فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / قطر

دولة قطر

قطر
الدوحة. Photo: STRINGER / AFP

قطر، (والاسم الرسمي دولة قطر) إمارة مستقلة على الساحل الغربي للخليج العربي/ الفارسي. هذه الدولة تتواجد في شبه جزيرة صحراوية صغيرة تمتد شمالاً من شبه الجزيرة العربية، وهي مأهولة بشكل متقطع ومتواضع منذ عصور ما قبل التاريخ.

وتقدر مساحة قطر بنحو 11.586 ألف كيلو متر مربع. وهي تشترك بحدودها البرية مع المنطقة الشرقية من المملكة العربية السعودية، علماً بأن هذه الدولة تتواجد شمال وغرب الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

العاصمة هي مدينة الدوحة التي تقع على الساحل الشرقي لشبه الجزيرة المطل على الخليج. ويعيش أكثر من خُمس سكان قطر ضمن حدود المدينة. وتمزج الدوحة العمارة الحديثة مع المباني المكتبية الجديدة ومراكز التسوق والمجمعات السكنية. ولطالما كانت الدوحة ميناءً مهماً محلياً بسبب الشعاب المرجانية البحرية والمياه الضحلة، وقد كانت ذات يوم مركزاً لصيد اللؤلؤ.

تعتمد قطر قطر على ماضي الرحل والممارسات التي تعود إلى قرون من المنتجات المنسوجة يدوياً إلى الصقارة. ومع ذلك، فإن سكان البلاد من المناطق الحضرية والساحلية، وحياتها اليومية حديثة تماماً، وسعى حكامها إلى تعزيز الحريات المدنية. وفي الوقت الذي يتمسك فيه القطريون بمعتقداتهم الدينية وتقاليدهم، فإنهم يفتخرون بما يظهرونه من تسامح تجاه ثقافات ومعتقدات الآخرين.

خريطة قطر
خريطة قطر. @Fanack

بعد ظهور الإسلام، خضعت المنطقة لحكم الخلافة الإسلامية. وبعد ذلك، خضعت المنطقة لحكم عدد من السلالات المحلية والأجنبية قبل أن تقع تحت سيطرة سلالة آل تاني في القرن التاسع عشر.

سعى آل ثاني للحصول على رعاية البريطانيين في مواجهة الجماعات القبلية المتنافسة وضد الإمبراطورية العثمانية – التي احتلت البلاد في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر وأوائل القرن العشرين. في المقابل، سيطرت المملكة المتحدة على سياسة قطر الخارجية حتى استقلال الأخيرة في عام 1971م. وبعد ذلك، واصلت بريطانيا رعاية العلاقات الوثيقة مع القوى الغربية باعتبارها ركيزة أساسية لأمنها القومي.

قطر تمتلك واحداً من أكبر احتياطيات النفط والغاز الطبيعي في العالم، وتوظف أعداداً كبيرة من العمال الأجانب في عملية الإنتاج. وبفضل ثروتها النفطية، يتمتع سكان البلاد بمستوى معيشة مرتفع ونظام راسخ من الخدمات الاجتماعية.

عدد السكان يقدر بنحو 2.444مليون نسمة وفقاً لتقديرات عام 2020م. وتشير تقديرات عام ٢٠١٥ إلى تمتع الوافدين غير القطريين بحصة 88.4% من مجموع السكان؛ فيما لا تزيد نسبة المواطنين القطريين عن 11.6%.

اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية للبلاد، أما اللغة الإنجليزية فهي شائعة الاستخدام كلغة ثانية.

بحسب تقديرات عام ٢٠١٠، يشكل المسلمون 67.7% من إجمالي عدد السكان، مقابل 13.8% للمسيحيين، و13.8% للهندوس ، و3.1% للبوذيين، و1٪ لليهود، وآخرين.

العملة المحلية هي (الريال القطري). والموارد الطبيعية البترول والأسماك والغاز الطبيعي.

