تبرع
وقائع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا
ابحث في fanack.com
Please enter search keyword.

السودان

السودان
أم درمان، السودان. Photo: ASHRAF SHAZLY / AFP

السودان (والاسم الرسمي جمهورية السودان) يقع في الشمال الشرقي لقارة أفريقيا. واشتق اسم هذه الدولة من التعبير العربي “بلاد السودان” أو أرض الشعوب السوداء. يحدها من الشمال مصر، ومن الشرق البحر الأحمر وإريتريا ووإثيوبيا، ومن الجنوب جنوب السودان، ومن الغرب جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى وتشاد، وفي شمال غرب البلاد ليبيا. وتبلغ مساحة السودان 1,861,484 كيلو متر مربع.

الخرطوم، العاصمة التنفيذية للسودان، تقع تقريباً في وسط البلاد عند التقاء نهري النيل الأزرق والأبيض. وهي جزءٌ من أكبر منطقة حضرية في السودان ومركز للتجارة وكذلك الحكومة.

نمت الخرطوم لتصبح مدينة عسكرية حامية. حاصرها المهديون ودمروها عام 1885م، وقتلوا اللواء تشارلز جورج غوردون، ومن بعده الحاكم العام البريطاني للسودان. وفي عام 1898م عاود البريطانيون احتلال المدينة، حيث أعاد الحاكم اللورد كيتشنر بناءها لتكون مقراً لحكومة السودان الواقع تحت السيطرة الإنكليزية والمصرية حتى عام 1956م، عندما أصبحت المدينة عاصمة جمهورية السودان المستقلة.

منذ العصور القديمة، شكلت منطقة السودان ساحة لتلاقي التقاليد الثقافية لأفريقيا مع تقاليد العالم المتوسطي. اللغة العربية والديانة الإسلامية فرضتا وجودهما في العديد من الأجزاء الشمالية من هذه المنطقة، في حين حافظت اللغات والثقافات الإفريقية الأقدم على هيمنتها في الجنوب.

Sudan
السودان. Photo: Fanack

وحصل السودان على استقلاله في عام 1956م، وتناوبت على حكمه عدة حكومات منذ ذلك الحين. ووجدت الأنظمة المتعاقبة صعوبة في كسب القبول العام من الدوائر السياسية المتنوعة. ونشأ صراعٌ مبكر بين القادة الشماليين الراغبين في فرض الوحدة على جميع أنحاء البلاد بواسطة الشريعة الإسلامية والثقافة العربية ومعارضي تلك السياسة. وفضّل غالبية الجنوبيين وبعض الشماليين أن يكون نظام الحكم في السودان علماني الطابع.

بين عامي 1955م و1972م، سادت حرب أهلية مكلفة ومنذرة بالانقسام. وفي عام 1983م، استؤنفت الحرب الأهلية، ما تمخض عن فجوة جديدة تمثلت في انخفاض التنمية الاقتصادية في الجنوب، لتكون مصدراً جديداً للمظالم الإقليمية. وعزز النزاع محاولات القادة الشماليين المستمرة لأسلمة النظام القانوني السوداني.

وبعد محاولات عدة لإنهاء الحرب الأهلية ووقف إطلاق النار، تحقق اتفاق السلام عام 2005م، ومُنح بموجبه جنوب السودان وضعاً شبه مستقل. ونصت الاتفاقية على إجراء استفتاء حول استقلال الجنوب في غضون ست سنوات. وكانت نتائج التصويت الذي أجري في يناير 2011م، لصالح الاستقلال بأغلبية كاسحة، وأعلن جنوب السودان دولة كمستقلة في 9 يوليو 2011م.

يقدر عدد السكان بنحو 45.56 مليون نسمة وفقاً لتقديرات عام 2020م. ويشكل السودانيون العرب حوالي 70% من إجمالي عدد السكان، فيما تعود البقية إلى قبائل الفور، والبجا، والنوبة، والفلاتة.

الإسلام هو دين الدولة والمجتمع وفقاً للمذهب السني، في الوقت الذي تتواجد فيه أقلية مسيحية صغيرة. واللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية للبلاد، ويجري استخدام الإنجليزية ولغات أخرى كالنوبية، والفورية.

العملة المحلية الجنيه السوداني. والموارد الطبيعية هي البترول؛ واحتياطيات صغيرة من خام الحديد والنحاس وخام الكروم والزنك والتنغستن والميكا والفضة والذهب؛ والطاقة الكهرومائية.

من الناحية العسكرية، حلت السودان في المرتبة ٧٦ من ١٣٨ دولة شملها تقرير Global Firepower لعام ٢٠٢٠.

