فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الحرب ليست حلاً للصراع بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران

الحرب ليست حلاً للصراع بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران

US sanctions iran
الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب أثناء تواجده في المكتب البيضاوي من البيت الأبيض، وذلك في أعقاب إصداره لأمرٍ تنفيذي يخصّ العقوبات المفروضة على القائد الأعلى للجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية يوم ٢٤ يونيو ٢٠١٩. المصدر: MANDEL NGAN / AFP.

نشر موقع “Open democracy” مقالةً سلطت الضوء على حالة التصعيد التي تشوب علاقات الولايات المتحدة بإيران في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وما يمكن اللجوء إليه من حلول لمعالجة هذه الحالة. ويقوم صاحب المقالة مهرداد خنساري، وهو دبلوماسيٌّ إيراني سابق وباحثٌ حالي في المركز الإيراني لدراسة السياسات، باستعراض الأحداث الأخيرة التي ساهمت في زيادة التوترات في المنطقة. وبحسب ما يراه خنساري، فإن كلا الطرفين على قناعة الآن بأن الحل لن يكون في اللجوء إلى الحرب بل بالجلوس على طاولة المفاوضات. ويعتقد صاحب المقالة أن السؤال المطروح الآن يكمن في تحديد الزمن الذي سيحدث فيه ذلك وتحت أي شروط.

وعلى الرغم من ازدياد حالة التوتر القائمة بين إيران والولايات المتحدة في الآونة الأخيرة ووصولها لمستوياتٍ مرتفعة ابتداءً من التفجيرات الأخيرة، ومروراً بإسقاط الطائرة الأمريكية المسيّرة، ووصولاً إلى الاستيلاء على ناقلة نفط بريطانية في مضيق هرمز والخليج الفارسي/العربي، فإن الطرفان على دراية بأن الحرب لن تقود إلى تسوية أي خلاف بينهما.

وتدرك القيادة الإيرانية من جانبها تماماً عدم تمتعها بالقدرات التي تكفل لها الانتصار على الولايات المتحدة في أي صراعٍ عسكري. إلا أن طهران على ثقة بأن الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لن تلجأ إلى نشر قواتٍ تكفي لفرض تغيير النظام الإيراني. ونظراً لغياب هذه الإرادة على الجانب الأمريكي، فإن اللجوء إلى أي عملية قصفٍ جوي مهما كانت أضرارها لن تقود إلا إلى تعزيز وضع الأطراف الأكثر عداءً للولايات المتحدة في البلاد.

أما على مستوى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وبالنظر إلى فعالية سياسة العقوبات، فإن أي مكسبٍ إضافي ينجم عن القيام بعملٍ عسكري لا يشمل تغيير النظام الإيراني لن يكون بقدر التكلفة المحتملة لمنع إيران وردعها من تنفيذ هجمات انتقامية محتملة – وإن كانت أضعف – ضد واشنطن أو حلفائها في العالم.

وعلى هذا النحو، فإن خنساري على قناعة بأن المحادثات المباشرة هي الحلّ الوحيد والكفيل بتزويد إيران بفرصة للتغلّب على مشاكلها الاقتصادية، ناهيك عن إتاحته للولايات المتحدة التوصل لاتفاقٍ أكثر شمولية من الاتفاق النووي. وعلى الرغم من أن المواجهة الحالية بين إيران والولايات المتحدة قد تزداد سوءاً، فإن الطرفين يعلمان علم اليقين أنه لا مفر من اللجوء إلى المحادثات حتى وإن جاء ذلك في أعقاب أي حالة تصعيد تؤدي إلى خسائر في الأرواح ووقوع دمارٍ لا طائل منه.

التحديات المنتظرة

تتمثل أولوية إيران الراهنة في محاولة إنعاش الاقتصاد المتدهور عبر التعامل مع قضايا ملحّة كالنمو الاقتصادي، والبطالة، والتضخم الشديد، ناهيك عن حماية عملتها الوطنية. ولا يمكن معالجة أيٍّ من هذه القضايا دون رفع العقوبات الاقتصادية الأمريكية، خاصةً وأن هذا الخيار سيتيح لإيران تصدير نفطها بحريّة، ناهيك عن إمكانية السعي لجذب تدفقات الاستثمار الأجنبي والتكنولوجيا الجديدة التي تحتاج إليها البلاد دون عوائق.

لذلك، وعلى عكس ما صرحت به بعض العناصر المتشددة في إيران، فإن ما نحن بصدده حالياً ليس السؤال عمّا قد يدفع إيران للاشتباك مع الولايات المتحدة، بل متى وتحت أي شروط سيجلس الطرفان على طاولة المفاوضات. وبحسب صاحب المقالة، فإن الجانب السلبي الذي يجب الحذر منه في معادلةٍ كتلك هو الخطط الخطيرة التي قد يجرؤ بعض المتطرفين ممّن يسعون وراء مصلحتهم الخاصة على تنفيذها في مواجهة أية مفاوضاتٍ حتمية، وتتمثل هذه الخطط في الاندفاع نحو نوعٍ من الاشتباك العسكري المحدود مع الولايات المتحدة في هذا الوقت ظناً منهم أن القوّة التفاوضية الإيرانية تضعف مع مرور الوقت بسبب العقوبات.

