فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / تركيا / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع تركيا

المجتمع تركيا

المحتويات

المقدمة

مؤشر التنمية البشرية

العشائر والمجتمعات

بنية الأسرة

المرأة

الشباب

الشباب

التعليم

الصحة

الضمان الاجتماعي

 

المقدمة

في سياق القرن العشرين، شهدت تركيا تغييرات كبيرة على الصعيد الاجتماعي والاقتصادي. وانتقلت من المجتمع الريفي المتخلف إلى التحضر، لتصبح من الدول ذات النمو الاقتصادي السريع. وبالتالي لم تواكب التغيرات الاجتماعية التغيرات الاقتصادية. وفي نواح كثيرة، لا تزال تركيا دولة محافظة اجتماعياً.

على المستوى السياسي، ينعكس ذلك من خلال وصول حزب العدالة والتنمية الإسلامي إلى السلطة عام 2002، والذي يعمل على “إعادة أسلمة” المجتمع والدولة إلى جانب الإصلاح. وهذا ما يثير توترات اجتماعية مع القسم العلماني من سكان المدن الكبرى والمدعومين من قبل الإيديولوجية الرسمية للدولة التي كانت مهيمنة في المجتمع التركي على مدى عقود.

مؤشر التنمية البشرية

سجّل مؤشر التنمية البشرية لتركيا تقدماً بحوالي 50%: من 0,5 عام 1980 إلى 0,7 عام 2012. لكن مع هذا التقدم المدهش، تحتل تركيا، التي تنتمي إلى مجموعة العشرين، المرتبة 90 على مؤشر التنمية البشرية. متوسط العمر المتوقع 74,2 عاماً. ويحصل البالغون على معدل 6,5 سنة من التعليم. والدخل القومي الإجمالي للفرد الواحد هو 13,710 دولار.

العشائر والمجتمعات

ليس في تركيا سلالات أو عشائر كثيرة، ولكن هناك عدد كبير من القبائل التركية والكردية والعربية. ساهمت الحرب في كردستان – التي غذّتها السلطة المركزية من خلال تشكيل ميليشيات ريفية (حراس القرى)، والتي ازداد عدد أفرادها إلى 100.000 في نهاية العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين – في تقوية القبائل. هؤلاء “الحراس”، الذين معظمهم من أصل قبلي، يتقاضون أجوراً تساوي ثلاثة أضعاف ما يتقاضاه رجال الميليشيات من حد أدنى للأجور. وتم تسليحهم من قبل الدولة، الأمر الذي يضطرهم أحياناً إلى تشكيل قوات مساعدة. وقد تورطوا في انتهاك حقوق الإنسان والمتاجرة بالمخدرات والسطو المسلح. وقد ساهموا أيضاً، بطريقة غير مباشرة، في تسليح قبائل أخرى، بعضها تحالف مع حزب العمال الكردستاني. ويظهر المثالان التاليان المكانة المحورية التي يمكن أن تحتلها القبيلة في الإطار المحلي: تتحكم قبيلة البوجاق بزعامة سادات بوجاق (من مواليد 1960) باقتصاد منطقة “شيفرك” (Siverek) إلى حد كبير، بما في ذلك توزيع البترول. ونظراً إلى علاقته الوطيدة بسليمان ديميريل، رئيس الجمهورية التركية في التسعينيات، قاد بوجاق جيشاً من 10,000 رجل من أفراد مجموعات المحسوبية. وكان الناجي الوحيد من حادث سير عام 1966 قرب مدينة سوسورلوك أودى بحياة عبد الله جاتلي (1956-1996)، ضابط يميني متطرف مطلوب لعدد من الجرائم، وحسين كوجاداغ (1944-1996)، ضابط كبير في الشرطة. وعلى العكس، تنشط غالبية قبائل منطقة حكّاري في دعم حزب السلام والديمقراطية الكردي.

لكن يتعين إعطاء فكرة عن تأثير القبلية: نشوء مدن كردية كبيرة تقطنها أجيال حضرية جديدة تم حشدها وتسييسها إلى أقصى حد وابتعدت كلّ البعد عن السياق الريفي، أضعف البنى القبلية بشكل كبير. فدفع القتال من أجل “القضية الكردية”، الشرط الأول لخوض غمار السياسة، بالعديد من الشباب والنساء إلى الجبهة الكردية، مما جعل التحالفات القبلية غير فعالة في إطارها الحضري

بنية الأسرة

تقليدياً، كانت الأسر التركية تفضل العائلات الممتدة والأسرة النووية لتعزيز النظام الاجتماعي الأبوي الذي تشكل فيه الذكورة والعمر المصدر الأساسي للسلطة. وتميزت الأجواء المحلية بالتمييز بين الجنسين، وأصبحت تركيا المكان الأمثل لتقييد الإناث. تلت تهيئة الأولاد لسن المراهقة والبلوغ تقسيمَ الأدوار بحسب الجنس، وكانت تنسجم مع الطقوس الانتقالية المرعية في معظم المجتمعات الإسلامية (تعليم القرآن للذكور الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 و 6 أعوام، وفصل الجنسين ابتداءً من 7-8 أعوام، وفرض واجب الصوم في رمضان قبل بلوغ 12 عاماً، و “التفاوض” بأمر الزواج الذي يقرره الأهل عندما يصبح عمر الولد 15-18 عاماً).

