فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / إيران

الجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية

طهران
طهران. Photo: BEHROUZ MEHRI / AFP

إيران، والاسم الرسمي (الجمهورية الإسلامية الإيرانية). عُرفت باسم بلاد فارس حتى عام 1935م، وأصبحت جمهورية إسلامية عام 1979م بعد الإطاحة بالملكية الحاكمة وإجبار الشاه محمد رضا بهلوي على النفي.

تقع إيران جنوب غرب آسيا. يحدها من الشمال أذربيجان، وأرمينيا، وتركمانستان، وبحر قزوين، ومن الشرق باكستان وأفغانستان، ومن الجنوب الخليج العربي/ الفارسي وخليج عمان، ومن الغرب تركيا والعراق. تسيطر إيران أيضاً على حوالي 12 جزيرة في منطقة الخليج. وتبلغ مساحتها 1,648,195 كيلو متر مربع.

العاصمة طهران مدينة مترامية الأطراف وممتدة عند سفح جبال البرز الجنوبية. وتشتهر المدينة بهندستها المعمارية الجميلة والحدائق الخضراء. غير أنها وقعت إلى حد ما في حالة سيئة في العقود التالية للثورة الإسلامية، على الرغم من الجهود التي بذلت لاحقاً للحفاظ على عمارتها التاريخية.

لعبت إيران منذ زمن طويل دوراً مهماً في المنطقة كقوة إمبراطورية. ونتيجة لموقعها الاستراتيجي ومواردها الطبيعية الوفيرة -وخاصة البترول- باتت هذه الدولة عاملاً في التنافس القائم بين القوى العظمى.

تعود جذور الدولة الفارسية باعتبارها ثقافة ومجتمع مميزين، إلى الفترة الأخمينية التي بدأت عام 550 قبل الميلاد. منذ ذلك الوقت، تأثرت المنطقة التي أصبحت “إيران” فيما بعد بموجات من الغزاة والمهاجرين من الشعوب الأصلية والأجانب، بما في ذلك الهلنستيين والسلوقيين والبارثيين والساسانيين الأصليين. كما تعرضت فارس للغزو من قبل العرب المسلمين في القرن السابع الميلادي، وقد كان التأثير الأكثر ديمومة على الثقافة الإيرانية، إذ تمّ تعريب محارف اللغة الفارسية.

إيران
خريطة إيران. Photo: Fanack

بدأت السلالات الإسلامية الفارسية الأصلية في الظهور مع نهضة الأحاديين في أوائل القرن التاسع. وسقطت المنطقة تحت تأثير موجات متتالية من الغزاة الفارسيين والتركيين والمغول حتى صعود الصفويين، الذين أرسوا مذهب الشيعة الإثني عشرية على أنها العقيدة الرسمية للبلاد في أوائل القرن السادس عشر.

تم تشكيل توليفة بين الثقافة الفارسية والإسلام الشيعي ميز كل منهما بشكل لا يُمحى أحدهما بصبغة الآخر.

صعد رضا بهلوي إلى سدة الحكم في البلاد عام 1925م، وورثه ابنه الأكبر عام 1941م، لكن استياء واسع النطاق أدى إلى إسقاط حكمه بثورة عام 1979م. وجلبت هذه الثورة نظاماً إلى السلطة يجمع بين الديمقراطية البرلمانية مع الحكم الإسلامي بقيادة رجال الدين في البلاد.

ويقدر عدد سكان البلاد بنحو  84.92 مليون نسمة في عام 2020م؛ واللغة الفارسية هي اللغة الرسمية للبلاد، بالإضافة إلى الأذرية واللهجات التركية الأخرى، والكردية، والجيلاكي والمازندراني، واللوري، والبالوشي، والعربية.

