فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / البحرين

مملكة البحرين

المنامة
المنامة، عاصمة البحرين. Photo: MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH / AFP

البحرين، والاسم الرسمي (مملكة البحرين)، هي دولة عربية صغيرة تقع على الساحل الجنوبي الغربي للخليج العربي/ الفارسي، إلى الشرق من المملكة العربية السعودية. وهي أرخبيل يتكون من جزيرة البحرين ونحو 30 جزيرة صغيرة. ويرجع اسم هذه الدولة للمصطلح العربي للبحرين، ويعني “بحرين”.

تقع البحرين في واحدة من المناطق الرئيسية المنتجة للنفط في العالم، ولديها مخازن نفط صغيرة فقط. واعتمد اقتصادها منذ فترة طويلة على معالجة النفط الخام من الدول المجاورة، ومؤخراً نمت قطاعات الخدمات المالية والتجارية والاتصالات بشكل ملحوظ، وكذلك السياحة.

المنامة هي المدينة الرئيسية والميناء والعاصمة، وتقع في الطرف الشمالي الشرقي من جزيرة البحرين. وتعد المنامة مدينة عصرية ومذهلة وهي وجهة مفضلة للزوار من المملكة العربية السعودية المجاورة. يظل شعب البحرين محافظًا طوال حياته. هذا الشعور مكرس في دستور البلاد، الذي يؤكد أن “الأسرة هي حجر الزاوية في المجتمع، وتكمن قوته في الدين والأخلاق والوطنية”.

تشتهر البحرين ببساتين النخيل الخضراء. ومنذ العصور القديمة، كانت البحرين محوراً للتجارة ومصدراً للموارد الطبيعية للمنطقة المحيطة. ويعتقد على نطاق واسع أن جزيرة البحرين هي موقع مملكة دلمون القديمة، وهي مركز تجاري ارتبطت تاريخياً بالحضارة السومرية القديمة. وقد تم استيطانها واستعمارها من قبل مجموعات مختلفة، بما في ذلك عائلة خليفة (آل خليفة)، وهي سلالة عربية أصلية حكمت البحرين منذ أواخر القرن الثامن عشر. وإدراكًا للأهمية الاستراتيجية للجزر، فتحت عائلة آل خليفة مرافق ميناء البحرين أمام الأساطيل البحرية للدول الأجنبية، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة.

مساحة البحرين الإجمالية أكبر بقليل من سنغافورة، حيث تقع المملكة العربية السعودية غربًا عبر خليج البحرين، بينما تقع شبه جزيرة قطر إلى الشرق. ويربط جسر الملك فهد الذي يبلغ طوله 15 ميلاً (24 كم)، البحرين بالمملكة العربية السعودية.

تم حل نزاع مع قطر حول ملكية بعض الجزر في عام 2001م، عندما منحتها محكمة العدل الدولية إلى البحرين.

تبلغ مساحة البحرين 779.95 كيلو متراً مربعاً، ويقدر عدد السكان بنحو المليون ونصف المليون نسمة في عام 2020م، من بينهم نحو 55% من الوافدين. اللغة العربية هي اللغة الرسمية بينما تستخدم اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة رسمية في قطاع الأعمال، ويجري تداول لغات أخرى كالفارسية والأوردو.


يشكل المسلمون في البحرين نحو 73.7% بغالبية شيعية، فيما يشكل المسيحيون 9.3% من مجموع السكان، واليهود 0.1%، وتشكل المعتقدات الأخرى 16.9%.

وقد تحولت البحرين من إمارة إلى مملكة دستورية في العام 2002م بعد استفتاء شعبي عام على ميثاق العمل الوطني.