وفق تقرير صادر عن منظمة البحوث الاستراتيجية الدولية USAK عام 2012، تزوج 31,7% من النساء و 6,9% من الرجال قبل بلوغهم الثامنة عشرة، و 58,7% من النساء و 58,2% من الرجال بين 18-24 عاماً. تزوج 31,9% من النساء و 28,0% من الرجال زيجات مدبرة، في حين تزوج 36,2% من النساء و 24,8% من الرجال بقرار من الوالدين فقط. تم عقد حوالي 85,9% من الزيجات مدنياً أو دينياً، مع أن الأخير فقد قيمته القانونية منذ عام 1925. لكن غالباً ما يكون لحفلات الزفاف الدينية أهمية أكبر في المجتمع. في 16,8% من الحالات (و 23,5% من الحالات في المناطق الريفية)، دفع أهل العريس مهراً لأهل العروس. يشكل زواج الأقارب 20,9% من مجموع الزيجات (4,8% في غرب مرمرة، و 15,3% في إسطنبول و 40,4% في جنوب شرق الأناضول). رغم عدم توفر الإحصائيات الموثوقة، إلا أن تعدد الزوجات، المحظور منذ عام 1925، منخفض بشكل عام، مع أنه قد يطال حوالي 5% من النساء في مدن مثل ديار بكر أو أورفة. من الأشخاص الذين شملهم الاستبيان في المسح المذكور أعلاه، 82% لا يتناولون الكحول، و 44% لا يطالعون الكتب و 77% لا يرتادون دور السينما أو المسارح؛ ويعتبرون العائلة المثالية هي التي تتألف من 3 أولاد. الأسر النووية منتشرة (80,7%، يضاف إليها 6% من الأزواج الذين يعيشون بمفردهم)، والأزواج ثابتون: 4% فقط تزوجوا مرة ثانية، و 0,3% مرة ثالثة. وفق وزيرة الأسرة والسياسة الاجتماعية فاطمة شاهين، فإنّ معدلات الطلاق في ارتفاع، ولكنها توقّفت عند 1,4% عام 2010.

تراجع معدل الولادات المرتفع تاريخياً من 6,8% عام 1976 إلى 2,37% عام 2001 و 2,3 عام 2008، وذلك إلى بداية حرجة تتهدد الحفاظ على السكان. يُرجّح أن يتأثر هذا الميل بحملات التشجيع على الإنجاب المدعومة من رئيس الوزراء رجب طيب أردوغان مباشرة الذي يرغب في تجريم الإجهاض – إلا في الحالات الصحية الخاصة – كطريقة للتعامل مع “حرب الإجهاض” التي كانت على وشك أن تعلن في تركيا.

المرأة

وفق تقديرات أخيرة، تبلغ نسبة النساء العاملات اللواتي يتقاضين أجراً 30% من إجمالي اليد العاملة، وتُضاف إليهن اللواتي يعملن في القطاع غير الرسمي ولا يتقاضين أجراً، في شركات عائلية أو الإنتاج الزراعي. وضع النساء في تركيا متناقض ولا يمكن تفسيره فقط بـ “النظام الأبوي” أو “وضع المرأة في الإسلام” أو حتى “تحرير المرأة في عهد النظام الكمالي”؛ فالمرأة حاضرة في المهن التي تتطلب كفاءات عالية بنسبة 30-40% (طبيبات وعاملات في حقل العلوم)، غير أنها تكاد تكون غائبة في القوى العاملة للطبقة الوسطى الدنيا. يُفسر التمثيل الفائض للنساء في الوظائف التي تتطلب مؤهلات عالية إما بالفروقات الطبقية – حيث ترسل الأسر الميسورة بناتها إلى مؤسسات تعليمية ذات اعتبار – أو بـ “رأس المال الثقافي” المكتسب بمجهود شخصي، مما يتيح لبعض النساء إمكانية مواصلة تحصيلهنّ العلمي؛ وبالتالي رفض الزواج المبكر الذي يفرضه الأهل واكتساب الموارد المهنية التي تتيح لهن التمتع باستقلاليتهنّ. أما الزواج المدبر فيُفرض عادة على النساء اللواتي لم يرثن رأس المال الثقافي هذا أو لم يتمكنّ من الحصول عليه.

