فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / اليمن: بيدقٌ في الصراع الإقليمي على النفوذ

اليمن: بيدقٌ في الصراع الإقليمي على النفوذ

Yemen- Huthi rebel fighters
أنصار للحوثيين يحضرون جنازة القتلى خلال الاشتباكات الأخيرة بين مقاتلي المتمردين الحوثيين والموالين لعلي عبد الله صالح، في العاصمة صنعاء في 7 ديسمبر 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED HUWAIS

أصبح اليمن ملعب صنع السياسة الخارجية للمملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. فقد خلفت وفاة الرئيس السابق علي عبد الله صالح، الذي كان يوماً ما حليفاً ثم عدواً للنظامين، فراغاً وقد تُغير مسار الأحداث في البلاد التي مزقتها الحرب.

فقد جعل تعاقب سقوط الدكتاتوريين العرب في عام 2011 الناس يتساءلون، لبضعة أشهر، من التالي. ولكن منذ وفاة معمر القذافي في أكتوبر 2011، توقف هذا التوجه. وفي الذكرى السنوية السابعة للربيع العربي، لقيّ الحاكم الرابع، منذ فترةٍ طويلة، ذات المصير: فقد قتل صالح أثناء فراره من العاصمة اليمنية صنعاء في 4 ديسمبر 2017.

كانت قصة صالح معقدة، فقد كان رئيساً للجمهورية اليمنية منذ عام 1990، إلا أنه شغل منصب رئيس اليمن الشمالي منذ عام 1978. تعرض حكمه لهزةٍ قوية في العام الأول للربيع العربي، حيث اتفق أخيراً على التنحي من الحكم في أكتوبر 2012. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من تخليه عن السلطة رسمياً لصالح نائبه عبد ربه منصور هادي، إلا أنه واصل الإمساك بزمام الأمور خلف الكواليس. وفي عام 2015، شارك في الانقلاب الحوثي ضد هادي واستعاد جزءاً من سلطته المفقودة. وبذلك، قام بتهميش راعيته وحليفته السابقة، السعودية.

كان صالح حليفاً للسعودية خلال سنوات حكمه كرئيسٍ لليمن الشمالي، إلا أنه بات عدواً للسعودية بعد حرب الخليج؛ بل إن السعوديين حاولوا الإطاحة به عام 1994. وبعد أن استقرت الأمور، عاد صالح إلى الحضن السعودي. ومع بداية الألفية الجديدة، شنت السعودية وصالح حرباً مشتركة ضد الحوثيين، حيث ساند السعوديون حكومة صالح ومولوا جيشه. ومع اندلاع الربيع العربي، حمى السعوديون صالح، وعندما أمطرت الصواريخ قصره، كان السعوديون من أرسلوا له طائرةً لنقله إلى العاصمة السعودية، الرياض، لتلقي العلاج الطبي. كما نسق السعوديون عودته إلى صنعاء في عام 2012 واتفاق استقالته، مما سمح له بالبقاء في اليمن دون محاكمة.

ومع ذلك، كانت السلطة ذات أهمية أكبر بالنسبة لصالح من الولاء والمنطق، وعندما بدأ الحوثيون، خصومه اللدودين منذ الأزل، ببسط نفوذهم على نطاقٍ واسع، عرض عليهم خدماته. ولأكثر من عامين، وقف إلى جانب الحوثيين، مما وضعه على قائمة الاغتيال السعودية. ومع ذلك، مع المظالم البالغة من العمر عقوداً من الزمان بينه وبين الجماعة المتمردة، لم يكن مُقدراً استمرار هذا التحالف طويلاً. وفي عام 2017، بدأت التصدعات بالظهور، وبحلول شهر نوفمبر 2017، أعلن صالح رسمياً تغيير ولائه والقفز، مرةً أخرى، إلى أحضان السعوديين.

جاءت هذه الخطوة وسط اضطراباتٍ كبرى في المنطقة، ففي السنوات الأخيرة، خصصت المملكة العربية السعودية ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة قدراً كبيراً من الوقت والموارد لتهميش إيران، كما أشعل صعود ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان سياساتٍ محلية وخارجية عنيفة (مثل تورطه في الحرب في اليمن). وعليه، حذت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ربما كسباً للرضى والتماساً للمنفعة من حليفها الأقوى، السعودية، أو لربما بهدف السيطرة على زعيمها الشاب، حذوها. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الدولتان تتمتعان بدعم إدارة ترمب وكذلك اللوبي الإسرائيلي في واشنطن (وإسرائيل بالطبع). وبحسب المحلل السياسي يوسف الشريف، المتخصص في السياسة الخليجية، ربما فكر صالح على النحو التالي: كانت الجبهة المضادة لإيران قويةً بما فيه الكفاية لتغيير ميزان القوى، وكان الوقت قد حان للقفز من القارب قبل غرقه. أما الحوثيون، الذين شعروا بالتهديد في عقر دارهم، فقد كانوا متعنتين: يجب أن يموت صالح، وهذا ما حصل بالفعل.

