فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الربيع العربي اليمني

الربيع العربي اليمني

انطلاق الثورة اليمنية في 2011

كما في بلدان أخرى، الربيع العربي في اليمن هو نتيجة مباشرة للأزمة الاقتصادية والسياسية المتفاقمة، حيث عملت أحداث تونس ومصر كمصدر إلهام وتحفيز.

بدأ الربيع العربي في 29 كانون الثاني/يناير عام 2011، وذلك بتظاهرات مؤيدة للمتظاهرين في مصر وتونس، وخصوصاً الأحداث المثيرة في ميدان التحرير في القاهرة. وسرعان ما تم احتلال ميدان التحرير في صنعاء من قبل مؤيدي صالح، مما اضطر المتظاهرين إلى الانتقال إلى المنطقة المحيطة بجامعة صنعاء. فتنامى ما يسمى بميدان التغيير، واحتل المتظاهرون الشوارع والساحات في المناطق المجاورة، بخيام ومرافق صحية ومدارس وعيادات مؤقتة وتجمعات في كل زاوية.

في البداية، شارك الشباب وأعضاء من النخبة المثقفة على الأغلب في المظاهرات. وسرعان ما انتشر الحراك إلى مدن أخرى، مثل عدن وتعز وإب والحديدة، حيث انطلقت مظاهرات سلمية بشكل يومي. ورداً على ذلك، استخدم الجيش والشرطة وقوات الأمن، وما يسمى بـ “البلطجية”، العنف ضد المحتجين.

ي 18 آذار/مارس، قتل قناصة موالون للنظام أكثر من خمسين متظاهراً في العاصمة صنعاء، وذلك بهدف ترهيب حركة الاحتجاج السلمية أو استفزازهم للقيام بأعمال عنف. وقد تحقق العكس تماماً، فقد أثار العنف “المعارضة الموالية”، والتي تتألف من أحزاب اللقاء المشترك والصادق الأحمر، زعيم اتحاد قبائل حاشد، وأخويه حسين وحامد (رجل الأعمال وأحد زعماء الإصلاح) للإعلان علناً عن تأييدهم للحركة الشعبية.

وبعد ذلك بفترة وجيزة، تبعهم اللواء علي محسن الأحمر، اليد اليمنى لصالح لفترة طويلة، (والعشرات من الضباط الآخرين). وقام بنشر قوات الفرقة الأولى المدرعة التابعة له حول ساحة التغيير لحماية المتظاهرين. لكن كان للعديد من أعضاء الحركة الاحتجاجية مشاعر مختلطة حول تغير موقف رجال السياسة وزعماء القبائل والضباط، كونهم كانوا في السابق على علاقات وثيقة مع نظام صالح. كما خشي المتظاهرون من “عسكرة” الاحتجاجات السلمية – أو أن تؤدي إلى حرب أهلية.

نفوذ قبيلة الأحمر

حسين عبدالله الأحمر يخطب في مظاهرة حاشدة في صنعاء، شباط/فبراير 2011، كم يظهر في موقع اليوتيوب.

إقرأ المزيد

في البداية اتخذت حكومتا الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وبريطانيا موقفاً حذراً – واللتان بدءا العمل بشكل وثيق مع نظام صالح في الح...
من الصعب تأكيد عدد القتلى والجرحى. في منتصف شهر أيلول/سبتمبر، أكدت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش سقوط 219 قتيلاً في هجوم شنته قوى الأمن ...
بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية في 21 شباط/فبراير 2012، حيث صوّت 65% لصالح المرشح الوحيد عبد ربه منصور هادي، يواجه رئيس اليمن الجديد تحديا...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Noor Al Hassan, via Al Jazeera English ©WIKIMEDIA COMMONS

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Yemen / Past to Present / Yemen’s Arab Spring

Yemen’s Arab Spring

As in other countries, the Arab Spring in Yemen is a direct corollary of the growing economic and political crisis, with events in Tunisia and Egypt serving as a source of inspiration and catalysis.

The Arab Spring began on 29 January 2011 with demonstrations supporting the protesters in Tunisia and Egypt, especially the dramatic events on the Midan al-Tahrir (Liberation Square) in Cairo. Sanaa Tahrir was, however, soon taken by Saleh‘s supporters, forcing the demonstrators to move to the area around Sanaa University. This so-called Midan al-Taghyir (Change Square) grew and occupied streets and squares in the vicinity, with tents, sanitary facilities, temporary schools and clinics, and social gatherings on every corner.

At the outset young people and members of the intelligentsia participated predominantly in the demonstrations. The movement quickly spread to other cities such as Aden, Taizz, Ibb and al-Hudayda, where peaceful protests were held on a daily basis. The army, police and security forces, and so-called baltajiya (thugs paid by the government) responded by using violence against the protestors.

On 18 March 2011, snipers loyal to the regime killed over fifty protesters in the capital Sanaa, with the objective to intimidate the elusive peaceful protest movement or else provoke a violent response. The reverse was achieved, the brute violence inciting the ‘loyal opposition’, consisting of the Joint Meeting Parties (JMP) as well as the sheikh of the powerful Hashid tribal federation, Sadiq al-Ahmar, and his brothers Husain and Hamid (a business tycoon and one of the leaders of Islah) to openly announce their allegiance to the popular movement.

Shortly afterwards Saleh’s long-time right-hand, general Ali Mohsen al-Ahmar (and a dozen other commanders) followed suit. Soldiers of his First Armoured Division were stationed around Sanaa’s Change Square to protect the demonstrators. However, many members of the protest movement had mixed feelings about the politicians’, tribal leaders’ and generals’ change of position, as previously they had either belonged to or had close ties to the Saleh regime. The demonstrators also feared that the peaceful protests might be ‘militarized’ – or even lead to civil war.

The al-Ahmar tribal influence

Hussein Abdallah al-Ahmar speaks at a mass demonstration in Sanaa, Februari 2011, as seen on Youtube.

Wounded demonstrators carried away during anti-Saleh protests in Sanaa, September 2011 Photo HH
Wounded demonstrators carried away during anti-Saleh protests in Sanaa, September 2011 Photo HH
A mass anti-government demonstration in the streets of Sanaa, November 2011 Photo HH
A mass anti-government demonstration in the streets of Sanaa, November 2011 Photo HH
Hashid tribal leader Sadiq al-Ahmar
Defected general Ali Mohsen al-Ahmar
Defected general Ali Mohsen al-Ahmar

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.