فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الإمارات العربية المتحدة / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / القوى العاملة

القوى العاملة

Photo HH

 

عدد سكان دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة قليل، وبالتالي يعتمد سوق العمل فيها بشكل كبير على العمال التعاقديين المغتربين الذين يشكلون حوالي 81% من مجموع السكان في البلاد. يبلغ مجموع القوى العاملة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة 3,908 مليون عامل. ووفق تقديرات عام 2009، يشكل المغتربون حوالى 85% من القوى العاملة. ونظراً إلى الواقع الديمغرافي والاقتصادي، يبدو أن الإمارات العربية المتحدة ستبقى معتمدة لفترة طويلة على العمال المهاجرين الأجانب لتلبية حاجتها المتزايدة إلى العمال المهرة وغير المهرة. بشكل عام، يتم توظيف المواطنين الإماراتيين في الحكومة والقطاعات العامة وبعض الشركات الخاصة التي يتعين عليها الالتزام بالحصة التي تحددها الحكومة بتوظيف نسبة محددة من المواطنين المحليين، وذلك كجزء من برنامج يهدف تدريجياً إلى توطين القوى العاملة، ويُعرف بالأمرتة. يشكل المواطنون نسبة تتراوح بين 10 إلى 15% فقط من سوق العمل.

لحجم السكان والتركيبة العمرية والعوامل الاجتماعية تأثير قوي على طبيعة وحجم القوى العاملة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. تتألف معظم القوى العاملة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة من الرجال و 88% منهم لا يتخطون الـ 45 عاماً. وسبب هذا الخلل بين الجنسين في القوى العاملة هو أنه لا يسمح للعمال أصحاب الأجور الأدنى بإحضار عائلاتهم معهم. وتبقى مشاركة المرأة في سوق العمل متدنية نسبياً: 16,3% عام 1999. ووفق قاعدة بيانات المعلومات التجارية الاستراتيجية (IPR Strategic Business Information Database) (19 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2005)، “أظهرت دراسة صدرت مؤخراً عن بنك دبي الوطني أن الإماراتيات شكلن 15,2% من إجمالي القوى العاملة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة عام 2004”. واستقطبت دبي 36% من إجمالي عدد العاملات في البلاد. وعام 2008، شكلت النساء نسبة 15,5% من القوى العاملة في البلاد.

معدل البطالة متدن نسبياً، غالباً ليس أكثر من 4%. ووفق دراسة أخرى أجرتها هيئة تنمية وتوظيف الموارد البشرية الوطنية (تنمية)، “عام 2003، حوالي 73% من السكان كانت تتراوح أعمارهم بين 15- 59 عاماً ومعدل مشاركة القوى العاملة … للعام نفسه كان حوالي 61,5%، تتراوح من 47,7% في رأس الخيمة إلى 68,6% في دبي. ويظهر الفصل بين الجنسين أن مشاركة الرجال في القوى العاملة يتخطى ضعف نسبة مشاركة النساء: 77,2% رجال و 28,2% نساء عام 2003”.

تعكس القوى العاملة بشكل كبير التوزيع العرقي للسكان، والذين يتألفون من حوالى 19% من المواطنين الإماراتيين و 19% من العرب والإيرانيين و 50% من سكان جنوب آسيا و 8% من المهاجرين من البلدان الغربية وغيرها من الدول. ومعظم وظائف الياقات البيضاء في الشركات الخاصة يشغلها المغتربون الغربيون والعرب والهنود، والقسم الأكبر من الموظفين في قطاع الخدمات هم من جنوب آسيا أو الفلبين، بينما وظائف التنظيف والبناء محفوظة للعمال من جنوب آسيا، وخاصة الهند وباكستان وبنغلادش. وتشكل الفئة الأخيرة المجموعة الكبرى من العمال في الإمارات العربية المتحدة؛ وتشكل العقارات وبناء المشاريع العامة القسم الأكبر من الاقتصاد، وبالتالي فإن الحاجة إلى العمال يصعب تلبيتها تقريباً.

