فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / النساء اليمنيات في صراعٍ مرير لإنهاء الحرب والتمتع بدور فعّال في اليمن

النساء اليمنيات في صراعٍ مرير لإنهاء الحرب والتمتع بدور فعّال في اليمن

Translation- Yemeni women
نساء وطالبات يمنيات يحملن الشعارات والعلم الوطني في مظاهرة أمام مكتب الأمم المتحدة في العاصمة اليمنية صنعاء للمطالبة بإنهاء الحرب التي شرّدت الملايين وقادت إلى خطر المجاعة. المصدر: AFP. ©AFP ⁃ Mohammed HUWAIS

نشر موقع “The Conversation” مقالة استعرضت دور المرأة اليمنية في معادلة السلام والحرب في اليمن. وقامت كوني كريستيانسين، الأستاذ المساعدة الزائرة في الجامعة اللبنانية الأمريكية، بتسليط الضوء في مقالتها على تطلعات النساء في المحاصصة السياسية اليمنية وما واجهها من إحباطات مع سيطرة الحوثيين على العاصمة اليمنية صنعاء.

ويشن التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية حرباً شعواء منذ عام 2015 ضد قوات الحوثي الشيعية في اليمن. وأسفرت هذه الحملة عن مقتل ما يزيد عن 8 آلاف شخص وإصابة أكثر من 49 ألف آخرين. وبحسب التقارير، فإن ما لا يقل عن 69% من السكان بحاجة للمساعدات الإنسانية، بالتزامن مع مواجهة مليون يمني للمجاعة. وفي الوقت نفسه، فقد انتشر السلاح على نطاقٍ واسع وبات خارج نطاق السيطرة. ويشير أحد التقارير الصادرة عن الأمم المتحدة في 2016 إلى تداول ما يتراوح بين 40 و60 مليون سلاح ناري بحريّة في هذا البلد المدمّر.

وترى كريستيانسين أن النزاع كان له أثرٌ مدمّر على النساء في اليمن. وعادةً ما تناط بالرجال مسؤولية إعالة العائلات في اليمن؛ إلا أن الكثير منهم بات في ساحة القتال أو تمت إصابته أو حتى لقي مصرعه خلال النزاع الدائر في اليمن. ويواجه القطاع الخاص أزمة اقتصادية، في الوقت الذي لم تعد فيه العديد من وظائف القطاع العام تعود برواتب مجزية. وعلى هذا النحو، فقد تعرضت صحة وأمن النساء لخطر الإصابة بمرض الكوليرا وغيره من الأمراض. وتبرز بعد ذلك قضية زواج القاصرات، إذ قادت أزمة الفقر المدقع التي يعيشها اليمن إلى زواج الفتيات قبل وصولهن إلى سن الرشد بهدف دفع القروض أو جمع الأموال المطلوبة لسد رمق بقية أفراد الأسرة.

وفي معرض شرحها للوضع الصعب الذي يعيشه في اليمن الحالي أمام أحد الفرق البحثية، قالت إحدى السيدات المقيمات في محافظة إب الشمالية، والتي يحتلها جيش الحوثي المتمرد: “نعيش في دولةٍ لا قانون فيها، إذ لم تعد هناك سلطات لفرض الأمن وحماية الناس وإنفاذ القانون. وقد يؤدي سببٌ تافه إلى مصرع شخصٍ ما بالرصاص. ولم يعد الوضع الأمني كما كان عليه الحال في الماضي. والآن، باتت هناك مجموعات غير رسمية تتصرف وكأنها السلطات المعنية بإنفاذ القانون. وتحظى هذه المجموعات بالسلطة، والقانون أصبح قوتها. كما تقوم هذه المجموعات باستخدام القوّة ضد من يخالفها الرأي أو ينتقد سلوكياتها”.

وبحسب سينثيا إنلو، الباحثة المتخصصة في الدفاع عن حقوق النساء، فقد باتت النساء تشكّل عاملاً حاسماً في الحرب كما أنهن يلعبن أدواراً داعمة للجيش. وبالفعل، لم يعد العديد من النساء اليمنيات من ضحايا الحرب، كما أنهن لم يعدن يهربن أو يختبئن من هذه الحرب. ففي العديد من الطرق المتناقضة، تقوم النساء بدعم الحرب بشكلٍ فعال، علماً بأن هذا الأمر لا يعود لأسبابٍ إنسانية محضة.