يعتنق الإيرانيون في غالبيتهم الديانة الإسلامية وفقًا للمذهب الشيعي (90-95%)، بالإضافة إلى أقلية سنية تتراوح نسبتها بين 5 و10%. والإسلام هو دين الدولة ومصدر التشريع فيها. وتقدر نسبة الزرادشتية واليهودية والمسيحية بنحو 0.3%

العملة المحلية (الريال) ويرتبط الريال رسمياً بسلة عملات. والموارد الطبيعية هي البترول والغاز الطبيعي والفحم والكروم والنحاس وخام الحديد والرصاص والمنغنيز والزنك والكبريت.

من حيث القوة العسكرية، حلت إيران في المرتبة 14 من 137 بين الدول التي شملها تقرير Global Firepower لعام 2019.

تحتكر هيئة إذاعة وتلفزيون الجمهورية الإسلامية في إيران (IRIB)، التي يعيّن المرشد الأعلى رئيسها، البث الأرضي في إيران. وتشغل الهيئة 12 قناة وطنية، و33 قناة إقليمية، وقناتين على الإنترنت و10 قنوات دولية. ويعتبر التلفزيون الوسيلة الأكثر شعبية في البلاد، مع اعتماد ما يقدر بنحو 80% من المواطنين على التلفزيون كمصدر أولي للأخبار.

البيئة الإعلامية في إيران قمعية ويتم التحكم فيها بإحكام، وتحتل المرتبة 169 على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لعام 2016م لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود. وينص الدستور الإيراني، المعدل في عام 1989م، على أن “تتمتع المطبوعات والصحافة بحرية التعبير إلا إذا كانت تضر بالمبادئ الأساسية للإسلام أو حقوق الجمهور.”

من الوجوه البارزة في إيران اسماعيل قاآني، قائد فيلق القدس الجديد، والمحامية الحقوقية نسرين ستوده، وصادق لاريجاني، رئيس السُلطة القضائية الإيرانية في خدمة المرشد الأعلى.

كرة القدم هي الرياضة الأكثر شعبية على الإطلاق في إيران. وبحسب تصنيف الفيفا ليونيو 2019م، حل المنتخب الإيراني في المرتبة 20 على المستوي الدولي، وكان الأول آسيوياً. والدوري الإيراني الممتاز، المعروف أيضاً بكأس الخليج الفارسي، هو أعلى مستوى من بطولات أندية كرة القدم في إيران. والناديان الأكثر شعبية وهما “برسيبوليس واستقلال” من مدينة طهران. عندما تتواجه الفرق في ديربي طهران، تكتظ المدرجات بمشجعي برسيبوليس باللون الأحمر ومشجعي استقلال باللون الأزرق.

وللمصارعة تاريخ طويل في إيران، وتعتبر رياضة وطنية. والمصارِع الأكثر شعبية وبطل إيران الوطني هو غلام رضا تختي (1930-1968)، الذي فاز بالميدالية الذهبية الأولى لإيران في الألعاب الأولمبية في ملبورن عام 1956م.

إيران بلد جاف مع صيف حار طويل في معظم الأجزاء وهي باردة أيضًا في فصول الشتاء القصيرة. يناير هو الأكثر برودة وأغسطس هو الأشهر الأكثر سخونة، علماً بأن معظم أراضي إيران قاحلة أو شبه قاحلة وشبه مدارية على طول ساحل قزوين.

تتسم تضاريس إيران بحافة جبلية وعرة؛ وحوض مركزي مرتفع مع الصحاري والجبال، وسهول صغيرة متقطعة على طول سواحلها.

أبرز المعالم السياحية في إيران تتضمن برج آزادي وقصر كلستان بطهران، ومنتجع توجال للتزلج، وقصر علي قابو في أصفهان.

تعتمد قيادة العربات على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. والنطاق الزمني لإيران (GMT+4:30) صيفاً و(GMT+3:30) شتاءً، أما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 89+.