لا يستهدف العنف المنزلي النساء حصراً. إذ تظهر الدراسة أنّ استخدام العنف ضد المرأة مقبولاً في المجتمع، وحتّى بين النساء أنفسهن. والأرقام مثيرة للقلق: وفق جمعية حقوق الإنسان في إسطنبول، تعرضت 4,190 امرأة للقتل في الفترة الممتدة بين العامين 2005 و 2009، بعضهنّ ضحايا “جرائم الشرف”. ولا يتم الإعلان رسمياً سوى عن 500-600 حالة اغتصاب في السنة؛ غير أنّ هذا الرقم – وحتى من دون التطرق إلى حالات سفاح القربى – لا يعكس الواقع في هذه المسألة الحساسة.

ينتج عن هذه المعلومات الهامة، التي غالباً ما يتم حذفها من التحليلات التي تتناول قضية المرأة في تركيا (وفي العديد من المجتمعات الإسلامية الأخرى)، نتائج مختلفة. فعلى سبيل المثال، قادت البلاد رئيسة وزراء في الفترة الممتدة بين العامين 1993 و 1995، وهي تانسو تشيلر (مواليد 1946)، التي دعمت موقف الدولة تجاه القضية الكردية، وقد حظيت باحترام وتأييد مجموعة من جنرالات الجيش. كما ترأست السيدة أوميت بوينر (مواليد 1963) جمعية الصناعيين ورجال الأعمال التركية التي تمثل الطبقة البورجوازية في إسطنبول. لكن بعيداً عن هذه الحالات النادرة، هناك حضور قليل للمرأة في الحياة السياسية، حتى ولو كان عددهن في ازدياد (13 عام 1995، و 23 عام 1999 و 24 عام 2002). عام 2007، بلغ عدد النساء في البرلمان 50 (9% من العدد الإجمالي)، وارتفع ليبلغ 75 عام 2011 (14%)، ومن بينهن 11 ينتمين إلى اللائحة الكردية الممثلة بـ 35 نائب فقط (بين رجال ونساء)، 6 منهم في السجن.

يفترض الوضع الراهن إعادة النظر في مسألة المرأة في تركيا. وفق الشاعر القومي محمد أمين يورداكول (1869-1944)، مالت القومية في العقد الأول من القرن العشرين إلى “وضع المرأة في قلب الدولة”. ووفق الباحثة الاجتماعية التركية نازان أكسوي، كانت الصلاحيات السياسية الممنوحة للمرأة في عهد الكماليين محدودة: “على الرغم من أن حركة التحديث في تركيا تقوم على الفرد، إلا أن ما يُطلب من المرأة بعيد كل البعد عن أن تصبح فردأ مستقلاً… والعامل الأساسي الذي يهدد استقلالية المرأة هو أن الخطاب الوطني المطلوب لبناء دولة جديدة كان ذكورياً”. وتشاطر الباحثة الاجتماعية شيرين تيكيلي زميلتها أكسوي الرأي، وتقول في هذا الصدد: “في خطابه الموجّه إلى المرأة، شدد ]أتاتورك[ على أنّ واجب المرأة الأسمى هو الأمومة”. لا يمكن لقرويات الأناضول، اللواتي يُعتبرن مثالاً لـ “الإيثار”، ولا للعاملات النخبة تجنب أن يصبحن أمهات. وبالتالي، أصبحت رسالة الكماليين مبهمة أو حتى متعارضة: فمن أجل تعظيم دور الأمومة، لم تطالب ببساطة بالتقاليد القديمة فحسب، وإنما أيضاً دعت إلى تعزيزها بواسطة خطابات وممارسات إيديولوجية. فالمرأة التي حظيت بالتشجيع على التحرر من دورها المعتاد، طولبت بالتنازل عن طموحاتها في العمل كي لا تتفوّق على الرجل”.

مع أن الأنوثة في تركيا مسيسة وتستقطب العديد من الحركات، من الإسلامية إلى الاجتماعية ومن الأتاتوركية إلى الكردية، إلا أنها تبقى موضع نزاع، وبخاصة محاربة العنف ضد المرأة. تعمل منظمات عديدة، مثل Mor Çatı (السقف البنفسجي، وهي مؤسسة تعنى بالمسائل المرتبطة بحقوق المرأة) كقنوات تعبر النساء من خلالها عن مطالباتهنّ وكملاجئ لحماية النساء ضحايا العنف المنزلي أو الزوجي.

الشباب

يشير الانخفاض السريع في معدل الولادات (حتى 2,3 في 2010) إلى احتمال زيادة عدد السكان المسنين بحلول عام 2040. لكن في نهاية العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين، كانت تركيا من أكثر دول أوراسيا شباباً، مما يفسر حيويتها الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والثقافية الواضحة. الأهمية العددية للسكان الشباب – الذي يمكن تفسيره بالتحضر في العقود الأخيرة، والذي رافقه تحسن في الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والصحية وتوفير خدمات عديدة في المناطق الريفية – يثير ثلاث قضايا تتعلق بوضعهم الاجتماعي وحريتهم ودورهم السياسي.

