فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / هل يصلح الكسكسي ما أفسدته السياسة؟!

هل يصلح الكسكسي ما أفسدته السياسة؟!

 طبق الكسكسي
سيدتان مغربيتان وهنّ يتناولن طبق الكسكس التقليدي في أحد المطاعم الموجودة في العاصمة المغربية الرباط يوم ٩ فبراير ٢٠١٨. المصدر: FADEL SENNA / AFP.

غسان عقله

من الجيّد حقّاً أن تنجح الدول المغاربية (تونس، الجزائر، المغرب وموريتانيا) في تسجيل طبق الكسكسي ضمن قائمة اليونسكو للتراث الثقافي غير المادي. ورغم التجاذبات الكبيرة التي رافقت ذلك، إلا أنه يعتبر سابقة على تعاون تلك الدول في ملف مشترك، وهو تعاونٌ إيجابي يحسب لها على جميع الأوجه. لكن هل كان الأمر جيداً بما يكفي لاعتباره خطوة على طريق إعادة إحياء “اتحاد المغرب العربي” مثلاً؟ أو لإنهاء الصراع على قضية الصحراء الغربية؟ بكلمات أخرى: هل يمكن للطعام أن يرسم خارطة طريق لحل النزاعات بين الدول؟!

مرّ أكثر من شهر على مبادرة الدول المغاربية الناجحة (أُدرج الطبق في الـ16 من شهر ديسمبر الماضي). وطبق الكسكسي قد بَرُد الآن. وما عاد شهيّاً بما يكفي لجذب ناشطي مواقع التواصل الإجتماعي المغاربيين للحديث عنه، لا سخريةً منه ولا تعصّباً له حتى. وربما يحق لنا الآن بعد أن (قُضي الأمر الذي فيه تستفتيان) أن نسأل عن حال العلاقات المغاربية عقب هذا النجاح؟!

في واقع الحال، قد يشارع البعض بأن السؤال متسرّع إلى حد ما ولم يحن وقت طرحه بعد. وبالفعل، فالخلافات بين الدول الآكلة للكسكسي لا تزال على حالها، والفتور على حاله! ولا يمكن لعاقل تصوّر عكس ذلك، ولم يمر بعد سوى شهر واحد فقط على المأثرة الثقافية التي تعاونت الدول المغاربية على إنجازها. حسناً، لنُعِد صياغة السؤال: هل يمكن أن يُحدث الكسكسي خرقاً إيجابياً بأزمة الصحراء الغربية بعد خمس أو عشر سنوات من الآن؟! قد يجيب أحدهم بأن ملف الصحراء الغربية واحدٌ من أطول وأعقد الصراعات السياسية والإنسانية في العالم، ولا يمكن تحميل الكسكسي ما لا يحتمل، لذلك لندعه جانباً. طيب، ماذا عن الخلاف الأبسط المتمثل بطلب الأمازيغ تغيير تسمية “اتحاد المغرب العربي” إلى “الاتحاد المغاربي” أو “اتحاد المغرب الكبير”، حيث أن التسمية تلك تقصيهم وهم مكوّنٌ أصيل وغير عربي في التركيبة المغاربية؟! هل سيشفع الكسكسي للقبائل الأمازيغية، الممتدة من المحيط الأطلسي إلى واحة سيوة في مصر، بنيل اعتراف حقيقي بهويتها وتمايزها الثقافي؟ أوليس طبق الكسكسي نفسه وبإجماع الكثير من المصادر التاريخية يعود أصله لتلك القبائل الأمازيغية؟!

لندع تلك الأسئلة أيضاً معلّقةً برسم السنين القادمة وننتظر. لكن هناك نقطة قد تبدو ملحّةً بعض الشيء: ماذا لو استفاقت ليبيا من غيبوبة الحرب الدائرة فيها وطالبت بحصتها من الكسكس؟! أليس الكسكس من حقها أيضاً؟! ألن يستدعي ذلك اشتعال خلافٍ جديد في منطقةٍ تترنح تحت حمل خلافات مزمنة؟! هل فكّرت الدول الأربع بإشراك ليبيا في الملف أم أنها تجاهلت ذلك مستغلةً انشغال الأخيرة بحربها الأهلية؟!