تورّط النساء في الحرب

Translation- Houthis
نساء يمنيات مناصرات لحركة الحوثي والرشاشات بأيديهن أثناء حضور اجتماع لدعم الحركة في العاصمة اليمنية صنعاء. المصدر: AFP. ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED HUWAIS

على الرغم من ثني العديد من النساء اليمنيات لأفراد عائلاتهن عن المشاركة في النزاع وحمل القليل منهن للسلاح بأنفسهن، إلا أنهن يساعدن، بحسب ما تقوله كريستيانسين، في تجنيد الرجال في الجيش. كما أنهن يساعدن المسلحين عبر طهي الطعام لهم ومساعدتهم في توزيعه.

وكانت إحدى النساء اللواتي بقين بعد هرب أهلها إلى منطقة إب في منطقة تعز التي تحتلها ميليشيات الحوثي، واسمها نسيم العديني، قد قامت بتأسيس منظمة لمساعدة المسلحين الداعمين للحكومة السابقة. وتقول العديني لموقع “ميدل إيست آي”: “نرغب بتشجيع القوات الموالية للحكومة بالتقدّم نحو المحافظة من خلال رفع معنويات المقاتلين”.

وتحاول نساءٌ يمنيات أخريات التخفيف من آثار النزاع بأفضل طريقة ممكنة. فعلى سبيل المثال، تشارك النساء في الإغاثة الإنسانية وفي توفير الدعم الاجتماعي والنفسي للناس الذين تعرضوا لصدماتٍ نفسية بسبب الحرب. كما أنّهن يشاركن في عمليات إحلال السلام عبر إطلاقهن للنقاشات الدائرة حول النزاع في مجتمعاتهن.

وبما أن رحى الحرب لا تدور بنفس القوة في كل بقعةٍ من بقاع اليمن، فقد كانت فرص مشاركة النساء في عملية إحلال السلام حول مدينة عدن الساحلية وفي الجنوب أفضل مما عليه الحال في الشمال. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن جيش الحوثي يسيطر على تلك المنطقة كما تشكل الضربات الجوية التي يقوم بها التحالف السعودي جزءاً من الحياة اليومية. وتبعاً لهذا الأمر، فإن ظروف النساء ونشاطاتهن تختلف من منطقةٍ إلى أخرى.

زخم محظور

Translation- Sanaa
نساء يمنيات مع أطفالهن أثناء تظاهرة أمام مكتب الأمم المتحدة للمطالبة بإيقاف استهداف المؤسسات التعليمية بالضربات الجوية والمدفعية في العاصمة صنعاء. المصدر: AFP. ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED HUWAIS

تعاني المجتمعات المحلية في الشمال من انقسامٍ أكبر مما عليه الحال في الجنوب (بين مؤيدي وخصوم حكومة الحوثي). وبحسب صاحبة المقال، فإن دخول النساء في المجال العام ومشاركتهن في العمل الخيري قد تؤدي إلى استجوابهن على يد “سلطات الأمر الواقع”. وتحاول هذه السلطات، بحسب إحدى السيدات، منع النساء من القيام بعملهن. كما من الممكن إخبار النساء بأنه لا يجوز لهنّ الظهور في العلن أمام الرجال. وتقول إحدى السيدات: “إنهم (الحوثيون) يعارضون دور المرأة في الحياة العامة. ووفقاً لهم، فإن دور المرأة ينحصر بالطبخ والأعمال المنزلية. إنهم يقومون بتهميش النساء وينكرون دورهن في المجتمع”.

ولا تحظى النساء في المناطق الشمالية والجنوبية من اليمن بمواطنةٍ كاملة. وبحسب منظمة العفو الدولية، فإنهن “يواجهن تمييزاً في الجوانب المتعلقة بالزواج والطلاق والإرث وحضانة الأطفال، كما أن الدولة لا تتخذ الإجراءات المناسبة لمنع العنف المنزلي أو للتحقيق في ملابساته أو المعاقبة عليه”. ويعود التمييز ضد النساء بجذوره إلى ما قبل الحرب، حيث يرتبط هذا التمييز بالعادات المحلية بحسب العديد من الدراسات. ومع ذلك، تحافظ المرأة اليمنية على مشاركتها في تطوير بلدها.