أولاً، من الواضح أن الشباب محرومون من وسائل العيش والاستقلالية: وفق معهد الإحصاء التركي، والذي موثوقيته مشكوك فيها، لم تطل البطالة سوى 18,4% من الشباب مقارنة بـ 10,4% من مجموع السكان؛ غير أنّ مصادر رسمية أخرى تقدر هذه النسبة بـ 26%.

ثانياً، من الواضح أن التحفظ الاجتماعي الزائد الموجود في تركيا منذ عدة عقود يتيح للشباب مجالاً قليلاً للمناورة في بعض مدن المحافظات وأجزاء كبيرة من إسطنبول وأنقرة. وقد يتمكن الشباب من الوصول إلى أماكن غير خاضعة نوعاً ما لهذه القيود – مثل شارع الاستقلال الشهير في إسطنبول وكزلاي في أنقرة وكوردون (منتزه) في أزمير – حيث تتوفر الموارد الثقافية وتسمح بالاختلاط بين النساء والرجال وتناول المشروبات الكحولية. غير أن دخول مثل هذه المناطق الغنية يتطلب موارد مالية تفوق مقدرة العديد من الشباب.

ثالثا،ً لعب الشباب دوراً سياسياً رائداً منذ عام 1950؛ لجأ البعض إلى النزاع المسلح ودفعوا ثمناً باهظاً مقابل التزامهم. لكن مشاركة الشباب المباشرة في الحياة السياسية ضعُفت منذ التسعينات، رغم اعتقال أكثر من 750 شاباً في تموز/يوليو عام 2012 بتهمة “الإرهاب”، التهمة التي توجّه ضد أي شكل من أشكال الالتزام – غالباً ما يكون رمزياً أكثر منه تنظيمياً – في حزب يساري أو الدفاع عن قضايا الأقليات.

لكن في البيئة الكردية، شكل الشباب، الذين تمت تعبئتهم منذ سن المراهقة، العمود الفقري لحزب العمال الكردستاني والتطرف السياسي. كما أنه ليس من باب الصدفة أبداً أن تشهد الحياة السياسية الكردية، التي غذتها سنوات من الصراع، تسليماً متسارعاً للسلطة لجيل الشباب في عقدهم الثالث.

التعليم

يساهم ارتفاع نسبة السكان في الفئة العمرية 0-24 سنة في جعل التعليم مسألة هامة على الصعيد السياسي والاجتماعي والثقافي والاقتصادي. وفيما يلي المعطيات الأساسية المتعلقة بمراحل الحضانة (غير إلزامية) والابتدائية والسنة الأولى من المرحلة الثانوية (إلزامية):

تظهر هذه الأرقام بوضوح عدم التوازن بين الموارد المخصصة لمدارس الحضانة (غالباً ما تكون خاصة) وغيرها من المدارس. كذلك، كما هناك 3,357 مدرسة ثانوية (3,837,164 طالب)، و 4,193 مدرسة فصلية (1,864 عام 2001)، وهي مؤسسات خاصة تشكل صناعة حقيقية وتصل عائداتها الإجمالية إلى 9,3 مليار دولار في العام. كما هناك 139 جامعة (94 منها رسمية و 45 خاصة، تدعى “مؤسسات”) يرتادها 2,532,384 طالب (1,090,000 من الإناث) ويعلّم فيها حوالي 100,000 مدرّس جامعي (13,622 أستاذ و 7,360 محاضر، أي أساتذة مساعدون). ويلعب مجلس التعليم العالي، المرتبط بشكل وثيق بالحكومة المركزية، دوراً حاسماً في إدارة الجامعات.

بعد النظام الكمالي، كانت تركيا ولا تزال ساحة حرب دينية بين الأحزاب المحافظة ومعسكر “الكماليين”، مع أن كلا الطرفين يُجمعان على أهمية الحس القومي في كافة المستويات التعليمية. وفي الفترة الممتدة ما بين العامين 1950 و 1990، كانت المشاكل التعليمية الرئيسية إعداد المناهج التعليمية الدينية في المدارس غير الدينية وإنشاء مدارس لتدريب الأئمة والخطباء. وغالباً ما أدت هذه المشاكل إلى نزاعات بين الحكومتين العسكرية والمدنية. جرت المعركة ما قبل الأخيرة في عهد حكومة نجم الدين أربكان الإسلامية، عندما فرض مجلس الأمن القومي، الذي كان الهيئة العسكرية الرئيسية، التعليم الإلزامي لفترة متواصلة من 8 سنوات، مما حال دون التمكن من الالتحاق بمدارس الأئمة والخطباء التي لم تعد شهاداتها معادلة للشهادات الوطنية الأخرى. وجاء الرد عام 2012، بعد 15 سنة، حين اعتمدت حكومة أردوغان نظاماً تعليمياً عرف بـ “4+4+4” (أربعة أعوام من التعليم الابتدائي في المستوى الأول وأربعة أعوام من التعليم الابتدائي في المستوى الثاني وأربعة أعوام من التعليم الثانوي)، مما أتاح للأولاد الالتحاق بمدارس الأئمة والخطباء والحصول على شهادة معادلة. استقبلت مؤسسات التعليم الثانوي هذه، والتي تخرّج منها حوالي 1,500,000 طالب خلال خمسة عقود، 290,000 طالب عامي 2011 و 2012.