إقرأ المزيد

آخر التحديثات: صفحة تقدّم نظرة تاريخية عامة عن مقالات ملف البلد التي نُشرت على موقع Fanack وقائع وأحداث © Copyright Notice Please contact us in case o...
إيران التي تخضع حالياً لنظامٍ جمهوري إسلامي تزخر بالكثير من المراحل والتقلبات التاريخية المميزة. فهذه الدولة التي تعتمد نظام ...
حقائق وبيانات
تقدم فَنَك لمحة عامة عن الجغرافيا في إيران بما يتضمن الحدود البرية، الجغرافيا، المناخ، المصادر الطبيعية، الزلازل، الطاقة وال...
نظرة عامة عن الحكم في إيران، بما في ذلك وصف مختلف فروع حكومتها وتحديات الحكم.
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في إيران.
يتميز الاقتصاد الإيراني بالسياسات الإحصائية وعدم الكفاءة والاعتماد على صادرات النفط والغاز، لكن إيران تمتلك أيضًا قطاعات زر...
إيران بلد متنوع الأعراق على الرغم من أن الحكومة الإيرانية لا تُفصح بأية معلومات عن العرق من خلال إحصاءاتها؛ غير أن معظم المصاد...
بلاد فارس واحدة من المراكز الثقافية التاريخية الكبرى في العالم، مع تراث غني: من فن العمارة والتحف الفنية إلى الأدب والمطبخ الم...
وجوه تحمل اسماء، نسمع عنها لكن نفتقد لبعض تفاصيل سيرتها. تعرف على شخصيات مؤثرة بزيارة "وُجوه"

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: BEHROUZ MEHRI ©AFP | BEHROUZ MEHRI ©AFP | ©Fanack

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Iran

The Islamic Republic of Iran

Tehran
Tehran. Photo: BEHROUZ MEHRI / AFP

Iran (officially the Islamic Republic of Iran) was known as Persia until 1935. This country became an Islamic republic in 1979 after overthrowing the ruling monarchy and forcing Shah Muhammad Reza Pahlavi into exile.

Iran is located in southwest Asia. It is bordered to the north by Azerbaijan, Armenia, Turkmenistan, the Caspian Sea. To the east Iran is bordered by Pakistan and Afghanistan, while to the south it is bordered by the Arabian/Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. To the west Iran is bordered by Turkey and Iraq. Iran also has sovereignty at about 12 islands in the Gulf. The total area of this country is 1,648,195 square kilometers.

The capital Tehran is a sprawling city at the foot of the southern Elburz Mountains. Known for its beautiful architecture and green gardens, Tehran fell somewhat in poor shape in the decades following the Islamic Revolution. This is despite the efforts that were later made to preserve the historic architecture of the city.

Iran has long played an important role in the region as an imperial power. As a result of its strategic location and abundant natural resources – especially oil – this country has become a factor in rivalry between great powers.

map Iran
Map of Iran. Photo: Fanack

The roots of the Persian state as a distinct culture and society date back to the Achaemenid period, which began in 550 BC. Since that time, the region that later became “Iran” has been affected by waves of indigenous and foreign invaders and migrants, including Hellenistic, Seleucids, Parthians, and Native Sasanians. Persia was also invaded by Muslim Arabs in the seventh century AD. This conquest has had the most lasting impact on Iranian culture, as the Persian characters has been Arabized.

The original Persian Islamic dynasties began to emerge with the rise of the monists in the early ninth century. The region fell under the influence of successive waves of Persian, Turkish, and Mongol invaders. This influence lasted until the rise of the Safavids, who instilled the Twelver Shi’a doctrine as the official creed of the country in the early sixteenth century.

A synthesis was formed between Persian culture and Shiite Islam; a mixture within which the Persian culture and the Shiite Islam have an unforgettable impact on each other.

Reza Pahlavi rose to power in the country in 1925. His eldest son ascended the throne in 1941 AD. However, a widespread dissatisfaction led to the overthrow of his rule after the outbreak of the 1979 revolution. This revolution brought to power a regime that combines parliamentary democracy with an Islamic rule led by the country’s clergy.