تم تفسير وفاة صالح بأنها فشلٌ آخر لاستراتيجيات محمد بن سلمان السيئة، إلا أنها أيضاً شكلت فشلاً للإمارات العربية المتحدة. في الواقع، تم تعيين نجل صالح، أحمد علي صالح، الذي كان يقود الحرس الجمهوري النخبوي في اليمن، سفيراً لليمن في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في عام 2013. وقيل إن تعيينه كان نتيجةً لاتفاقٍ تم التفاوض عليه بين هادي وصالح؛ وسيلةٌ لإعفاء الابن من قيادة وحدةٍ عسكرية هامة وإيجاد مخرجٍ مشرّفٍ له. كما أشار ذلك إلى لفتةٍ من قبل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، التي قبلته سفيراً؛ مما عنى أن معسكر صالح بات في جيب الإمارات.

ومع ذلك، حدث تطورٌ مثيرٌ للاهتمام منذ ذلك الحين، فالسعوديون والإماراتيون يغازلون اليوم حزب الإصلاح اليمني، أي جناح الإخوان المسلمين في البلاد. وحتى الآن، تشن السعودية والإمارات حرباً ضد الإخوان في جميع أنحاء العالم العربي، بما في ذلك في اليمن. فمنذ وفاة صالح، على وجه الخصوص، كان التقارب واضحاً بين أبوظبي والرياض وقادة الإصلاح، الذين يتم استقطابهم.

وعلاوة على ذلك، أغضب موت صالح موسكو، التي كان مقرباً منها. فقد كانت روسيا من بين الدول القليلة التي لم تنقل سفارتها من صنعاء عندما تولى الحوثيون السيطرة، وكان صالح “زائراً” متكرراً للسفير الروسي. فقد كان، بطريقةٍ ما، الوسيط بين القيادة الحوثية وموسكو.

وبالتالي سيتمسك السعوديون برجلهم الحالي في اليمن، الرئيس هادي، الذي يعيش في الواقع في المنفى في المملكة العربية السعودية. وسيواصل الإمارتيون تمكين مختلف الفصائل الجنوبية في اليمن ضد الحوثيين وتنظيم القاعدة. وعليه، ظهرت بعض الخلافات العلنية بين السعوديين والإماراتيين، وذلك مع الرغبة المتزايدة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة السيطرة على مضيق باب المندب، وبالتالي، البحر الأحمر، وبالتالي التعدي على مجال النفوذ التقليدي للمملكة العربية السعودية.

ولكن نظراً لنفوذ إيران (الذي لا يزال صغير نسبياً) في اليمن، فإن السعوديين والإماراتيين سيضطرون للعمل معاً على المدى المتوسط. وكما يقول بروس ريدل من مؤسسة بروكينغز، “تكلف الحرب طهران بضعة ملايين من الدولارات شهرياً، بينما تكلف الرياض 6 مليارات دولار شهرياً.” وفي نهاية المطاف، يمكن لأي خلافٍ بين الرياض وأبو ظبي أن يزيد من نفوذ إيران.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED HUWAIS | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED HUWAIS

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Yemen / Past to Present / Yemen a Pawn in Regional Struggle for Influence

Yemen a Pawn in Regional Struggle for Influence

Yemen- Huthi rebel fighters
Supporters of the Huthi movement attend the funeral of those killed during recent clashes between Huthi rebel fighters and loyalists of Ali Abdullah Saleh, in the capital Sanaa on December 7, 2017. Photo AFP

Yemen has become a playground for Saudi and Emirati foreign policymaking. The death of former President Ali Abdullah Saleh, once an ally and then a foe of the two regimes, has left a vacuum and may change the course of events in the war-torn country.

The fall of successive Arab dictators in 2011 had people wondering, for a few months, who would be next. But since the death of Libya’s Muammar Qaddafi in October 2011, the trend has stopped. It was only on the seventh anniversary of the Arab Spring that the fourth long-time ruler met his fate: Saleh was killed while fleeing the Yemeni capital Sanaa on 4 December 2017.

