تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

الجزائر

الجزائر
الجزائر، والاسم الرسمي لها (الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية). تعد الجزائر من بلدان إفريقيا الشمالية الغربية، يحدها من الغرب المغرب ومن الجنوب الغربي موريتانيا ومن الشرق تونس وليبيا، ويحدها من الجنوب مالي والنيجر ومن الشمال البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

خاض الشعب الجزائري ثورة  في الأول من نوفمبر عام 1954 ضد الاستعمار الفرنسي الذي امتد لنحو قرن من الزمن. وراح ضحية هذه الثورة التي سميت بـ(ثورة التحرير الوطني)، أكثر من مليون ضحية وفقًا للتقديرات المحلية، حتى أعلنت البلاد استقلالها في الخامس من يوليو عام 1962.

دخلت الجزائر نفقًا مظلمًا طيلة تسعينيات القرن الماضي، حيث شهدت البلاد صراعًا مسلحًا امتد لعشر سنوات بين السلطة الرسمية وجماعات الإسلام السياسي، سميت بالعشرية السوداء. ومع نهايات العقد الثاني من القرن الحالي، شهدت الجزائر ثورة سلمية أدت إلى تنحي الرئيس عبد العزيز بوتفليقة. وتولى رئيس الوزراء الأسبق عبد المجيد تبون زمام الحكم بالبلاد في 19 ديسمبر 2019 إثر انتخابات رئاسية متعددة، ليصبح الرئيس الثامن للجزائر منذ الاستقلال.

اقتصاد الجزائر يعتمد بشكل رئيسي على قطاع النفط والغاز، إذ يشارك هذا القطاع اليوم بنسبة 20% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، و85% من إجمالي صادرات البلاد.

الجزائر هي أكبر بلد أفريقي وعربي والعاشر عالميًا من حيث المساحة، إذ تبلغ مساحة هذه الدولة 2,381,741 كم مربع. ويتسع الفضاء الجوي نحو الجنوب أكثر بـ1800 كم فيما وراء مدار السرطان.

تضم المنطقة الشمالية التي تمتد من سلسلة جبال الأطلس إلى ساحل البحر المتوسط 70% من مجموع السكان البالغ عددهم 43 مليون نسمة وفقًا لتقديرات مطلع عام 2019. وتقع الجزائر العاصمة في أقصى الشمال.

تعتمد الجزائر ثلاث لغات رسمية هي العربية، الفرنسية، والأمازيغية (البربرية)، ويعتنق نحو 99% من الجزائريين الديانة الإسلامية وفقًا للمذهب السني.

الجزائر هي دولة عربية، والنظام الرسمي فيها ذو طابع ديمقراطي منذ إقرار التعددية الحزبية في عام 1990م. رئيس الجمهورية هو أعلى سلطة في الدولة، ويتم انتخابه عن طريق الاقتراع العام لفترة رئاسية واحدة مدتها 5 سنوات قابلة للتجديد لمرة واحدة فقط وفقًا للدستور. ويقوم رئيس الجمهورية بتعيين رئيس الحكومة، والذي يقوم بدوره بتعيين مجلس الوزراء. العملة المحلية هي الدينار الجزائري (1 دينار = 0.0083 دولار).

أهم الموارد الطبيعية في الجزائر النفط، والغاز الطبيعي، والحديد، والفسفات، واليورانيوم، والرصاص والزنك. والجزائر تحظى باحتياطي كبير من النفط الخام يقـدر  بـ 12 مليار برميل، فضلاً عن احتياطي هائل من الغاز قدر بـ4.5 تريليون متر مكعب عام 2018. وتعتبر الجزائر ثامن دولة في العالم في إنتاج الغاز.

الموارد المائية في الجزائر تعتمد على مياه الأمطار في الشمال (تتراوح بين 400 إلى 670 ملّيمتر في السنة في المنطقة الساحلية) وعلى الوديان والأنهار. ويعتبر نهر الشلف أكبرها إذ يبلغ طوله 725 كيلومتر وينبع من جبال الأطلس ويصب في البحر المتوسط. وتشكّل المياه الجوفية في المناطق الصحراوية مورداً إضافياً للمياه.

أما على مستوى تقييم قوة الجيوش والتسليح، فقد حلت الجزائر في المرتبة 27 من 137 بين الدول التي شملها تقرير Global Firepower لعام 2019.

تتمتع الصحافة الجزائرية بنوع من الحرية مقارنة بباقي الدول العربية، وتصدر 120 صحيفة يومية وأسبوعية ومعظم الصحف باللغتين العربية والفرنسية. كما توجد بالجزائر 33 قناة تلفزيونية وطنية، منها 16 ناطقة بالعربية وواحدة بالعربية والفرنسية، و4 بالأمازيغية و13 دينية. وتملك كل ولاية من الـ48 ولاية إذاعة محلية.

