فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / الفقر

الفقر

(Photo by MOHAMMED HUWAIS / AFP)

وفق الأرقام الدولية، يعتبر اليمن أفقر دولة في الشرق الأوسط وواحد من أفقر الدول في آسيا. ربما من المفيد أن نقارن مقاييس اليمن بمقاييس أفريقيا. عام 2011، احتلت اليمن المرتبة 154 في مؤشر التنمية البشرية للأمم المتحدة من أصل 187 دولة، فوق السنغال ونيجيربا مباشرة وتحت بلدان مثل بابوا وغينيا الجديدة وتنزانيا. يبلغ متوسط الدخل السنوي 2,213 دولار مقارنة مع 5,269 في مصر (المرتبة 101) و 23,274 دولار في المملكة العربية السعودية (المرتبة 55). يعيش نصف السكان تقريباً (45%) على أقل من دولارين، و 17,5% على 1.25 دولار أو أقل يومياً.

الفروقات في اليمن كبيرة، حيث يشكل الـ 10% الأغنى 30% من الدخل القومي، بينما يشكل الـ 10% الدنيا 1,3% فقط. تشير الأرقام إلى أن سكان الريف هم الأفقر، ولكنها قد تكون مضللة أحياناً لأن سكان الريف مكتفون ذاتياً إلى حد كبير مع تراجع في الإنتاج المحلي. أما بالنسبة لفقراء المناطق الحضرية فالوضع أسوأ، حيث لا مفر لهم من الجوع. ويجوب المتسولون شوارع المدينة. وينتظر الجياع مخلفات الطعام خارج المطاعم التي على طرفي الطريق. بالكاد تحسن الوضع خلال العقدين الماضيين، يتم ترجيح أي تحسن وفق معدل النمو السكاني المرتفع.

مع ذلك، هناك العديد من السكان الأثرياء وطبقة متوسطة نامية. لا يتم تسجيل قسم كبير من أموال النفط وأرباح القات والتحويلات المالية للعمال المغتربين، غير أنها تغذي الاقتصاد غير الرسمي دون شك. ونتيجة لذلك، يهيمن الاقتصاد غير الرسمي على اليمن.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MOHAMMED HUWAIS / AFP ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Yemen / Society Media Culture / Society / Poverty

Poverty

(Photo by MOHAMMED HUWAIS / AFP)

According to international figures, Yemen is the poorest country in the Middle East and one of the poorest in Asia. It is perhaps more useful to compare Yemen’s standards of living with those of Africa. In 2011, Yemen ranked 154th on the UN’s Human Development Index of 187 nations, just above Senegal and Nigeria but below countries such as Papua New Guinea or Tanzania. Average annual income stands officially at USD 2,213, compared to Egypt USD 5,269 and Saudi Arabia USD 23,274. Almost half the population (45 percent) lives on less than 2 US dollars a day, and 17.5 percent on only USD 1.25 or less.

The disparities in Yemen are great, the top 10 percent making 30 percent of the national income, while the bottom 10 percent makes only 1.3 percent. The figures suggest that the rural population is poorest, but this might be misleading, as the rural population is largely self-sufficient, with home-grown produce to fall back on. The situation is worse for the urban poor, for whom there is no escape from hunger. Beggars roam the city streets. Hungry people wait for leftovers outside roadside restaurants. The situation has barely improved during the last two decades, any advance being outweighed by the high rate of population growth.

Nevertheless, there are many wealthy inhabitants and a growing middle class. A significant portion of the oil money, qat profits, and remittances from expatriate workers goes unrecorded but nonetheless fuels the informal economy. As a result, Yemen is dominated by its informal economy.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MOHAMMED HUWAIS / AFP ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!