His story was complicated. He had been the president of the Republic of Yemen since 1990 but the president of the Republic of North Yemen since 1978. His rule was severely shaken in the first year of the Arab Spring, and he finally agreed to resign in October 2012. However, although he officially relinquished power to his deputy Abd Rabbu Mansour Hadi, he continued to pull the strings behind the scenes. In 2015, he participated in the Houthi coup against Hadi and recovered part of his lost authority. In doing so, he sidelined his former patron and ally, Saudi Arabia.

Saleh was a Saudi ally during his years as North Yemen’s President but a Saudi enemy after the Gulf War; the Saudis even tried to topple him in 1994. Once the dust settled, Saleh returned to the Saudi nest. At the start of the new millennium, Saudi Arabia and Saleh waged a joint war against the Houthis. The Saudis bailed out Saleh’s government and funded his army. When the Arab Spring erupted, the Saudis protected Saleh, and when rockets were fired at his palace, it was the Saudis who dispensed a plane to fly him to the Saudi capital Riyadh where he received medical treatment. His return to Sanaa in 2012 and agreement to resign were also orchestrated by the Saudis, allowing him to stay in Yemen without prosecution.

Yet for Saleh, power was more important than fidelity or reason, and when his long-time adversaries, the Houthis, began to extend their influence, he offered his services. For more than two years, he sided with the Houthis, earning himself a spot on Saudi Arabia’s kill list. However, with decades-old grievances between him and the rebel group, the alliance could not last long. In 2017, cracks began to appear, and by November 2017, Saleh officially announced that he was switching sides and jumping, once again, into bed with the Saudis.

This move came amid major upheaval across the region. In recent years, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) have devoted considerable time and resources to sidelining Iran. The rise of Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS) has also triggered hawkish domestic and foreign policies (such as his involvement in the war in Yemen). The UAE, perhaps to curry favour with its more powerful Saudi ally or perhaps with the aim of controlling its young leader, followed suit. The two countries enjoy the backing of the Trump administration as well as the Israeli lobby in Washington (and Israel, of course). According to political analyst Youssef Cherif, who specializes in Gulf politics, Saleh probably calculated it this way: the anti-Iran front was strong enough to change the balance of power, and it was time to jump out of the boat before it sank. The Houthis, feeling the threat inside their walls, were intransigent: Saleh must die. And die he did.

Saleh’s death was interpreted as yet another failure of MBS’ ill-conceived strategies. But it was also the UAE’s failure. In fact, Saleh’s older son, Ahmed Ali Saleh, who used to command Yemen’s elite Republican Guard, was appointed Yemen’s ambassador to the UAE in 2013. His appointment was said to be the result of a negotiated agreement between Hadi and Saleh, a way to relieve the son from the command of an important military unit and offer him an honourable way out. It also signalled a gesture by the UAE, which accepted him as an ambassador; the Saleh camp was in the Emirates’ pocket.

However, an interesting development has occurred since. The Saudis and Emiratis are now courting Yemen’s al-Islah party, the Muslim Brotherhood wing in the country. Up until now, Saudi Arabia and the UAE have waged war against the Brotherhood across the Arab world, including in Yemen. Especially since Saleh’s death, a rapprochement has been evident between Abu Dhabi, Riyadh and the leaders of al-Islah, who are being co-opted.

Moreover, Saleh’s death angered Moscow, to which he was close. Russia was among the few countries that did not move their embassies out of Sanaa when the Houthis took over, and Saleh was a frequent ‘visitor’ of the Russian ambassador. He was, in a way, the mediator between the Houthi leadership and Moscow.

The Saudis will therefore stick to their current man in Yemen, President Hadi, who is actually in exile in Saudi Arabia. The Emiratis will continue to empower different southern factions in Yemen against the Houthis and al-Qaeda. Some disagreements have emerged publicly between the Saudis and Emiratis, with the UAE increasingly interested in controlling the Bab al-Mandab strait and, by extension, the Red Sea, thereby encroaching on Saudi Arabia’s traditional sphere of influence.

But due to (still relatively small) Iranian influence in Yemen, the Saudis and Emiratis will be obliged to work together in the medium term. As the Brookings Institution’s Bruce Riedel put it, ‘The war costs Tehran a few million dollars per month, while it costs Riyadh $6 billion per month.’ Any disagreement between Riyadh and Abu Dhabi could increase Iran’s influence.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.