من أعلام الجزائر المجاهد الأمير عبد القادر الجزائري وعبد الحميد بن باديس والكتّاب مالك بن نبي وكاتب ياسين ومحمد ديب، والفيلسوف ابن خلدون (صاحب المقدمة).

منتخب الجزائر لكرة القدم الذي يلقب بثعالب الصحراء وبمحاربي الصحراء، تأسس عام 1958 إبان الاستعمار الفرنسي، لينضم إلى الفيفا عام 1962 وإلى الإتحاد الأفريقي لكرة القدم بحلول عام 1964. وشارك المنتخب الجزائري في كأس العالم لكرة القدم أربع مرات في أعوام 1982، 1986، 2010 و2014. كما شارك ١٨ مرة في كأس الأمم الإفريقية وفاز باللقب في نسختي عامي 1990 و٢٠١٩.

يتميز شمال الجزائر بمناخ البحر الأبيض المتوسط في مجموعه تقريباً، وهو مناخ رطب وممطر شتاء (02-12 درجة مئوية)، وحار وجاف صيفاً (21-24 درجة مئوية).
وبصفةٍ عامة، تكون الأمطار غير منتظمة وأحياناً قوية جداً وموزعة بشكل غير متساو مكانياً وزمانياً. وتكون الأمطار منعدمة في الصيف بينما تتوفر وبغزارة في الجبال في فصل الشتاء وبالهضاب العليا في الربيع. وتتميز المناطق الصحراوية بجفاف مطلق تتخلله من حين لآخر أمطار استثنائية غير متوقعة.

وتتسم تضاريس الجزائر بسلسلةٍ من السهول الساحلية المنخفضة كسهول وهران والمتيجة وعنابة، حيث تشتهر هذه السهول بإنتاج الغلال والخضراوات والفواكه. كما تتضمن هذه التضاريس السهول الداخلية المرتفعة كسهل تلمسان وسيدي بلعباس والسرسو وقسنطينة، وهي متخصصة في إنتاج الحبوب والكروم. وإلى جانب ذلك، تتواجد في الجزائر سلسلتان جبليتان متوازيتان هما أطلس التل شمالاً، والأطلس الصحراوي جنوباً. ويتراوح ارتفاع أراضيه بين 800 و1,000م تتخللها منخفضات تغمرها المياه المالحة. ويفصل بين شمال الجزائر وجنوبها مرتفعات جبلية تتكون من سلسلةٍ تمتد بطول 700كم. وتشكل هذه المرتفعات حاجزاً طبيعياً في وجه الصحراء، وتتخللها ممرات ودروب طبيعية تمر منها أهم طرق المواصلات بين الصحراء والشمال. ويمثل جبل الأوراس أعلى ارتفاع في الإقليم عند قمة جبل الشلية التي تصل إلى 2,329 م.

أما قائمة المعالم السياحية الأكثر جذباً للزائرين فتتضمن الحدائق النباتية الكريمة، والنصب الأيقوني لتكريم شهداء الاستقلال، والكنيسة الكاثوليكية (سيدة أفريقيا)، ومتحف باردو الوطني.

تعتمد قيادة العربات على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. ويسبق توقيت الجزائر توقيت غرينتش بمقدار ساعة واحدة، وكود الاتصال هو +213.

Fanack Home / Algeria

Algeria

Map Algeria

Algeria, (officially People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria), is located in northwestern part of the African continent. The country is bordered to the west by the Kingdom of Morocco and to the southwest by Western Sahara. Algeria is bordered to the southwest by Mauritania and by Libya and Algeria to the east. On the south, there is Mali and Niger, while in the north there is the Mediterranean Sea.

The Algerian people went through a revolution on the first of November 1954 against the French colonialism that spanned for nearly a century. According to local estimates, more than a million victims were killed during the National Liberation Revolution. Independence was finally declared on the fifth of July 1962.

During the 1990s, Algeria entered a dark tunnel with an armed conflict that lasted ten year between official authority and Islamist groups. This era is called the Black Decade. At the end of the second decade of this century, Algeria witnessed a peaceful revolution that forced President Abdelaziz Bouteflika to resign. On 19 December 2019, Former Prime Minister Abdel Majid Taboun became the president of Algeria after multiple presidential elections. Taboun is the eighth president of Algeria since independence.

The economy of Algeria depends mainly on the oil and gas sector. This sector contributes by 20% to the Algerian GDP (85% of the country’s total exports).

Algeria is the largest African and Arab country and the tenth globally by area (2,381,740 square kilometers). The airspace extends to the south by more than 1,800 km beyond the Tropic of Cancer.

According to estimates made at the beginning of 2019, 70% of the total population (43 million in total) live in the northern part extending between Atlas mountain range and the Mediterranean coast. The capital Alger is located in that northern part of the country.

In Algeria, there are three official languages: Arabic, French, and Amazigh (Berber). About 99% of Algerians are Sunnah Muslims.