طريقٌ لا بد منه

Javad Zarif
وزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف يصل للتحدث في منتدى سياسي رفيع حول التنمية المستدامة يوم ١٧ يوليو ٢٠١٩ وذلك بمقر الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك. المصدر: Kena Betancur / AFP.

أشار ترامب مراراً بعد الانسحاب من الاتفاق النووي إلى رغبته في “عقد صفقةٍ جديدة” مع إيران، في حين اتضح تدريجياً أن القيادة الإيرانية المحاصرة تحاول التصالح أيضاً للدخول في حوار، ما قد يتطور بعد ذلك ليصبح نوعاً من حفظ ماء الوجه سعياً لإجراء مفاوضاتٍ ذات مغزى. ومع ذلك، فإنهم يصرّون على عدم تكرار ما حدث بين الولايات المتحدة وكوريا الشمالية، وهو ما لم ينتج عنه سوى التقاط “صورةٍ فوتوغرافية”.

وعلى الرغم من رغبة الإيرانيين في معرفة الشكل النهائي للصفقة بالضبط قبل الدخول في أي مفاوضات، وهو أمرٌ غير محتمل، فإنه يتعين على الولايات المتحدة تعديل بعض مطالبها المغالية أو تعليقها، ناهيك عن رفع القيود غير المبررة التي فرضتها على شخص وزير الخارجية الإيراني.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن ما تم بذله من جهود للتوسط بين البلدين على يد سلطنة عُمان ورئيس الوزراء الذي زار إيران في يونيو الماضي، فشلت في تأمين موافقة المرشد الأعلى للجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية للجلوس على طاولة المفاوضات. وبسبب ما تعيشه منطقة الخليج من توتراتٍ متزايدة، فإن “وسيط نزيه” آخر كالرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون قد يتمكن من حل هذه الأزمة، خاصةً وأن هذا الأخير من المتوقع أن يقوم بزيارة إيران منذ فترة.

وسيتوجب على إيران في نهاية المطاف إظهار مرونةٍ قد تسمح بتوسيع نطاق بعض الترتيبات الواردة في الاتفاق النووي لتشمل قضايا رئيسية أخرى كنطاقٍ يقبله الطرفان للصواريخ الإيرانية، ناهيك عن بعض التسويات التي قد تساعد في وضع حدٍّ للكارثة الإنسانية الحاصلة في اليمن. في المقابل، لا بد وأن تعترف الولايات المتحدة ببعض المصالح المشروعة لإيران في أماكن مثل العراق وسوريا ولبنان.

وعلى خلاف ما جرت عليه العادة من تأثر الإدارة الأمريكية بما تمارسه دول المنطقة كإسرائيل والسعودية والإمارات من ضغوطٍ مستمرة في هذا الجانب، فإن دور هذا الدول سيتضاءل على الأرجح بشكلٍ كبير في هذه المرحلة نظراً لحاجة الولايات المتحدة لإجراء حساباتها الخاصة في ضوء النكسات المكلفة التي عانت منها بسبب بعض سياساتها في المنطقة مؤخراً.

ويختم خنساري مقالته بالتالي: “أدّت موجة العداء لأمريكا منذ عام 1979 دوراً محورياً في إبقاء السلطة في يد الفصيل المتشدد الذي يحظى بشعبيةٍ ضعيفة في إيران. ومع ما تعيشه إيران من ضغوطٍ اقتصادية غير مسبوقة ما تفرضه الإدارة الأمريكية من إجراءاتٍ لا تهدّد “مبادئ إيران” فحسب، بل أيضاً وجودها بحدّ ذاته، فقد بدأ يتزايد إدراك الإيرانيين لعدم وجود شيء أقل من عقد “صفقةٍ كبرى” مع أولئك الذين ظلوا شيطنوهم طيلة أربعين عاماً – بغض النظر عن تداعياتها المحلية الكبيرة كلها – قد ينقذ البلاد من “الكارثة” الاقتصادية الحالية والتي يُعتبر علاجها أولوية للنظام الإيراني بغرض احتواء الاضطرابات العامة والحفاظ على الاستقرار الاجتماعي داخل البلاد”.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MANDEL NGAN ©AFP | MANDEL NGAN ©AFP | Kena Betancur ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / War is no solution to the US-Iran standoff

War is no solution to the US-Iran standoff

US sanctions iran
US President Donald Trump shows an executive order on sanctions on Iran’s supreme leader in the Oval Office of the White House on June 24, 2019. Photo: MANDEL NGAN / AFP

Nothing other than direct talks can offer a prospect for a solution to the crisis.

