تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

عمليات مكافحة الإرهاب الأمريكية في اليمن وأضرارٌ جسيمة تلحق بالمدنيين

مكافحة الإرهاب الأمريكية اليمن
يمنيون في سوق بالعاصمة صنعاء. Photo by Mohammed HUWAIS / AFP

صوفيا أكرم

 

ألحقت عمليات مكافحة الإرهاب التي نفذتها القوات الأمريكية في اليمن على مدى عشرين عاماً أضراراً جسيمة بالمدنيين اليمنيين، وذلك وفقاً لمنظمة مواطنة المستقلة لحقوق الإنسان وذلك في تقريرٍ مفصل حول عشر غارات بطائراتٍ مُسيّرة ومداهمتين بريتين في الفترة ما بين يناير 2017 ويناير 2019 في البلاد التي أثقلتها الحرب.

وأشار التقرير المعنون بـ”الموت القادم من السماء- الأضرار المدنية الناجمة عن استخدام الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للقوة المميتة في اليمن،” إلى مقتل 38 مدنياً يمنياً بينهم 13 طفلاً و6 نساء و19 رجلاً في 12 عملية أمريكية لمكافحة الإرهاب في اليمن، فضلاً عن إصابة 7 مدنيين من بينهم 6 أطفال.

وقالت كريستين بيكرلي، مديرة الشؤون القانونية للمساءلة والإنصاف في مواطنة لحقوق الإنسان، “من المهم الإعتراف أولاً… بأن هذا التقرير لا يقدم سوى لمحة مقتضبة عن الأضرار التي ألحقتها الولايات المتحدة بالمدنيين في اليمن.”

هذا ويسلط التقرير الضوء على تأثير استخدام الولايات المتحدة للقوة المميتة لمحاربة تنظيم القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية، في حين أن الكثير من التغطية الإعلامية والخطاب اليمني قد ركز على الصراع الأوسع مع عددٍ من الجهات الفاعلة – المحلية والدولية – المتورطة في الانتهاكات. وخلال الحرب، دعمت الولايات المتحدة التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية، بيد أن الهجمات المباشرة التي تم شنها منذ عام 2002 افتقرت أيضاً إلى الشفافية والمساءلة.

ووفقاً للجنة حقوق الإنسان التابعة للأمم المتحدة، يتوجب على الدول الأطراف في العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية- الذي ينص على أن لجميع البشر الحق في الحياة- الكشف عن معايير استخدام القوة الفتاكة والأساس القانوني لهجماتٍ محددة لمهاجمة من يتوقع أن يؤدي استهدافهم من الأفراد أو الأهداف إلى الحرمان من الحياة.

وعليه، قالت منظمة مواطنة لحقوق الإنسان إن الحوادث الواردة في التقرير أثارت مخاوف بشأن التزام الولايات المتحدة بالقانون الدولي، ومن تستهدفه وما إذا كان يمكن اتخاذ تدابير بديلة، مثل القبض عليهم بدلاً من قتلهم.

كما أشارت المنظمة إلى أن المدنيين كانوا يمارسون حياتهم اليومية المعتادة عندما قُتلوا أو أصيبوا، في إشارةٍ إلى المهن الحميدة التي كان يعمل بها هؤلاء الضحايا والمستقبل المسلوب للأطفال الذين قتلوا في العمليات.

علاوةً على ذلك، أدت الهجمات إلى مزيدٍ من الضرر يرافقه تداعيات اقتصادية بعد مقتل المعيل الأساسي للأسرة أو إتلاف وتدمير الممتلكات، مثل المركبات والمنازل والماشية. كما أسفرت الهجمات عن أضرار اجتماعية ونفسية طويلة الأمد، بما في ذلك الاكتئاب والقلق، فضلاً عن الخوف من أزيز الطائرات بدون طيار في سماء المنطقة.

ووقعت الحوادث الموثقة في محافظات أبين والبيضاء وشبوة وحضرموت ومأرب، وعلى وجه الخصوص، كانت البيضاء عرضةً للعمليات الهجومية، لا سيما في قرية يكلا النائية، مما دفع الكثيرين لتوقع وقوع أضرارٍ مدنية والتعبير عن الغضب تجاه الولايات المتحدة.

وبحسب تقرير منظمة “مواطنة،” لطالما أغفلت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الخسائر في صفوف المدنيين جرّاء عملياتها، ولم تعترف سوى بالأضرار المدنية الناجمة عن واحدة من الوقائع الموثقة في التقرير. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تقول المنظمة غير الحكومية إن الولايات المتحدة أخفقت في محاسبة الأفراد المسؤولين أو تقديم التعويضات اللازمة، كما لم يتلق أي من الناجين من الحوادث الواردة في التقرير أي اتصال متابعة من حكومة الولايات المتحدة.

