فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / الاتجار بالبشر

الاتجار بالبشر

 

تعد الإمارات العربية المتحدة مركزاً دولياً للاتجار بالبشر، وخاصة النساء والأطفال. وفق تقارير عام 2010، بلغت نسبة الاتجار بالبشر نسبة صادمة (37%) من بين جميع الحالات الواردة إلى مؤسسة دبي لرعاية النساء والأطفال عام 2009، وهي زيادة بنسبة 28% عن عام 2008.

أظهرت التقارير السنوية الصادرة عن مؤسسة دبي لرعاية النساء والأطفال أن المركز تلقى 89 حالة عام 2009، بما فيها حالات الاعتداء الجنسي على الأطفال والعنف المنزلي. 45% منها تتعلق بأطفال تحت سن 18 عاماً، و 48% من الضحايا من النساء. وشكل الإماراتيون المجموعة الكبرى من الحالات (24,7%)، يليهم البنغلادشيون (19%)، والإيرانيون (9%) والعراقيون (8%). أما باقي الحالات فكان تتعلق بجنسيات أخرى، 1-4 ضحايا لكل منها.

عرضت قناة الجزيرة برنامجاً وثائقياً عام 2009 يحكي قصة “سفيتلانا” الأوزباكستانية التي أجبرت على العمل في تجارة الجنس في دبي وأبوظبي. وروت المرأة كيف غُرّر بها لممارسة الدعارة بعدما عُرض عليها العمل كنادلة، غير أن جواز سفرها أُخذ منها وتم تهديدها بأذية عائلتها في حال رفضت التعاون. وبعد سنوات من العبودية الجنسية، الممارسة الشائعة، تمكنت “سفيتلانا” أخيرا من اللجوء إلى أول مركز في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لإيواء ضحايا الاتجار بالبشر: ملجأ أبوظبي لإيواء النساء والأطفال.

 

 

أطفال سباق الهجن

 

حتى السنوات القليلة الماضية، كان يتم تهريب أطفال صغار السن من جنوب آسيا للعمل كأطفال سباقات الهجن الشائعة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وكان يتم اختيار أطفال من بنغلادش وباكستان نظراً إلى صغر حجمهم وتوافرهم. ووفق تقديرات جمعية محاميات بنغلادش الوطنية، فقد تم تهريب حوالى 7,000 صبي من بنغلادش خلال التسعينيات لاستخدامهم في سباقات الهجن. واستمر الاتجار بالأطفال رغم الحظر الرسمي عام 1980 على استخدام أطفال سباق الهجن الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 15 سنة. زعمت بعض التقارير أن الأطفال الذين تم شراؤهم تعرضوا إلى سوء المعاملة أو الضرب لإجبارهم على الامتثال إلى طلبات المتسابقين. توقف الاتجار بأطفال سباق الهجن أخيراً عام 2005، وأُعيد الأطفال إلى ذويهم في باكستان وبنغلادش. وتم استبدال أطفال الجمال برجال آلية.

محاربة الاتجار بالبشر

يستمر الاتجار بالنساء والفتيات للعمل في الخدمة المنزلية في البلاد دون انقطاع. كان معظم الضحايا من النساء من سريلانكا وإندونيسيا والهند والفلبين. ولصناعة الجنس في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، غالباً ما يتم استهداف النساء من دول آسيا الوسطى وأوروبا الشرقية. اتخذت الحكومة خطوات لمحاربة الاتجار بالبشر، ولكن يبقى انتظار مدى فعاليتها. فعلى سبيل المثال، شكلت وزارة الداخلية لجنة مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر للتنسيق مع السلطات المختصة وتقديم الرعاية للضحايا وتحديث التشريعات. كما دعمت الإمارات العربية المتحدة خطة عمل الأمم المتحدة العالمية لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر. وأعرب أنور محمد قرقاش، وزير الدولة للشؤون الخارجية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ورئيس اللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر، عن موافقة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على الجوانب الأساسية للمبادرة الدولية لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر التي تم إطلاقها في 31 آب/أغسطس عام 2010، والتي تدعو إلى تشكيل صندوق الأمم المتحدة الائتماني المعني بدعم ضحايا الاتجار بالبشر، وبخاصة النساء والأطفال.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Home / United Arab Emirates / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Human trafficking

Human trafficking


The UAE is an international centre of human trafficking, especially in women and children. According to reports in 2010, human trafficking accounted for a shocking 37 percent of all cases referred to the Dubai Foundation for Women and Children (DFWAC) in 2009, an increase of 28 percent from 2008.

Information from DFWAC’s annual reports shows that 89 cases were referred to the centre in 2009, including cases of child abuse and domestic violence. Of these, 45 percent involved children under the age of 18, and 48 percent of the victims were females. Emiratis (24.7 percent) constituted the largest group of cases (24.7 percent), followed by Bangladeshis (19 percent), Iranians (9 percent), and Iraqis (8 percent). Other nationalities, with one to four victims each, made up the remaining cases.

A documentary programme shown on al-Jazeera in 2009 told the story of an Uzbek woman, ‘Svetlana’, who was forced to work in the sex trade in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. The woman recounted how she was lured into prostitution after being offered a job as a waitress, but her passport was taken away from her, and she was threatened with harm to her family if she refused to co-operate. After years of abuse as a sex slave, a common practice, ‘Svetlana’ finally managed to find refuge at the United Arab Emirates’ shelter for the victims of human trafficking, the Abu Dhabi Shelter for Women and Children.


Camel jockeys

Robot camel jockey
Young Asian camel jockeys

Until a few years ago, very young children were trafficked from South Asia to work as camel jockeys during the popular camel races in the UAE. Boys from Bangladesh and Pakistan, given their availability and small size, have traditionally been the choice. The Bangladeshi National Women Lawyers’ Association estimated that as many as 7,000 boys were smuggled out of Bangladesh during the 1990s for use in camel races. The trade continued despite the official ban on the use of camel jockeys younger than fifteen in 1980. Some reports alleged that the purchased children were abused or beaten to force them to comply with the racers demands. The trade in camel-jockey boys was finally eradicated in 2005, and all children were repatriated to their families in Pakistan and Bangladesh. Camel-jockey boys have been replaced by robot camel jockeys.

Combatting human trafficking

The trafficking of women and girls used in domestic service in the country continues unabated. The victims reportedly come mostly from Sri Lanka, Indonesia, India, and the Philippines. For the UAE’s sex industry, women from Central Asian and Eastern European countries are more often targeted. The government has taken steps to combat human trafficking, but it remains to be seen how effective they will be. For example, the Ministry of Interior has set up the Anti-Human Trafficking Panel to coordinate competent authorities, care for victims, and update the legislature. The UAE has supported the UN Global Plan of Action to Combat Human Trafficking. Anwar Mohammed Gargash, UAE Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, and chairman of the UAE National Committee to Combat Human Trafficking (NCCHT), expressed the UAE’s agreement with the main features of the international initiative to combat human trafficking, launched on 31 August 2010, which calls for setting up of a UN trust fund for victims of trafficking, especially women and children.

image_pdfimage_print