فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / وُجوه / عبد الملك الحوثي

عبد الملك الحوثي

رئيس جماعة دينية يسعى إلى تغيير مستقبل اليمن

al-houthi
عبد الملك الحوثي Photo Facebook

أعلِن عن مقتله من قِبل الحكومة اليمنية أكثر من مرة، ولكن لا يزال عبد الملك الحوثي في عام 2015 أكثر الرجال استمتاعاً في الحياة، حيث يقود الحوثيون الذين يعدّون اليوم أكثر اللاعبين نفوذاً على الساحة اليمنية. عبد الملك شاب يافع يمتاز بالكاريزما والغموض، مما يجعله بنظر البعض زعيماً دينياً، بينما يَنظر إليه البعض الآخر باعتباره إرهابياً، إلا أنه بالتأكيد قوة يُحسب لها ألف حساب بالنسبة للجميع.

ولد عبد الملك عام 1982 في محافظة صعدة الشمالية في اليمن وهو أحد أبناء الزوجة الرابعة لوالده بدر الدين الحوثي، وهو عالم يزيدي موّقر (حركة الصحوة الشيعية). توّلى عبد الملك قيادة جماعة الحوثي الزيدية بعد وفاة شقيقه الأكبر، حسين الحوثي مؤسس الجماعة، الذي قُتل على يد القوات الحكومية اليمنية خلال الحرب التي درات بين جماعة الحوثي والحكومة في جميع أرجاء صعدة بين عامي 2004 و2010.

وبعد ملء الفراغ في السلطة التي بقيّت خاوية بسبب الإستقالة القسرية للرئيس السابق علي عبد الله صالح، استولى عبد الملك وجماعته في عام 2014 على العاصمة اليمنية صنعاء وعلى الحكومة، فضلاً عن تمددهم نحو الشرق والجنوب وحصولهم على الكثير من الدعم على طول الطريق. وكان المحلل السياسي اليمني قد وصف عبد الملك قائلاً “يبجله أتباعه لأسبابٍ دينية، مما يجعله زعيماً دينياً أكثر من مجرد رجل دولة”.

ومع ذلك، لا يستولي عادةً الزعماء الدينيون على العواصم وعلى الحكومات، وهناك شريحة واسعة من اليمنيين يحبونه لذلك بالتحديد، وليس من أجل آرائه الدينية. فهم ينظرون إلى الحوثي بصفته المخلص، الذي أنقذهم من حكومة مختلة وفاسدة، ويشعرون أنه منحهم المزيد من الأمن وحدّ من الفساد الحكومي، على الأقل في الوقت الحاضر.

وهناك أيضاً فئة منهم يعبدونه، ولا يعود ذلك لأسباب دينية بل لكونه رجل اليوم. ومن بينهم شابة يمنية تفضّل عدم الكشف عن هويتها، إذ تقول “يتحدث دوماً بثقة كبيرة ويتمتع بالقوة، يجعلني هذا أشعر برغبة في أن أكون عشيقته في الحرملك وأن أترك هذه الحياة خلفي، فهو يعرف تماماً ما يتوجب فعله للحفاظ على أمني”.

ومن الواضح أنّ عبد الملك الحوثي يعرف تماماً كيف يوّظف نقاط قوته التي تجمع بين الكاريزما والحماسة الدينية والتاريخ العائلي فضلاً عن الشعب اليمني المتعطش للتغيير. وبالرغم من ذلك فهو يفتقد إلى الخبرة. ويقول الإيراني في ذلك ” إنه مقاتل شاب عديم الخبرة يعتقد أن الله قد أعطاه مكانة خاصة باعتباره سليل النبي” رافضاً فكرة منح الحوثي فرصة تحقيق قوة سياسية حقيقية.