مشاركة قديمة

نزلت النساء اليمنيات إلى الشوارع إلى حدّ لم يكن متوقعاً وبطريقةٍ غير مسبوقة أثناء الانتفاضة الشعبية التي شهدتها البلاد في عام 2011. وشهدت هذه الانتفاضة انضمام مئات الآلاف من اليمنين إلى “حركة الشباب” للاحتجاج على الحكم الفاسد للرئيس السابق علي عبد الله صالح.

وتمتعت العديد من النساء المشاركات باستقلالية عن المجموعات السياسية. وشهدت المراحل اللاحقة من الاحتجاجات هيمنة حزب الإصلاح الإسلامي – الذي يسعى لمحاكاة جماعة الأخوان المسلمين – على الحركة الاحتجاجية، ما أثار قلق النساء المستقلات من إمكانية تجاهل حقوقهن.

ومع ذلك، فقد شكلت النساء المستقلات والمشاركات في الأحزاب السياسية، بما في ذلك حزب الإصلاح الإسلامي والجناح السياسي للحوثي “أنصار الله”، ثلث المشاركين في مؤتمر الحوار الوطني الذي ترعاه الأمم المتحدة وأدى إلى فرض الاستقالة على الرئيس علي عبد الله صالح في نوفمبر 2011. وكان الهدف الكامن وراء المؤتمر الذي استمر لعشرة أشهر صياغة دستور جديد وأكثر ديمقراطية لليمن الموحّد. إلا أن مشروع الدستور الذي منح النساء 30% من المحاصصة السياسية قابله رفض حركة الحوثي في سبتمبر 2014، قبل أن يدلي السكان بأصواتهم في الاستفتاء.

وفي تلك المرحلة، أسفر الإحباط الناجم عن الفشل في تكوين يمنٍ جديد عن حصول الحوثيين على دعم شعبي واسع النطاق. وقام هؤلاء باحتلال المؤسسات الحكومية الأساسية في العاصمة صنعاء وحل الحكومة الانتقالية المتعرف بها دولياً. وبصورةٍ مثيرة للاهتمام، لم يكن نظام المحاصصة بين الرجال والنساء السبب الكامن وراء رفض الحوثيين لمشروع الدستور، بل نظرتهم إلى نموذج تقاسم السلطة الذي لم يمنحهم ما كانوا يتوقعون الحصول عليه.

وتختم كريستيانسين مقالتها بالتأكيد على أن  احتلال حركة الحوثي للعاصمة واستيلائها على الحكومة كان بمثابة بداية للحرب ونهاية للزخم المرتبط بحقوق المرأة في اليمن، علماً بأن هذا البلد يأتي بصفةٍ عامة في المراكز الدنيا عربياً في مؤشرات المساواة بين الجنسين. وفي عام 2014، قامت مجموعةٌ من النساء المنتميات إلى خلفيات سياسية متنوعة بالضغط للتوصل إلى حلول سياسية بدل الدخول في حرب لا تغني ولا تسمن من جوع. ومنذ ذلك الحين، فقد تم تهميش النساء من مفاوضات السلام – لكن ذلك لا يعني فقدان المرأة اليمنية لكل آمالها.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mohammed HUWAIS | ©AFP ⁃ Mohammed HUWAIS | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED HUWAIS | ©AFP ⁃ MOHAMMED HUWAIS

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

  • الملصقات المشوهة وروح الاختلاف الصامتة في مصر

    لا تعدو الملصقات عن كونها أحد الأمثلة على العديد من الآثار التي جعلت المساحات الحضرية أشبه بالمتاحف. إن هذه الملصقات الممزقة تظهر ذاكرتي الفوضوية في مخيلتي وربما في مخيلات آخرين، ويخيّل لي كما لو كنت أبحث في مرآةٍ مقلوبة أرى فيها الماضي ينهار في الوقت الحاضر. إنها تذكرني برغبتي في تمزيق الماضي ووضع ملصق آخر فوقه.
  • اضمحلال استبدادية أردوغان: فرصة جديدة للديمقراطية في تركيا؟