 

الحد الأدنى للأجور

لم تحدد الإمارات العربية المتحدة حداً أدنى للأجور باستثناء بعض المهن، مثل المعلمين والخادمات/مربيات الأطفال؛ وبالتالي هناك مجموعة مختلفة من الرواتب لوظائف مماثلة (حتى ضمن المؤسسة نفسها). تختلف معدلات التضخم وتكاليف العيش بين الإمارات والمدن (يوفر مطار أبوظبي الدولي أعلى حزم الأجور الآن). وعلى الرغم من نقص التعويض الكافي عن تآكل الرواتب والأجور، إلا أن الرواتب في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لا تزال أفضل من أي مكان آخر. وسجل نمو الرواتب في الإمارات العربية المتحدة عام 2008 نسبة 13,6% (في حين سجل في باقي دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج 11,4%). عام 2009، سجلت الزيادة الإضافية في الراتب الأساسي في الإمارات العربية المتحدة نسبة تتراوح بين 2,4 و 5,2%، أفضل من بلدان أخرى مثل الولايات المتحدة (1,9 – 2,2%)، وأستراليا (2,0- 3,0%) وألمانيا (2,1- 2,5%).

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Home / United Arab Emirates / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Labour force

Labour force

Photo HH

The UAE has a small national population, and its labour market is mostly dependent on expatriate contractual labourers, who comprise about 81 percent of the country’s total population. The total labour force in the UAE is 3.908 million. By 2009 estimates, expatriates account for about 85 percent of the work force. Given the demographic and economic realities, it seems that the UAE will continue to be reliant on foreign migrant workers to meet its rising need for skilled and unskilled labour for a long time to come. Local Emiratis are generally employed in the government and public sectors and in certain private companies that must meet a government quota of hiring a specified percentage of locals, as part of a programme to gradually nationalize the workforce, also known as Emiratization. Nationals make up only 10-15 percent of the labour market.

Population size, age composition, and social factors have a strong impact on the nature and size of the UAE labour force. Most of the labour force in the UAE consists of males, 88 percent of whom are under 45 years of age. One reason for the gender imbalance in the labour force is that the lowest-paid workers are not allowed to bring their families with them. Female participation in the labour market remains relatively small, 16.3 percent in 1999. According to the IPR Strategic Business Information Database (19 October 2005), ‘a recently publicized study by the National Bank of Dubai shows that national women represented 15.2 percent of the overall labour force in the UAE in 2004’. Among these, Dubai absorbed 36 percent of the total number of working women in the country. The share of females in the country’s labour force in 2008 was 15.5 percent.

The unemployment rate is relatively low, usually no more than 4 percent. According to another study, by The National Human Resources and Development Authority (Tanmia), ‘In 2003 an estimated 73 percent of the population was in the 15-59 age-group and the labour force participation[LFP]…rate for the same year, was approximately 61.5 percent, ranging from a low of 47.7 percent for Ras al-Khaima to a high of 68.6 percent for Dubai. Disaggregation by gender shows that the male LFP rate is more than twice that for women, with 2003 estimates of 77.2 percent and 28.2 percent, respectively.’



The workforce broadly reflects the ethnic distribution of the population, which consists of approximately 19 percent Emirati nationals, 19 percent other Arabs and Iranians, 50 percent South Asians, and 8 percent expatriates from Western and other countries. Most white-collar jobs in private companies are held by Western, Arab, and Indian expatriates, the bulk of employees in the service sector are South Asians or from the Philippines, and cleaning and construction jobs are reserved for South Asians, especially Indians, Pakistanis, and Bangladeshis. The latter is the largest single group of workers in the UAE; real estate and construction of public projects are the most extensive part of the economy, and the need for workers is therefore almost insatiable.

Minimum wage

The UAE has no minimum wage established, except for some professions, such as teachers and maids/nannies; there is thus a wide range of pay for similar jobs (even within the same organization). Inflation rates and costs of living differ among emirates and cities (Abu Dhabi International Airport now has highest remuneration packages). Despite the lack of sufficient compensation for the erosion of salaries and wages, salaries in the UAE are still better than in many other places. Salary growth in the UAE in 2008 was 13.6 percent (while in the Gulf Cooperation Council as a whole it was 11.4 percent). The UAE’s incremental increase in base pay in 2009 was 2.4-5.2 percent, better than that in other countries, such as the United States (1.9-2.2 percent), Australia (2.0-3.0 percent), and Germany (2.1-2.5 percent).

image_pdfimage_print