وفي هذا السياق قال علي المرتضى، الباحث في منظمة مواطنة، “غالباً ما ننجذب إلى الأرقام، لكن علينا أن نتذكر دائماً أن “الأضرار الجانبية” هم الأشخاص الذين لديهم حياتهم الخاصة، ولديهم أسرهم، ولديهم أطفال، وعاداتهم الخاصة وحياتهم الطبيعية. الأمر ذاته، سواء كنت تعيش في ضواحي بروكسل أو إن كنت تعيش في ضواحي صنعاء. ينبغي أن تكون حياة الإنسان ذاتها، ولا بد أن ننظر لها بنفس المنظار.”

كما تذكر إحدى الروايات الواردة في التقرير كيف أسفرت غارة عسكرية أمريكية في 23 مايو 2017 على قرية العذل في مأرب عن مقتل خمسة أشخاص، بينهم مدنيان وشخصان ينتميان للجيش اليمني، وأصيب أربعة آخرون. فقد علمت منظمة مواطنة كيف استيقظ القرويون في الليل على أصوات طلقاتٍ نارية وقيام الطالب عبد الله البالغ من العمر 19 عاماً بفراره من منزله مع والدته وشقيقته عندما بدأت الغارة. وبينما كان عبد الله يختبئ خلف إحدى الأشجار، كانت والدته وشقيقته تشاهدان طائرة مروحية تطلق النار على ابنها أثناء لجوئهما أيضاً أسفل شجرةٍ أخرى.

وبحسب ما قاله أحد شهود العيان لمواطنة، “كانـت الأم تـرى نـاراً تتسـاقط مـن السـماء وتبتلـع الشـجرة التـي لجـأ إليهـا عبد اللـه للاختباء وشـعرت بالشـلل التام، وهـي تشـاهد ابنهـا يمـوت أمـام عينيهـا.”

وفي 26/27 يناير 2018، قتلت غارة جوية على شبوة خمسة مدنيين وجنديين يمنيين في مديرية الصعيد، إذ كان من بين القتلى سائق ومعلم وطالب جامعي ونحّال وضابط أمن يستقلون سيارةً إلى معسكر لتنظيم القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية مع الجنود للعثور على صبيٍ مفقود. عثر القرويون المجاورون على السيارة المحترقة والقتلى. ومع ذلك، لم تجد منظمة مواطنة أي دليلٍ موثوق على تورط الرجال في أنشطة القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية أو تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية أو حتى ارتباطهم بأي جماعات.

ومع ذلك، نفت القيادة المركزية للولايات المتحدة بدايةً تنفيذ القوات الأمريكية للضربة إلا أنها فيما بعد أكدت أن الضربة استهدفت تنظيم القاعدة الواقع في شبوة في 26 يناير، بيد أنها لم تعترف قط بسقوط ضحايا مدنيين.

وعليه، قدمت منظمة مواطنة وعيادة حقوق الإنسان في كلية الحقوق بجامعة كولومبيا مذكراتٍ إلى القيادة المركزية الأمريكية في نوفمبر 2020 مدعمة بأدلةٍ على غارة شبوة وغيرها من الغارات، وحثت على التحقيق فيها والاعتراف بها وتقديم التعويضات اللاحقة بالإضافة إلى مراجعة أوسع لعملياتها في اليمن.

تعدّ هذه المذكرة وغيرها واحدةً من الجهود المختلفة التي تبذلها المنظمة لتقديم أدلةٍ على الأضرار التي لحقت بالمدنيين بسبب الجيش الأمريكي.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن سياسة القوة المميتة الأمريكية ظلّت على ما هي عليه منذ أن كان جورج دبليو بوش في منصبه، على الرغم من تصاعد الهجمات باستخدام الطائرات المسّيرة في عهد الرئيس الأمريكي السابق باراك أوباما.

وفي أعقاب احتجاج المجتمع المدني في عام 2013، كشف أوباما عن سياسة جديدة تطالب بالتأكد “شبه التام” من هوية الهدف. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، استمرت الأخطاء البارزة في جذب الانتباه إلى برنامج الطائرات المسّيرة الخاص بأوباما، بما في ذلك الغارة التي تم شنها على قافلة سيارات في نهاية عام 2013، والتي زعمت الولايات المتحدة أنها كانت تنقل “إرهابيين،” بيد أن منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش وجدت لاحقاً أنه مجرد موكب حفل زفاف، مما أسفر عن مقتل 12 شخصاً.

وفي حين دفعت الولايات المتحدة تعويضاتٍ لضحايا عمليات الطائرات المسّيرة في أماكن أخرى، إلا أن المدنيين المتأثرين بالعمليات في اليمن لم يتلقوا أي تعويضٍ على الإطلاق.