ترتبط العملة المحلية (الدينار البحريني) رسمياً بالدولار الأمريكي. ويلعب النفط والغاز الطبيعي دوراً مهيمناً في اقتصاد البحرين. ولا يزال النفط يشكل 85% من إيرادات الميزانية البحرينية. ويعد إنتاج الألمنيوم ثاني أكبر صادرات البحرين بعد النفط والغاز. وتواصل البحرين البحث عن إمدادات جديدة من الغاز الطبيعي كمواد وسيطة لدعم صناعات البتروكيماويات والألمنيوم المتوسعة.

وتتمثل قوة الدفاع البحرينية في الجيش البحريني الملكي والبحرية الملكية البحرينية والقوات الجوية الملكية البحرينية وقوات الدفاع الجوي البحرينية الملكية؛ الحرس الوطني (مكلف بالأمن الداخلي ومساعدة قوة دفاع البحرين في الدفاع ضد التهديدات الخارجية)، فضلاً عن الحرس الملكي. حلت البحرين في المرتبة 98 من 137 بين الدول التي شملها تقرير  Global Firepower لعام 2019.

تصدر في البحرين عدة صحف يومية وأسبوعية تحت إشراف هيئة شؤون الإعلام التي تشغل بدورها خدمات الإذاعة والتلفزيون المملوكة للدولة. تصدر معظم وسائل الإعلام باللغة العربية على الرغم وجود وسائل إعلام باللغة الإنجليزية والمالايالامية. جميع الصحف الرئيسية في البحرين مملوكة للقطاع الخاص، إلا أن الحكومة تتمتع بنفوذ قوي وتعيّن بفعالية مجالس إدارة عدّة منشورات رئيسية. صحيفة الوسط، هي الصحيفة الوحيدة التي تعمل جزئياً خارج سيطرة الدولة. كما ينشر موقعيّ الصحيفتين الرئيسيتين الناطقتين باللغة الانجليزية محتوىً مصمم خصيصاً لأكبر مجتمع من المغتربين في المملكة، وهم المغتربون القادمون من شبه القارة الهندية.

من الوجوه البارزة في البحرين الشيخ علي سلمان، المُعارض البحريني البارز، والليبرالية إسراء الشافعي.

تعتبر لعبة كرة القدم هي اللعبة الشعبية الأولى في البحرين، بالإضافة إلى أن هناك حضور بحريني في العديد من الرياضات الأخرى ولكنها ذات شعبية أقل من كرة القدم، ككرة اليد، والسكواش وكرة السلة ورفع الأثقال. وتُشارك البحرين كذلك في الألعاب الأولمبية بأنواعها المختلفة.

تشهد الطبيعة المناخية للبحرين ثباتاً نسبياً، حيث يكون الطقس حاراً ورطباً في فصل الصيف (متوسط درجة الحرارة 36°)، ويكون بارداً أو معتدلاً مع أمطار موسمية في فصل الشتاء (متوسط درجة الحرارة 10°-20°). وتشهد الفترتان الممتدتان بين مارس إلى مايو ومن أكتوبر إلى نوفمبر، طقساً دافئاً مع هبات رياح معتدلة (متوسط درجة الحرارة 20°-30°). ويعد جبل الدخان أعلى نقطة في المملكة بارتفاع 135 متراً.

معظم أراضي البحرين سهل صحراوي منخفض يرتفع بلطف ليشكل جرف مركزي منخفض. وتتضمن قائمة أبرز الأماكن السياحية كلاً من متحف بيت القرآن ويعد واحداً من أشهر المتاحف الإسلامية على مستوى العالم، وباب البحرين وهو بمثابة المدخل الرئيسي لسوق المنامة. كما تتضمن القائمة قلعة البحرين في العاصمة المنامة على شاطئ البحر، وجزر أمواج.

تعتمد قيادة العربات على الجهة اليمنى لعجلة القيادة كما باقي دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، ووالنطاق الزمني للمملكة ثلاث ساعات بعد توقيت جرينيتش (GMT+3)، وأما رمز الاتصال الدولي فهو 973+.

