost all the head and hair. The more conservative women also wear a niqab to cover their faces, either completely or leaving just the eyes visible. With increasing material wealth, variations in style, material, and colours have been introduced to the dress of men and women. Some men occasionally wear colourful kanduras (black, blue, or gold) and a red or black-striped variety of the ghutra. Women’s dresses, too, have evolved into fashion statements, with many variations in decoration, embroidery, colour, and style for the abaya and the sheila. Younger generations have also incorporated items from Western culture in their daily dress; many young men have adopted the baseball cap, and more young women are now regularly wearing jeans and other fashionable clothes underneath their abaya.

Music and Dance

The UAE enjoys a strong tradition of music and dance, both of which played a vital role in people’s lives. Songs were composed to accompany different tasks, from hauling water at the well, to diving for pearl oysters in the Gulf. A professional song-leader was kept on the pearling dhows; it was his job to rally the men to work through music and song. The nahaan would launch into song, and all the sailors would join in as they worked. Each song had a rhythm for a particular task and, like the shanties of Western sailors, the music inspired teamwork. Singing and dancing also took place during celebrations, and many of the songs and dances, handed down from generation to generation, have survived to the present. Young girls would dance, swinging their long black hair and swaying their bodies in time to the strong beat of the music. Men would re-enact battles or successful hunting expeditions, often symbolically, using sticks, swords, or rifles.

The country today, with its international population, has a wide range of mini-cultures of singing and dancing. Local radio stations and TV channels play songs and dances from different parts of the world, in keeping with the cultural traditions that define their audiences. Western, Indian, and Arabic music (from the UAE, the Gulf, and the wider Arab world) are widely available and popular.

Art and Literature

The most celebrated literary form in the UAE is Nabati poetry. Local poets compose their lyrical verses in the spoken dialect. Poetry has become pre-eminent probably because the spoken word has always been the superior art form of these tribal people, who usually lacked the raw materials used elsewhere for more tangible forms of artistic expression and focused more on the oral tradition than on writing as a cultural practice. The topics of local poetry vary from praise of local leaders to odes of romantic love.

There are several literary festivals and competitions in the UAE, including the prestigious Arabic Booker Award, a local branch of the British Booker Prize (known as the International Prize for Arabic Fiction), which has become an established event since 2008 and grants large cash prizes every year to the best fiction works by Arab novelists from across the world. Also important, and older, is the Sultan al-Owais Prize, named after an Emirati philanthropist and businessman; it has been given in several categories, including poetry and literary criticism, since the mid-1980s. Art galleries and, to a lesser extent, art production are becoming more popular.

Performing Arts and Festival

The UAE hosts several international and increasingly influential cultural events in music and film. Dubai and Abu Dhabi have their own versions of film festivals, book fairs, and other cultural events. Sharja has become renowned for theatre performances and an annual international theatre festival. Abu Dhabi has recently signed multi-billion-dollar deals with both the Louvre and the Guggenheim to open branches in the emirate on the newly built Yas Island.

There is a constant stream of Arab, Indian, and Western singers, bands and other entertainers who visit the UAE to perform for large crowds of local residents, including Emiratis and Arab, Western, and other expatriates. Film festivals, such as the Dubai International Film Festival, and book exhibitions, such as the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair, have become well-established and globally renowned.

Sports

Traditional sports, including falconry, hunting, horse- and camel-racing, and dhow racing, are still very popular with UAE nationals. Dubai and Abu Dhabi have established international reputations for some for the richest and most prestigious horse- and camel-races. Formula 1 racing has been introduced: Abu Dhabi has built its own impressive autodrome in the last few years, to host international Formula One Grand Prix races. Dubai has been hosting increasingly renowned annual tennis and golf tournaments, attracting top players from around the world. The Dubai Marathon, an annual race with large cash prizes, which attracts thousands from around the world, has proven very popular. Dubai has invested heavily in its multi-purpose development, Sports City. The most popular sport in the country, however, is football (soccer), followed closely by rugby and cricket, all of which are popular among various segments of the population. Other sports of note include water sports, rock climbing, desert rallies, horse riding, and indoor ice skating.

Further Reading

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update