من الناحية العسكرية، حلت قطر في المرتبة 90 من 138 بين الدول التي شملها تقرير Global Firepower لعام 2020.

هيمن نمو قناة الجزيرة الفضائية، إلى حدٍ كبير، على البيئة الإعلامية القطرية في القرن الواحد والعشرين. وعززت القناة مكانتها باعتبارها إحدى وسائل الإعلام الدولية الكبرى بعد تأمين وصولها منقطع النظير إلى مناطق الحرب في أفغانستان والعراق. وأنشأت قناة الجزيرة خدماتٍ باللغة الإنجليزية عام 2006م ضمن خططها للتوسع، إلا أن شعبيتها بدأت بالتضاؤل منذ ذلك الحين وسط اتهاماتٍ بالتحيز أثناء تغطيتها لثورات الربيع العربي عام 2011م. كما تلعب الضغوطات التنافسية التي مارستها المملكة العربية السعودية في هذا الجانب دوراً في انخفاض شعبية الجزيرة، لا سيما عن طريق قناة “العربية”، وهي قناة إخبارية ناطقة بالعربية تعود ملكيتها للمملكة.

وفقاً لدراسة أجرتها جامعة نورث وسترن في قطر عام 2016م، يعتبر التلفزيون الوسيلة الأكثر شعبية في البلاد، حيث أكد 75% من المستطلعين متابعتهم للتفزيون (الدراسة شملت 1,000 شخص، بينهم 504 مواطنا قطريا). ولم تزد نسبة متابعي البرامج القطرية عن 40% من المستطلعين؛ في حين حظيت البرامج من الشرق الأوسط والهند والغرب بشعبية نظراً لعدد المغتربين الكبير في البلاد.

من الوجوه البارزة في قطر، الشيخة المياسة راعية الفن في قطر، ومحمد بن الذيب العجمي، الشاعر القطري المضطهد، والمحكوم عليه بالسجن مدة 15 عاماً.

تجمع الثقافة الرياضية في قطر بين الرياضة التقليدية للمجتمع الصحراوي العربي والرياضات الغربية الحديثة. وتشمل الرياضات التقليدية سباقات الخيل العربية، وسباق الهجن، والصقارة، وجميع هذه الرياضات متجذرٌ في ماضي البلاد البدوي. أما الرياضات الغربية المعاصرة فتشمل كرة السلة، وكرة اليد، والجولف، والسباحة، وكرة القدم، وتنس الطاولة والكرة الطائرة. وتعتبر كرة القدم أكثر الألعاب الرياضية شعبية.

الدوحة استضافت دورة الألعاب الآسيوية الخامسة عشرة في ديسمبر 2006م، لتكون بذلك أول مدينة في الخليج وثاني مدينة من غرب آسيا تستضيف هذا الحدث (بعد طهران في 1974م). وكانت هذه الدورة الأولى التي تشارك فيها جميع الدول الـ 45 الأعضاء في المجلس الأولمبي الآسيوي في هذا الحدث الرياضي. وبثت “Eurosport” الحدث، لتكون بذلك المرة الأولى التي أمكن فيها للقارة الأوروبية مشاهدة هذا الحدث الرياضي.

حقق المنتخب القطري لقب كأس آسيا عام 2019م للمرة الأولى في تاريخه، كما فاز ببطولة كأس الخليج ثلاث مرات، في الأعوام 1992م و2004م و2014م. وتمكن المنتخب القطري للشباب عام 1981م من الوصول مع المنتخب الألماني الغربي إلى المباراة النهائية لبطولة كأس العالم للشباب التي أقيمت في أستراليا. وفي عام 2014م، حقق بطولة كأس آسيا للشباب في مينمار، كما نجح المنتخب القطري الأولمبي في الفوز بلقب دورة الألعاب الآسيوية 2006م بالدوحة.

مناخ قطر، معتدل جاف شتاءً، رطب وحار جداً صيفاً. أما التضاريس فصحراءٌ مسطحة وقاحلة في معظمها.

