فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الربيع العربي اليمني / الضغوطات الخارجية

الضغوطات الخارجية

في البداية اتخذت حكومتا الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وبريطانيا موقفاً حذراً – واللتان بدءا العمل بشكل وثيق مع نظام صالح في الحرب ضد تنظيم القاعدة في شبه الجزيرة العربية أو مجموعات سلفية أخرى بعد أحداث 11 أيلول/سبتمبر. لكن عندما اتضح أن الاحتجاجات تواصلت وأخذت تمتد إلى أماكن أخرى، قامت واشنطن ولندن بتغيير ولائهما السياسي تدريجياً. وبالتالي دعم المستشار الخاص للأمم المتحدة بشأن اليمن، جمال بن عمر، وآخرون وساطة مجلس التعاون الخليجي بين صالح من جهة وأحزاب اللقاء المشترك وآل الأحمر من جهة ثانية. وأدت الوساطة إلى اتفاق نقل السلطة وترتيب استقالة صالح وإجراء انتخابات رئاسية مبكرة وإعادة فتح المفاوضات مع المعارضة حول الإصلاحات داخل النظام السياسي. وبالمقابل، يتم منح صالح وحوالي 500 من المسؤولين الكبار، مذكورين بالاسم، الحصانة من الملاحقة القضائية (من بينهم أشخاص ينتمون الآن إلى المعارضة، مثل اللواء علي محسن الأحمر). رفض صالح توقيع الاتفاق في ثلاث مناسبات، وعادة في اللحظة الأخيرة. وقد تعزز اعتقاد خصومه بأن صالح الخبير في التكتيكات، والذي لا يمكن الاستهانة به، كان يسعى ببساطة لكسب الوقت.

في 3 حزيران/يونيو، ومع تزايد المواجهات العنيفة بين قوات موالية لصالحووحدات وقوات الجيش المنشقة لتحالف حاشد القبلي، وبشكل خاص في حي الحصبة في مركز صنعاء، وقع انفجار قوي في المسجد الرئاسي، بجانب القصر الرئاسي، أسفر عن مقتل العديد من المسؤولين الكبار وإصابة صالح بجراح خطيرة (بشظايا وحروق وتلف في جهاز التوازن). تم نقله جواً إلى الرياض، في السعودية، لإجراء عمل جراحي. أصبح نائب الرئيس (والفريق السابق) عبد ربه منصور هادي رئيساً مؤقتاً لفترة 90 يوماً. لكن كي لا يخطئ اليمنيون بشأن من كان المسؤول الفعلي، رفض أحمد ابن صالح – قائد الحرس الجمهوري النخبة – دخول هادي إلى القصر الجمهوري. وفي وقت سابق ثبت أن صيحات النصر التي أطلقها المحتجون بعد مغادرة صالح كانت سابقة لأوانها.

تميز صيف عام 2011 بقتال متواصل وإنما منفصل وأقل كثافة في جميع أنحاء البلاد – بما في ذلك القتال بين قوات صالح وبين الذين اختاروا جانب المعارضة. كانت تعز نقطة ساخنة، كما منطقة أرحب القبلية وشمال شرق صنعاء ومحافظة أبين التي استولت عليها الميليشيات الإسلامية. وأصبح الغذاء والماء والوقود نادراً في كل مكان باستثناء أقصى الشمال. وتواصلت المظاهرات الشعبية في جميع المدن، بينما بدت الفصائل السياسية وكأنها تتفاوض على مستقبل اليمن خلف الكواليس. إلا أن نظام صالح بقي يومياً يعلن عودة صالح من الرياض. وأقصى زعماء الثورة الشعبية، والذين دعوا أنفسهم بالتحالف المدني للثورة الشبابية، بأنفسهم عن أحزاب اللقاء المشترك بمطالبتهم بفترة أطول بكثير لانتقال السلطة وإبعاد كل من كان مشتركاً في الحكومة السابقة عن المناصب المستقبلية. إضافة إلى معارضتهم للعرض الذي قدمه صالح ومسؤولون آخرون بالحصانة من الملاحقة القضائية (أشارت هيومن رايتس ووتش وغيرها من المنظمات إلى أن الحصانة من الملاحقة القضائية في حالة جرائم حرب أو جرائم ضد الإنسانية هي انتهاك للقانون الدولي).

وضع التحالف المدني للثورة الشبابية برنامجه الخاص للإصلاح السياسي. تفتتح الوثيقة (حوالي 1300 كلمة) بالنص التالي: “يهدف هذا التحالف إلى إقامة دولة مدنية حديثة تتفاعل إيجابياً مع الحداثة على أساس المساواة في المواطنة وحقوق الإنسان والعدالة الاجتماعية والاستقطاب السياسي وحرية التعبير والرأي والانتقال السلمي للسلطة. (…) لهذا التحالف هدف عام وهو إسقاط النظام بكل عناصر فساده عن طريق جهود مدنية سلمية وبناء دولة ديمقراطية حديثة”. وباختصار، إنه قانون الربيع العربي.