    ومن المفارقات أن صناعة استبداد إردوغان خلقت فرصة كبيرة لتحرّرٍ جذري في النظام السياسي التركي. فالتخلي عن الانضباط المؤسسي، وزعزعة أركان البيروقراطية، والتخلص من الهيكل “التقليدي” للكادر الحكومي، وإرباك البوصلة الأيديولوجية التي كانت تحدّد طبيعة أجهزة الدولة المستبدة “القديمة” دون استبدالها بأجهزة “جديدة” يمثل لحظة تاريخية لحدوث تحول شامل في تركيا.
  • أوروبا وخيارات التعامل مع أزمة معتقلي تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" المقيمين في المخيّمات السورية

    يبقى خيار إعادة الأجانب إلى بلادهم هو الأفضل لأنه يعني إغلاق هذا الملف سريعاً. ومع ذلك، ستبقى الأسئلة عما يجب القيام به مع المواطنين العراقيين والسوريين، ناهيك عن الدور الذي ينبغي على الغرب القيام به لحل أوضاعهم. وهنا لا بد من الإشارة إلى وجوب تجنّب القوى الأوروبية للخيار الثالث الذي اتبعته حتى اللحظة ألا وهو السكوت والانتظار إلى حين تغيّر الظروف.

Fanack Home / How Yemeni Women are fighting the War

How Yemeni Women are fighting the War

Translation- Yemeni women
Yemeni women shout slogans and wave their national flag during a sit-in on March 14, 2017 outside the United Nations (UN) offices in the capital, Sanaa, demanding an end to a war that has left millions displaced and at risk of famine. Photo AFP

By: Connie Christiansen

Since 2015, a Saudi-led coalition has waged war against Shia Houthi forces in Yemen. More than 8,000 people have been killed, and more than 49,000 injured; at least 69% of the population is reportedly in need of humanitarian assistance. Million of Yemenis are facing starvation. Weapons circulation is widespread and uncontrolled: in 2016, a UN report estimated that between 40m to 60m firearms were circulating freely in the country.

The conflict has had a devastating impact on the women of the country. Household breadwinners are usually men; many are fighting, injured or killed. There is an economic crisis in the private sector, and many public sector jobs are no longer paying salaries. The health and security of the female population is endangered by exposure to cholera and other diseases. And then there’s the issue of child marriages: the severe poverty crisis means that prepubescent girls are married off to repay debts, or to raise funds to feed the rest of the family.

A woman from the Northern Ibb region, which is occupied by the rebel Houthi army, explained the situation to a research team:

We live in a state of lawlessness: no security, no protection and no functional law enforcement authorities. A person may be shot dead for a trivial thing. The security situation doesn’t look like it did in the past. Now, there are informal groups behaving as if they were law enforcement authorities. These groups have power, and their power is the law. They use force against whoever disagrees with them or criticises their behaviour.

As the feminist scholar Cynthia Enloe has pointed out, women are crucial for war and play supportive roles for the military. Indeed, many Yemeni women are not victims of war or just escaping or hiding from this war. In many contrasting ways, they are actively supporting it, and not only on humanitarian grounds.

Women engaging in War

Translation- Houthis
Yemeni women loyal to the Huthi movement hold up rifles as they attend a gathering to show support to the movement in Sanaa. Photo AFP

Although many Yemeni women discourage their family members from taking part in the conflict and very few take up arms themselves, they also help recruit men to the army. They also support combatants by cooking food for them and helping to distribute it.

A young woman, Nasseem Al-Odaini, whose family has fled to the neighbouring Ibb region, stayed behind in Houthi-occupied Taiz and initiated an organisation that assist the combatants that support the former government. As she told Middle East Eye: “We want to encourage the pro-government forces to advance in the province, by raising the spirits of the fighters”.