By: Mehrdad Khonsari

While tensions between Iran and the US reached new heights in the aftermath of recent explosions, shooting down of an American drone and the seizure of a British tanker in the Strait of Hormuz and the waters of the Persian Gulf, both parties are well aware that war cannot settle the outcome of their disputes.

For its part, the Iranian leadership understands only too well that it can never defeat the US in any military conflict. But, it is also fairly confident that the US will never resort to deploying the kind of military options that is needed to force regime change in Iran. In the absence of such a will on the part of the US, any aerial bombardment, no matter how damaging, will only result in a situation whereby the dominance of elements more hostile to the US inside the country is enhanced.

For the US, given the effectiveness of its sanctions policy, any incremental gain from military action that does not lead to regime change is simply disproportionate to the potential costs involved in deterring or preventing possible asymmetric Iranian retaliations against the US or its allies around the world.

Hence, nothing other than direct talks can offer a prospect whereby Iran may overcome its economic woes and the US can reach a more comprehensive agreement with Iran that includes issues not covered in the JCPOA. Although the current standoff between Iran and the US may deteriorate even further, both parties are acutely aware that ultimately, talks are unavoidable even in the aftermath of any escalation that might entail needless destruction and loss of life.

The challenges ahead

For Iran, the priority at this time is to try and revive the country’s sagging economy by dealing with crucial issues such as economic growth, unemployment, runaway inflation as well as the protection of its national currency. None of these issues can be addressed until such time that US economic sanctions are removed, allowing Iran to freely export its oil while striving to attract unimpeded flows of much needed foreign investment and new technology.

Thus, contrary to assertions made by some hard-line quarters in Iran, what remains to be worked out is not whether Iran will ever engage with the US, but rather when and under what circumstances will direct talks be convened. One downside in any such calculation which must be guarded against, is the dangerous prospect being contemplated by some self serving radicals whose gut reaction in face of inevitable negotiations, is to precipitate some form of limited military exchange with the US at this time, believing that Iran’s bargaining power is bound to wane with time due to the damaging effects of the sanctions.

What must follow

Javad Zarif
Iranian Foreign Minister Javad Zarif arrives to speak at a high level political forum on sustainable development on July 17, 2019 at the UN Headquarters in New York. Photo: Kena Betancur / AFP

While President Trump, having pulled out of the JCPOA, has repeatedly indicated his willingness to “make a new deal” with Iran, it is becoming gradually more clear that a beleaguered Iranian leadership is also reconciled to engage in a dialogue, which would then evolve into some form of a face-saving mechanism for meaningful negotiations. However, they are adamant not to replicate the US-North Korea format, which has produced nothing more tangible than a ‘photo-op’.

Although the Iranians would ideally prefer the unlikely prospect of knowing the exact contours of a final deal prior to any engagement, it would be incumbent on the US to amend or suspend some of its maximalist demands as well as lifting the gratuitous restrictions it has placed on the person of the Iranian Foreign Minister.

In the recent past, mediation efforts to broker direct talks on the part of countries like Oman or the Japanese Prime Minister who visited Iran in June have failed to obtain the approval of the Iranian Supreme Leader. Because of increasing tensions in the Persian Gulf region, it may now be possible that another ‘honest broker’, perhaps this time in the shape of the French President, Emmanuel Macron, who is expected to visit Iran before long might succeed in breaking the current deadlock.

Ultimately, Iran will need to display signs of flexibility that could potentially lead to a situation whereby some of the arrangements arrived at in the JCPOA are expanded to include other key issues such a mutually acceptable range for Iran’s missile forces as well as certain compromises that might help put an end to the humanitarian disaster in Yemen while in reciprocity recognition is given to some of Iran’s legitimate interests in places like Iraq, Syria and Lebanon.

Unlike times when the US administration may have been influenced by persistent lobbying from the ranks of regional states like Israel, Saudi Arabia and the UAE, the reality is that at this point, their role is likely to be hugely diminished as the US will need to make its own calculations in light of the costly set backs some of its recent policies have suffered in the region.

Since 1979, militant anti-Americanism has played a pivotal role in preserving power for the highly unpopular fundamentalist faction in Iran. Confronted with unprecedented economic pressures applied by an equally hostile American administration that threatens not just their ‘raison d’être’ but their very survival, there is an emerging realization that nothing short of a ‘grand bargain’ with those they have consistently demonized in the past 40 years – regardless of all its possibly huge domestic ramifications – can reverse the current economic ‘nose dive’ which is the most immediate priority for containing public unrest and preventing social instability inside the country.

Remark: This article was originally published by https://www.opendemocracy.net/ in August 15, 2019.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MANDEL NGAN ©AFP | MANDEL NGAN ©AFP | Kena Betancur ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update