إقرأ المزيد

انضمت البحرين إلى مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية مايو/أيار 1981، والذي يضم أيضاً الكويت، وعمان، وقطر، والمملكة العربية السعو...
آخر التحديثات: صفحة تقدّم نظرة تاريخية عامة عن مقالات ملف البلد التي نُشرت على موقع Fanack وقائع وأحداث © Copyright Notice Please contact us in case o...
حقائق وبيانات
يوفر موقع "فاناك" لمحة عامة عن جغرافية البحرين من خلال وصف حدودها، والمناخ المحلي، والموارد الطبيعية.
البحرين ملكية، يحكمها الملك حمد بن عيسى آل خليفة الذي تولى السلطة عام 1999 بعد وفاة والده الأمير عيسى بن سلمان آل خليفة. تشبه الم...
أصبح مفهوم حقوق الإنسان معروفاً ومصطلحاً مقبولاً يتم تداوله على نطاقٍ واسع. نظرة عامة عن حقوق الإنسان في البحرين.
بالإضافة إلى معالجة مشاكلها المالية الحالية، تواجه السلطات البحرينية تحدياً على المدى الطويل، يتمثل في تعزيز التنافسية الإق...
نظرة عامة عن سكان البحرين، بما في ذلك وصف الأعراق والتراكيب السكانية الأخرى.
بتأثير كبير من وسائل الإعلام، عادة ما يرتبط اسم البحرين – تماماً مثل باقي دول الخليج - بالتقنية العالية والعمارة الطليعية، وا...
وُجوه

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH ©AFP | MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH ©AFP | ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Bahrain

Kingdom of Bahrain

Manama
Bahraini capital, Manama. Photo: MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH / AFP

Located on the southwestern coast of the Arab/Persian Gulf, Bahrain (officially Kingdom of Bahrain) is a small Arab country to the east of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. It is an archipelago consisting of Bahrain Island and about 30 small islands. The name of this country is derived from the Arabic term “two seas”.

Bahrain is located in one of the major oil-producing regions of the world, having only small oil stores. Its economy has long relied on processing the crude oil of the neighboring countries. The recent growth of the financial services, trade and communications sectors have been significant. The same applies to tourism.

Located at the northeastern part of Bahrain Island, Manama is the capital of the country, in addition to being the main city and port.

Manama is a modern and stunning city, let alone that it is a favorite destination for visitors from the neighboring Saudi Arabia. The people of Bahrain are mostly conservative in their ordinary lives. This feeling is enshrined in the country’s constitution. According to the constitution “family is the cornerstone of society. Its strength resides in religion, morals, and patriotism.”

Bahrain is famous for its green palm groves. Since ancient times, Bahrain has been a trade hub and a source of natural resources for the surrounding region. It is widely believed that the island of Bahrain is the place where the ancient Kingdom of Dilmun has been founded. This kingdom was a commercial center that has been historically associated to the ancient Sumerian civilization. Various groups colonized and settled in Bahrain, including Al Khalifa family, which is an indigenous Arab dynasty that rules Bahrain since the late eighteenth century. Realizing the strategic importance of the islands, Al Khalifa has opened Bahrain port facilities to the fleets of foreign countries, including the United States.

Bahrain Country File - Map Bahrain
Bahrain

The total area of Bahrain is slightly larger than that of Singapore. Saudi Arabia lies to the west while Qatar Peninsula lies to the east. The 15-mile long King Fahd Bridge connects Bahrain to Saudi Arabia.

A dispute with Qatar over the sovereignty of some islands was resolved in 2001. At that time, the decision of the International Court of Justice was in favor of Bahrain.

Bahrain has an area of 779.95 square kilometers. In 2020, the population of Bahrain amounted to 1.5 million people. 55% of the population are expatriates. Arabic is the official language. However, English is used as an official language in the business sector. Other languages, such as Persian and Urdu, are also used.

About 73.7% of the total population of Bahrain are Muslims. The majority of these Muslims are Shiite. Christians make up 9.3%, while Jews do not exceed 0.1%. Other beliefs constitute 16.9% of the population.