ظلت البيئة الإعلامية السودانية من بين الأكثر تعرضاً للقمع، إذ يحتل السودان المرتبة ١٥٩ من أصل ١٨٠ دولة على مؤشر حرية الصحافة الصادر عن منظمة “مراسلون بلا حدود” في عام ٢٠٢٠. ويكفل الدستور السوداني لعام 2005م، حرية الصحافة، حيث تنص المادة (39) على أن “تكفل الدولة حرية الصحافة ووسائل الإعلام الأخرى وفقاً لما ينظمه القانون في مجتمع ديمقراطي.” بيد أن هذه المادة تنصّ أيضاً على التزام “كافة وسائل الإعلام بأخلاق المهنة وبعدم إثارة الكراهية الدينية أو العرقية أو العنصرية أو الثقافية أو الدعوة للعنف أو الحرب.” كما يتضمن قانون الصحافة والمطبوعات لعام 2009م إشارات غامضة حول التحريض الديني أو العرقي.

من الوجوه البارزة في السودان علي عثمان طه، أحد زعماء الحركة الإسلامية، وإبراهيم الصلحي، أيقونة الفن العربي الأفريقي الحديث، والروائية ليلى أبو العلا.

والسودان هو مسقط رأس العديد من الحضارات القديمة، ولكل منها رياضات خاصة بها. ولكن في العصر الحديث الرياضة الأكثر شعبية هي كرة القدم وكذلك ألعاب القوى. وتشمل الرياضات الأخرى التي تزداد شعبية أيضاً كرة السلة وكرة اليد والكرة الطائرة.

ويعد من مؤسسي كرة القدم الأفريقية إلى جانب إثيوبيا ومصر وجنوب إفريقيا في عام 1956م. وقد استضاف كأس الأمم الأفريقية وفاز بها في عام 1970م. وأشهر الفرق الرياضية هما فريقا الهلال والمريخ.

في شمال السودان، تسود الرياح الشمالية معظم أشهر السنة، ونادراً ما تهطل الأمطار. وتتميز المواسم بتأرجح الحدود بين الشمال والجنوب بين الهواء الجنوبي الرطب والهواء الشمالي الجاف. وفي الشتاء، تهب الرياح الشمالية للكتلة الهوائية الاستوائية عبر السودان، وهذه الرياح باردة وجافة نسبياً ولا تؤدي عادةً إلى تساقط أمطار.

يتألف السودان بشكل أساسي من سهول وهضاب شاسعة تصبها مياه نهر النيل وروافده. يمتد النهر من الجنوب إلى الشمال عبر كامل الجزء الشرقي الأوسط من البلاد. ومن الغرب، يحد السهل الضخم الذي يتكون منه السودان حوض مياه النيل في الكونغو ومرتفعات دارفور. أما من الشرق فتحدّه الهضبة الإثيوبية وتلال البحر الأحمر (عتباي). ويمكن تقسيم هذا السهل إلى ثلاث مناطق: منطقة شمالية مكونة من صحراء صخرية وهي جزءٌ من الصحراء الكبرى؛ والقوز الغربية، وهي عبارة عن منطقة كثبان رملية متموجة تندمج شمالاً في الصحراء الصخرية؛ وسهل طيني في الجنوب الأوسط. أما معظم شمال السودان فهو عبارة عن صحراء مغطاة بالرمل أو الحصى.

أبرز الأماكن جذباً للسياحة هي أهرامات وآثار النوبة، حيث يوجد بها 220 هرماً وتبعد عن الخرطوم مسافة 500 كم، بالإضافة إلى بوابة كتشنر في سواكن وهي مدينة قديمة تاريخية تقع في الجهة الشرقية من السودان.

قيادة العربات تعتمد على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والنطاق الزمني للسودان (GMT+2). أما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 249+.

Fanack Home / Sudan

Republic of the Sudan

Sudan
Omdourman, Sudan. Photo: ASHRAF SHAZLY / AFP

Sudan (the official name is the Republic of the Sudan) is located in the northeast of Africa. The name of Sudan derives from the Arabic phrase “bilad as-Sudan” or the land of the black peoples. The country is bounded on the north by Egypt; on the east by the Red Sea, Eritrea and Ethiopia; on the south by South Sudan; on the west by the Central African Republic and Chad; and on the northwest by Libya. Sudan has an area of 1,861,484 K2.

Khartoum is the executive capital of Sudan. It is located roughly in the center of the country, at the junction of the Blue Nile and White Nile rivers. It is part of the largest urban area in Sudan, and a center of commerce as well as of government.

Khartoum has grown into a garrison city. The Mahdists besieged and destroyed it in 1885 and killed Major General Charles George Gordon, then the British governor-general of the Sudan. Reoccupied by the British in 1898, Khartoum was rebuilt by Governor-General Lord Kitchener and served as the seat of the Anglo-Egyptian Government in Sudan until 1956, when the city became the capital of the independent Republic of Sudan.

Sudan Introduction
Sudan. Photo: Fanack

Since ancient times, the Sudan region has been an arena for interaction between the cultural traditions of Africa and those of the Mediterranean world. Islam and the Arabic language prevailed in many northern parts of the region, while older African languages and cultures were predominant in the south.

The country became independent in 1956 and has had numerous changes in governance since then.

Successive regimes found it difficult to win general acceptance from the diverse political constituencies. An early conflict arose between northern leaders who hoped to impose unity upon the nation through Islamic law and Arabic culture and those who opposed the policy. However, the majority of southerners and some of the northerners favored a secular governance system.