أأبرز الأماكن جذباً للسياحة جزيرة اللؤلؤة، وقلعة الدوحة، وأكاديمية أسباير التي تعتبر أكبر الأكاديميات الرياضية في العالم.

قيادة العربات تعتمد على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والنطاق الزمني لقطر (GMT+3). أما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 974+.

إقرأ المزيد

آخر التحديثات حول قطر
في نهاية القرن التاسع عشر، أصبحت قطر موقع تحكم متوسط بالنسبة للأسطول البريطاني. واكتسبت المنطقة أهمية عند اكتشاف ومن ثم استغل...
حقائق وبيانات
تحليل عن جغرافية قطر: حدود الدولة, المناخ, التنوع الحيوي والبيئة الطبيعية, الموارد الطبيعية, خصوبة التربة, الكوارث الطبيعية.
نظرة عامة عن الحكم في قطر، بما في ذلك وصف مختلف فروع حكومتها وتحديات الحكم.
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في قطر.
ورغم التزايد العددي المستمر لحجم السكان في قطر، إلا أن معدل النمو السكاني يتسم بالتذبذب الواضح؛ فقد وصل هذا المعدل إلى 13.1% عام ...
وتُظهر البيانات ربع السنوية أن الاقتصاد تكيّف بنجاح مع الصدمة، مع ارتفاع معدل النمو إلى 3.3% في الربع الرابع من عام 2017 مقارنة با...
© Copyright Notice Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte &c...
وُجوه

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: STRINGER ©AFP | STRINGER ©AFP | ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Qatar

State of Qatar

Qatar
Doha. Photo: STRINGER / AFP

Qatar (official name: the State of Qatar) is an independent emirate on the western coastline of the Arabian/Persian Gulf. The country is located on a small desert peninsula extending to the north from the Arabian Peninsula. It had been inhabited sporadically and in modest numbers since the Prehistoric Age. Qatar covers an area estimated at 11,586 km2. It shares land border with the Eastern Region of Saudi Arabia as well as with the northwestern part of the United Arab Emirates.

Doha is the capital city of Qatar and it is located on the eastern coast of the Peninsula that overlooks the Gulf. More than one fifth of Qatar’s population lives within the borders of the city.

Doha has a mixture of modern architecture, new office buildings, shopping centers and residential compounds.

Due to its marine coral reefs and shallow waters, Doha has long been a locally important port and it was once a center for pearling.

Qatar’s traditions rely on the nomadic past and centuries-old practices of handmade falconry products. However, the country’s urban and coastal population and daily life are quite modern, and its rulers have sought to promote civil liberties. While adhering to religious beliefs and traditions, the Qataris are proud of tolerance toward other cultures and beliefs.

Map of Qatar
Map of Qatar. @Fanack

After the advent of Islam, the area became under the Islamic caliphate’s rule. Subsequently, it was ruled by a number of domestic and foreign dynasties before it came under the control of the Al Thani dynasty in the 19th Century.

The Al Thani family had sought the protection of the British against rival tribal groups and against the Ottoman Empire — which occupied the country in the late 19th and early 20th Centuries. In contrast, the United Kingdom controlled Qatar’s foreign policy until the latter gained independence in 1971.

After that, Britain continued to sponsor [Qatar’s] strong relations with Western powers as an essential pillar of its national security.

Qatar has one of the largest reserves of oil and natural gas in the world. It employs large numbers of foreign workers in the upstream industry. Thanks to its oil wealth, the Qatari population enjoys high living standards and a well-established social service system.

The population is estimated at 2.4444 million, according to estimates for the year 2020. Estimates for the year 2015 indicate that non-Qatari expatriates make up 88.4 percent of the total population, while the Qatari nationals do not account for more than 11.6 percent.

Arabic is the official language of the country and English is commonly used as a second language.

According to 2010 estimates, Muslims make up 67.7 percent of the total population, compared to 13.8 percent for Christians, 13.8 percent for Hindus, 3.1 percent for Buddhists, and greater than 1 percent for Jews and other ethnic groups.