Other Yemeni women try to mitigate the impact of the conflict the best way possible. For example, women engage in humanitarian relief and in providing social and psychological support for people who have been traumatised by the war. They also engage in peace processes when they initiate discussions of the conflict in their communities.

Since the war is not equally intense in every part of the country, there are better possibilities for women to participate in peace processes around the port city of Aden, in the south, than it is in the north, where the Houthi army has taken control and Saudi coalition airstrikes are part of everyday life. Accordingly, women’s conditions and activities differ from one region to another.

A Blocked Momentum

Translation- Sanaa
Yemeni women and children demonstrate outside of the UN office demanding the end of targeting educational institutions by airstrikes and shelling, in the capital Sanaa, on September 17, 2017. Photo AFP

In the north, local communities are more divided (between supporters and adversaries of the Houthi government) than in the south. When women enter the public and participate in charity work, they may be questioned by “de facto authorities” (read: the Houthi army) who, according to one woman, would try to prevent them from doing their work. They would also tell women that they are not allowed to appear in public before men:

They [the Houthis] are opposed to women playing a role in public life. According to them, the woman’s role is restricted to cooking and housework. They marginalise women; they deny their role in the community.

Women in Northern and Southern parts of Yemen are not full citizens. According to Amnesty International, they “face discrimination in matters of marriage, divorce, inheritance, and child custody, and the state fails to take adequate measures to prevent, investigate, and punish domestic violence”. Discrimination against women in Yemen go back far beyond the war and are associated with local customs according to several studies. And yet, Yemeni women maintain their engagement in the development of their country.

An Old Engagement

During the popular uprising in the country in 2011 where hundreds of thousands of Yemenis followed the “youth movement” and protested against the corrupt reign of the then-president, Ali Abdullah Saleh, Yemeni women took to the streets to an extent that was unforeseen and unprecedented.

Many women participants were independent of political groups, but in the later stages of the protests the Islamic Reform party – inspired by the Muslim Brotherhood – managed to take charge of the protest movement, raising independent women’s concern that their rights would be disregarded.

However, independent women and women belonging to the political parties, including the Islamic Reform party and the Houthi political wing, Ansar Allah, constituted almost one third of participantsin the UN-guided National Dialogue Conference which followed the forced resignation of the President in November 2011. The aim of the 10 months long conference was to formulate a new and more democratic constitution for a united Yemen. However, the draft constitution which included a general 30% gender quota was rejected by the Houthi movement in September 2014, before the population had given their voice in a referendum.

By then disappointment with the process towards a new Yemen had given the Houthis wide popular support. They occupied major government institutions in the capital, Sana’a and removed the transition government recognised internationally. Interestingly, it was not the gender quota which made the Houthis reject the draft constitution, but the view to a power-sharing model which did not give them what they expected.

The Houthi movement’s occupation of the capital and seizure of government seemed to mark both the beginning of a war, and the end of momentum for women’s rights in Yemen – a country which generally figures in the lowest ranks of Arab gender equality indexes. In 2014, a group of women from diverse political backgrounds pushed for political solutions instead of war. Since then they have been sidelined from peace negotiations – but that doesn’t mean that Yemeni women have lost all hope.

Remark: This article was originally published by www.theconversation.com in February 2, 2018.

The Conversation

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.

  • Heritage as Resistance: Young People in Occupied Palestinian Territory are using their Past to protect their Future

    Cultural heritage can strengthen communities and their ties to the land they live on. The researchers repeatedly talked about putting their villages on the map, and making them part of a wider Bedouin community which extends through both time (to previous and future generations) and space. They have become visible to local, national and international audiences. Cultural heritage, and the actions taken to protect it, become a resource both to encourage equality and to share a different vision of what life could be in these embattled communities.
  • Israel-Gaza Brinkmanship Slips over the Brink

    For the time being, Israel and Gaza have resumed their shaky ceasefire. But absent some miracle, the violent instability seems likely to continue, leaving the two sides only one incident away from war.
  • Iran: How US Sanctions are strengthening China’s Global Power

    As a result of these developments, China has become one of the wild cards of the Middle East, challenging and changing the established system there. While the sanctions were seen as an attempt to preserve American dominance in the region, they will have consequences that will indirectly challenge this. This is one US play that could badly misfire.