معظم النظام التعليمي رسمي، غير أن القطاع الخاص يدير حالياً جزءً كبيراً منه، أكان ذلك على شكل مؤسسات متميزة على المستويات كافة (5,269 مؤسسة) أو ضمن الشبكة المدرسية لجماعة فتح الله كولن الدينية. وفي ظل النظام العسكري السائد في الفترة الممتدة بين العامين 1980 و 1983، تمت خصخصة الجامعات جزئياً. وفي حين ارتفع عدد الجامعات الرسمية بشكل كبير، فتحت 45 جامعة خاصة أبوابها، حيث لعب الكثير منها، مثل جامعتي بيلجي وسابانجي اللتين اندمجتا في شبكات عالمية إلى حد كبير، دوراً رائداً في تطوير العلوم الاجتماعية في تركيا خلال العشرين سنة الماضية.

الصحة

يُظهر رقمان الاتجاهات المتعارضة التي تم رصدها في قطاع الصحة في تركيا: في حين ارتفع متوسط العمر المتوقع من 44 سنة في 1960 إلى 68,5 سنة في 2000 و 72,5 سنة في 2011 (70,61 للرجال و 74,49 للنساء)، بقي معدل وفيات الأطفال الرضع، مع تراجعه، من أعلى المعدلات في العالم: 39 في الألف في المناطق الغربية و 100 في الألف في المناطق الشرقية. ولم يظهر الطب الوقائي إلا في السنوات الخمس عشرة أو العشرين الأخيرة. وفق وزارة الصحة، كان هناك طبيب واحد و 1,3 ممرضة لكل 1000 شخص في تركيا عام 2011 (مقارنة بـ 3,3 طبيب و 9,8 ممرضة في الاتحاد الأوروبي)؛ وكانت الطاقة الاستيعابية للمستشفيات محصورة بـ 2,3 سريراً لكل 1000 شخص (5,7 في الاتحاد الأوروبي)؛ وأنفقت 671 يورو للفرد الواحد في مجال الصحة (2,192 يورو في أوروبا). وشكلت النفقات الصحية نسبة 6% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، مقارنة بمعدل 8,3% في أوروبا. ولا يمكن لمعطيات الاقتصاد الكلي هذه ونظام حماية العمال والمساهمين إخفاء الصعوبات التي تواجهها مجموعة من السكان في الحصول على العناية الطبية. من أصل 1439 مستشفى خاصة في تركيا (بما فيها 42 مستشفى عسكرية)، هناك 490 مستشفى خاصة، غير أنها تمثل نسبة 75% من إجمالي النفقات في قطاع الصحة. معدل وفيات الأمهات 19,4 لكل 100.000 ولادة حية عبر تركيا، و 22,6 في منطقة جنوب الأناضول و 22,9 في منطقة البحر الأسود و 26,1 على الأقل في منطقة وسط الأناضول. والتأثير الآخر لهذه التفاوتات هو أن نسبة السكان الذين تتخطى أعمارهم الـ 65 عاماً هي 6,8% من إجمالي عدد السكان، ولكن هذه النسبة تنخفض إلى 4,9% في منطقة جنوب شرق الأناضول و 4% في منطقة وسط الأناضول.

الضمان الاجتماعي

تخضع مؤسسة الضمان الاجتماعي، التي يتم تمويلها من مساهمات العمال وأرباب العمل، لسلطة نظام الضمان الاجتماعي. يوفر هذا النظام لأعضائه التأمين الصحي ضد الأمراض والأمومة وحوادث العمل والأمراض المهنية والعجز والشيخوخة. كما يقدم دفوعات ما بعد الوفاة ومساعدات البطالة. ويتلقى أصحاب المهن الحرة والتجار والحرفيون، والذين يُطالبون بالانتساب إلى نقابات مهنية في اختصاصاتهم، التأمين عن طريق مؤسسات رسمية أخرى. ويقدم الصندوق الوطني للتقاعد التأمين لمتقاعدي الخدمة المدنية.

إقرأ المزيد

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Aris MESSINIS ©AFP | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Turkey / Society, Media & Culture / Society

Society

Istanbul / Photo Fanack
Istanbul / Photo Fanack

Contents

Introduction
Human Development Index
Clans and Communities
Family Structure
Women
Youth
Education
Health
Social Security

Introduction

In the course of the 20th century Turkey witnessed sweeping social and economic reforms. Turkey has transformed from an underdeveloped, rural society into a predominantly urbanized country experiencing rapid economic growth. The social infrastructure, however, has not kept pace with these economic changes. In many respects, Turkey remains a conservative society.