From 1955 to 1972, a costly and divisive civil war broke out and prevailed, and it resumed in 1983. By that time, the new gap caused by the lack of economic development in the south became a new source of regional grievance. The conflict also encouraged the northern leaders’ to continue their attempts to Islamize the Sudanese legal system.

After several attempts to end the civil war and achieve a ceasefire, the Comprehensive Peace Agreement was achieved in 2005. Under the agreement, the Southern part of Sudan was granted a semiautonomous status. In addition, the agreement stipulated that a referendum on independence for South Sudan should be held in six years. The results of the vote, held in January 2011, were overwhelmingly in favor of independence, and South Sudan was declared an independent country on 9 July 2011.

The population of Sudan is estimated at 45.56 million in 2020. The Sudanese Arabs make up about 70 percent of the total population, while the rest of the population belongs to the Fur, Beja, Nuba and Fallata tribes.

Islam is the official state religion in Sudan, and the society follows the Sunni doctrine, although there is a small Christian minority. Arabic is the official language of the country, beside English and other languages such as the Nubian and the Furian.

The local currency is the Sudanese pound. Sudan’s natural resources include petroleum, small reserves of iron ore, copper, chrome ore, zinc, tungsten, mica, silver, gold and hydropower.

In military terms, Sudan ranked 76th out of 138 countries listed in the Global Firepower Index 2020.

Sudan’s media continued to rank as among the most repressive in the world Reporters Without Borders’ 2020 World Press Freedom Index puts Sudan at No. 159 out of 180 countries. The Sudanese Constitution of 2005 guarantees freedom of the press. Article 39 states that “The State shall guarantee freedom of the press and other media outlets as regulated by law in a democratic society.” But the article also stipulates that “All media shall abide by professional ethics, shall refrain from inciting religious, ethnic, racial or cultural hatred and shall not agitate for violence or war.” The 2009 Press and Publications Act also contains a vague references to religious or ethnic incitement.

Among the prominent faces in Sudan are Ali Osman Taha, one of the leader of the Islamist movement, Ibrahim el-Salahi, an icon of modern Arab-African art, and novelist Leila Aboulela.

Sudan is the birthplace of many ancient civilizations, each of which is characteristic of its own sports. However, in modern times football is the most popular sports, in addition to athletics. Other sports that are increasingly popular include basketball, handball and volleyball.

Sudan is one of the founders of the African football sport in 1956, along with Ethiopia, Egypt and South Africa. It hosted and won the African Cup of Nations in 1970. The most famous sports teams are Al-Hilal and Al-Marrikh.

In northern Sudan, northerly winds prevail for most of the year, and rainfall is rare. The seasons are characterized by the north-south oscillation of the boundary between moist southerly air and dry northerly air. In winter, the northerly winds of the tropical air mass blow across Sudan. These winds are relatively cool and dry and usually bring no rain.

Sudan is mainly composed of vast plains and plateaus that are drained by the Nile River and its tributaries. The river runs from south to north across the entire length of the east-central part of the country. The immense plain of which Sudan is composed is bounded from the west by the Nile-Congo watershed and the highlands of Darfur, and from the east by the Ethiopian Plateau and the Red Sea Hills (ʿAtbāy). This plain can be divided into three areas: a northern area of rock desert that is part of the Sahara; the western Qawz, an area of undulating sand dunes that merges northward into the rock desert; and a central-southern clay plain. Most of northern Sudan, however, is a sand-or gravel-covered desert.

The most prominent tourist attractions in Sudan are the pyramids and ruins of Nuba, where 220 pyramids are located 500 km away from Khartoum. This is in addition to Ketchener’s Gate in Suakin, an ancient historical city located on the eastern side of Sudan.

Sudan uses the right-hand-traffic rule of the road as in the rest of Middle East and North Africa countries. The Standard Time in Sudan is (GMT+2), and the international calling code is +249.

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
Basic facts and figures regarding Sudan's geography, politics, economy, and population.
Fanack provides an overview of Sudan's geography, including its state borders, local climate, and natural resources.
Sudan is a relatively new country. Yet young as it is, it has a rich history. It is considered a treasure trove for archaeologists, due to the large number of prehistoric artefacts. Sudan’s post-independence history has been tu...
Fanack provides an overview of Sudan's politics and Governance systems, including the military, the judiciary, the executive, and the legal system. 
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Sudan.
Sudan is a poor country, despite its potential resources. Sudan’s economy is basically agricultural, with inadequate infrastructure and ridden by civil wars and social and ethnic conflict. The government is attempting to develop...
Islam is an integral part of Sudan’s social fabric and media landscape as well as a politically mobilizing and polarizing force. However, other socio-economic and cultural factors play various interlinked roles in shaping the co...
Fanack provides an overview of the population of Sudan, including an overview of its demographics and refugee situation.
Islam is an integral part of Sudan’s social fabric and media landscape as well as a politically mobilizing and polarizing force. However, other socio-economic and cultural factors play various interlinked roles in shaping the co...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP | ASHRAF SHAZLY ©AFP | ©Fanack



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!