The local currency is the Qatari Riyal, and Qatar’s natural resources include petroleum, fish and natural gas.

In military terms, Qatar ranked 90th out of 138 among the countries listed by in the 2020 Global Firepower Index.

The growth of Al Jazeera Satellite Channel has largely dominated Qatar’s media environment in the 21st Century. The channel strengthened its position as one of the major international media outlets that had unparalleled access to war zones in Afghanistan and Iraq. Al Jazeera established English-language services in 2006 as part of its expansion plans. However, the channel’s popularity has begun to decline since then amid accusations of bias during its coverage of the Arab Spring uprisings in 2011. Besides, competitive pressure applied by Saudi Arabia also plays a role in dropping the popularity of Al Jazeera, especially through the Saudi-owned Arabic-speaking news channel, Al Arabiya TV.

According to a study conducted by the Northwestern University in Qatar in 2016, television is considered to be the most popular media in the country. Some 75 percent of respondents confirmed that they watch television (the study included 1,000 people, including 504 Qatari citizens). Only 40 percent of the respondents watched Qatari programs, while programs from the Middle East, India and the West were popular due to the large number of expatriates living in Qatar.

Among the prominent figures in Qatar are Sheikha al-Mayassa, the patroness of arts in Qatar; and Muhammad ibn al-Dheeb al-Ajami, a persecuted Qatari poet who is sentenced to 15 years in prison.

The sports culture in Qatar combines traditional sports for Arab desert dwellers with modern Western sports. Traditional sports include Arabian horse racing, camel racing and falconry, all of which are rooted in the country’s Bedouin history. Contemporary Western sports include basketball, handball, golf, swimming, football, table tennis and volleyball. Football is considered the most popular.

Doha hosted the 15th Asian Games in December 2006, making it the first Arabian Gulf city and the second West Asian city to host the event (after Tehran in 1974). This was the first time that all 45 members of the Olympic Council of Asia participated in the sporting event. EUROSPORT broadcasted the event, marking the first time that the European Continent could watch the event.

The Qatari National Team won the AFC Asian Cup title in 2019 for the first time in its history and won the Arabian Gulf Cup three times in 1992, 2004 and 2014. In 1981, the Qatari Youth Team, along with the West Germany team, reached the final match of the World Youth Championship held in Australia. In 2014, Qatar won the AFC Under-19 Championship in Myanmar in 2014, and the Qatar Olympic Team won the 2006 Asian Games title in Doha.

Qatar’s climate is mild and dry in winter and humid and very hot in the summer. The terrain is mostly flat and barren desert.

The list of prominent touristic destinations includes Pearl Island, the Doha Castle [or Al-Kut Fortress] and the Aspire Academy are the world’s largest sports academies.

Driving car in Qatar is right sided as in the rest of Middle East and North Africa countries. The Standard Time in Qatar is (GMT+3), and the international calling code is +974.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
At the end of the 19th century, Qatar became an intermediary vantage point for the British fleet. The region gained significance with the discovery and ensuing exploitation of oil and gas fields in the first half of the 20th centu...
Basic facts and figures regarding the politics, geography, population and economics of Qatar.
Analysis of the geography of Qatar: state borders, climate, biodiversity, land fertility, nature reserves and environmental issues.
Fanack provides an overview of Qatar's governance, including The Oil Monarchy of Qatar, The Royal Family, Judiciary, Governorates, Political Representation, Democratization, Bureaucracy and The Military.
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Qatar.
Fanack provides an overview of Qatar's population, including the areas of habitation, ethnic and religious groups and socio-economic composition.
Quarterly data show that the economy has successfully adapted to the shock, with the growth rate rising to 3.3 per cent in the fourth quarter of 2017, compared to an average of 1 per cent in the previous three quarters.
Fanack provides an overview of Qatar's society with a special focus on its media and cultural environment.
Faces of influential people of Qatar, people that are or were Qatar's game changers.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: STRINGER ©AFP | STRINGER ©AFP | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update