The population of the country is estimated at 84.92 million in 2020. the Persian language is the official language of the country. Other languages include Azeri, Turkish dialects, Kurdish, Jilaki, Mazandrani, Lori, Balochi, and Arabic.

The Iranians, for the most part, are Shiite Muslims (90-95%). However, there is a Sunni minority ranging between 5 and 10%. Islam is the state religion and the source of legislation in it. Zoroastrianism, Judaism and Christianity are estimated at 0.3%.

Local currency is riyal which is officially linked to a bundle of currencies. The natural resources include petroleum, natural gas, coal, chrome, copper, iron ore, lead, manganese, zinc and sulfur.

In terms of military strength, Iran is ranked 14th out of 137 among the countries included in the 2019 Global Firepower Report.

Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting (IRIB), whose chief is appointed by the Supreme Leader, has a monopoly on terrestrial broadcasting in Iran. The authority operates 12 national channels, 33 regional channels, two online channels and 10 international channels. Television is the most popular medium in the country, with an estimated 80% of citizens relying on television as a primary source of news.

The media environment in Iran is repressive and tightly controlled. Iran is ranked 169 on the 2016 Freedom of the Press Index made by Reporters Without Borders. The Iranian constitution, amended in 1989, stipulates that “publications and the press enjoy freedom of expression unless they harm the fundamental principles of Islam or the rights of the public.”

Prominent faces in Iran include the new Quds Force commander Esmail Qaani, the human rights lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh, in addition to Sadiq Larijani, the head of the Iranian judiciary in the service of the Supreme Leader.

Football is the most popular sport in Iran. According to the FIFA rankings for June 2019, the Iranian national team is ranked 20 internationally and first in Asia. The Iranian Premier League, also known as the Persian Gulf Cup, is the highest tier of football club tournaments in Iran. The two most popular clubs, Persepolis and Esteghlal, are from Tehran. When teams head off into the Tehran derby, the stands are crowded with Persepolis fans in red and Esteghlal fans in blue.

Wrestling has a long history in Iran and is considered a national sport. The most popular wrestler and Iran’s national champion is Gholamreza Takhti (1930-1968). Takhti won Iran’s first gold medal at the Olympic Games in Melbourne in 1956.

Iran is a dry country with long hot summer in most regions. Winter is usually short and cold in Iran. January is the coldest month while August is the hottest one. It is worth mentioning that most Iranian territories are arid or semi-arid. However, territories along the Caspian coast are semi-tropical.

Iran’s terrain is characterized by a rugged mountainous edge, a central high basin with deserts and mountains, and small, intermittent plains along its coast.

The prominent touristic destinations in Iran include Azadi Tower, Golestan Palace in Tehran, Tuchal Ski Resort, and Ali Qapu Palace in Isfahan.

Vehicles driving in Iran is right sided as are the rest of the countries in the Middle East and North Africa. The time range of Iran is (GMT +4:30) in summer and (GMT +3:30) in winter, while the international calling code is 89+.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
Currently subject to an Islamic republican system, Iran is characterized by many distinct historical stages and fluctuations. This country, which adheres to the system of guardianship of the jurist, played a pivotal role in the Su...
Basic facts and figures regarding Iran's geography, politics, economy, and population.
Fanack presents an overview of the geography of Iran including its state borders, climate, natural resources, land fertility and energy.
An overview of Iran's governance, including a description of its branches of government and governance challenges.
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Iran.
Iran ranks second in the world in natural gas reserves and fourth in proven crude oil reserves. Economic activity and government revenues still depend to a large extent on oil revenues and therefore remain volatile.
Iran is ethnically diverse, although the government does not disclose any information about ethnicity in its statistics. However, most sources confirm that Persians represent 61 per cent of the population, followed by Kurds (10 pe...
Persia is one of the great historico-cultural centres of the world, with a rich heritage from architecture and art to literature and a refined cuisine
Get to know influential people in Fanack’s ‘Faces’ section.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: BEHROUZ MEHRI ©AFP | BEHROUZ MEHRI ©AFP | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update