ولكن قد تكون قلّة خبرته السياسية ما يحبه اليمنيون به على وجه التحديد. وبعد أن تربع على عرش السلطة على مدى عقود سياسيون يمنيون من ذوي الخبرة اللذين قادوا البلاد إلى حافة الهاوية مرة تلو الأخرى، بات اليمنيون يشعرون أن تولي زعيم شاب غير ملّم بالسياسة ما يحتاجون إليه بالتحديد. ويغذي عبد الملك الحوثي توقعاتهم هذه بإخبارهم أنه لا يسعى خلف السلطة، لكنه يريد فقط استعادة النظام والقضاء على الفساد وخفضّ أسعار الوقود.

وبالفعل، ربما قد لا يكون يسعى خلف السلطة، أو على الأقل بالمعنى التقليدي الحكومي. وتقول الناشطة والخبيرة في القبلية، ندوى الدوسري – جونسون من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أنه “لا يريد أن يصبح رئيساً، يرُيد عبد الملك أن يحكم البلاد دون أن يكون في الحكومة، وقد سبق وعبرّ عن رغبته هذه في أكثر من مناسبة”. وتُضيف “يريد الحوثييون السلطة دون مسؤولية”، إذ تعتقد أنّ جماعة الحوثي تعمد بدلاً من ذلك إلى إبقاء الآخرين في مناصب حكومية حتى يتمكنوا من توجيه اللوم لهم في حال ازداد الوضع في اليمن سوءاً.

ولكن من هؤولاء الآخرين؟ وبالرغم من عدم وجود أدلة دامغة على ذلك، إلاّ أنّ الكثيرين يعتقدون أن عبد الملك الحوثي لا يتصرف من تلقاء نفسه في الصراع اليمني الحالي على السلطة، إذ يُعتقد أنه مدعوم من إيران التي من المتوقع أنها تسعى للحصول على موطىء قدمٍ في شبه الجزيرة العربية- موطن عدوّها اللدود، المملكة العربية السعودية، وأيضاً من قِبل الرئيس السابق (العدو اللدود السابق) علي عبد الله صالح.

وما زال صالح يتمتع بشعبية كبيرة بين اليمنيين، بما في ذلك ضباط الجيش. وفي هذا السياق، يُمكن تفسير السهولة التي تمكنّ بها عبد الملك ورجاله من احتلال العاصمة صنعاء. ببساطة، أقنع صالح الضباط الموالين له بالإستسلام، مما مهدّ الطريق أمام عبد الملك للإستيلاء على المدينة ولكن ليس على الرئاسة. وفيما يتعلق بالرأس المدبر لمثل هذه الخطة، فلا بد أنّ الفضل في ذلك يعود إلى ابن صالح، أحمد علي.

وفيما إذا كان أياً من هذا صحيح، لا يضع هذا عبد الملك الحوثي في خانة المتعصب المسلح الذي يتمتع بالكريزما فقط، بل يتوجه أيضاً بصفته داهية بارع في التكتيكات الحربية. سيحصل صالح على ما يريده، ألا وهو استعادة السلطة، كما سيحصل عبد الملك الحوثي على ما يريده أيضاً، زعيم الظل، الذي يمكنه تقديم وعود للشعب اليمني دون الحاجة إلى تحمّل اللوم في حال لم يتم الإيفاء بها.

وصفته صحيفة The National الإمارتية قبل بضعة أعوام بأنه “متمرد دون سبب واضح”. ربما يُعتبر في نهاية المطاف متمرداً يدافع عن قضية ما، إلا أنه بالتأكيد متمردٌ لا يحمل هاتفاً خلوياً إذ يخشى من استهدافه، كما يرفض المقابلات الصحفية ولا أحد يعرف أين يعيش حيث يُعتقد أنه ينتقلُ من منزلٍ آمن إلى آخر. ولا يظهر إلى العلن مطلقاً، وبكل تأكيد تعتبر هذه من صفات الرؤساء.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Yemen / Faces / Abdulmalek al-Houthi

Abdulmalek al-Houthi

A Cult Leader Who Is Changing Yemen’s Future

al-houthi
Abdulmalek al-Houthi Photo Facebook

Declared dead more than once by the Yemeni government, Abdulmalek al-Houthi is, in 2015, more alive than ever, leading the Houthis, who are now the most powerful players in Yemen. Abdulmalek is young, charismatic and enigmatic. This makes him a cult leader for some, a terrorist for others, and a force to reckon with for all.