In the political arena, this development led to the rise to power of the Islamist AKP in 2002, which is engineering a ‘re-Islamization’ of society and state through reforms. Strained relations with the secular, highly urbanized segment of the Turkish population are the result – members of society who for decades set the tone in Turkey, bolstered by the official state ideology.

Human Development Index

The Human Development Index of Turkey increased almost 50 percent from 0.5 in 1980 to 0.7 in 2012. Despite this impressive increase, however, Turkey, which is now one of the G-20 nations, is ranked 90th in the world in HDI. Life expectancy is 74.2 years. Adults enjoy an average of 15 years of schooling. The GNI per capita (PPP) is USD 10,830.

HDI and HDI value and Life expectancy graphics (1980-2013) for Turkey
HDI and HDI value and Life expectancy graphics (1980-2013) for Turkey

<span id=”Clans”></span>

Clans and Communities

There are few dynasties or clans in Turkey, but there are many Turkish, Kurdish, and Arab tribes. The war in Kurdistan – fuelled by the central government’s formation of rural militias (köy korucuları, village guards), whose numbers increased to 100,000 at the turn of the 2000s – contributed to the vitality of the tribes. These ‘guards’, mostly of tribal origin, earn three times the minimum wage of the militia members and are armed by the state, which sometimes forces them to form auxiliary forces. They have been involved in human-rights violations, drug trafficking, and gun crimes. They have contributed, indirectly, to the militarization of other tribes, some of which have joined the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK). The following examples show the central place a tribe may hold in a local framework: the Bucak, currently led by Sedat Bucak (born 1960), control a significant part of the economy in the Siverek region, including the distribution of petrol. Being closely related to Süleyman Demirel, President of the Republic in the 1990s, Bucak led an army of 10,000 men composed of members of clientelist groups. He was the sole survivor of a car crash in 1996, near the town of Susurluk, where Abdullah Çatlı (1956-1996), an ultra-rightist militant wanted for multiple murders and Hüseyin Kocadağ (1944-1996), a senior police official, were killed. Conversely, most of the Hakkari tribes actively support the Kurdish Peace and Democracy Party.

The impact of tribalism, however, must be put into perspective: the emergence of Kurdish megalopolises, populated by new, highly mobilized and politicized urban generations with no memory of the rural context, has considerably weakened tribal structures. Fighting for the ‘Kurdish cause’, the first condition for entry into politics, has driven many young people and women into the Kurdish front, making allegiances and tribal solidarities ineffective in an urban setting.

Family Structure

Traditionally, family structures in Turkey favoured a combination of extended families and nuclear families to promote a patriarchal social order in which maleness and age were the main sources of authority. Domestic environments were gendered and were the ideal place for the confinement of females. The initiation of children into adolescence and adulthood followed the gendered division of roles and was largely in line with the rites of passage observed in most Muslim societies (teaching the Koran to boys five to six years old, separation of the sexes from age seven or eight, obligation to fast during Ramadan before the age of twelve, and the ‘negotiation’ of a marriage decided by the parents when the child is between fifteen and eighteen years of age).

According to a report issued by USAK in 2012, 31.7 percent of women and 6.9 percent of men married before the age of 18, and 58.7 percent of women and 58.2 percent of men married between 18 and 24. 31.9 percent of women and 28.0 percent of men married according to the arranged marriage model, while the marriages of 36.2 percent of women and 24.8 percent of men were decided solely by the parents. 85.9 percent of marriages were contracted in the civil or religious form, although the latter has had no legal standing since 1925. Religious ceremonies are, however, often considered more important in the community. In 16.8 percent of the cases overall (and 23.5 percent of the cases in rural areas), the families of married couples paid the süt parası (‘milk money’), or what anthropologists call ‘bride price’ (bașlık parası and qalın in Kurdish). Marriages between relatives constitute 20.9 percent of all marriages (4.8 percent in Western Marmara, 15.3 percent in Istanbul, and 40.4 percent in the South-Eastern Anatolia region). Although there are no reliable statistics, the rate of polygamy, which has been prohibited since 1925, is generally low, although it may affect up to 5 percent of the women in cities such as Diyarbakır and Urfa. Of the sample interviewed in the above-mentioned survey, 82 percent do not drink alcohol, 44 percent do not read books, and 77 percent do not go to cinemas or theatres. They consider the ideal family size three children. Nuclear families are spreading (80.7 percent, with an additional 6 percent of single households), and the couples are generally stable: only 4 percent remarried and 0.3 percent married a third time. According to Family and Social Policy Minister Fatma Sahin, the divorce rate is increasing but stood at only 1.6 percent in 2012.

The historically high birth rate dropped from 6.8 percent in 1976 to 2.37 in 2001 and 2.3 in 2008, thus approaching a critical threshold for the maintenance of the population. This trend will presumably be affected by the pro-natalist campaigns supported by Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, who wants to criminalize abortion – except in urgent medical cases – as a way of dealing with the ‘abortion war’, which, he claimed, was about to be declared in Turkey.