وفي عهد دونالد ترمب، تصاعدت حدة ما تسمى بضربات مكافحة الإرهاب في اليمن، إذ يشير تقريرٌ صادر عن منظمة “الحروب الجوية” إلى أن منظمة المراقبة والرصد حددت أكثر من 230 إجراء عسكري من قبل الجيش الأمريكي ووكالة المخابرات المركزية في عهد ترمب، مقارنةً بإجمالي 150 إجراء مُعلن في عهد بوش وأوباما مجتمعين.

ظهرت النتائج التي توصلت إليها منظمة مواطنة في غضون المئة يومٍ الأولى من ولاية الرئيس الأمريكي جو بايدن، في ظل ترويجه لنهجٍ جديد للسياسة الخارجية، لطالما ذكر أن هذا النهج متجذرٌ بعمق في حقوق الإنسان.

وعلى وجه التحديد، ذكرت إدارة بايدن انها ستتوقف عن دعم “العمليات الهجومية” للتحالف الذي تقوده السعودية في اليمن وتعلق مبيعات الأسلحة ذات الصلة. ووفقاً للمسؤولين، لا تؤثر هذه التصريحات على العمليات الأمريكية ضد القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية، التي يزعمون أنها تصب في مصلحة الأمن القومي.

وفي بداية شهر مارس 2021، بدأ بايدن بمراجعة الإجراءات الأمريكية المباشرة لمكافحة الإرهاب التي شملت هجمات الطائرات المسّيرة والغارات العسكرية، والتي من المرجح أن تسعى إلى عكس سياسات ترمب المشكوك فيها، بيد أن البعض يحذر من العودة ببساطة إلى نهج عهد أوباما، مشيرين إلى أن مكافحة الإرهاب يجب أن تظهر بشكلٍ أقل في إستراتيجية السياسة الخارجية الشاملة لبايدن.

كما حذرت منظمة مواطنة من وجود نمطٍ مقلق لدى الإدارات الأمريكية التي تسعى إلى “هدم التمييز بين زمن الحرب وزمن السلام والقواعد الدولية المرتبطة باستخدام القوة المميتة.”

في الوقت نفسه، يبدو أن الحكومة اليمنية لم تتخذ إجراءاتٍ لحماية أرواح المدنيين أو محاسبة الولايات المتحدة، بينما تزعم الولايات المتحدة أنها تلقت دعم الحكومة اليمنية لشن الغارات.

وللمضي قدماً، تحث منظمة مواطنة على تحقيق الشفافية والحقيقة والمساءلة، إلى جانب التعويضات عن المداهمات التي تشنها القوات الأمريكية والالتزام بالقانون الدولي.

في النهاية، يبقى أن نرى ما إذا كان بايدن سيبقي حقوق الإنسان نواةً مركزية للسياسة الخارجية للولايات المتحدة، بيد أن الخطر يكمن في العودة إلى سياسة مريبة تبدو ببساطة سياسةً فاضلة مقارنةً بسجل ترمب المتطرف.

Donate
Chronicle of the Middle East and North Africa

US Counter-Terrorism Operations in Yemen Have Caused Significant Civilian Harm

counter-terrorism operations in Yemen
Yemenis at a market in the capital Sanaa. Photo by Mohammed HUWAIS / AFP

Sophia Akram

Twenty years of counter-terrorism operations by US forces in Yemen have caused significant civilian harm, reports human rights NGO Mwatana, in a detailed account of 10 drone strikes and two ground raids between January 2017 and January 2019 in the war-affected country.

Titled Death Falling from the Sky – Civilian Harm from the United States’ Use of Lethal Force in Yemen, the report noted 38 Yemeni civilians, including 13 children, six women, and 19 men, were killed in the 12 operations of US counter-terror efforts in Yemen. Another seven civilians were injured, six of whom were children.

“One of the things that’s really important to acknowledge at the outset… is this report really only presents a snapshot of the civilian harm that the US has caused in Yemen”, said Kristine Beckerle, legal director for accountability and redress at Mwatana, talking at the report’s launch.

The report shines a light on the impact of US use of lethal force to combat Al Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula (AQAP), while much of the media coverage and discourse of Yemen has concentrated on the wider conflict with a number of actors — local and international — implicated in abuses. Within that war, the US has supported the Saudi-led coalition but direct attacks pursued since 2002 have also lacked transparency and accountability.

According to the UN Human Rights Committee, state parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) — which outlays all humans have the right to life — should provide criteria and reasoning for targeting individuals or objects where there is expected to be deprivation of life.

The human rights group said the incidents in the report raised concerns about US compliance with international law, who the US was targeting, and whether alternative measures could have been taken, such as capturing rather than killing targets.

Civilians, the organisation says, were going about their everyday lives when they were killed or injured, noting the benign vocations of victims and the stolen futures of children killed in operations.