Born in 1982 in the northern province of Saada, Abdulmalek is the son of the fourth wife of Badr al-Din al-Houthi, an esteemed Zaydi (Shiite revivalist) scholar. Abdulmalek rose through the Houthi leadership ranks after his much older brother Husayn al-Houthi, founder of the Zaydi Houthi organization, was killed during the on-and-off war between the government and the Houthis that raged around Saada between 2004 and 2010.

Filling a power vacuum that remained after the forced resignation of President Ali Abdullah Saleh in 2011, Abdulmalek and his Houthi followers in 2014 seized the Yemeni capital Sana’a and the government, pushing further east and south for power, finding plenty of support along the way. According to Yemeni political analyst Abdulghani al-Iryani, “he is revered by his followers for religious reasons, which makes him more like a cult leader than a statesman”.

Cult leaders do not, however, usually seize capitals and governments, and there are many Yemenis who like him exactly for that, rather than for his religious views. They consider al-Houthi a saviour, who saved them from a dysfunctional and corrupt government. They feel he has given them more security and less government corruption, at least for the present.

And then there are some who worship him, not for religious reasons but for being the man of the day. “He always speaks with so much confidence and power, it makes me feel I want to be a mistress in his harem and leave this life behind,” said a young Yemeni woman, who asked to remain anonymous. “He will know what to do to keep me safe.”

Abdulmalek al-Houthi appears to know how to blend into a powerful cocktail his charisma, religious zeal and family history to gain support among a population that craves change. What he lacks, though, is experience. “He is an inexperienced young guerrilla fighter who believes that God has given him a special place as a descendant of the Prophet,” says al-Iryani, not giving al-Houthi much of a chance to achieve real political power.

His political inexperience may, however, be just what many Yemenis like about him. After decades of experienced politicians who led the country to the brink of disaster time and again, they feel a young untainted leader is just what they need. Abdulmalek al-Houthi feeds their expectations by telling them he is not after power, but only wants to restore order, eliminate corruption and lower fuel prices.

He may indeed not be after power, at least not in the traditional, governmental sense. “What he wants is not to be a president, he wants to rule but without being in government, that is what he said on more than one occasion,” says Nadwa Dawsari-Johnson, a US-based Yemen expert on tribal relations. “Houthis want power without accountability.” She believes al-Houthi instead keeps others in government positions, so they can be blamed if the situation in Yemen gets worse.

But who will these others be? Although there is no hard evidence for this, many think that Abdulmalek al-Houthi is not acting alone in Yemen’s current game of thrones. He is supposedly supported by Iran – which is thought to be seeking a foothold on the Arabian Peninsula in order to undermine its arch-enemy Saudi Arabia – and by ex-president (and former arch-enemy) Ali Abdullah Saleh.

Saleh is still widely popular among Yemenis, including army officers. This, the narrative goes, would explain the ease with which Abdelmalek and his men conquered Sana’a. Saleh simply instructed the officers who remained loyal to him to surrender, thus paving the way for Abdulmalek to seize the city – but not the presidency. That position, the idea goes, would go to Saleh’s son, Ahmed Ali.

If this is true, it would make Abdulmalek al-Houthi not only a charismatic zealot with guns but also a shrewd tactician. Saleh would get what he wants – restoration of his power – and Abdulmalek al-Houthi would get what he wants – the position of shadow leader, who can make promises to the Yemeni people without having to take the blame for not keeping them.

“A rebel without a clear cause,” the UAE-based newspaper The National called him a few years ago. Perhaps he is a rebel with a cause after all, but he is a rebel without a cell phone, afraid of being targeted. He does not give interviews, and nobody knows where he lives; he is believed to move from safe house to safe house. He never appears in public, a job indeed better left to the president.

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.