A wounded former President Saleh on Yemeni TV
الرئيس اليمني السابق صالح على التلفزيون اليمني بعد إصابته
Commander of the Republican Guard and former President Saleh's eldest son Ahmed
أحمد، الابن الأكبر للرئيس السابق صالح وقائد الحرس الجمهوري
Former Vice-President, now President Abd Rabbuh Mansur al-Hadi
عبد ربه منصور هادي نائب الرئيس السابق والرئيس الحالي
Defected General Ali Mohsen al-Ahmar Photo HH
اللواء المنشق علي محسن الأحمر Photo HH
Pro-Saleh demonstration in Sanaa, 7 October 2011 Photo HH
مظاهرات مؤيدة لصالح في صنعاء، 7 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2011 Photo HH
Yemeni youth carrying the flag of the former South Yemen state
شباب يمني يرفعون علم دولة اليمن الجنوبي السابقة

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Yemen / Past to Present / Yemen's Arab Spring / Outside pressure

Outside pressure

The governments of the US and Great Britain – which started to work closely with the Saleh regime in the war against al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula (AQAP) and other Salafist groups after 9-11 –, initially took a cautious stand. However, when it became clear that the protests were unremitting and starting to spread elsewhere, Washington and London gradually shifted their political allegiance. UN Special Adviser on Yemen, Jamal Benomar, and others supported mediation by the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) between Saleh, on the one hand, and the Joint Meeting Parties (JMP) and the al-Ahmar’s on the other. The mediation led to a transition agreement, arranging Saleh’s resignation, early presidential elections, and the reopening of negotiations with the opposition about reforms within the political system. In exchange, Saleh and about 500 high-ranking officials, mentioned by name (among whom persons now belonging to the opposition, such as general Ali Mohsen al-Ahmar) were to be granted immunity from prosecution. Saleh refused to sign the agreement on three occasions, mostly at the very last moment. His opponents were thus strengthened in their belief that the never to be underestimated tactician was simply seeking to buy time.

On 3 June 2011, with violent encounters increasing between troops loyal to Saleh, and defected army units and troops of the Hashid tribal federation, notably in the Hasaba district in central Sanaa, a powerful bomb exploded in the presidential mosque, next to the presidential palace, killing several high-ranking officials and severely wounding former President Saleh (he suffered shrapnel wounds, burns, and a damaged organ of balance). Saleh was flown to Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, for surgery. Then Vice-President (and former Major-General) Abd Rabbuh Mansur al-Hadi became Interim President for a period of 90 days. However, Saleh’s son Ahmed – the Commander of the elite Republican Guard – refused al-Hadi entry to the presidential palace, in order that Yemenis made no mistake about who really was in charge. Earlier cries of victory by the protesters after Saleh’s departure turned out to be premature.

The summer of 2011 was marked by continuous but isolated and relatively low-intensity fighting throughout the country – including between Saleh’s troops and those who had chosen the side of the opposition. Taizz was a hotspot, as were the tribal area of Arhab, north-east of Sanaa, and the province of Abyan, which were taken by Islamist militias. Everywhere food, water, and fuel became scarce except for in the far north. Popular demonstrations continued in he cities, while political factions negotiated Yemen’s future behind the scenes. The Saleh regime, however, stayed put, daily announcing Saleh’s return from Riyadh. The leaders of the popular revolt, calling themselves the Civic Coalition for the Revolutionary Youth (CCRY), distanced themselves from the JMP by demanding a much longer period of transition. They also called for those involved in former governments to be excluded from future positions. In addition they rejected the fact that Saleh and other officials had been offered immunity from prosecution (Human Rights Watch and others have pointed out that immunity from prosecution in the case of war crimes or crimes against humanity is a breach of international law).

The CCRY produced its own political reform program. The document (circa 1300 words) opens with the following statement: ‘This coalition aims at establishing a modern civil state that positively reacts with modernity on the basis of equal citizenship, human rights, social justice, political pluralism, freedom of expression and opinion and peaceful transition of power. (…) This coalition has a general objective of overthrowing the regime with all its corrupt components by means of peaceful civil efforts and building a modern democratic state.’ In short, the creed of the Arab Spring.

A wounded former President Saleh on Yemeni TV
A wounded former President Saleh on Yemeni TV
Commander of the Republican Guard and former President Saleh's eldest son Ahmed
Commander of the Republican Guard and former President Saleh’s eldest son Ahmed
Former Vice-President, now President Abd Rabbuh Mansur al-Hadi
Former Vice-President, now President Abd Rabbuh Mansur al-Hadi
Defected General Ali Mohsen al-Ahmar Photo HH
Defected General Ali Mohsen al-Ahmar Photo HH
Pro-Saleh demonstration in Sanaa, 7 October 2011 Photo HH
Pro-Saleh demonstration in Sanaa, 7 October 2011 Photo HH
Yemeni youth carrying the flag of the former South Yemen state
Yemeni youth carrying the flag of the former South Yemen state

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.