Women

According to recent estimates, 30 percent of the women in the labour force are wage earners; added to that are women in the informal sector who work without pay in family businesses or agricultural production. The situation of women in Turkey is a paradox that cannot be explained solely by patriarchal family structures or the status of women in Islam, or, conversely, by the emancipation of women under the Kemalist state: women are omnipresent in skilled occupations, at a rate of 30-40 percent (e.g., doctors and scientists), but they are mostly absent from the middle- and lower-class workforce. The over-representation of women in skilled occupations is explained by class distinctions – wealthy families send their daughters to prestigious educational institutions – or by a ‘cultural capital’ built by personal commitment, making it possible for some women to go far in their education; this allows them to refuse early marriage imposed by the parents and garner the professional resources that enable them to enjoy their autonomy. Arranged marriages are for those women who do not inherit or fail to acquire this cultural capital.

Domestic violence targets especially, but not exclusively, women. Surveys show that the legitimacy of violence against women is largely internalized in society, even among women. The figures are alarming: the Istanbul branch of the Human Rights Association reports that 4,190 women were killed between 2005 and 2009, some of them as victims of ‘honour crimes’. Only 500-600 rape cases are officially reported each year, but this figure – even leaving aside cases of incest – is far from reflecting the reality of this sensitive issue.

Between 1993 and 1995, the country was led by a female Prime Minister, Tansu Çiller (born 1946), a hard-line supporter of the state’s position on the Kurdish issue who was respected and supported by a cohort of male generals. The Turkish Industry and Business Association, representing the bourgeoisie of Istanbul, is chaired by a woman, Ümit Boyner (born 1963). Aside from these symbolic figures, however, there are few women in politics, even if their numbers in Parliament are increasing (13 in 1995, 23 in 1999, and 24 in 2002). In 2007, there were 50 women in Parliament (9 percent of the total) and, in 2011, 78 (14 percent), including eleven belonging to the Kurdish List represented by only 35 deputies (men and women), six of whom are in prison.

These issues require us to reconsider women’s issues in Turkey. In the words of Mehmet Emin Yurdakul (1869-1944), a national poet, nationalism in the 1910s wanted to ‘place women at the heart of the country’. According to Turkish sociologist Nazan Aksoy, the political power granted to women under Kemalism was limited: ‘Although the individual is the basis of Turkish modernization, what we ask of women is in no way to become an independent individual entity. (…) The main factor that threatens the autonomy of women lies in the fact that the nationalist discourse required for building a new nation was “masculine”‘. Sociologist Şirin Tekeli points in the same direction: ‘In his speech to women [Atatürk] strongly emphasized that the most sacred duty of women is maternity. Neither the Anatolian peasant women who are considered a model of “altruism” nor the elite working women could avoid becoming a mother. The Kemalist message thus became vague and even contradictory: to glorify the maternal role, it did not simply call for old traditions but also sought to strengthen them through ideological speech and practice. Women who were encouraged to abandon their usual role were required to lower their ambitions in the work environment so as not to surpass men.’

Although feminism in Turkey is politicized and polarized between several movements, from Islamist to socialist and from Atatürkist to Kurdish, it remains combative, particularly in the fight against violence against women. Many organizations, such as Mor Çatı (Purple Roof, a shelter foundation) serve as channels for women to express their demands and as a place of refuge and protection for female victims of domestic violence or other abuse.

Youth

According to 2011 data, half of the Turkish population (totalling 79,414,269) is younger than 29 years old.

The rapid decline in birth rate (to 2.3 in 2010) points to the likelihood of an aging population by 2040. At the turn of the 2010s, however, Turkey was one of the demographically youngest countries in Eurasia, which explains its obvious social, economic, and cultural dynamism. The numerical importance of young people – which can be explained by urbanization in recent decades, accompanied by improvements in social, economic, and health conditions and the provision of many services in rural areas – raises three issues, regarding their social status, freedom, and political role.

First, it is clear that young people are largely deprived of the means of livelihood and autonomy: according to the Turkish Statistical Institute, whose reliability is questioned, unemployment affected only 18.4 percent of youth, compared to 10.4 percent of the total population; other official sources, however, put the percentage at 26.

Second, it is clear that the social ultra-conservatism existing for several decades in Turkey gives young people little room for manoeuvre in some provincial towns and in large parts of Istanbul and Ankara. Young people may have access to places that are more or less free of these restrictions – as on the famous İstiklal Avenue in Istanbul, Kızılay in Ankara, and Kordon (an esplanade) in Izmir – where cultural resources are abundant, socialization of men and women is permitted, and alcohol consumption is widely accepted, but access to such upscale areas requires financial resources beyond the reach of many young people.