على ما يبدو من المبكر أن نقرر إن كان الكسكسي سينهي أزمات المنطقة بالفعل أو أنه سيشعل أزماتٍ جديدة. وإن كان الأمر كذلك، وهو كذلك، فلماذا إذاً كل هذه الحفاوة والجهد المبذول من الدول المغاربية الأربع لتقديم ملف مشترك أمام منظمة اليونسكو؟

قد تكون الإجابة أسهل مما يوحي به السؤال. فاشتراك الدول الأربع في ملف الكسكسي هو ببساطة للحيلولة دون انفراد دولة مغاربية بعينها بتقديم الملف، وليس سوى ذلك أبداً، وقد عبّر عن ذلك مباشرةً رئيس الحكومة الجزائرية السابق أحمد أويحيى، نهاية عام 2018، لأحد صانعي المعجنات بقوله: “في الخارج، هناك دولة شقيقة وجارة – يقصد المغرب – جعلت من الكسكسي منتوجاً خاصاً بها، لذا أطلب منكم أن تثبتوا أنفسكم وأن تبرهنوا العكس”. ليأتيه الرد سريعاً من وزير الاتصال والناطق الرسمي باسم الحكومة المغربية مصطفى الخلفي، حين قال: “لا أعتبر أن هذه القضية ينبغي أن تكون موضوع تعليق (…) لأن الواقع قائم لا يرتفع”، في تأكيد منه أن طبق الكسكس مغربي! إذاً من الواضح أن اشتراك تلك الدول في هذا الملف لا يبرز حالة الوفاق فيما بينها بقدر ما هو انعكاس لخلافاتها المزمنة، خصوصاً الخلافات التاريخية بين الجزائر والمغرب، وهما الدولتان المحوريتان في أي تعاون مغاربي حقيقي وواقعي!

بكل تأكيد، ليس الغرض هنا التقليل من أهمية الدور الذي يمكن أن يلعبه الطعام بالتقريب بين الشعوب، وإلى حد ما تذليل الخلافات السياسية أو الاقتصادية بين الدول. لكنّ إفراط البعض بالتفاؤل بحل الخلافات المغاربية إبان إدراج الكسكسي في قائمة اليونسكو يسترعي بحق مراجعةً متأنية، لما يعكسه ذلك الفكر من طوباويّة واغتراب عن الواقعية في حل الخلافات السياسية. لنتخيل مثلاً لو أن النمسا اشترطت لانضمامها إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي أن تتوقف جارتها ألمانيا عن توصيف “شرائح شنيتزل” (Schnitzel) بالـ”طبق الوطني”، على اعتبار أن وصفة الطعام تلك تعود بالأصل إلى فيينا! أو مثلاً أن تُفكك إسرائيل المستوطنات في الأراضي الفلسطينية ثمناً لتنازل الفلسطينيّين نهائياً عن الفلافل والحمص لصالح “التراث الإسرائيلي”!

قصارى القول: إن ثمرة تعاون الدول المغاربية الأربع في هذا الملف ليست أكثر من خطوة عكس اتجاه الأزمات التي تعصف في المنطقة المغربية. وهي على أية حال خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح، إلا أنها بكل تأكيد ليست كافية. وستجرفها الأحداث السياسية المتعاقبة إن لم تتبعها خطوات أخرى أكثر ثباتاً؛ خطواتٌ تتأسس وفق الواقعية السياسية التي تتطلب استدعاء مصالح تلك الدول لا خلافاتها.

ملاحظة

الأفكار الواردة في هذه التدوينة هي آراء المدوّن الخاص بنا ولا تعبّر بالضرورة عن آراء أو وجهات نظر فنك أو مجلس تحريرها.

إقرأ المزيد

لن تتنازل الرباط عن أراضٍ تعتبرها أرضاً ذات سيادة، ولن يقبل الصحر...
فمنذ بداية الصراع، كان الأمازيغ في ليبيا في عهد الزعيم الراحل معم...
حصلت حملة القمع على الرغم من حصول الأمازيغ في الجزائر على اعترافٍ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FADEL SENNA ©AFP | FADEL SENNA ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

  • أول مقهى عمومي في التاريخ

    أول مقهى في التاريخ كان ابتكاراً صوفياً أبصر النور في تونس. حكيم مرزوقي يطلعنا على حكاية مدهشة عن العلاقة بين القهوة والصوفية.
  • سريالية الخوف السوري

    شعلة الثورة السورية انطفأت بسرعة لأن التاريخ الفعلي للخوف متربصٌ داخل الكيان السوري.

Fanack Home / Would Couscous Fix what Politics has spoiled?!

Would Couscous Fix what Politics has spoiled?!

Couscous
Moroccans eat a traditional couscous dish in a restaurant in the capital Rabat on february 9, 2018. Photo: FADEL SENNA / AFP

Ghassan Okla

It is good that the Maghreb countries (Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, and Mauritania) succeeded in adding couscous to the UNESCO list of intangible cultural heritage. Despite the huge controversies that accompanied this, it is a precedent for cooperation between these countries in a common file. It is positive cooperation to be counted on in all aspects. But was it good enough – for example – to be considered a step on the road to reviving the Arab Maghreb Union? Or to end the conflict over the Western Sahara issue? In other words: Can food draw a roadmap for resolving disputes between countries?!