Attacks resulted in further harm with economic repercussions after primary breadwinners were killed or from damaging and destroying property, such as vehicles, homes, and livestock. Attacks also resulted in longstanding social and psychological harm, including depression and anxiety, as well as fear from the buzz of drones overhead.

The documented incidents took place in the governorates of Abyan, Al Bayda, Shabwah, Hadramawt, and Ma’rib. In particular, Al Bayda has been prone to operations, especially in the remote Yakla village, drawing many to expect civilian harm and express anger toward the US.

The US has consistently undercounted civilian casualties as a result of its operations, and only acknowledged civilian harm in one of the incidents in Mwatana’s report. Furthermore, the NGO says the US has failed to hold responsible individuals to account or provide necessary compensation. None of the survivors from incidents in the report had received any follow-up communication from the US government.

“We often get drawn to the numbers”, said Ali Almurtada, a researcher with Mwatana, “but always remember that the ‘collateral damage’ are people who have their own lives, have their own families, they have their own kids, they have their own habits and normal lives. It’s the exact same thing, if you live in the suburbs of Brussels and if you live in the suburbs of Sana’a. Human life should be the same, and we should consider them the same”.

One of the accounts in the report recalls how on 23 May 2017, a US military raid in Al Athal village in Ma’rib left five people dead, including two civilians and two people belonging to the Yemeni army. Four others were injured. Mwatana learned how villagers were awoken in the night by gunshots with 19-year-old student Abdullah fleeing his house with his mother and sister when the raid began. As Abdullah hid behind one bush, his mother with his sister from another watched as a helicopter started shooting at her son.

“She saw fire falling from the sky and devouring the tree where Abdallah [had] sought shelter. She felt totally paralyzed watching her son die in front of her”, one resident told Mwatana.

On 26/27 January 2018, an airstrike on Shabwah killed five civilians and two Yemeni soldiers in As Said district. Among those killed were a driver, teacher, university student, beekeeper, and security officer driving to an AQAP camp with the soldiers to find a missing boy. Nearby villagers found the burned car and dead men; Mwatana found no credible evidence the men were involved in AQAP or IS activities or were associated with the groups.

CENTCOM denied US forces carried out the strike initially but later confirmed that a strike targeted AQAP in Shabwah on 26 January, but never acknowledged civilian casualties.

Mwatana and the Columbia Law School Human Rights Clinic wrote to CENTCOM in November 2020 presenting its evidence of the Shabwah strike and others, urging its investigation, acknowledgment, and subsequent reparations in addition to a wider review of its operations in Yemen.

The letter is one of the organisation’s various efforts to present evidence of civilian harm to the US military.

The US policy of lethal force has remained consistent since George W. Bush was in office, although drone attacks stepped up under former US president Barack Obama.

Following an outcry from civil society in 2013, Obama revealed a new policy demanding “near certainty” over a target’s identity. Despite this, high profile errors continued to draw scrutiny over Obama’s drone programme, including a strike on a vehicle convoy at the end of 2013, the US alleged was transporting “terrorists”, but Human Rights Watch later found to be a wedding party, killing 12 people.

Whereas the US has paid compensation to victims of drone operations elsewhere, civilians impacted by operations in Yemen have never reportedly received compensation.

Under Donald Trump, so-called counter-terrorism strikes in Yemen escalated further. A report by Airwars states the monitoring organisation identified more than 230 actions by US military and CIA under Trump, compared to a total of 150 declared actions under Bush and Obama combined.

Mwatana’s findings arrive within the first 100 days of US President Joe Biden’s tenure in office, and as he touts a new foreign policy approach, he says will be rooted in human rights.

Specifically, the Biden administration has said it would cease support for “offensive operations” by the Saudi-led coalition in Yemen and suspend related arms sales. According to officials, these declarations do not impact US operations against AQAP, which they purport are in the interests of national security.

At the beginning of March 2021, Biden started a review of US counter-terrorism direct action that included drone strikes and military raids, which will likely seek to reverse Trump’s questionable policies, but some warn against simply reverting to an Obama-era approach, suggesting counter-terrorism should feature less in Biden’s overall foreign policy strategy.

Mwatana as well cautions there has been a worrying pattern of US administrations seeking to “collapse the distinction between war time and peace time, and the associated international rules on the use of lethal force”.

At the same time, Yemen’s government appears not to have taken action to protect civilian lives or hold the US to account, while the US claims it has had the support of the Yemen government to conduct raids.

To move forward, Mwatana urges transparency, investigations, accountability, and reparations for raids by US forces and abidance with international law.

Whether Biden will keep human rights central to the US’s foreign policy remains to be seen, the risk is a reversion to a problematic policy that simply looks good next to Trump’s excessive record.