Third, young people played a leading role in politics since 1950; some resorted to armed struggle and paid a high price for their commitment. Since the 1990s, however, their direct political participation has become less forceful, even though more than 750 were detained in July 2012, charged with ‘terrorism’, a term used to refer to any commitment – often more symbolic than organizational – to a left-wing party or to defending the cause of minorities.

In the Kurdish setting, however, youth, mobilized since their teen years, were the backbone of the Kurdistan Workers’ Party and political militancy. It is no coincidence that the Kurdish politics, fuelled by years of struggle, have also witnessed an accelerated handover of power to the younger generation of people in their thirties.

Education

The high percentage of people in the 0-24 age group makes education an important political, social, cultural, and economic issue. The basic data on nursery school (non-compulsory), primary school, and first year of secondary school (compulsory) are as follows:

These figures show clearly the imbalance between the resources allocated to nursery schools (usually private) and other schools. There are also 3,357 high schools (3,837,164 students) and 4,193 cram schools, or dershaneler (up from 1,864 in 2001), which are private institutions constituting a veritable industry and generating a total turnover of USD 9.3 billion per year. Also important are the 139 universities (94 public and 45 private, called ‘foundations’) attended by 2,532,384 students (of whom 1,090,900 are women) and in which 100,000 university lecturers (including 13,622 professors and 7,360 docents, i.e., assistant professors) teach. The YÖK (Yüksek Öğretim Kurulu, Higher Education Council) , which has close links with the central government, plays a decisive role in the management of the universities.

Post-Kemalist Turkey was and remains the scene of a religious war between the conservative parties and the Kemalist camp, even though both agree on the importance of Turkish nationalism at all levels of education. From 1950 to 1990, the main educational issues were the preparation of the religious education curriculum for non-religious schools and the establishment of schools for training imams and preachers (imam hatip schools). These have often led to conflicts between the military and civil governments. The penultimate battle occurred under the Islamist government of Necmettin Erbakan, when the National Security Council, which was the main military body, imposed compulsory education for an uninterrupted period of eight years, thus preventing access to the imam hatip schools, whose diplomas were no longer legally equivalent to other national diplomas. The response came fifteen years later in 2012, when the government of Erdoğan adopted the 4+4+4 system ( four years of primary education at the first level, four years of primary education at the second level, and four years of secondary education), which allows children easy access to imam hatip schools and to an equivalent diploma. These secondary-education institutions, which have graduated around 1,500,000 students over five decades, enrolled 290,000 students in 2011-2012.

The majority of the education system is public, but a large part of it is now run by the private sector, whether in the form of elite institutions at all levels (5,269 institutions) or within the school network of the Fethullah Gülen religious community. Under the military regime of 1980-1983, universities were also partly privatized. While the number of public universities grew significantly, 45 private universities opened their doors, many of which, such as Bilgi and Sabancı, highly integrated into global networks, have played a leading role in the development of social sciences in Turkey over the last twenty years.

Health

Two figures show the opposing trends observed in the health sector in Turkey: while life expectancy increased from just over 44 years in 1960 to 68.5 years in 2000 and 72.5 years in 2011 (70.61 for men and 74.49 for women), the infant mortality rate, although declining, remains one of the highest in the world: 18 per thousand and 100 per thousand in the western and eastern parts of the country, respectively. Preventive medicine has emerged only in the last fifteen or twenty years. According to the Ministry of Health, Turkey had one doctor and 1.3 nurses per 1,000 inhabitants (compared with 3.3 and 9.8, respectively, in the European Union) in 2011; its hospital capacity was only 2.3 beds per 1,000 inhabitants (5.7 in the EU); and it spent euros 671 per capita for health (euros 2,192 in Europe). Health expenses consumed 5.6% percent of GDP, as compared to an average of 8.3 percent in Europe. These macroeconomic data and the existence of a system for the protection of wage earners and contributors cannot conceal the difficulties faced by a population group in accessing medical care. Of the 1,439 hospitals (including 42 military hospitals) in the country, 490 are private, but they account for 75 percent of the total expenses in the health sector. The maternal mortality rate per 100,000 live births is 16 across Turkey but is 22.6 in the Southern Anatolia region, 22.9 in the Black Sea region, and at least 26.1 in the Central Anatolia region. Another indication of the impact of these inequalities is that the population over 65 years is 7.09% percent of the total population but only 4.9 percent of the population in the South-Eastern Anatolia region and 4 percent in the Central Anatolia region.

Social Security

The social security system, financed by employee and employer contributions, is under the authority of the Social Security Institution. This system provides its members with insurance against sickness, maternity, work accidents, occupational diseases, invalidity, and old age. It also provides payments after death and unemployment benefits. Members of liberal professions, merchants, and craftsmen, who are required to form professional corporations in their fields, receive insurance from another public institution, the Bağ-Kur. The Republic of Turkey Pension Fund provides insurance for retired civil servants.

Further Reading

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Aris MESSINIS ©AFP | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!