More than a month has passed over the successful Maghreb countries initiative as the dish was registered on December 16th of 2020. Yet the couscous dish has gone cold. It is no longer delicious enough to attract the Maghreb social media activists to conversate about. They neither use mockery nor fanaticism while discussing this file. Now that it hath been decreed that matter whereof ye twain do enquire, time might be ready then to talk about the conditions of Maghreb relations after this success, right?!

Some might argue that the question is somewhat hasty and the time to ask it is not yet due. Indeed, the disputes between the couscous eating countries are still the same. The apathy is still the same! After one month from the cultural exploit that the Maghreb countries cooperated to achieve, no sane person can imagine something otherwise. Well, let’s reformulate the question: Can couscous make a positive breach in the Western Sahara crisis five or ten years from now?! Someone might answer that the Western Sahara file is one of the longest and most complex political and humanitarian conflicts in the world, and couscous cannot be burdened with what it cannot bear, so let’s leave it aside. Well, what about the simpler disagreement represented by the request of the Amazighs to change the name of the “Arab Maghreb Union” to “The Maghreb Union” or “The Great Maghreb Union”, since that name excludes them while they are an authentic and non-Arab component of the Maghreb composition?! Will couscous help the Amazigh tribes, extending from the Atlantic Ocean to Siwa Oasis in Egypt, gain real recognition of their identity and cultural distinction? Doesn’t the couscous dish itself originates from these Amazigh tribes as many historical sources unanimously said?!

Let us also leave these questions for the years to come and wait. But there is a point that may seem a bit urgent: What if Libya woke up from the ongoing war coma and demanded its share of couscous? Doesn’t Libya have a right to couscous as well?! Wouldn’t that call for a new conflict to flare up in a region reeling under the burden of chronic conflicts?! Have the four countries thought about involving Libya in the file or did they ignore it, taking advantage of the latter’s preoccupation with its civil war?!

It seems too early to decide whether couscous will truly end the region’s crises or if it will spark new ones. If this is the case, and it is so, then why all the hospitality and efforts made by the four Maghreb countries to present a joint file before UNESCO?

The answer may be easier than the question suggests. The participation of the four countries in the couscous file is simply to prevent a particular Maghreb country from submitting the file on its own, and nothing else. This was expressed directly by the former Algerian Prime Minister Ahmed Ouyahia, at the end of 2018, to one of the pastry makers. He said back then: “Aboard, there is a brother, a neighbor country – meaning Morocco – that has made couscous its own. That’s why I ask you to prove yourselves and prove the opposite.” The response came quickly from Mustapha El Khalfi, the Minister of Communication and the official spokesperson for the Moroccan government. He replied: “I do not consider this issue a subject of comment (…) as the prevailing status does not change.” With his comment, El Khalfi confirmed that couscous is a Moroccan food! So, it is clear that the participation of these countries in this file does not highlight the state of harmony among them. Rather, it is a reflection of their long-standing disputes, especially the historical disputes between Algeria and Morocco, which are the two pivotal countries in any real and realistic Maghreb cooperation!

Certainly, the purpose here is not to diminish the importance of the role that food can play in bringing people together, and to some extent to smooth out political or economic differences between countries. However, the excessive optimism of some in resolving the Maghreb disputes after registering couscous on the UNESCO list calls for a careful review. After all, this ideology reflects utopianism and alienation from realism in resolving political disputes. Let’s imagine, for instance, if Austria stipulated for its accession to the European Union that its neighbor, Germany, would stop describing Schnitzel as a “national dish”, given that this recipe originated from Vienna! Or for example, that Israel dismantles settlements in the Palestinian territories as a price for the Palestinians to definitively give up falafel and chickpeas in favor of the “Israeli heritage”!

To sum it up, the fruit of the cooperation of the four Maghreb countries in this file is nothing more than a step opposite in direction to that of the crises plaguing the Maghreb region. In any case, it is a step in the right direction. Nevertheless, it is certainly not enough. It will be swept away by successive political events if it is not followed by other more stable steps. Those steps should be based on political realism that requires invoking the interests of these countries, not their disputes.

DISCLAIMER

The opinions expressed in this publication are those of our bloggers. They do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of Fanack or its Board of Editors.

Further reading

Rabat, of course, would never cede territory that it considers sovereign land. Neither would Sahrawis accept to relinqui...
With a distinct culture from the country’s Arab majority, the culture and identity of the Amazighs has undergone a his...
The crackdown has occurred despite the Amazigh achieving greater recognition in recent years, including in the constitut...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: FADEL SENNA ©AFP | FADEL SENNA ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!