Algeria is an Arab country. Its formal governance system has a democratic character since the introduction of multi-party politics in 1990. The President of the Republic is the highest authority in the state. In accordance with the constitution, the president has to be elected by universal suffrage for a single presidential term of 5 years. This term can be only extended for another one. The President appoints the Prime Minister, who in turn appoints the Council of Ministers. The local currency is the Algerian Dinar (1 dinar = $ 0.0083).

The most important natural resources in Algeria are oil, natural gas, iron, phosphates, uranium, lead and zinc. Algeria has a large reserve of crude oil estimated at 12 billion barrels, in addition to a huge gas reserve of 4.5 trillion cubic meters in 2018. Algeria is ranked eighth in the world in gas production.

Algeria’s water resources depend on rainwater in the north (ranging between 400 and 670 millimeters per year in the coastal region), in addition to the waters of the valleys and rivers. The Chlef River is the largest one in Algeria with a length of 725 km. The river rises in the Atlas Mountains and flows into the Mediterranean Sea. Groundwater in the desert areas constitutes an additional source of water.

Regarding the strength of armies and armaments, Algeria was ranked 27th out of 137 countries included in the 2019 Global Firepower Report.

The Algerian press relatively enjoys freedom compared to the rest of the Arab countries. 120 daily and weekly newspapers are published mostly in Arabic and French. Out of 33 national TV channels in Algeria, 16 are broadcasted in Arabic, one in French, 4 in Amazigh. 13 TV channels have a religious character. Each one of the 48 Algerian provinces has a local radio channel.

Prominent public faces include Prince Abdel-Qader Al-Jazaery, Abdel-Hamid bin Badis, Malik bin Nabi, Katib Yassin, Mohamed Deeb and the philosopher Ibn Khaldoun.

The Algerian national football team is called the “Foxes of the Desert” and “the desert fighters”. The team that has been founded in 1958 during the French colonialism joined FIFA in 1962 and the Confederation of African Football in 1964. The Algerian national team participated in the FIFA World Cup four times in 1982, 1986, 2010 and 2014. It has also participated 18 times in the African Nations Cup and won the title in 1990 and 2019.

The northern part of Algeria enjoys a Mediterranean climate with mild and relatively rainy winters. and temperatures ranges between 21-24 ° C in summer and 02-12 ° C in winter.

In general, rains are irregular. Sometimes they are very strong and distributed unevenly. There are no rains during summer. Rains are heavy in the mountains during winter. The same applies to rains I the high highlands during spring. The desert areas are characterized by absolute droughts that are occasionally interrupted by unexpected rains.

Algeria is characterized by a series of low coastal plains such as the plains of Oran, El Moujida and Annaba. These plains are famous for the production of crops, vegetables and fruits. High interior plains in Tlemcen, Sidi Bel Abbes, El Sarso and Constantine are used in cultivating grains and vineyards. In addition, there are two parallel mountain ranges: the high Atlas at the north and the Saharan Atlas at the South. The height of these mountains ranges between 800 and 1,000 meters. These series of mountains are interspersed with salt-water lowlands. In addition, there are mountainous heights between the north and south of Algeria. These series consist of a chain that extends for a length of 700 km, which forms a natural barrier in the face of the desert. These mountains are interspersed with natural paths through which runs the most important means of transportation between the desert and the north. The mountain of Aures is the highest mountain in this region (at 2,329 m at the top of Jebel Chelia).

The list of most attractive touristic destinations includes the generous botanical gardens, the iconic monument to honor the martyrs of independence, the Catholic Church (Our Lady of Africa) and the Bardo National Museum.

Driving vehicles is right sided as the rest of the countries in the Middle East and North Africa. Algeria time is (GMT1+), while the call code is +213.

Further Reading

Algeria is considered one of the cradles of the first human ancestors, according to the results of a research conducted on Oldowan stone tools in its desert.
Facts & Figures Algeria
The environment is under threat from many directions. Industrialization, population growth, the war of independence, and the civil war of the 1990s have left their traces in the landscape and the ecosystem. Attempts to bring stepp...
Declining oil prices have also reduced the government’s ability to use state-driven growth to distribute rents and fund generous public subsidies, and the government has been under pressure to reduce spending. Over the past thre...
Two decades on, the system and its leadership seem incapable of resolving these fundamental issues. Opposition parties are allowed to compete in elections, but they are unable to gain significant power on account of the way the sy...
The civil war of the 1990s brought large-scale violations of human rights. The number of victims is estimated, by government officials and others, at about 200,000. Civilians were explicitly targeted, for their opinions or on the ...
Given the country’s large surface area, the overall population density is low, with sixteen inhabitants per square kilometre. The concentration of people in the north, which makes up only 20 percent of the country, has, however,...
Most Algerians have become city dwellers, which has affected their way of life. Advances in education and health care have reinforced the trend towards smaller family sizes, but even those with a higher education face a lack of em...
Faces of Algeria have names, we hear about them but do not get the entire picture. Get to know these influential people in Fanack’s ‘Faces’ section.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Flickr ⁃ lebitalarican1986 | ©Fanack

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.