فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / اليمن / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / المرأة

المرأة

يضع القانون اليمني المرأة على قدم المساواة مع الرجل، ولكن غالباً ما تعيق التقاليد تنفيذ القانون. فعلى سبيل المثال، تتمتع المرأة بحرية السفر وفقاً للقانون، ولكن غالباً ما يتم إرجاع النساء غير المتزوجات دون محرم في المطارات. وتحتاج المرأة المتزوجة إلى موافقة زوجها للسفر إلى الخارج. تبلغ أجور النساء 30% فقط من أجور الرجال. وفي استطلاع عام 2003، خلصت الأمم المتحدة إلى أن 50% من النساء المتزوجات يتعرضن للعنف الذكري. وفي استطلاع عام 2003، أفادت منظمة الصحة العالمية بأن 38,2% من النساء بين سن 15 و 49 عانين شكلاً من أشكال الختان. وعلى لائحة الأمم المتحدة 2011 للمساواة بين الجنسين، تحتل اليمن المرتبة 146.

يقال بأن النساء يبشرن بأمل كبير لليمن. فغالباً ما تنجز الفتيات بشكل أفضل في المدرسة، كون الحياة المهنية هي أفضل وسيلة لتحقيق الاستقلال. للفتيات متسع من الوقت للدراسة، حيث لا يفترض بهن قضاء الوقت خارج المنزل. يتم تنفيذ أغلب الأعمال المكتبية من قبل النساء، مع أن غالباً ما يكون رؤسائهن من الرجال. وبشكل عام، المرأة غير مقبولة في المناصب الإدارية والسياسية. أشار استطلاع للرأي أوائل عام 2008 أن 53% من الذين أجري عليهم البحث – ثلاثة أرباعهم من الذكور الشباب – عارضوا انتخاب أنثى لمنصب المحافظ في صنعاء.

عام 2006، جعل المؤتمر الشعبي العام الحاكم أحد أهدافه دمج عدد أكبر من النساء في الاقتصاد، واضعاً هدف 15% من المناصب الحكومية. غير أنه لم يتم وضع موعد نهائي لتنفيذ هذا الهدف. وتشكل النساء 22% من القوة العاملة. وتكون هذه النسبة 38% في الاقتصاد غير الرسمي، في حين أن نصيب الإناث من القطاع العام الرسمي هو 9% فقط. عام 2010، حدد تقرير التنمية البشرية الخسائر الاقتصادية الناجمة عن عدم المساواة بأكثر من 80%، مقارنة مع هولندا  17%  والصين 45% وقطر 67% والعراق 75%.

Gender and education in Yemen society
الجنس والتعليم في المجتمع اليمني
Life expectancy and economic outlook Yemen
متوسط العمر المتوقع والتوقعات الاقتصادية

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Yemen / Society Media Culture / Society / Women

Women

Yemeni law places women on an equal footing with men, but the execution of the law is often impeded by tradition. For instance, according to the law, women enjoy freedom of travel, but unmarried women who are not accompanied by a male relative are often turned back at airports. A married woman requires her husband’s consent to travel abroad. Women’s wages are only 30 percent of men’s. In a 2003 survey the UN concluded that 50 percent of all married women were subject to male violence. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), in 2003 an estimated 38.2 percent of women between 15 and 49 years of age suffered a form of genital mutilation. On the 2011 UN Gender Inequality Index, Yemen ranked an extremely low 146th.

That said, women hold much promise for Yemen. Girls often perform better at school, as a professional career is the best way to achieve independence. Girls have ample time to study, as they are not supposed to spend time outside the home. Most office work is performed by females, although their superiors are usually men. Women are generally not accepted in managerial and political positions. An opinion poll in early 2008 indicated that 53 percent of the respondents – of whom three-quarters were educated young males – opposed the election of a female mayor in Sanaa.

In 2006, the ruling General People’s Congress (GPC) made it one of its goals to integrate more women into the economy, setting a target of 15 percent of all government positions. A deadline for meeting this target has not, however, been established. Women constitute 22 percent of the total labour force. For the informal economy the figure is 38 percent, while the female segment of the formal public sector is only 9 percent. In 2010 the Human Development Report put the economic loss due to gender inequality at over 80 percent, compared with the Netherlands (17 percent), China (45 percent), Qatar (67 percent), and Iraq (75 percent).

Gender and education in Yemen society
Gender and education in Yemen society
Life expectancy and economic outlook Yemen
Life expectancy and economic outlook Yemen

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.