After a holding public referendum on the National Action Charter, the governance system in Bahrain was transformed in 2002 from an emirate to a constitutional kingdom.

The local currency is the Bahraini Dinar which is officially linked to the US dollar. Oil and natural gas sector plays a dominant role in Bahrain’s economy. Oil still accounts for 85% of Bahrain’s budget revenues. After oil and gas, aluminum production is the second largest exporting sector in Bahrain. The country continues to search for new supplies of natural gas as feedstock to support the expanding petrochemical and aluminum industries.

The Bahraini Defense Force consists of the Royal Army, the Royal Navy, the Royal Air Force, the Royal Air Defense Forces, the National Guard and the Royal Guard. Bahrain is ranked 98 out of 137 among the countries included in the 2019 Global Firepower Report.

Several daily and weekly newspapers are issued in Bahrain under the supervision of the Information Affairs Authority, which in turn operates state-owned radio and television services. Most media are published in Arabic, although there are media in English and Malayalam. All major newspapers in Bahrain are owned by the private sector.

However, the government has strong influence on this sector and effectively appoints the boards of directors for several major publications. Al-Wasat is the only newspaper that operates partially outside the control of the state. The two major English-language newspapers publish content specifically made for the largest expatriate community in the Kingdom, namely the expatriates originating from the Indian subcontinent.

The prominent Bahraini faces list includes Sheikh Ali Salman, who is a prominent Bahraini dissident, and liberal Esraa Al-Shafei.

Football is the most popular game in Bahrain. Other sports are also represented although they do not enjoy the same popularity of football. The list includes handball, squash, basketball and weightlifting. Bahrain also participates in the Olympic Games of all kinds.

The climatic nature of Bahrain is relatively stable. Weather is hot and humid in summer (average temperature is 36 °). In winter, the weather is cold or moderate while being accompanied with monsoon rains (average temperature 10 ° -20 °). Bahrain enjoys a warm weather with moderate wind gusts in two periods: from March to May and from October to November (average temperature 20°-30°). The mountain of Smoke “Jabal Ad Dukhan” is the highest point in the Kingdom with an altitude of 135 meters.

Most of the Bahraini land is a low-lying desert plain that gently rises to form a low central cliff. The list of the most important tourist places includes the Museum of the House of the Qur’an, which is one of the most famous Islamic museums in the world. There is also Bab Al Bahrain, which is the main entrance to the Manama market. In addition, the list includes Bahrain Fort in Manama and Amwaj Islands.

In a similar way to the rest of the countries in the Middle East and North Africa, vehicle driving in Bahrain is right sided. The time zone of the Kingdom is (GMT +3) while the international calling code is (+973).

Further Reading

Page with a chronological overview of the country file articles published on the Chronicle website.
Bahrain joined the Gulf Cooperation Council in May 1981, which also includes Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates. At the end of 1981, the Islamic Front for the Liberation of Bahrain, led by Shi’a cler...
Facts and Figures of Bahrain
Fanack provides an overview of Bahrain's geography describing its state borders, local climate, and natural resources.
Bahrain’s political structure resembles that of the other Gulf Cooperation Council states in some key ways. Members of the ruling family control the sovereign ministries (Defence, Interior, Finance, and Foreign affairs), and oth...
The concept of human rights has become a well-known and widely accepted term to use. An overview of human rights in Bahrain.
In addition to addressing its current fiscal woes, Bahraini authorities face the long-term challenge of boosting Bahrain’s regional competitiveness — especially regarding industry, finance, and tourism — and reconciling reve...
An overview of Bahrain's population, including a description of its ethnicities and other demographics.
The traditional character, history and culture of Bahrain’s originally Bedouin society are often diregarded
Faces of Bahrain have names, we hear about them but do not get the entire picture. Get to know these influential people in Fanack’s ‘Faces’ section.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH ©AFP | MOHAMMED AL-SHAIKH ©AFP | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!