فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / وُجوه / خديجة السلامي: من “طفلة عروس” يمنية إلى دبلوماسية

خديجة السلامي: من “طفلة عروس” يمنية إلى دبلوماسية

خديجة السلامي.
خديجة السلامي. Photo SIPA Press.

“شعرت بقوة، حتى في هذه السن، أنني بالتعليم سأصبح أي شخصٍ وأفعل ما أريد،” كتبت المخرجة اليمنية خديجة السلامي في كتابها دموع سبأ، متحدثةً عن أول أيامها في المدرسة.

خديجة التي ولدت عام 1966 خلال إحدى الحروب الأهلية في اليمن، في ظل والدٍ عنيف يعاني من اضطرابٍ عصبي وأمٌ انتقلت للعيش مع زوجها الثاني، تُركت لتعيش مع جدتها في أحد الأحياء القديمة والفقيرة في صنعاء، إذ لم يكن مستقبلها مُشرقاً، إلا أنّ المدرسة كانت شريان الحياة بالنسبة لها.

ولكن، لم يستمر الأمر طويلاً، ففي سن الحادية عشر، تزوجت من رجلٍ كبير في السن، ولم تعد المدرسة خياراً متاحاً. بدلاً من ذلك، انتقلت مع زوجها إلى دمشق. بعد اغتصابها، ومحاولتها الانتحار، ومعاناتها من نوبات غضب، تمكنت من اقناع زوجها بإعادتها إلى اليمن.

وبعنادها وحرصها الشديد على التعلم، تمكنت من التحرر من عائلتها المحافظة التي تخشى العار، ووجدت لنفسها وظيفة كمقدمة برنامج للأطفال في إحدى محطات التلفزيون، ولا تزال تبلغ من العمر 11 عاماً، حيث كانت ترتاد المدرسة في النهار.

ومن هنا، تحسنت الأمور. ذهبت السلامي للدراسة في المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة وانتهى بها الأمر بالحصول على وظيفةٍ في باريس، حيث تعيش منذ عام 1986 وتعمل كملحق ثقافي للسفارة اليمنية. تزوجت من شارلز هوتس، وهو أمريكي شاركها كتابة دموع سبأ.

وفي الوقت نفسه، لم تتحسن الأمور كثيراً في اليمن، إذ لا تزال التقاليد الاجتماعية والدينية الخانقة سائدة، لتبقى البلاد في أدنى قائمة التقرير اﻟﻌﺎﻟﻤﻲ ﻟﻠﻔﺠوة ﺒﻴن اﻟﺠﻨﺴﻴن.

الفجوة بين الجنسين موضوعٌ متكرر في أعمال السلامي، التي تتكون في معظمها من الأفلام الوثائقية التلفزيونية مثل “الصرخة،” الذي يتحدث عن دور المرأة خلال انتفاضة اليمن عام 2011، و”غريبة في موطنها،” الذي تتبع فيه فتاة تبلغ من العمر 13 عاماً أثناء تحديها لجميع الأعراف الاجتماعية.

حظيت أعمال السلامي بالإشادة، ففي عام 2013، اختارتها مجلة أرابيان بيزنس، ومقرها الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ضمن قائمة أقوى 500 شخصية عربية في العالم. كان من ضمن القائمة أيضاً إمرأتين يمنيتين، توكل كرمان، الحائزة على جائزة نوبل للسلام عام 2011، ووفاء الريمي، وهي فتاة تبلغ من العمر 16 عاماً التي تشغل منصب الرئيسة التنفيذية لشركة تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية.

ومع ذلك، لا تتمتع السلامي داخل اليمن بذات الشهرة. “تركت هذه السيدة اليمن منذ فترة طويلة. لا يعرفها أحدٌ هنا، باستثناء من يُطلقون على أنفسهم مثقفين أو المجموعة التي تختلط بها. إذا ما سألت الناس بشكلٍ عشوائي، فلا أحد يعلم الكثير عنها،” هذا ما أخبرتنا به إحدى السيدات اليمنيات في مقابلةٍ مع Fanack.

لم يُثني هذا السلامي عن إخراجها أول فيلم روائي طويل “أنا نجود، إبنة العاشرة ومطلقة،” الذي تم تصويره بالكامل في اليمن. الفيلم مُقتبس عن قصة حقيقة لفتاة اسمها نجود علي، الطفلة العروس الأكثر شهرة في اليمن، التي تزوجت في سن العاشرة ورفعت دعوى طلاق في المحكمة. لم تكن قصة نجود القصة الوحيدة التي أرادت السلامي حكايتها، بل كانت أيضاً قصتها وقصة غيرها من العديد من الأطفال العرائس في اليمن.

فاز هذا الفيلم بجائزة أفضل فيلم روائي في مهرجان دبي السينمائي الدولي، كما عُرض في المهرجانات السينمائية الأخرى في جميع أنحاء العالم، حيث اعتبر من الأفلام التي تحمل في مضمونها رسالةً قوية وغاية في الأهمية.

ويبدو أنّ السلامي مدركة أن قيمة رسالتها تتمثل بوصولها إلى أولئك الذين يستطيعون إحداث التغيير، وعلى وجه التحديد، الأبوين. “لذلك، أود عرض الفيلم في كل قرية في جميع أنحاء بلادي.” هذا ما قالته في مقابلةٍ لصحيفة الأهرام.

ووفقاً لتعليق المحرر في الأهرام، من غير المرجح حدوث هذا “بالنظر إلى الوضع الأمني الحالي.” ولكن لا صلة لهذا بالموضوع، فلن يكون الوضع الأمني في اليمن ما سيمنع السلامي من عرض فيلمها في القرى، بل حقيقة أنّ، بالرغم من نواياها الطيبة، لن تكون قادرةً على تغيير المجتمع اليمني.

يحتاج الأمر إلى أكثر من إرسال الرسائل إلى الجمهور الغربي المتلقي، رسائل قد يقول البعض أنها عاطفية جداً أو تبريرية. في أفلامها وكتابها، تعالج الأمر- على الدوام- بعناية، مظهرةً تفهماً كبيراً للمجتمع اليمني، ومتجنبةً بحذر الحساسيات الدينية، وكاشفةً عن الجمال الخلاب للبلاد.

لا يمكن للمرء لومها، فهي تحب اليمن، ناهيك عن تمثيلها الدبلوماسي للبلاد. إنها صوت العقل، فهي تتمتع بالقدرة أمام جمهورها على توضيح ماهية شتى الأمور مثل الفقر والأمية والفساد ومبادىء المحافظين، كما هي عليه. ومع ذلك، قد يترك هذا نفس الجمهور مرتبكاً وأن هناك، بطريقةٍ أو بأخرى، مجالٌ للأعذار.

ولكن هل يوجد حقاً؟ قد يكون التعليم مفتاح العديد من الأمور، ولكن السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه ما إذا كان المرء بحاجة لأي تعليمٍ على الإطلاق ليدرك أنّ الزواج القسري لفتاة تبلغ من العمر عشر سنوات، ليس فكرة مطروحة في الأصل. ربما ما تُريد حقاً التعبير عنه وقوله، لكن يصعُب عليها الأمر لحساسيته، أنّ الوقت قد حان للتخلص من المربين الدينيين الذين يرون فيه فكرة سديدة.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: PIA TORELLI ©Hollandse Hoogte | PIA TORELLI ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Yemen / Faces / Khadija al-Salami, a Yemeni Child Bride Who Became a Diplomat

Khadija al-Salami, a Yemeni Child Bride Who Became a Diplomat

Khadija al Salami. Photo SIPA Press.
Khadija al Salami. Photo SIPA Press.

“I felt strongly – even at that age – that with an education I could become anybody and do anything I wanted,” writes Yemeni film director Khadija al-Salami in her book The Tears of Sheba, speaking about her first days at school.

Born in 1966, during one of Yemen’s civil wars, in a family with a shell-shocked and violent father and a mother who lived with her second husband, Khadija was left with her grandmother in one of old Sana’a’s poor districts, her future did not look bright. School was her lifeline.

But not for long. At the age of 11, she was married off to an older man, and school was no longer an option. Instead, she moved with her husband to Damascus. After being raped, attempting suicide, and throwing tantrums, she managed to convince her husband to send her back to Yemen.

Stubborn and still eager for an education, she freed herself from her shame-fearing conservative family and landed herself a job as presenter of a children’s show at a television station, still only 11 years old. The mornings she spent at school.

From there on, things improved. Al-Salami went to study in the UK and the US and ended up with a job in Paris, where she has been living since 1986, working as a cultural attaché for the Yemeni embassy. She married Charles Hoots, the American co-author of The Tears of Sheba.

Meanwhile, things didn’t improve much in Yemen. Suffocating social and religious conventions remain prevalent, keeping the country steadily at the bottom of the global gender-gap lists.

This gender gap is the recurrent theme in al-Salami’s work, which consists mostly of short TV documentaries like “The Scream,” about the role of women during Yemen’s uprising in 2011, and “A Stranger in her Own City,” in which al-Salami follows a remarkable 13-year old girl who defies all social conventions.

Al-Salami’s work has not gone unnoticed. In 2013 she made it onto the UAE-based Arabian Business Magazine list of the 500 most powerful Arabs in the World. She is accompanied by only two other Yemenis, Tawakkul Karman, recipient of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, and Wafa al-Rime, the 16-year-old CEO of a solar-power company.

Inside Yemen, however, she is much less of a celebrity. “The woman left Yemen ages ago. No one knows her here, except the so-called intellectuals or just the group she mixes with. If you ask random people, no one knows much about her,” a Yemeni woman says in an interview with Fanack.

That didn’t keep al-Salami from making her first feature film, shot entirely in Yemen, “I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced.” The film is based on the true story of Nujood Ali, Yemen’s most famous child bride, who was married off at ten and filed for divorce in court. It was not only Nujood’s story that al-Salami wanted to tell—it was also her own and that of many other Yemeni child brides.

The film won her an award at the Dubai International Film Festival and was shown at other film festivals worldwide, where it was considered to deliver a strong and important message.

Al-Salami seems aware of the fact that it would be better if her message reached those who can really make a difference, namely Yemeni parents. “For that, I would like to screen the film in every village across my country,” she says in an interview with al-Ahram.

This, the editor of al-Ahram comments, is unlikely to happen, “given the current security situation.” But that is beside the point. It is not Yemen’s security situation that will prevent al-Salami’s film from showing in the villages; it is the fact that, despite her best intentions, she will not be able to change Yemeni society.

It takes more than sending messages to a receptive Western audience, messages that some may say are too romantic or apologetic. In her films and her book, she consistently treads with care, showing a great understanding of Yemeni society, carefully avoiding religious sensitivities and showing the breathtaking beauty of the country.

One can’t blame her: she loves Yemen, not to mention that she represents the country as a diplomat. She is a voice of reason, someone who manages to explain to her audience why things – being poverty, illiteracy, corruption, conservatism – are the way they are. Still, it may leave that same audience with the uneasy feeling that there is somehow room for excuses.

But is there? Education may be key to many things, but it is a question of whether one needs any education at all to understand that a forced marriage is not a good idea for a ten-year old girl. What she really may want to express—but deems it too insensitive to say—is that it is time to get rid of religious educators who say that it is a good idea.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.